REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Arturo Lloyd Alaska Railroad Photographs

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2017.032

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1959-1966

Extent: 8 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Arturo Lloyd

Administrative/Biographical History:
Arturo (Arthur) Lloyd was born in San Francisco, California, in 1925. He worked in public
relations for Western Pacific Railway from 1949 to 1961, when he joined the National Railroad
Passenger Corporation, later called Amtrak. He retired from Amtrak in 1991. Lloyd died in
December 2016.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection contains eight black-and-white negatives depicting Alaska Railroad equipment
and the steamer Prince George. Ninety-six color 35mm slides depict equipment from the
Alaska Railroad and the White Pass & Yukon Route, as well as sights Lloyd encountered on his
tours. Three images from Southeast Alaska may have been taken during an Inside Passage
voyage. See Detailed Description of Collection for more information.

Arrangement: Arranged by format, date, and subject.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE


Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. A lightbox may be
used to view transparencies.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Arturo Lloyd Alaska Railroad Photographs; Anchorage Museum, B2017.032

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Transferred from the Western Railway Museum in December 2017. Donated to WMA in 2017
by Lloyd’s estate. Addendum of slides received in April 2018.

Processing Note
Removed from original negative envelopes.

RELATED MATERIALS
Alaska Railroad Collection, B1979.001

SUBJECTS
Alaska Railroad
White Pass & Yukon Route (Firm)
Prince George (Steamboat)
Railroads—Alaska
Anchorage (Alaska)
Whitter (Alaska)
Nenana (Alaska)
Whitehorse (Yukon)

