REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: George Louis Oakley Slides

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2016.024

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1951-1953

Extent: 122 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): George Oakley

Administrative/Biographical History:
Coast Guard Air Station Annette was established in 1944 as a refueling location for aircraft.
During World War II, a squadron of Canadian fighter planes, No. 115, was stationed at
Annette, along with American forces. The station was transferred to Sitka in 1977.1

George Oakley was an aviator stationed at the United States Coast Guard station on Annette
Island from October 1951 to the summer of 1953. His wife was a nurse, and the family lived in
military housing on the island during his tour. For more family information, see donor
correspondence in the collection accession file.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 122 small format color slides of Air Station Annette, Metlakatla,
Ketchikan, and other southeast Alaska locations, taken by George Oakley between October
1951 and summer 1953. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

1 “Air Station Annette, Alaska,” http://www.uscg.mil/history/stations/airsta_annette.asp (last visited Sept. 26,
2016).


Arrangement: Donor order maintained


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
George Louis Oakley Slides, Anchorage Museum, B2016.024

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by daughter Jane Pluta in September 2016.

Processing Note
Some caption information taken from donor notes on copy prints initially sent to Museum.

Separated Materials
Copy prints transferred to Metlakatla.


SUBJECTS
United States. Coast Guard. District, 17th
/
Totem poles—Alaska
Annette Island (Alaska)
Metlakatla (Alaska)
Klawock (Alaska)
Ketchikan (Alaska)
Wrangell (Alaska)
Craig (Alaska)
Juneau (Alaska)

