REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Anthony John Michalski World War II Album

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2016.005

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1943-1945

Extent: 1 box; 1 linear foot

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Anthony J. Michalski

Administrative/Biographical History:
Anthony John Michalski (1917-2009) was educated at the University of Minnesota. He served
with the U.S. Army 50th
/ Engineers, Regiment C, Company D, during World War II, primarily on
Attu Island. From 1946-1979, he worked as an art teacher in the St. Cloud (MN) School District.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of one album, measuring 9” x 11”, containing 142 black-and-white
photographs, as well as seven loose black-and-white photographs. The images primarily date
from Michalski’s service on Attu, with some family photographs and photographs from his
stints at Fort Riley and Fort Sill. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Not applicable


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.


Physical Access: Original items in poor to good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Anthony John Michalski World War II Album, Anchorage Museum, B2016.005

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by son Peter Michalski in February 2016.

Processing Note
Covers were off album at the time of donation.

Separated Materials
Loose photographs placed in folder and numbered at end.


SUBJECTS
Michalski, Anthony John, 1917-2009
World War, 1939-1945--Campaigns--Alaska--Aleutian Islands
World War, 1939-1945--Military life—American
World War, 1939-1945--Military personnel--American
Attu Island (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection


Album
1 — [On album cover. Michalski in uniform with field pack, standing on boardwalk in front of military building. Second copy as loose photo]
2 — [portrait of Michalski standing next to trees]
3 — [portrait of Michalski standing outdoors, holding infant daughter Sandra]
4 — [portrait of Michalski seated outdoors, holding infant daughter Sandra]
5 — [similar to .4]
6 — [three soldiers in Class B field uniform with combat helmets, shoulder bags and ammo belts, standing next to barracks]
7 — [two soldiers in uniform next to barracks, man at right saluting man at left]
8 — [three soldiers in uniform on steps to barracks building]
9 — [eight soldiers in uniform posed between barracks]
10 — [distant view of tent on tundra, Attu]
11 — [scenic of valley on tundra, Attu]
12 — [scenic with tops of tents in foreground, light snow on hills in background, Attu]
13 — [group of tents on tundra, Attu]
14 — [similar to .12]
15 — [group of tents near water, Attu]
16 — [scenic of tundra, Attu]
17 — [two soldiers posed in front of opening to tent, Attu]
18 — [soldier wearing eyeglasses posed in front of opening to tent, Attu]
19 — [soldier with towel around his neck seated in front of helmet turned upside down to use as basin, sitting next to tent, Attu]
20 — [soldier holding captured Japanese sword posed in front of opening to tent, Attu]
21 — [similar to .20]
22 — [two soldiers playacting with captured Japanese sword in front of opening to tent, Attu]
23 — [similar to .20]
24 — [similar to .22]
25 — [airplane flying low over row of tents, Attu]
26 — Floyd Mann [group portrait of soldiers posed in front of tent 13, Attu]
27 — [two soldiers crouched on ground next to tent, one holding roll of toilet paper, Attu]
28 — [soldier washing clothes next to tent, Attu]
29 — [group of tents near water, airplane flying in distance, Attu]
30 — [similar to .29]
31 — [soldier posed next to tent, socks drying on tent lines, Attu]
32 — [similar to .31]
33 — [close-up portrait of soldier standing outdoors, Attu]
34 — Tom Keelan, Whipple, McCleod [three soldiers posed in front of tent 13, Attu]
35 — Puttin [soldier posed next to tent, Attu]
36 — Alexei Point [group of tents, Attu]
37 — Plattner, A.J.M., Fields, Stricklin [four soldiers posed holding crates of DuPont explosives, Attu]
38 — Flavel, Stricklin [two soldiers unloading crates of DuPont explosives, Attu]
39 — McCarey [soldier posed with crates of DuPont explosives, Attu]
40 — McCarey [soldier wearing parka posed on tundra, Attu]
41 — Harry Groth [soldier posed in front of building door, Attu]
42 — Tom Martin, Whipple, Lloyd Neilsen [three soldiers posed with tracked vehicle, Attu]
43 — Reinschmidt, Paul McIntyre, Paul Leibel, Wagner [group portrait of four soldiers, Attu]
44 — Albin Burke [soldier posed next to Quonset hut in deep snow, Attu]
45 — Van [soldier posed outdoors in winter, Attu]
46 — Norris, Ray Holland, Al Schultz [three soldiers posed with tracked vehicle, Attu]
47 — [soldier posed outdoors in winter, tents in background, Attu]
48 — Reinschmidt, Angie Nielson [two soldiers standing on tundra in winter, Attu]
49 — Cevera [?], Charlie Bell [two soldiers crouched on snow, one wearing snowshoes, Attu]
50 — [distant view of Quonset huts on tundra, Attu]
51 — [similar to .50]
52 — Newman?, McDermott, Wohlter? [?], Pruett [four soldiers wearing winter jackets and parkas standing outdoors in winter, Attu]
53 — [scenic of mountains in winter, utility poles in foreground, Attu]
