REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Edward Vincent Morsch Photographs

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2016.027

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1942-1945

Extent: 1 box; 1.6 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Edward V. Morsch

Administrative/Biographical History:
The following biography was provided by the donor:

Edward Vincent Morsch was born August 26, 1921, in Perkinsville, New York, the only son of Edward John Morsch
and Dorothy Kimmel Morsch. He had been employed at Foster Wheeler Co. in Dansville as a sheet metal worker
after his graduation from Wayland High School in 1939. He enlisted in the United States Army at Fort Niagara, NY,
on August 31, 1942, shortly after his 21st
birthday. His father had refused to sign enlistment papers, so he
couldn’t enlist earlier.

He was assigned to the 1469th
/ Army Air Force Base Unit, and underwent arctic training at Buckley Field in
Colorado in preparation for being sent to Nome, Alaska. He also attended metal worker training at Chanute Field
in Champaign County, Illinois. He left for Nome on August 17, 1943. His specialty and military occupation was as
an Ap Sheet Metal Worker. He repaired any damage incurred on metal structures or end surfaces of American
airplanes that had been flown to Nome in preparation for being turned over to Russian pilots. He also made
metal items, such as cabinets, for use on the Nome base. He served until November 26, 1945, when he was
honorably discharged at Rome, NY. He was awarded the American Campaign Medal, Good Conduct Medal,
Asiatic Pacific Campaign Medal, the World War II Victory Medal, and was given three overseas bars.

He returned to his family home in Perkinsville, NY, and returned to work at Foster Wheeler Co. in nearby
Dansville. He married Rita Rauber on May 8, 1951. They settled in Dansville. Their daughter Kathleen Marie

Morsch was born in 1954 and their son Douglas Edward Morsch was born in 1956. Edward V. Morsch died on
December 19, 1989, from mesothelioma at Noyes Memorial Hospital in Dansville, at the age of 68.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of one album in painted wooden boards, measuring 17” x 11 ½”, which
contains 101 black-and-white mounted photographs. Also included are 33 loose black-and-
white photographs, 3 digital prints, and 14 negatives. The images primarily depict Morsch and
other servicemen in Colorado and Alaska, as well as scenes of civilian life in Nome. There are
several photos of military aircraft, presumably Lend Lease airplanes. For more information,
see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged by format.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Edward Vincent Morsch Photographs, Anchorage Museum, B2016.027

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by daughter Kate Morsch Sullivan in December 2016. Addendum of 14 negatives and
13 prints received August 31, 2017.

Processing Note
Several photos removed from album prior to donation.


RELATED MATERIALS
Cora Horton Kendall Collection, B2015.023


SUBJECTS
Morsch, Edward Vincent, 1921-1989
World War, 1939-1945--Campaigns--Alaska
World War, 1939-1945--Military life—American
World War, 1939-1945--Military personnel—American
Nome (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