Hydaburg (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
 1 — Geo., Annette, July ’52 [from print:] Jetty near C.G. housing, my brother age 5 ½ [boy sitting on jetty, buildings on shore in background]
 2 — Judy, Annette, July ’52 [little girl on dock]
 3 — Geo., Jane, Annette, Aug. ’52 [on print:] My brother and I, ages 5 ½ & 6 ½ [boy and girl posed next to gravel pile, water in background]
 4 — Mary & Judy, Annette, Sept. ’52 [on similar print:] Quonset huts, CG housing, boardwalk leading to our Quonset hut, my mother and 18 mo.-old sister [woman and young child walking between rows of housing]
 5 — Mary shopping, Annette, Nov. ’52 [on similar print:] Ellis Airlines, our only link to mainland, Ketchikan [women debarking from Grumman Goose airplane]
6 — Annette school, July ’52 [students posed with teacher in classroom]
 7 — CG living area, Jan. ’53, back of our hut [on print:] Rare snowstorm (rained mostly) [Quonset hut in snow]
 8 — CG living area, Annette 1952 [on print:] Our jetty [view down beach, rusted Marston matting in foreground, driftwood in middle ground, buildings in background]
 9 — CG living, Apr. ’53 [view across mud flats, driftwood in foreground]
 10 — CG living area, Annette, Apr. ’53 [on print:] Incinerator hut to keep the bears out, our hut behind the trees, 2 nd from left [small structure in foreground, metal barrel at right, automobile parked next to Quonset huts in background]
 11 — CG living area, Annette, Apr. ’53 [on print:] More huts [bird’s eye view of Quonset hut and boardwalk, carport at left]
 12 — CG living area, Annette, Apr. ’53 [housing on stilts at left, Quonset hut in background, metal barrel on gravel area in foreground]
 13 — CG living area, Annette, Apr. ’53 [on print:] Note oil barrels: our source of fuel [bird’s eye view of housing in trees, woman standing next to truck in right foreground, metal barrels stacked on rack in center background]
 14 — CG living area, Annette, Apr. ’53, side of our hut [on print:] Our Quonset hut. My dad put the side window in. Note yellow skunk cabbage [view down boardwalk to housing]
 15 — CG living area, Annette, Apr. ’53, our hut [two young children in front of Quonset hut with add-on porch]
 16 — CG living area, Annette, Apr. ’53 [bird’s eye view of boardwalk between Quonset huts in wooded area, two children in foreground]
 17 — Janie, Metlakatla, Apr. ’53 [young girl walking among grave markers in cemetery]
 18 — Jane, Judy, Geo., Annette, April ’53 [three children on beach with driftwood]
 19 — Mary & Janie, Annette, Ap. ’53 [on print:] Looking for driftwood and Japanese floats [woman and girl on beach]
 20 — Janie, Annette, Ap. ’53 [young girl in foreground looking out over water]
 21 — Totems [Sun and Raven pole, small building at left]
 22 — Totems [Blackfish totem pole, Totem Bight State Historical Park]
 23 — Totems [Man Captured by Land Otters pole, Totem Bight State Historical Park]
 24 — Totems [Sea Monster pole by John Wallace, Totem Bight State Historical Park]
 25 — [Kats and His Bear Wife pole, Saxman Totem Park]
 26 — Totems [Giant Rock Oyster pole, Saxman Totem Park]
 27 — Totem [Man with Bear Hat post, Totem Bight State Historical Park]
 28 — Totems [Grizzly Bear monument, Saxman Totem Park]
 29 — Totems, Ap. ’53 [Frog Tree, Saxman Totem Park]
 30 — Totems, Ap. ’53 [Pointing Figure, Saxman Totem Park]
 31 — Totems, Ap. ’53 [copy of Howkan Eagle pole, Totem Bight State Historical Park]
 32 — Totem, April ’53 [Tired Wolf house posts, Saxman Totem Park]
 33 — Ketchikan, Apr. ’53 [Eagle totem and human figure on post]
 34 — Klawak totems, Apr. ’53 [four totem posts, buildings in background, Klawock]
 35 — Klawak totems, Apr. ’53 [Blackfish and Brown Bear pole at left, building in background, Klawock]
 36 — Klawak totems, Apr. ’53 [totem poles on hill overlooking village in distance, Blackfish totem in foreground, Klawock]
 37 — Klawak totems, Apr. ’53 [several totem poles, Klawock]
 38 — Klawak totems, Apr. ’53 [Woodworm totem, Klawock]
 39 — Klawak totems, 1953 [Gonaqadate the Sea Monster and First Blackfish poles, Klawock]
 40 — Totem, Klawak, Ap. ’53 [detail of Giant Clam pole, Klawock]
 41 — Klawak totems, Apr. 1953 [several totem poles, Klawock]
 42 — Klawak totems, Apr. ’53 [several totem poles, Klawock]
 43 — Klawak totems, Apr. ’53 [detail of Sockeye Salmon pole, Klawock]
 44 — Midnight on Annette, June ’53 [scenic of sunset]
 45 — Annette sunset, June ’52 [scenic]
 46 — Annette sunset, July ’52 [scenic]
 47 — Annette, CAA, Apr. 53 [on print:] Our “town” – school, chapel, and CAA [view across clearing to buildings, church at right]
 48 — Annette reservoir, Apr. ’53 [base water reservoir, mountains in background]
 49 — Tamgas Mt., July ’52 [aerial, airplane float in foreground]
 50 — Annette from Tongass, April ’53 [aerial from snow-capped mountains]
 51 — Sunset, Tamgas, Jan. ’53 [scenic of alpenglow on mountain]