54 — Myer [two soldiers posed outdoors in winter, at end of line of men, possibly outside mess hall, Attu]
55 — [top of Quonset hut buried in snow, Attu]
56 — [two soldiers digging out roof of Quonset hut in winter, Attu]
57 — [scenic of tundra and mountains in winter, utility poles in middle ground, Attu]
58 — [distant view of two Quonset huts in snow at base of mountain, Attu]
59 — [scenic of mountains in winter, Attu]
60 — [scenic of tundra in winter, building and tower in distance, right, Attu]
61 — [soldier standing next to small shack on tundra in winter, Attu]
62 — [interior of shack, with magazines on table, canned goods on shelf, pin-up illustration on wall, Attu]
63 — [similar to .61]
64 — [tracked vehicle bogged down in snow, Attu]
65 — [view out windshield of Jeep, second Jeep on gravel road ahead, Attu]
66 — [avalanche path on mountainside, lumber depot in foreground, Attu]
67 — [scenic of mountain, Quonset hut in foreground, Attu]
68 — [scenic of mountain, lumber depot in foreground, Attu]
69 — [soldier holding two fish, Attu]
70 — [two soldiers on gravel bar in rushing creek, buildings on low rise in background, Attu]
71 — [soldiers playing horseshoes next to tents, Attu]
72 — [similar to .71]
73 — Lt. John Green [soldier standing on boardwalk in front of Quonset hut, Attu]
74 — [soldier posed in doorway of Quonset hut, Attu]
75 — [two soldiers leaning on shovels posed in front of Engineer Property Warehouse, Attu]
76 — [similar to .75]
77 — [Michalski playing horseshoes, Attu]
78 — [Fields playing horseshoes, Attu]
79 — [Michalski playing horseshoes, Attu]
80 — [Fields playing horseshoes, Attu]
81 — [scenic of mountain, roof in foreground, Attu]
82 — [similar to .81]
83 — [two soldiers posed on tundra, one smelling wildflowers, Attu]
84 — [two soldiers posed among wildflowers, Attu]
85 — [similar to .84]
86 — [two soldiers standing on bank of rushing creek, Attu]
87 — [wading bird in shallow water, Attu]
88 — [soldier standing on small gravel bar in creek, Attu]
89 — [soldier walking on tundra, Attu]
90 — [two soldiers crouched on back on small stream, Attu]
91 — [soldier posed next to building on Attu, possibly Michalski]
92 — [group portrait of five soldiers standing in front of large building, Attu. Cf. .144]
93 — [soldier standing in front of large building, Attu. Cf. .143]
94 — [shirtless solider standing next to impact crater on tundra, Attu]
95 — [portrait of soldier holding field glasses]
96 — [lumber and crates stacked on wooden platform next to building, Attu]
97 — [two soldiers standing next to Engineer Property Warehouse, Attu]
98 — [shirtless soldier standing next to waterfall, Attu]
99 — [soldier posed next to waterfall, Attu]
100 — [Sandra Michalski standing outdoors]
101 — [Michalski and Sandra posed on sidewalk]
102 — [similar to .100]
103 — [similar to .100]
104 — [woman posed with dog on steps of house]
105 — [Fern Michalski and Sandra posed outdoors]
106 — [Fern Michalski]
107 — [Sandra Michalski standing outdoors]
108 — [two young boys sitting on lawn]
109 — [Sandra Michalski sitting on walkway steps]
110 — [Sandra Michalski standing outdoors holding stuffed bear]
111 — [young boy on lawn]
112 — [similar to .110]
113 — [Sandra Michalski and young boy playing with “Victory Express” wagon on lawn]
114 — [Michalski family posed in field]
115 — [two young boys riding horse-drawn farm equipment]
116 — [Sandra Michalski standing outdoors]
117 — [Sandra Michalski sitting outdoors]
118 — [Sandra Michalski wearing costume standing outdoors]
119 — [soldier and woman posed next to house, Fields?]
120 — [Michalski family posed next to house]
121 — [Fern and Sandra Michalski posed with woman next to house, possibly Mrs. Field]
122 — [Sandra Michalski seated on porch]
123 — [Sandra Michalski inside house, fireplace at right, chair in center, daybed under windows at left]
124 — [Michalski posed on lawn]
125 — [Michalski wearing uniform, walking with Fern on sidewalk]
126 — [Michalski wearing uniform, walking with Fern and Sandra on sidewalk]
127 — [Sandra Michalski walking on sidewalk]
128 — [similar to .124]
129 — [Michalski family posed on lawn]
130 — [four men playing cards at table on lawn, one man wearing uniform, beer bottles on table]
131 — [six men seated at table outdoors]
132 — [soldier and woman posed next to house, Fields?]
133 — [Sandra Michalski seated on steps of 12 th Street Guest House]
134 — [soldier and woman posed next to house]
135 — [Michalski and Sandra posed next to building steps]
136 — [soldiers standing and seated on barracks porch]
137 — Seelbach [three soldiers seated and standing outside barracks, smoking cigarettes]
138 — [Michalski posed next to barracks]
139 — [Michalski and Sandra posed on lawn]
140 — [similar to .139]
141 — [Michalski wearing uniform, posed with his mother and brother, also in uniform]
142 — [Michalski and brother, both wearing uniforms, posed next to house] Loose photographs
143 — Field [soldier standing in front of large building, Attu. Cf. .93]
144 — [group portrait of five soldiers standing in front of large building, Attu. Cf. .92]
145 — [three soldiers standing next to barracks in winter, Attu. Original image blurry]
146 — [portrait of soldier standing next to building]
147 — [wading bird in shallow water, Attu]
148 — [similar to .1] Guide written: February 29, 2016