REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Saint Paul Album

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2015.027

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1924-1939

Extent: 1 box; 1 linear foot

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): C.H. Hope

Administrative/Biographical History:
Saint Paul Island was forcibly settled in the 1780s, when Russians relocated Aleuts from
neighboring areas to the Pribilofs to hunt seals. After the purchase of Alaska by the United
States, sealing leases were granted to private companies. The 1910 Fur Seal Act ended private
leasing and placed both communities and fur seals under the jurisdiction of the U.S. Bureau of
Fisheries.

Nothing was known about the compiler at the time of processing, but he seems to have been
a cook for the sealing plant or the naval station.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of one album, measuring 11.5 x 7.25”, containing 172 black-and-white
photographs primarily taken on Saint Paul Island during the 1930s. One postcard is a scenic
image of Unalaska Island (.59). Saint Paul images depict village life, residents, buildings, and
activities including sealing, church rites, and Fourth of July celebrations. The Naval Radio
Station is shown in multiple views. There are also several self-portraits of the album’s
compiler. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.


Arrangement: Not applicable


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in fair to good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Saint Paul Album, Anchorage Museum, B2015.027

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Purchased from The Wayfarer’s Bookshop in August 2015.

Processing Note
Album showed evidence of having been disbound and reassembled prior to receipt. Empty
photo corner placements also indicate removal of some images at an early date. Due to brittle
paper, pages removed from album and sleeved.

Notes
Extant captions primarily written or typed on print versos.

RELATED MATERIALS
BLM Saint Paul Photographs, B1985.028
Clarence L. Olson Collection, B1990.008
Dr. Edward A. Dunlap Collection, B1996.011

SUBJECTS
Saints Peter and Paul Russian Orthodox Church (Saint Paul Island, Alaska)
Orthodox Eastern Church -- Alaska -- Saint Paul Island
Aleuts—Alaska—Pribilof Islands

