REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Alaska Forester Slides

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2016.025

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1953-1965

Extent: 177 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): unknown

Administrative/Biographical History:
The photographer was unknown at the time of processing, but based on the subject matter of
the images, he was likely a forester with the Bureau of Land Management or Forest Service in
Alaska, possibly specializing in fire management. Three images at the end of the collection
(.175-177) might feature the photographer.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 177 color 35mm slides taken in the 1950s and 1960s, most depicting
foresters and their activities or forest habitats in Alaska. For more information, see Detailed
Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged by film roll to the extent possible.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.


Physical Access: Original items in fair to good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. A light box may be
used to view transparencies.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Alaska Forester Slides, Anchorage Museum, B2016.025

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Slides purchased at an estate sale and donated to the Anchorage Museum by an anonymous
party.

Processing Note
Slides removed from binder and sorted into film processing types. Non-Alaskan images
discarded.


SUBJECTS
United States. Bureau of Land Management. Alaska State Office
United States. Forest Service
Forests and forestry—Alaska
Forest fires—Prevention and control—Alaska
Fairbanks (Alaska)
Fort Yukon (Alaska)
Kenai (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
1 — Rosa Crk. forest, white spruce [view down trail to man chopping at tree trunk with axe]
2 — Rosa Cr. For. Mgt. area, white spruce, Alaska, Oct. 1953 [view down trail in winter]
 3 — Log deck, Lawrence operation, Rosa Cr. Tmb. Mgt. area, Alaska, Oct. 1953 [cut timber in clearing in winter]
 4 — Bill Lawrence, Rosa Cr. Tmbr. Mgt. area, first log deck, white spruce, Alaska, Oct. 1953 [man on tractor moving cut timber in clearing in winter]
 5 — Ben Slater [man wearing snowshoes working in clearing in winter]
6 — White spruce, birch [three men standing in forest in winter]
 7 — Mick McG[wire?] [man aiming pistol in clearing in winter]
 8 — Alaska [close-up of seedlings]
 9 — Nursery [view down row of seedlings]
 10 — [view down row of seedlings]
 11 — Nursery [view down row of seedlings]
 12 — [spruce in birch forest]
 13 — [spruce in birch forest]
14 — Black spruce, Salcha River [forest]
 15 — [hand-lettered sign on tree in forest, reading “Free Use Timber Permit R.T. Hartung”]
 16 — Log deck, Independent Lumber Co., Fairbanks [cut timber in yard]
 17 — [Independent Lumber Co. yard]
 18 — [men loading cut timber onto truck in lumber yard]
 19 — Murphy Dome Rd. [scenic of rolling forested hills]
 20 — [scenic of rolling forested hills]
 21 — Deadman Lake, Bill Short, Tanacross, Alaska, 1953 July [man sitting at picnic table next to lake, wood tripod in foreground]
 22 — Squirrel Ridge, Livengood Road, Alaska, Aug. 1953 [scenic of forested hills, with dirt road in foreground]
 23 — Central [log tower in forested area, with sign “End o’ the Road, Circle City, Alaska”]
 24 — Old John Lake [two men standing on gravel lakeshore next to Grumman Goose airplane]
 25 — Find the mouse [close-up of leaf litter on forest floor]
 26 — [close-up of leaf litter on forest floor]
 27 — Ptarmigan chick, Alaska [close-up of bird in man’s hand]
 28 — [close-up of moss and mushroom on forest floor]
 29 — Fomes pini [fungi on table]
 30 — Ft. Yukon, Alaska, Sept. 1953 [woman handling golden eagle]
 31 — Ft. Yukon, Alaska, Sept. 1953 [aerial of wetlands]
 32 — Beaver Creek [aerial of river]
 33 — Big bend of the Beaver [aerial of river]
 34 — In front of Sheep Mt. Lodge [scenic view down road in winter]
 35 — New high school building, Fairbanks, 1954, -40° F [distant view of building in ice fog]
 36 — New high school building, Fairbanks, 1954, -40° F [distant view of building in ice fog]
 37 — 6 th St., Fairbanks, 1954, -40° F [street view in winter]
 38 — Twin Cessna warming up, International Airport [airplane tail number N66795? on airstrip, automobiles parked at right]
 39 — Alaska [musher with dog team passing spectators on city street in front of Territorial Dept. of Taxation]
 40 — [musher with dog team passing spectators on city street]
 41 — [spectators walking among military airplanes at air show, probably Fairbanks]