Detailed Description of the Collection

Negatives
 1 — 557, Alaska Railroad, Whittier [locomotive 557 at the depot]
 2 — 557, Alaska Railroad, Anchorage [locomotive 557 in the yard]
 3 — 557, Alaska Railroad, Anchorage [locomotive 557 in the yard]
 4 — 1031, Alaska Railroad [locomotive 1031 in the yard, probably at Whittier]
 5 — 1512, Alaska Railroad, #6 Anchorage/Nenana [locomotive 557 at the depot in Anchorage, automobiles parked at left]
 6 — 1512, Alaska Railroad, #6 Anchorage/Nenana [locomotive 557 at the depot in Nenana]
 7 — 15, Alaska Railroad, parlor obs. [parlor observation car 5, probably at Whittier]
 8 — Alaska ferries [steamship Prince George under way] Slides
 9 — [scenic of mountains, with wood waste incinerator in left foreground; print date Jun 59]
 10 — [view from railroad yard to snow-covered mountain, stacks of lumber in foreground, railroad car at left; print date Jun 59]
 11 — [group portrait of passengers standing on mobile stairs at door of airplane on tarmac, people holding banner reading “Northwest Orient Airlines Welcomes Railway Historical Society Alaska Tour of 1959”; print date Jun 59]
 12 — [Anchorage Fourth Avenue street scene looking east from E Street, Anchorage All- America City banner hanging over street, automobiles in front of businesses including Hewitt’s Drugs, Kennedy Hardware, The Hub Clothing, Stolt Electric, Ellen’s Jewelers, National Bank of Alaska]
 13 — [view along side of train traveling along Turnagain Arm; print date Jun 59]
 14 — [scenic of Turnagain Arm, railroad tracks at right]
 15 — [interior of passenger car filled with passengers]
 16 — [view along side of train traveling near Turnagain Arm; print date Jun 59]
 17 — [along side of train traveling over Twentymile River bridge, Seward Highway bridge at right; print date Jun 59]
 18 — [view along side of train, Portage Glacier in distance; print date Jun 59]
 19 — [view of Portage Lake, road bridge in foreground; print date Jun 59]
 20 — [passengers standing next to train bound for Whittier near tunnel; print date Jun 59]
 21 — [locomotive 557 at head of Alaska Railroad train at Whittier depot, Buckner Building in background; print date Jun 59]
 22 — [view across water to glacier at Whittier, probably Learnard Glacier; print date Jun 59]
 23 — [view across tracks to Whittier depot; print date Jun 59]
 24 — [Alaska Railroad train at Whittier depot, caboose in foreground, Buckner Building in background; print date Jun 59]
 25 — [caboose No. 5 at end of train at depot, probably Whittier; print date Jun 59]
 26 — [locomotive 1031 in yard, probably Whittier; print date Jun 59]
 27 — [locomotive 1031 in yard, probably Whittier; print date Jun 59]
 28 — [locomotives 1031 and 557 at head of train at Whittier depot, passengers at right; print date Jun 59]
 29 — [locomotive 557 in yard, engineer standing at right, probably Whittier yard; print date Jun 59]
 30 — [scenic of mountains and wetlands as seen from tracks near Turnagain Arm; print date Jun 59]
 31 — [view down tracks along Turnagain Arm, automobile on Seward Highway at left; print date Jun 59]
 32 — [view down tracks along Turnagain Arm; print date Jun 59]
 33 — [view along side of train traveling along Turnagain Arm; print date Jun 59]
 34 — [view down tracks along Turnagain Arm, freight cars on siding at right; building at left; print date Jun 59]
 35 — [view down tracks along Turnagain Arm, freight cars on siding at right; building at left; print date Jun 59]
 36 — [locomotive 557 and passenger car in yard; print date Jun 59]
 37 — [locomotive 1202 in Anchorage yard; print date Jun 59]
 38 — [locomotive 1028 in Anchorage yard; print date Jun 59]
 39 — [passenger car “Lake Minchumina” in Anchorage yard; print date Jun 59]
 40 — [men standing next to locomotive 1512 at head of passenger train at Anchorage depot; print date Jun 59]
 41 — [close-up of Alaska Railroad McKinley National Park Route logo; print date Jun 59]
 42 — [young boy wearing eyeglasses standing next to locomotive 1512 with Alaska Railroad McKinley National Park Route logo; print date Jun 59]
 43 — [locomotive 1512 at head of passenger train at Anchorage depot, automobiles parked at left; print date Jun 59]
 44 — [scenic of Wasilla Lake, mountains in distance, automobile parked on gravel area in foreground; print date Jun 59]
 45 — [scenic of Susitna River, probably near Talkeetna; print date Jun 59]
 46 — [view along side of train traveling along river, probably between Talkeetna and Curry; print date Jun 59]
 47 — [view along side of train traveling along river, probably between Talkeetna and Curry; print date Jun 59]
 48 — [passenger train at depot, passengers standing on track at left, caboose in foreground, buildings in distance; print date Jun 59]
 49 — [scenic view along side train; print date Jun 59]
 50 — [scenic view down track; print date Jun 59]
 51 — [view along side train to second train on parallel track in front of section house; print date Jun 59]
 52 — [passengers on caboose of passenger train stopped in track; print date Jun 59]
 53 — [locomotive 1510 at head of passenger train passing second passenger train, passengers standing on caboose of train on siding at left; print date Jun 59]
 54 — [scenic view down track, river at left; print date Jun 59]
