REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Valdez Drug Co. Glass Lantern Slides

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2015.032

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1920s?

Extent: 1 box; 0.2 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Valdez Drug Co.

Administrative/Biographical History:
The Valdez Drug Co. was incorporated in 1911 and operated until at least 1967.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of seven glass lantern slides (6 black-and-white, 1 color) advertising
Valdez Drug Co. products and services. For more information, see Detailed Description of
Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged by subject


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.


Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. A light box may be
used to view transparencies.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Valdez Drug Co. Glass Lantern Slides, Anchorage Museum, B2015.032

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Found in collection in 2013 and processed by archives staff in 2015.


SUBJECTS
Valdez Drug Co.
Drugstores—Alaska—Valdez
Drugstores—Marketing
Photographic industry —Alaska—Valdez
Photographers—Marketing
Valdez (Alaska)


Detailed Description of the Collection

	1 —	N. 82. Kodaks and supplies, Valdez Drug Co., Inc., Valdez, Alaska [with photograph of three children sitting on lakeshore, one girl holding Kodak camera]
	2 —	N. 83. Kodaks and supplies, Valdez Drug Co., Inc., Valdez, Alaska [with photograph of two women, one sitting on fence and holding camera, one pointing in distance]
	3 —	Kodaks and supplies, Valdez Drug Co., Inc., Valdez, Alaska [with photograph of two women on boat or dock, both holding cameras]
	4 —	N. 79. Kodaks and supplies, Valdez Drug Co., Inc., Valdez, Alaska [with photograph of man holding camera, taking photograph of man leaning against vehicle, surrounded by three dogs]
	5 —	N. 8[?].Kodaks and supplies, Valdez Drug Co., Inc., Valdez, Alaska [with photograph of man holding camera, taking photograph of two men kneeling over basin next to boat pulled onto riverbank, third man standing with pile of supplies at right]
	6 —	N. 81. Kodaks and supplies, Valdez Drug Co., Inc., Valdez, Alaska [with photograph of man holding camera, taking photograph of two women posing with cornstalks]
	7 —	Results beyond belief – if we sell it, it must be right. Valdez Drug Company [with color illustration of box of Pacific Health-Ore, Pacific Health Ore Co., Salem, Oregon] Guide written: December 17, 2015