REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Brett Weston Prints

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2016.026

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: ca. 1969-1977

Extent: 50 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Brett Weston

Administrative/Biographical History:
Brett Weston was born in Los Angeles in 1911, son of the prominent American photographer
Edward Weston. In 1925, Edward took Brett on as an apprentice. Brett soon began making
photographs himself, and won wide recognition for his work after several of his images were
included in the 1929 Film und Foto exhibition in Germany. Known for his high contrast
abstract images, Brett created his own prints throughout his career. On his instruction, his
negatives were destroyed upon his death in 1993.¹

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 50 unsigned, unmounted silver gelatin prints from Weston’s Alaska
portfolio, printed by Weston prior to his death. For more information, see Detailed
Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged by photographer’s number.


¹ “Brett Weston.” http://www.brettwestonarchive.com/brettweston (last visited December 14, 2016)


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Brett Weston Prints, Anchorage Museum, B2016.026.[inventory number]

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Gift of the Christian Keesee Collection, December 2016.

Processing Note
Condition reports available in accession file.

Note
Descriptive information provided by donor.


SUBJECTS
Weston, Brett
Alaska—Photographs


Detailed Description of the Collection


Inventory
Number
Exhibition Title Exhibition
Date
Dimensions
09644.70 ICE FORMATION, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"
09653.70 MOUNTAINS AND SNOW, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
10776. MOUNTAINS AND SNOW, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"

12009. REEDS AND WATER, ALASKA 1977 8"x10"
12014.70 REEDS AND WATER, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
12025. LILY AND WATER, ALASKA c. 1975 8"x10"
13792. PEBBLES AND WATER, ALASKA c. 1975 8"x10"
13810. GLACIAL ICE, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
14138. SNOW, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
14139. SNOW, ALASKA 1977 8"x10"
14141. SNOW SLIDE, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
14167. SNOW, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
14183. MOUNTAIN, ALASKA c. 1970 8"x10"
14200. CLOUDS, MOUNTAIN, WATER, ALASKA c. 1975 8"x10"
14356. MOUNTAIN, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
14543. WOOD AND SAND, ALASKA c. 1970 8"x10"
14545. WOOD AND SAND, ALASKA c. 1970 8"x10"
14551. TREE ROOT, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
15027. TREES, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
15084. TREE, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
15293. TREE BARK 1962 8"x10"
16235. CRACKED PAINT, ALASKA 1969 8"x10"
16449. BUILDING, ALASKA 1973 8"x10"
19227. BROKEN PLASTIC, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
19387. LILY LEAVES, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"
19431. BRANCHES AND WATER 1973 11"x14"
19562. MENDENHALL GLACIER, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
20517. ICE FORMATION, ALASKA 1978 11"x14"
20552. ICE AND ROCK 1973 11"x14"
20710. LILY LEAVES AND REEDS, ALASKA c. 1975 11"x14"
20713. SWAP, LILY PADS, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
20735. LILY LEAVES AND REEDS, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"
24663. WORMWOOD, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
24685. WORMWOOD, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
28625. CLOUDS OVER MOUNTAIN, ALASKA 1973 16"x20"
28997. LILY LEAVES, ALASKA 1977 16"x20"
29376. TOTEM HEAD, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
29381. TOTEM POLE DETAIL, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
29383. TOTEM POLE DETAIL, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"
29390. TOTEM POLE DETAIL, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"
29402. TOTEM POLE DETAIL, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"
29501. STUMP DETAIL, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
30830. CALLA LILY, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
31922. PLANTS, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
32351. WATER, REFLECTIONS, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"

32375. LOGGING POND, ALASKA c. 1975 11"x14"
32720. TREE, ALASKA 1977 11"x14"
33083. WATER AND BRANCH, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
33289. GLACIAL SILT, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"
34253. GLACIAL SILT, ALASKA 1973 11"x14"

Guide written: December 14, 2016