 55 — [scenic view down track, river at left; print date Jun 59]
 56 — [scenic view down track, river at left; print date Jun 59]
 57 — [locomotive 1512 at head of passenger train at depot, men and baggage cart on track, probably McKinley Park depot; print date Jun 59]
 58 — [bird’s eye view of McKinley Park Hotel; print date Jul 59]
 59 — [passenger training approaching trestle bridge, possibly Riley Creek bridge; print date Jul 59]
 60 — [passenger training crossing trestle bridge, possibly Riley Creek bridge; print date Jul 59]
 61 — [view along side passenger train stopped on curving track, caboose at right, creek or gully at left; print date Jul 59]
 62 — [dogs chained next to wooden kennels in dog yard, Mount McKinley National Park; print date Jul 59]
 63 — [dog chained next to wooden kennel in dog yard, Mount McKinley National Park; print date Jul 59]
 64 — [tourists watching dogs in harness during dog sled demonstration at Mount McKinley National Park; print date Jul 59]
 65 — [tourists watching ranger lead dog team out of lot during dog sled demonstration, Mount McKinley National Park; print date Jul 59]
 66 — [view down track in yard to approaching train, possibly Fairbanks; print date Jul 59]
 67 — [locomotive 1510 at head of passenger train in yard, possibly Fairbanks; print date Jul 59]
 68 — [passengers boarding riverboat Discovery from riverbank; print date Jul 59]
 69 — [riverboat Elaine G. and barge Colleen loaded with freight at dock on riverbank; print date Jul 59]
 70 — [paddle steamer Elaine G. of Peterson Navigation Company at dock, construction equipment at right; print date Jul 59]
 71 — [view from boat of birch grove, with several beaver-felled trees, some riverbank erosion; print date Jul 59]
 72 — [fish trap near riverbank, building at right; print date Jul 59. Cf. .73]
 73 — [homestead on riverbank, with log cabin at right, other structures at left; print date Jul 59]
 74 — [homestead on riverbank, with log cabin in center, cache at right, riverboat on bank in foreground; print date Jul 59]
 75 — [riverboat Discovery tied to riverbank, passengers on deck, people standing on bank at left; print date Jul 59]
 76 — [engineer sitting in locomotive 100 at head of White Pass & Yukon Route train in yard, thunderbird logo on front; print date Sep 66]
 77 — [locomotive 99 at head of White Pass & Yukon Route train in yard, thunderbird logo on front; print date Sep 66]
 78 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 248 “Lake Tagish” in yard; print date Sep 66]
 79 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 266 “Lake Schwatka” in yard; print date Sep 66]
 80 — [White Pass & Yukon Route baggage car 207 with cupola in yard; print date Sep 66]
 81 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 214 in yard; print date Sep 66]
 82 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 258 “Lake Kluahne” in yard; print date Sep 66]
 83 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 236 “Lake Mayo” in yard; print date Sep 66]
 84 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 224 “Lake Marsh” in yard; print date Sep 66]
 85 — [five passengers posing for group portrait next to White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car]
 86 — [five passengers posing for group portrait next to sign reading “White Pass and Yukon Route, Inspiration Point, Alaska, elevation 2400 ft., rail distance from ocean 17 miles, air line 12 miles, last view of ocean on this route, for 2150 miles, this is the great highway to interior Alaska and the Yukon”]
 87 — [passengers boarding White Pass “Special” bus on gravel road]
 88 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 234 “Lake Cowley” in yard]
 89 — [White Pass & Yukon Route passenger car 234 “Lake Cowley” at end of train in yard]
 90 — [locomotive 93 at head of White Pass & Yukon Route train in yard, thunderbird logo on front, possibly Whitehorse]
 91 — [locomotive 93 at head of White Pass & Yukon Route train in Whitehorse yard, thunderbird logo on front]
 92 — [The Gray Line “Alaska Hyway Tours” bus to Whitehorse parked next to building]
 93 — [passengers standing on highway bridge next to Gray Line “Alaska Hyway Tours” bus to Whitehorse, some holding cameras]
 94 — [view down gravel road, sign in middle ground reads “You are now entering the Yukon Territory, area 207,000 sq. miles, to Whitehorse, the capital, 106.4 miles”]
 95 — [paddle steamer Klondike in dry dock, Whitehorse]
 96 — [paddle steamers Aksala, Casca and Whitehorse in dry dock, Whitehorse]
 97 — [bird’s eye view of Whitehorse]
 98 — [bird’s eye view of Whitehorse, paddle steamers along river in left background]
 99 — [native Athabascan cemetery, with spirit houses, probably Yukon Territory]
 100 — [Volkswagen Beetle and bicycle outside Santa Claus House, sign above entrance for North Pole Post Office]
 101 — [dredge in pond, dragline excavator at left, probably Fairbanks area]
102 — [tourist holding wallet, standing in front of outdoor display of replica totem poles, cardboard box at left labeled “Tongass Trading Co. Ketchikan”]
 103 — [group of tourists at Saxman Totem Park]
 104 — [Sun and Raven totem pole and small building at Saxman Totem Park] Guide updated: May 23, 2018