Album
 1 — [two servicemen standing in forested area, one man holding shovel, Colorado?]
 2 — [scenic of mountains, Colorado? Cf. .16, .19, .25]
 3 — [scenic of mountains, Colorado?]
 4 — [four servicemen in forested area, two seated under small tarp, man second from right identified as Morsch, Colorado?]
 5 — [image of last paragraph of Robert Service’s poem, “This is the law of the Yukon”]
 6 — [scenic of lake in mountainous area, Colorado?]
 7 — [scenic of forested area, Colorado?]
 8 — [sleeping bag and other gear hanging to dry from trees in forested area, Colorado?]
 9 — [serviceman holding shovel standing next to camp fire in forested area, Colorado?]
 10 — [group portrait of eight servicemen sitting around camp fire, Morsch identified as fourth from right, Colorado?]
 11 — Nome, Alaska [winter street scene with snowdrift in right foreground]
 12 — View of Submarine Beach, Nome, Alaska [distant view of buildings in winter]
 13 — Snowmobile in front Nome high school, Nome, Alaska [snowmachine pulling sled, people walking at left]
 14 — [man identified as Morsch standing in front of building nearly buried in snow]
 15 — [serviceman wearing sunglasses crouched next to creek, buildings in distance, Nome area]
 16 — [scenic of mountains, Colorado? Cf. .2]
 17 — [four servicemen sitting on ground at camp site in forested area, Colorado?]
 18 — [serviceman balancing on rocks along creek in mountainous area, Colorado?]
 19 — [scenic of mountains, Colorado? Cf. .2]
 20 — [two servicemen sitting in light from camp fire, Colorado? Original image blurry]
 21 — [serviceman with shovel digging hole in forested area, Colorado?]
 22 — [scenic of creek in mountainous area, Colorado?]
 23 — [scenic of mountains, Colorado? Cf. .2]
 24 — [four men outside hardware store in winter, man at left shoveling snow, Nome]
 25 — [man identified as Morsch standing in front of building in winter]
 26 — [man in uniform identified as Morsch standing in city, urban park with American flag flying in background, identified as Buffalo, NY]
 27 — [man in uniform identified as Morsch posed with man wearing mop wig and mop apron next to building. Cf. .88]
 28 — [man in uniform identified as Morsch posed with man wearing mop wig and mop apron and serviceman wearing gas mask]
 29 — [portrait of man in uniform identified as Morsch]
 30 — [serviceman at beach picnic holding hot dog or other food on a stick, Nome area]
 31 — [servicemen at picnic, two seated in foreground drinking Schlitz beer, one eating in background]
 32 — [two servicemen sitting on gravel beach]
 33 — [two servicemen lying on gravel beach, others standing along river in background, possibly Snake River]
 34 — [group of servicemen drinking beer at beach picnic]
 35 — [group of servicemen gathered around camp fire at beach picnic, man in foreground holding stick and bottle of alcohol]
 36 — [serviceman playing game on beach, swinging ball on rope towards two baseball bats set up in foreground]
 37 — [group of servicemen drinking beer and roasting hot dogs around camp fire at beach picnic]
 38 — [group of servicemen eating and drinking beer around makeshift table at beach picnic]
 39 — [distant view of servicemen at beach picnic, with camp fire at right and baseball bats in gravel in foreground, probably Snake River in background]
 40 — [servicemen at beach picnic, man at left retrieving beer cooling in river]
 41 — [three servicemen drinking alcohol at beach picnic]
 42 — [group of servicemen gathered around camp fire at beach picnic]
 43 — [serviceman on gravel beach holding rope]
 44 — [group of servicemen eating and drinking beer at beach picnic]
 45 — [two servicemen facing off at beach picnic]
 46 — Largest house in Nome [serviceman in arctic gear walking past building with sign for Maynard-Columbus Hospital. Original image blurry]
 47 — [serviceman posed on pedestrian bridge across Snake River, second bridge at left]
 48 — [scenic sunset over water]
 49 — [pilot in cockpit of airplane, possibly Bell Kingcobra]
 50 — [pilot in cockpit of airplane, possibly Bell Kingcobra]
 51 — Courtesy of Bell Aircraft Corporation [two airplanes in flight, Army Air Force Bell P-63 Kingcobra aircraft tail numbers 268871 and 43474]
 52 — Nome Aug. 1944 [group portrait of servicemen posed with airplane, men identified on front as left to right: Krivosky, Whitney, O’Hara, Able, Morsch, Shock, Welds]
 53 — [four servicemen, three wearing leather bomber jackets, posed outdoors in winter]
 54 — [two servicemen posed with airplane propeller]
 55 — [three servicemen posed on tundra, man in center wearing Russian military uniform]
 56 — [serviceman identified as Morsch posed holding fishing rod and fish. Cf. .148]
 57 — [pilot in cockpit of airplane, possibly Bell Kingcobra. Original image blurry]
 58 — [man standing on wing of airplane, possibly Bell Kingcobra]
 59 — [two servicemen posed next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork,” man at left identified as Morsch. Cf. .90, .96, .98, .99, .101, .134- 135]
 60 — [serviceman wearing coveralls posed in front of airplane with nose removed. Cf. .77]
 61 — [distant view of airplane on airstrip, possibly North American B-25 Mitchell]
 62 — [two pilots talking next to Bell Kingcobra airplane, possibly Russian pilots]
 63 — [two servicemen pulling on propeller of airplane, another man in open cockpit, possibly Douglas A-20 Boston aircraft?]
 64 — [two pilots posed next to airplane propeller, possibly North American B-25 Mitchell]
 65 — [scenic of river through tundra]
 66 — [two servicemen posed on beach, one wearing flight suit and sunglasses, one wearing metal helmet and tank top]
 67 — [dog lying on ground]
 68 — [serviceman posed with dog, building in background]
 69 — [dog lying on ground, building in background]
 70 — [serviceman posed in front of building]
 71 — [woman walking past two-story building in winter, Nome]
 72 — [distant view of pedestrian bridge over river. Cf. .130]
 73 — [two pilots standing next to Bell Kingcobra airplane, possibly Russian pilots]
