REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Mary Barr Jackson Album

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2015.007

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1900-1940

Extent: 1 box; 1 linear foot

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Mary Barr Jackson, I. N., C.P. Boyne

Administrative/Biographical History:
Mary Barr Jackson was born in 1923. She died circa 1945 in a tuberculosis sanatorium in
Skagway.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of one album, measuring 9” x 7”, containing 178 black-and-white
photographs collected or created by Mary Jackson Barr. Most of the images depict people and
activities in rural Alaskan villages. Few bear any identifying information. Villages shown
include Kotzebue, White Mountain, Deering, Nome, Unalakleet, and Unalaska. For more
information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Not applicable


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.


Physical Access: Original items in poor to good condition. Album water damaged and
disbound.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Mary Barr Jackson Album, Anchorage Museum, B2015.007

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by niece Mary Sue Anderson in February 2015.

Processing Note
Album was disbound at time of donation, and original order had not been maintained. Prints
which had come loose were inserted into blank areas on pages nearest them.

SUBJECTS
Inupiat—Alaska
Yupik Eskimos—Alaska
Athapascan Indians—Alaska
Vernacular architecture—Alaska
Clothing and dress—Alaska
Transportation—Alaska
Recreation—Alaska
Kotzebue (Alaska)
White Mountain (Alaska)
Deering (Alaska)
Nome (Alaska)
Unalakleet (Alaska)
Unalaska (Alaska)
Bethel (Alaska)
Nunivak Island (Alaska)
Shishmaref (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