Sealing—Alaska—Pribilof Islands
Northern fur seal—Alaska—Pribilof Islands
Saint Paul Island (Alaska)—Social life and customs
Saint Paul Island (Alaska)—Religious life and customs
Unalaska Island (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
 1 — [birds on cliff face, possibly cormorants]
 2 — [birds on rocks, possibly murres]
 3 — [birds on cliff face, possibly cormorants]
 4 — Fox pup wondering what’s all about [person squatting down, holding fox kit with gloved hands]
 5 — 152. Icehouse Lake where they cut the summer supply [small building on shore of lake]
 6 — [Russian Orthodox procession, villagers and priests outdoors in summer]
 7 — [two items set on table in kitchen, possibly fancy cakes. Cf. .154]
 8 — [herd of seals on beach]
 9 — [wedding portrait, with bride and groom and other family members standing outside church. Cf. .15, .117]
 10 — [white man standing next to young girl next to house; same girl as in .11]
 11 — Miss Nancy Collins, St. Paul Is. Alaska, daughter of Dr. & Mrs. W.W. Collins, and my friend. By A.L. [young white girl on steps of house]
12 — [portrait of young Aleut man wearing driving cap, leaning against large boulder outdoors]
 13 — [white man wearing knit cap and wool coat standing on ship deck]
 14 — [seals on rocky shoreline]
 15 — Another couple made [wedding portrait, with bridge and groom and young girl; same couple as in .9. Note that one of the images is printed in reverse]
 16 — [four white men standing next to building, two holding tools, boots and bag on ground]
 17 — [four white men standing next to building, two holding tools, boots and bag on ground; three of the four men also shown in .16]
 18 — [seals on rocky shoreline with snow patches]
 19 — [seals on rocky shoreline]
 20 — [seals on beach with driftwood]
 21 — [view of village, with building complex next to communications tower, Naval Radio Station Complex]
 22 — [seal on rock outcropping]
 23 — [herd of seals on rocky shoreline]
 24 — [seal pup on rocks]
 25 — [men skinning seals outdoors]
 26 — [seals on rocky beach]
27 — [men and boys in field clubbing or skinning seals]
 28 — [seal on rocks]
 29 — [herd of seals on rocky shoreline]
 30 — [seal on rocky beach]
 31 — [Russian Orthodox cemetery enclosed in white picket fence in foreground, with radio tower behind, village buildings in distance. Cf. .137]
 32 — [herd of seals on rocks]
 33 — [seals on rocky shoreline]
 34 — [herd of seals on beach with driftwood, albino seal in center]
 35 — [view down beach to village buildings]
 36 — [herd of seals on shoreline, village buildings across cove in distance]
 37 — [herd of seals on rocky shoreline]
 38 — [men on dock using hoist to unload truck filled with seal skins onto barge holding wooden casks stamped “Canada,” steamship anchored offshore in distance]
 39 — [seals on rocky beach]
 40 — [herd of seals on rocky shoreline]
 41 — [seal on rocky beach]
 42 — [seal on rocky beach]
 43 — [herd of seals on rocky shoreline]
 44 — [seals on rocky beach]
 45 — [seal and pup on rocky beach]
 46 — [seal on rocky beach]
 47 — [man standing in hole on beach looking at large seal]
 48 — [group portrait of white men, women, and children standing in field, not Alaska]
 49 — [seals on rocky shoreline]
 50 — [herd of seals on beach]
 51 — The west landing in winter [view down beach to buildings and docks, probably Point Warehouse and wharf]
 52 — [scenic of rock outcroppings and tundra]
 53 — [man wearing wool coat and knit cap standing on ship deck in winter, pilothouse in background]
 54 — [birds on cliff face, possibly puffin and seagull]
 55 — 228. Part of the million seals [herd of seals on rocky beach]
 56 — Female seal asleep [seal on beach]
 57 — 150. Fox trap [small wooden structure]
 58 — 249. Chief Officers’ house, radio [winter scene with small building with many windows and arctic entry, boardwalks in front, communications pole]
 59 — Mt. Newhall. C.H. Hope [photographic postcard. Scenic of shoreline taken from water, seagull flying in foreground]
 60 — Radio Station, St. Paul. 95 [view of building complex and radio towers]
 61 — Male seal asleep [seal on beach]
 62 — [man with dog team in village]
 63 — U.S. Government Cutter Bear near Wainwright, Alaska [steamship in ice]
 64 — 226. Seals away from the water [herd of seals on rocky shoreline]
 65 — 175. Taking at 2 in the morning [view across cove to village buildings in summer]
 66 — 181. Another taking at 2 a.m. [view of village buildings, church at left]
 67 — [white man, possibly compiler, wearing wool coat and fedora hat holding club, standing in field near seal,]
 68 — Muirs [birds on cliff over surf, murres]
 69 — Chukesi? These are a delicacy for the natives [birds on driftwood, possibly murrelets or dovekies]
 70 — Muirs [birds on cliff over surf, murres]
 71 — Cormants & her young [bird on cliff face, cormorant]
 72 — [bird, puffin]
 73 — Birds on the ledges [several species of birds on cliff face]
 74 — [bird and chicks in nest, possibly auklets]
 75 — Parrot [bird, puffin]
 76 — Puffins [birds on cliff face, possibly murres and auklets]
 77 — Buck reindeer [reindeer on tundra]
 78 — Part of the reindeer herd [bird’s eye view of herd on tundra]
 79 — Pod ready for killing [seals in field]
 80 — Part of the crowd watching the Fourth of July sports [huge crowd gathered on hillside]
 81 — [Russian Orthodox procession, villagers and priests outdoors in summer. Original image blurry]