74 — Russian pilots [three pilots standing next to airplane]
 75 — Two Eskimo girls, Nome, Alaska [two women walking on street in winter]
 76 — [pilot stepping into cockpit of airplane, possibly Bell Kingcobra]
 77 — [serviceman wearing fur hat posed in front of airplane with nose removed. Cf. .60]
 78 — [servicemen drinking beer in barracks]
 79 — [three servicemen standing next to airplane, possibly North American B-25 Mitchell]
 80 — [Russian pilot standing on wing of airplane, possibly Bell Kingcobra]
 81 — [distant view of Douglas C-47 Skytrain on airstrip. Cf. .137]
 82 — Main St., Nome, Alaska [winter street scene]
 83 — Sea Wolf, Jack London [man posed next to shipwreck in winter. Cf. .131]
 84 — [serviceman wearing coveralls posed indoors holding two fish]
 85 — [two servicemen posed outside sheet metal shop, man at left identified as Morsch]
 86 — [serviceman standing on wing of airplane, possibly Bell Kingcobra]
 87 — [serviceman identified as Morsch standing next to Quonset hut in winter. Cf. .139]
 88 — [man in uniform identified as Morsch posed with man wearing mop wig and mop apron next to building. Cf. .27]
 89 — [three servicemen posed next to building]
 90 — [three servicemen posed next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork,” man in front identified as Morsch. Cf. .59]
 91 — [serviceman identified as Morsch posed outdoors in winter, building in background]
 92 — [building nearly buried in snow]
 93 — Dog team [serviceman posed with man driving dog team on Nome street. Cf. .102, .127]
 94 — [serviceman identified as Morsch standing on stoop outside Hotel Bar, Nome]
 95 — Russian pilots [three pilots standing next to airplane propeller]
 96 — [two servicemen posed next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork,” man at right identified as Morsch. Cf. .59]
 97 — [serviceman identified as Morsch standing next to Quonset hut in winter. Cf. .140]
 98 — [three servicemen posed next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork.” Cf. .59]
 99 — [four servicemen posed next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork.” Cf. .59]
 100 — [man standing next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork”]
 101 — [two servicemen posed next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork.” Cf. .59] Loose prints
 102 — [serviceman posed behind sled of dog team being driven on street, Nome. Cf. .93]
 103 — Army chapel, Nome, Alaska [distant view of church, truck parked in front, Quonset hut at left]
 104 — Bank, Nome, Alaska [exterior in winter]
 105 — [two servicemen outside Quonset hut, sheet metal shop]
 106 — Dog team [musher and dog team next to building. Cf. .149]
 107 — Nome [serviceman posed outside Alaska Steamship Company ticket office]
 108 — P-63 plane [pilot in cockpit of Bell Kingcobra airplane]
 109 — Salmon drying [fish on drying racks along Snake River, metal barrels in foreground]
 110 — [scenic of tundra, photographer’s shadow in foreground]
111 — [Alaska Native woman wearing kuspuk and eyeglasses sitting on tundra]
 112 — Loading barge on island, Russia in background [man standing on empty barge on beach, Diomede Islands or King Island?]
 113 — [scenic of tundra]
 114 — [bird’s eye view of coastline]
 115 — Main street of Nome [unattended dog team on street]
 116 — [scenic view up rocky hillside]
 117 — [scenic of tundra, photographer’s shadow in foreground]
 118 — Snake River near Nome [scenic of river through tundra]
119 — King of the King Islanders [man, woman, and two children sitting between tents, cache and drying racks in background]
120 — King Islander Eskimos [man, three women, and young boy standing next to tent, cache at left]
 121 — [scenic of coastline as seen from water] Digital prints
 122 — Edward Vincent Morsch, dob 8/24/21, dod 12/19/89 [portrait of serviceman]
 123 — L to rt: Dorothy Morsch (mother), Edward V. Morsch (son), Elizabeth Morsch (sister), 1942 [three people posed outdoors in summer]
 124 — Edward V. Morsch and extended family. EVM 2 nd row 2 nd fr left; Dorothy Morsch (mother) 3 rd row left; Elizabeth Morsch (sister) 1 st row 2 nd fr left, 1942 [group portrait] Addendum Prints
 125 — [serviceman posed next to building nearly buried in snow]
 126 — [three men walking past Nome bank in winter]
 127 — [serviceman posed with man driving dog team on Nome street. Cf. .93]
 128 — [view down street, buildings at left, ocean at right]
 129 — [view of residential area in Nome, three dogs in center background]
 130 — [distant view of pedestrian bridge over river in winter. Cf. .72]
 131 — [man posed next to shipwreck in winter. Cf. .83]
 132 — Colville River [scenic of river]
 133 — [scenic of river, Quonset hut on far bank]
 134 — [two servicemen posed next to sub-depot building]
 135 — [two servicemen posed next to building with sign “Sub-Depot, Engineering Shop No. 1, sheet metal & woodwork,” vehicle in foreground]
 136 — [three servicemen loading lumber onto long cart next to Quonset hut]
 137 — [Douglas C-47 Skytrain on airstrip. Cf. .81] Negatives
138 — [serviceman wearing cold weather gear posed next to Quonset hut]
139 — [Morsch wearing cold weather gear posed next to Quonset hut. Cf. .87]
140 — [Morsch wearing cold weather gear posed next to Quonset hut. Cf. .97]
141 — [serviceman posed next to Quonset hut]
142 — [serviceman, possibly Morsch, wearing cold weather gear and smoking pipe, posed outdoors]
143 — [serviceman wearing cold weather gear posed outdoors]
144 — [serviceman wearing cold weather gear posed outdoors in deep snow]
145 — [serviceman wearing cold weather gear posed outdoors]
146 — [two servicemen wearing cold weather gear posed outdoors, Morsch at right]
147 — [Morsch wearing cold weather gear posed outdoors]
148 — [serviceman identified as Morsch posed holding fishing rod and fish. Cf. .56]
149 — [musher and dog team next to building. Cf. .106]
150 — [musher and dog team on frozen river, hills in background]
151 — [view down street into Nome] Guide updated: January 12, 2018