1 — [Alaska Native woman wearing fur parka with geometric trim and mukluks posed outdoors with young child wearing parka, mukluks, and knitted cap. At AFN 2016, woman identified as Angeline Davidovics of Kotzebue]
2 — [Alaska Native man wearing Western style clothing and driving cap posed outdoors next to building. Original image cropped]
3 — [close-up of child sucking thumb or pacifier. Original image blurry and dark. Same as .158]
4 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family, with elder woman, mother, and two children posed outdoors, elder wearing spotted reindeer fur parka, mother wearing squirrel fur parka with geometric trim, older child wearing fur parka, younger child wearing cloth parka. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Deering]
5 — [two Alaska Native women posed with young girl outdoors next to log building, woman at left wearing pearl necklace, all three wearing Western style clothing. Print damaged]
6 — [three young men posed outdoors, man in center possibly Alaska Native, two men wearing neckties, location non-Alaskan, possibly boarding school. cf. .20, .34. Print cut into shape of heart]
7 — [three young girls wearing Western style clothing posed outdoors in summer, building in background. At AFN 2015, identified as Lucy Warren Schaeffer, Martha Warren Todd Hunter, and Belle Hadley]
8 — [large group of Alaska Native men and women posed next to white tent in sparsely wooded area, men all wearing Western style clothing, all but one woman wearing light colored cloth parkas]
9 — [three Alaska Native men and one elder woman posed outdoors, woman wearing print parka with fur trim, two men wearing Western style clothing, one wearing knit cap and one driving cap, one man wearing fur parka and driving cap. Print damaged. At AFN 2015, men identified as the Barr brothers from Shishmaref, Isaiah Barr, Replogle Barr, and Edward Barr]
10 — [two young women seated outdoors, both wearing Western style clothing, buildings in background. Print damaged]
11 — [three young women wearing uniforms seated on stoop of brick building, possibly boarding school. At AFN 2015, tentatively identified as uniforms from White Mountain school]
12 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family, with father, mother, and two children posed outdoors next to log cabin, woman wearing Athapascan style beaded mittens and parka, children wearing parkas, man wearing Western style clothing. At AFN 2016, location identified as Fort Yukon area]
13 — [large group gathered on tundra, American flag at right, possibly Fourth of July celebration? Cf. .87, .160]
14 — [group posed outdoors next to building, with elder woman wearing fur parka and eyeglasses, two young women wearing squirrel fur parkas, and two young girls wearing cloth parkas, ladder against log building at left and another in background. Same as .36. At AFN 2016, woman at right identified as Rose Walker of White Mountain]
15 — [group portrait of Alaska Native men, women, and children posed outdoors, two men wearing Western style clothing, one woman wearing spotted reindeer fur parka. Print damaged. At AFN 2015, man at left tentatively identified as Simeon Mone]
16 — [child asleep in bed with wooden frame, curtains drawn back]
17 — [three Alaska Native men wearing Western style clothing and neckties seated on porch of large wooden building, young boy in background, possibly mission or school. At AFN 2015, identified as Unalakleet Mission House, with Oyagak Rock in center, Mischa or Sergei Ivanoff at right]
18 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed outdoors next to log cabin, man wearing fur parka with walrus-tusk gussets and geometric trim and lace-up boots, woman wearing reindeer fur parka with geometric trim and mukluks]
19 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family next to large wooden building, with mother carrying infant and three children standing in front, woman wearing spotted reindeer fur parka and knit cap, children wearing cloth parkas]
20 — [three young men seated outdoors, man wearing eyeglasses and necktie standing behind, man seated at right possibly Alaska Native, large buildings in background, location non- Alaskan, possibly boarding school. cf. .6, .34]
21 — [Alaska Native woman and two children posed outdoors, woman wearing parka and Athapascan style beaded mittens, young girl wearing Western style clothing]
22 — [young Alaska Native man posed outdoors next to large building in winter, wearing cloth parka and billed cap, child at left wearing fur parka with walrus-tusk gussets, young man wearing Western style clothing posed next to loaded sled in background, two other people leaning against building in background right]
23 — [Alaska Native boy wearing Western style coveralls standing outside log building in summer. Print cropped]
24 — [young man and woman seated outdoors in winter, holding puppies, low brush behind. Print very faded]
25 — [view of town on coast, with dock in foreground, buildings and church along shore in distance, possibly St. Michael? Print cropped, adhered to page under print .24]
26 — [young Alaska Native woman posed outdoors in summer, wearing Siberian Yupik style fur parka over print dress, wheelbarrow in background. At AFN 2016, parka style identified as Greenlandic, woman possibly as Davis family]
27 — [young Alaska Native woman posed outdoors in winter, wearing Western style coat and boots, buildings in background]
28 — [studio portrait of white man wearing bowtie and suit coat. Cf. .171]
29 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family next to log cabin in winter, man wearing Western style clothing and driving cap, child at left with cleft lip, icicles hanging from eaves. Cf. .157. Photographer's initials cropped at lower right: I. N.? Print damaged]
30 — [studio portrait of Alaska Native family, men wearing Western style clothing and knitted caps, elder woman wearing fur parka and headscarf, young woman wearing print parka and headscarf, child wearing Western style clothing]
31 — [four young men goofing around inside room, with carpet and lace curtains, possibly school. Original image blurry]
32 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed outdoors next to corrugated metal building, both wearing Western style clothing]
33 — [white man and woman standing outdoors in front of house. Original image blurry]
34 — [Alaska Native man seated outdoors holding guitar, large buildings in background, location non-Alaskan, possibly boarding school. cf. .6, .20. Original image cropped. Same as .164]