 42 — [spectators gathered around nose of military airplane at air show, probably Fairbanks]
 43 — [spectators walking among military airplanes at air show, probably Fairbanks]
 44 — [spectators walking among military airplanes at air show, uniformed servicemen in foreground probably Fairbanks]
 45 — [airplane flying over airstrip at air show]
 46 — [distant view of fire from airplane crash at air show]
 47 — Grayling fishing, Birch Crk. [man angling from riverbank]
 48 — [three men holding stringer of fish on gravel lakeshore, Grumman Goose airplane in background]
 49 — VH [man holding fish on gravel lakeshore, Grumman Goose airplane in background]
 50 — DM Schmitt [mukluk and mittens hanging on tree trunk]
 51 — Alaska [pan of fish on camp stove in cabin]
 52 — Jens 1957 [two men sitting at picnic table in forested area]
 53 — Jens, 1957 [man posed next to tree trunk]
 54 — [man measuring timber in forested area]
 55 — Fred Waldhaus, Alaska [man measuring timber in forested area]
 56 — [scenic of mountain in winter]
 57 — [scenic of mountains in winter]
 58 — [scenic of mountainous area in winter]
 59 — Simmerville, Dan [man seated at table indoors]
 60 — Ericson, Jim [man seated at table indoors]
 61 — [unidentified man seated at table indoors]
 62 — [unidentified man seated at table indoors]
 63 — [man carrying measuring equipment wading into water, boots over shoulder, jeans rolled up to knees]
 64 — Carl [man measuring tree trunk in forest]
 65 — [tripod and boxes of supplies in clearing, probably camp]
 66 — [four men sitting on ground at camp, man at left smoking pipe]
 67 — Burns, Carl, Waldhaus [three men next to camp fire, man at left smoking pipe]
 68 — Don Burns [man standing in forested area]
 69 — Day Harbor [two men in small boat]
 70 — [scenic of mountains and valley, possibly rock slide area on mountainside]
 71 — [two men next to automobile parked above valley seen in .70, one man arranging backpack]
 72 — [three men sitting with their gear atop concrete block in gravel valley seen in .70]
 73 — [scenic looking up gravel valley]
 74 — [view from gravel riverbank of man with backpack walking across pedestrian bridge, another man below bridge at right]
 75 — [man paddling small inflatable raft on river]
 76 — [one man dumping another man out of a small boat on river, portion of wooden pier along muddy bar in background]
 77 — [two men wearing swimsuits on wooden pier on muddy bar in river]
 78 — [man using small hose to put out hot spot in forest fire]
 79 — [man using axe to cover hot spot in forest fire]
 80 — [man using axe to cover hot spot in forest fire]
 81 — Mop-up [overview of burned area from forest fire]
 82 — Livengood Rd., 9-55 [view down gravel road]
 83 — Tok Cutoff [bird’s eye view of wetlands, possibly Tetlin National Wildlife Refuge]
 84 — Tok Cutoff, Bear Cub Inn [scenic of pond in forested area]
 85 — Tok River [scenic]
 86 — Matanuska Glacier [scenic]
 87 — Matanuska Glacier [scenic]
 88 — [close-up of glacier moraine]
 89 — [scenic of rolling forested hills]
 90 — [bird’s eye view of lakes in forested area]
 91 — [dilapidated cabin in forested area]
 92 — [dilapidated cabin in forested area]
 93 — White Mt. [scenic of rolling forested hills]
 94 — Globe Creek [scenic of rolling forested hills]
 95 — Birch, Alder Creek trail [forest]
 96 — Porcupine [porcupine on trail in forested area]
 97 — Alaska [porcupine on trail in forested area]
 98 — Chena Bridge [view from riverbank to Fairbanks buildings in background, bridge at right]
 99 — Fairbanks, 1955 [bird’s eye view of Fairbanks, with signs for businesses including Model Café, Carr’s, Silver Dollar, KFAR]
 100 — [bird’s eye view of Fairbanks, with signs for businesses including Nerland’s, Fairbanks Insurance Agency]
 101 — Ft. Yukon [street scene with post office, flowers planted in large tire in front of building]
 102 — Ft. Yukon [men unloading pallet of sacks along river, supplies stacked around, possibly dock construction?]
 103 — [Fort Yukon, men and supplies along river, riverboat docked at right, dock construction?]
 104 — Barge, Ft. Yukon, 1955 [riverboat docked next to area of dock construction]
 105 — [large piles of stacked timber, post office in center background, Fort Yukon]
 106 — Fish wheel, Circle City [fish wheel on river]
 107 — [man unlocking door of cabin]
 108 — [view up gravelly creek to man with camera taking photograph of fish in creek]
 109 — 1954 [scenic of tundra and rolling hills]
 110 — Ben Slater, 1955 [man holding brass canister or pitcher, standing next to spruce tree in birch grove]
 111 — [four men wearing cold weather gear standing on flats next to river, coniferous trees in background]
 112 — [picnic table in forested area]