 82 — [seal on driftwood]
 83 — The same white bull [albino seal on rocky beach]
84 — [white man standing inside wooden structure divided into several kennels for dogs. At AFN 2015, several people noted that dogs were prohibited on St. Paul because of the seals]
 85 — [bird on rock outcropping, possibly cormorant]
 86 — [bird in nest on cliff face, possibly cormorant]
 87 — [seal carcass on beach, possibly spotted seal or harbor seal]
 88 — [bird on ground, possibly snowy owl]
 89 — Chow time for the pups [fox kits drinking milk out of pan on wooden deck, buildings in background]
 90 — A dead killer whale [orca carcass floating in sea ice]
 91 — Seal bull [seal on rocks]
 92 — Getting ready to fight [seals on beach with driftwood]
 93 — Seal bull [seal on beach]
 94 — Seal pup [seal pup on beach]
 95 — Bull with about forty cows in his harem. Some bull [herd of seals on beach]
 96 — A rare one. White bull seal [seal on rocky beach]
 97 — Seals and there pups [herd of seals on beach]
 98 — Poor fellow only one wife [seals on rocky beach]
 99 — Here’s natural cow nursing her pup [seals on beach with driftwood]
 100 — Sea lion bull [sea lion on rocky shoreline]
 101 — 59. Village St. Paul [distant view of buildings in winter, church left of center]
 102 — 28. The landing dock in winter [view from shore across ice-filled cove to village buildings]
 103 — [seals on rocky shoreline]
 104 — [adult and juvenile birds on cliff face, possibly cormorants]
 105 — [white man wearing knit cap and canvas coat holding container standing in shallow water next to cliff face with multiple species of birds]
 106 — More is at the east landing [view down shoreline in winter]
 107 — [distant view of herd of seals on tundra]
108 — [group portrait of workers standing outside building, white man wearing fedora hat in center, possibly compiler. At AFN 2015, man at left of compiler tentatively identified as Auxenty “Irish” Stepetin or Nekifer Mandregan; man at right of compiler identified as last name Hansen]
 109 — Seal pups [herd of seals on rocky beach]
 110 — [photograph of relief map of St. Paul Island by Harold Heath]
 111 — [three white men standing on tundra, village buildings in background, fence at right; two men holding baseball gloves, man at left wearing fedora hat possibly compiler, man in center wearing driving cap, man at right wearing cap and boot-cut pants]
 112 — [workers in wash house or blubbering shop of sealing plant, flensing seals or washing skins]
 113 — [workers in wash house or blubbering shop of sealing plant, washing skins]
 114 — Buck reindeer, Polavina, which means half way in the background [reindeer on tundra, Polovina Hill in distance]
 115 — Blue fox pups [two fox kits on boardwalk]
 116 — [scenic, tundra grass in foreground, view down shoreline to low hill in distance]
117 — The bride and groom after the wedding [same image as .9. At AFN 2015, woman at left identified as Francis Hansen Emanoff, bride as possibly Vassa Krukoff elder, man at right as Maxim Buterin Sr.]
 118 — Tug of war outside natives [crowd gathered to watch Aleut men playing tug-of-war on tundra, buildings in background. Cf. .126]
 119 — Nancy & her birthday cake [young girl seated at table in dining room, cake with three candles]
 120 — The first kill [workers standing with seal carcasses laid out on ground. Cf. .125]
 121 — More driving [Russian Orthodox procession, villagers and priests outdoors in summer. Cf. .123]
 122 — The skin boat with cargo from the Penguin [passengers in umiak being rowed to shore, tender Penguin in background]
 123 — Driving the devil out of the village [Russian Orthodox procession, villagers and priests outdoors in summer]
124 — Pie eating contest [white man wearing Navy cap, suit, and necktie overseeing Aleut boys competing in contest, wooden tables set up outdoors, buildings in background. At AFN 2016, identified as Fourth of July celebration]
 125 — Skinning the first kill [men bending over seal carcasses laid out on ground. Cf. .120]
 126 — St. Paul tug of war team. The losers [crowd gathered to watch Aleut men playing tug-of- war on tundra, buildings in background; several men wearing beanies. Cf. .118]
 127 — Part of the galley [interior of kitchen, with pots and pans on wall, stove at right with kettles and pots, pans on table, sheet-iron stove at right. Stove constructed in 1921 or 1923; see St. Paul Island guide to historical resources, 1867-1984: Seal Island National Historic Landmark District, Pribilof Islands, Alaska, 2012, p. 680]
 128 — The losers of the skin boat race [distant view of men in umiak]
 129 — Ice on St. Paul [man posed on ice floe near shore, ice ridge behind him]
 130 — Grandstand. Was hoping that fence would break so I could get a good picture [crowd of women and children seated on wooden fence next to buildings, possibly Naval Radio Station]
131 — The bishop and native. He is the one that got lost two years ago [two Aleut men posed outdoors, one at left wearing brimmed hat, suitcoat, necktie, and sweater, one at right wearing eyeglasses and knit cap and holding camera on tripod. Man at left possibly priest Gregory Prozorov, who served on St. Paul 1924-1929. At AFN 2015, buildings at left identified as doctor housing and the hotel]
 132 — Old serious [portrait of compiler smoking pipe, wearing cook’s hat and civilian clothing, standing next to buildings]