 52 — Pan American, Annette, 1952 Dec. [Pan American Airlines airplane and Coast Guard airplane on runway]
 53 — Annette, Ap. ’53 [aerial]
 54 — Approach to Annette, Apr. ’53 [aerial of runway, airplane wing in foreground]
 55 — Metlakatla, July ’52 [aerial, Christian Mission Church in right foreground]
 56 — Metlakatla, July ’52 [William Duncan gravesite, scaffolding on building in background]
 57 — Metlakatla, July ’52, Fr. Duncan [view down street to Christian Mission Church with scaffolding, automobile parked in front of house in foreground]
 58 — Metlakatla, July ’52 [view down dirt street in residential area, with automobiles]
59 — Metlakatla, July ’52 [two young boys walking next to house]
 60 — Metlakatla road, April 1953 [scenic of water and mountains as seen from gravel road]
 61 — Council chamber, Metlakatla, Jan. ’53 [truck parked outside of building]
 62 — Tribal house, Ketchikan [clan house at Totem Bight State Historical Park]
 63 — Tribal house [interior, showing house posts]
 64 — Tribal house, Ketchikan [interior, with close-up of house post]
 65 — Ketchikan, July ’52 [distant aerial]
 66 — Ketchikan, March 1953 [aerial]
 67 — Ketchikan, March 1953 [aerial]
 68 — Ketchikan, Apr. ’53 [aerial]
 69 — Ketchikan, Apr. ’53 [street view, with boardwalk, automobiles, and Ketchikan sign over street]
 70 — Ketchikan, Apr. ’53 [Thunderbird and Crane totems by Sidney Campbell outside store, automobiles parked in front]
 71 — Ketchikan, Alaska, 1952 [small boat harbor]
 72 — Ketchikan, Mar. ’53 [fishing boat at docks in foreground, possibly cannery, city waterfront in background]
 73 — Ketchikan pulp mill, Apr. ’53 [lumber mill under construction]
 74 — Klawak, Apr. 1953 [aerial of docks and buildings, Klawock]
 75 — Klawak, Apr. 1953 [exterior of house with drying racks and gardens, Klawock]
76 — Klawak, Indian boys, Apr. ’53 [two young boys on dock, Klawock]
77 — Klawak, Ap. ’53 [young boy on dock, Klawock]
78 — Chief Demert, Klawak, Apr. ’53 [man posed next to railing, buildings in background, Klawock]
79 — [aerial of clan house and totem poles on point. At AFN 2016, identified as Totem Bight at Ketchikan]
 80 — [view from dock across water to Coast Guard station, Annette Island, with hangars]
 81 — [view from dock across water to Coast Guard station, Annette Island, with buildings]
 82 — Sea lions, Hazy Is., Apr. ’53 [low aerial]
 83 — Sea lions on Hazy Is., Ap. ’53 [low aerial]
 84 — Inside Passage, Dec. ’52 [aerial of mountains]
 85 — Sumner straight [sic], Dec. 1952 [aerial of Sumner Strait]
 86 — Sumner Straits, Dec. 1952 [aerial of Sumner Strait]
 87 — Prince of Wales, April ’53 [aerial of snow-capped mountains]
 88 — Prince of Wales, April 1953 [aerial of snow-capped mountains]
 89 — Prince of Wales, Apr. ’53 [aerial of snow-capped mountains, airplane wing in foreground]
 90 — Prince of Wales, Apr. ’53 [aerial of snow-capped mountains]
 91 — Prince of Wales, Ap. ’53 [aerial of snow-capped mountains]
 92 — Prince of Wales, April ’53 [aerial of snow-capped mountains]
 93 — Prince of Wales, Ap. ’53 [aerial of snow-capped mountains]
 94 — Glacier, Alaska, 1952 [aerial of tidewater glacier, airplane float in foreground]
 95 — Glacier north of Cape Spencer, June ’52 [aerial of tidewater glacier, airplane float in foreground]
 96 — Mendenhall Glacier, Apr. ’53 [aerial]
 97 — Mendenhall Glacier, Aug. ’52 [glacier terminus]
 98 — Mendenhall Glacier, Aug. ’52 [glacier terminus]
 99 — Mendenhall Glacier, Sept. 1952 [glacier terminus]
 100 — Mendenhall Glacier, July ’52 [aerial]
 101 — Coronation Is., Alaska, Ap. ’53 [aerial, airplane float in foreground]
 102 — Wrangell, Jan. ’53 [aerial]
 103 — Wrangell, Alaska, Jan. 1953 [aerial]
 104 — Five Fingers lite [sic], July ’52 [aerial of lighthouse on Five Finger Islands]
 105 — Kasaan Bay, Ap. ’53 [aerial]
 106 — Craig, Apr. ’53 [aerial]
 107 — Hydaburg, Apr. ’53 [aerial]
 108 — Hydaburg, Apr. ’53 [aerial]
 109 — Cape Fanshaw, Dec. 1952 [aerial]
 110 — Stephan’s [sic] Passage, Dec. 1952 [aerial of Stephens Passage]
 111 — Juneau airport, April ’52 [military airplane in foreground, second airplane in background]
 112 — Juneau, Alaska, Dec. ’52 [aerial of Juneau-Douglas Bridge]
 113 — Juneau airport, Dec. ’52 [Pan American Airways airplane in front of terminal building]
 114 — Juneau, Dec. ’52 [aerial]
 115 — Juneau, Alaska, Dec. 1952 [aerial, airplane float in foreground]
 116 — Juneau airport, Dec. ’52 [two Coast Guard airplanes on tarmac]
 117 — Gold mine, Juneau, Dec. ’52 [low aerial of A-J Mine]
 118 — Plane, PB-Y, Juneau [Consolidated PBY Catalina airplane on tarmac]
 119 — [aerial of city on spit]
120 — [aerial of city on spit. At AFN 2016, identified as non-Alaskan, possibly Canada or Washington State]
 121 — ATA crash, Annette, Jan. ’53 [damaged airplane tail number N79995[?] on beach]
 122 — Alaskan Airlines, Jan. ’53 [Alaska Airlines airplane in hangar, man walking near moveable stairs at left] Guide updated: October 27, 2016