 113 — [scenic view down dirt road in autumn, automobile in distance]
 114 — [scenic view from road to forested hills and snow-capped mountains]
 115 — [scenic of trees in autumn and termination dust on mountains]
 116 — [porcupine at base of tree]
 117 — [porcupine in brush]
 118 — [man looking down through tripod-mounted viewer in forested area]
 119 — Alaska [man wearing packboard posting notice on tree trunk in forested area]
 120 — [two men posed with downed tree in forested area]
 121 — [man seated under tarp at camp in forested area]
 122 — Alaska [log raft or start of small bridge tied to riverbank]
 123 — Ben [man fishing in lake, rolling hills in background]
 124 — The Goose [Grumman Goose airplane taxiing on lake in forested area]
 125 — [man standing amid small trees in taiga, mountains in background]
 126 — Krumholz [scenic of taiga]
 127 — Moose [moose next to small lake on taiga]
 128 — [scenic of taiga]
 129 — [scenic of lake]
130 — Fair @ Palmer [distant view of two children riding ponies attached to wheel, adults standing nearby, building in background, picnic table in middle ground, truck parked in trees at right, child playing in right foreground]
 131 — [interior of office, with books and coffee cup on table]
 132 — [man reclining on ground in forested area]
 133 — [man measuring trees in forested area in winter]
 134 — [man measuring trees in forested area in winter]
 135 — [man measuring trees in forested area in winter]
 136 — [view down road in winter to snow-covered mountains, lake or inlet in distance, probably Seward Highway]
 137 — Turnagain Arm [view down Seward Highway in winter, Alaska Railroad tracks on left]
 138 — Kenai [street scene, with Club Café at right, trucks and trailers parked next to building in center, signs on building at left for U.S. Royal Tires, Quaker State Motor Oil]
 139 — Kenai [similar to .138]
 140 — Fred Waldhaus [man standing next to pile of cut timber in forested area]
 141 — [stacks of cut timber in between trees in forested area]
 142 — Fred Waldhaus, Alaska [man stoking camp fire]
 143 — [man, probably Fred Waldhaus, standing next to bed roll laid out on ground, looking at equipment, camping in area of low brush]
 144 — [men working in forested area in winter]
 145 — [two men walking on trail in forested area in winter, one man in short sleeves]
 146 — [close-up of tree trunk chewed by beavers]
 147 — [mining dredge in pond]
 148 — [bird’s eye view of river valley, bridge in far left distance, mountains in background]
 149 — [view down river, with chunks of ice along shores]
 150 — [scenic of rolling hills, mountains in background]
 151 — [scenic of taiga in spring, mountains in background]
 152 — [scenic of taiga in spring]
 153 — [scenic of taiga in spring, mountains in background]
 154 — [scenic of taiga, man standing in tall grasses at right]
 155 — [two men standing on dirt road, one man with camera on tripod]
 156 — 1954 [three men standing on dirt road, one man holding camera, one holding equipment]
 157 — Dick Quintus? [two men fishing on bend in river]
 158 — [man casting line from gravel riverbank]
159 — Gordo [man sitting on ground in forested area, looking at aerial survey photographs with viewer]
 160 — [view down wet dirt road through taiga in autumn, rainbow in distance]
 161 — [man measuring trees in forested area]
 162 — [man measuring trees in forested area]
 163 — Healy [pack laid on ground in clearing in forested area, with wildflowers]
 164 — [two men sitting next to camp fire, frying eggs in skillet, box of C rations at right]
 165 — Alaska [man bending down with cupped hands to wash face in small creek]
 166 — Alaska [snowshoes propped against automobile parked near trees in winter]
 167 — [man holding measuring stick standing in forested area in winter]
 168 — [Grumman Goose airplane tied to gravel beach]
 169 — Logs at Newby’s [stack of cut timber in lumber yard]
 170 — Portage Glacier [two men crouched down on icebergs in Portage Lake]
 171 — Portage Glacier [scenic, with icebergs in Portage Lake in foreground]
 172 — Alaska Range [bird’s eye view of pass area in mountains; print date Sep 65]
 173 — Windy Creek [scenic of mountainous area; print date Sep 65]
 174 — [three men at camp site, boots and socks hanging to dry; print date Jan 67?]
 175 — [man wearing eyeglasses, mortarboard, and master’s robes posed on rooftop in urban area, collection photographer?]
 176 — [man wearing mortarboard and master’s robes posed on rooftop in urban area, not same man as in .175, collection photographer?]
 177 — [man smoking pipe posed on ship deck with hand on rope for ship’s bell, collection photographer?] Guide written: December 6, 2016