133 — The one on my right is the one I wrote about. The other is from St. George [compiler, wearing fedora hat, sitting with two women on automobile fender]
134 — [group portrait of workers standing next to building, white man wearing cook’s hat probably compiler, one young Aleut man wearing apron. AT AFN 2015, man wearing apron identified as David Fratis, man standing in front of compiler as possibly Nick Galaktianoff, boy at right as Andrew Ostigoff[?]]
 135 — [view across tundra to Naval Radio Station Complex, tracks in grass in foreground possibly from automobile]
 136 — Taken at 8 o clock at night [view past small building to Naval Radio Station Complex, wagons parked next to building at left]
 137 — Graveyard and part of the village. Notice the fence. The first time it’s been painted since they put it up [cemetery in foreground with white picket fence, radio tower behind, village buildings in distance. Same image as .31]
 138 — [white man, probably compiler, wearing cook’s hat and smoking pipe seated on fender of truck, buildings in background]
 139 — This is the mess boys [group portrait of Aleut men standing next to building, two holding guitars, one holding mandolin-type stringed instrument. Original image blurry]
 140 — [high surf along beach]
 141 — [similar to .140]
 142 — [similar to .140]
 143 — [distant view of men wearing rain gear working together, possibly to cover or move boats, buildings in background, radio tower in distance, three men standing near truck in foreground]
 144 — [scenic of coastline in winter, as seen from water]
 145 — [view from ship of ice in water. Cf. .171]
 146 — [scenic of coastline in winter, as seen from water]
 147 — [same as .146]
148 — The belles of the village ready for the egg race [Aleut women wearing dresses, berets, and high-heeled shoes lined up near buildings, male spectators in background. At AFN 2015, woman second from left identified as Frances Emanoff, woman third from left as Justina Stepetin, man third from right in background as Irish Stepetin]
149 — These start in young to drive the devil out [five young children posed outdoors, holding flags that appear to be kerchiefs tied to sticks, buildings in background]
 150 — This is Handlebar Pete, in other words White the Cook. The gun I’m holding is the one we shot the walrus with [man wearing cook’s hat and apron, probably compiler, holding rifle, man at left crouched down holding two walrus tusks, two-story building with attic in background, possibly Company House]
 151 — [village in winter, looking down from hill to buildings and radio tower]
 152 — 33. Radio Compass House, St. Paul [small two-story building with exterior ladder to roof]
 153 — View of the village from top of hill [picket fence in foreground, buildings and radio tower in distance, possibly tennis court in center]
 154 — The wedding cake [cake set on table in kitchen, with pots and pans hanging on wall, sheet-iron stove at right. Cf. .7]
 155 — Radio headquarters [building complex with boardwalks]
 156 — Seals lost in village [two seals on tundra, buildings in background]
 157 — More driving [Russian Orthodox procession, villagers and priests outdoors in summer. Cf. .123]
 158 — 85. Dormitory, St. Paul [two-story building with boardwalks]
 159 — The bishop [man wearing eyeglasses and Russian Orthodox vestments standing next to building]
160 — The bishop and priest. The tall one is the one that keeps his eagle eye on the bunkhouse [two men wearing Russian Orthodox vestments standing next to building; man at right possibly John Zlobin]
 161 — Nancy & yours truly. The crutch is not mine [compiler wearing cook’s hat, sitting on stop of house with young girl on his lap, crutch propped against wall at right]
 162 — [compiler wearing cook’s hat and apron, standing with one foot on automobile fender, woman standing at right, young Aleut man behind wheel]
163 — Peg and his bride [wedding portrait, Aleut man with wooden leg standing with woman and young girl on boardwalk in front of building. At AFN 2015, groom identified as Dan Krukoff Sr., bride as Helen Krukoff]
 164 — Mr. MacMillan with two tusks he just found [white man wearing plaid jacket and driving cap sitting on stop of house holding two tusks]
165 — Dave and part of his family. I took this picture lopsided [Aleut man, woman, and child standing outdoors, buildings in background. At AFN 2015, identified as David Fratis with wife Alexandra Fratis and daughter Susan Fratis]
 166 — Crowd watching boat race [distant view of large crowd gathered on beach]
 167 — I tried to smile [compiler wearing cook’s hat and smoking pipe standing in doorway of building]
168 — Native boys [three young Aleut men standing next to building. At AFN 2015, man at left identified as Mattey Krukoff]
 169 — [white man wearing driving cap and smoking pipe standing on beach next to headless carcass, possibly walrus]
170 — The launch of the island [men in wooden boat, one holding long paddle. At AFN 2015, man at left in dark coat identified as Nekifer Mandregan, man holding paddle as surname Bourdukofsky]
 171 — [view from ship of ice in water. Cf. .145]
 172 — Skin boats headed for the Penguin [distant view of two umiaks and tender Penguin in cove]
173 — Native going home with his seal meat [Aleut man pushing wheelbarrow full of seal carcasses, buildings in background] Guide updated: October 27, 2016