35 — [two young Alaska Native women seated outdoors, both wearing Western style clothing and berets, river in background, pile of driftwood at left]
36 — [group posed outdoors next to building, with elder woman wearing fur parka and eyeglasses, two young women wearing squirrel fur parkas, and two young girls wearing cloth parkas, ladder against log building at left and another in background. Same as .14]
37 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed outdoors in summer, both wearing Western style clothing, man wearing necktie, location non-Alaskan]
38 — [young Alaska Native girl standing on boardwalk in front of building, wearing print dress, hair bow, and mukluks, holding ball]
39 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed on small hill next to house in summer, both wearing Western style clothing, man wearing necktie, woman wearing headscarf and mukluks. At AFN 2015, couple tentatively identified as John and Sarah Frank of Venetie; in 2016, Fort Yukon residents questioned the identifications of the Franks]
40 — [three young women posed next to wooden building in summer, all wearing Western style dresses, woman in center Alaska Native]
41 — [group of six white children, probably siblings, posed outdoors in summer, wooden buildings in background. At AFN 2015, identified as Moravian Church buildings in Bethel]
42 — [two Alaska Natives on wooden boat in river, rope extending out of frame at right, anchor on bow, woman in front wearing cloth parka and holding wrapped parcel, person in background wearing fur parka]
43 — [three white men posed in doorway of wood-shingled building]
44 — [group portrait of several Alaska Native men, women, and infants posed outside a large wooden building. Original image blurry. Same as .172]
45 — [four white men posed outdoors holding infants]
46 — [two Alaska Native women wearing print parkas and Athapascan style beaded mittens posed next to wood-shingle and tarpaper building. At AFN 2016, identified as (left) Esther Abloogalook of Nome and Mary Lincoln of White Mountain]
47 — [Alaska Native woman wearing fur parka with geometric trim holding infant, standing outdoors in winter in front of house, church tower in background]
48 — [Alaska Native woman wearing Western style clothing and shoes standing outside storm- damaged or dilapidated building, photographer’s shadow in foreground. In manuscript on verso: “Dear cousin: Here I am still remember you. I wish I could see you all, you don’t know how happy I would be if I see you again, I heard that you have three kids, I hope you are all happy and well we are all well so far, did you forget your little cousin here I am you can see me now I am same old way, I am well and happy with your cousin and we get along find now we are both working but no kids yet, well good-by that all say to you please tell your wife to write to me, from Annie Dixon to old man McAgan best regards to you all”]
49 — I. N. [Alaska Native man wearing patched parka with fur trim, white gloves, and driving cap posed next to log cabin. At AFN 2015, identified as Paul Ivanoff of Nunivak Island]
50 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed outdoors, man wearing fur parka and mukluks, woman wearing print parka with fur trim and scarf]
51 — Photo by C.P. Boyne, Unalaska, Alaska [young Alaska Native boy wearing striped parka with fir trim posed outdoors in winter, large wooden building in background]
52 — [elder Alaska Native man and woman posed next to log cabin in winter, man wearing squirrel fur parka, woman wearing print parka with fur trim, icicles hanging from eaves. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Unalakleet]
53 — [studio portrait of two Alaska Native women, both wearing Western style clothing and hats, possibly uniforms]
 54 — [man and woman standing on deck of boat. Print affixed underneath .53]
55 — [portrait of young Alaska Native man wearing necktie and suit coat. Print cropped]
56 — [young Alaska Native man wearing bib overalls, hat, and mukluks posed in doorway of log cabin. Print damaged. At AFN 2016, location suggested as Tanana or Kokrines]
57 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed next to large wood building, woman wearing spotted reindeer fur parka with walrus tusk gussets over print dress, man wearing Western style clothing, including possibly military jacket, and mukluks. At AFN 2015, man identified as Clay O. Outwater (Khiluverrak) of Kiwalik and wife Ruby K. Mills from Candle]
58 — [group portrait of large Alaska Native family posed in sparsely wooded area in winter. At AFN 2016, location suggested as White Mountain area]
59 — [two young Alaska Native girls posed outdoors next to wood building in winter]
60 — [two Alaska Native women wearing Western style clothing posed on ship deck]
61 — [two young Alaska Native women wearing Western style clothing posed next to wooden building in winter]
62 — [Alaska Native man with sled and dog team stopped on winter trail through sparsely wooded area]
63 — [group portrait of large group of Alaska Natives posed on tundra, possibly in front of biplane. Same as .161]
64 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family posed next to log cabin. Original image blurry]
65 — [Alaska Native women posed next to log cabin. Original image blurry. Same as .81]
66 — [Alaska Native family posed outdoors in winter in sparsely wooded area]
67 — [two young Alaska Native women posed in bushes next to large building, both wearing beanies, location non-Alaskan, possibly boarding school. At AFN 2015, woman at left identified as Ticasuk Emily Ivanoff Brown from Unalakleet]
68 — [large group of Alaska Native women on boardwalk next to large wooden building, some wearing traditional clothing and some wearing Western style clothing, water in distance. At AFN 2015, location suggested as St. Mary’s cannery]
69 — [two Alaska Native boys in rowboat on river, both wearing driving caps and holding oars]
70 — [four women and three children posed next to small white tents at hunting camp, animal carcasses hanging from rack in background, woman at left possibly white. At AFN 2015, identified as a reindeer corral, possibly at Stebbins or St. Michael]
71 — [two Alaska Native women and child posed next to building. Print damaged]
72 — [group portrait of Alaska Native men and women posed with white man, probably teacher or preacher, next to large wooden building, most holding books, one man wearing eyeglasses. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Sheldon Point (Nunam Iqua), man second right in second row tentatively identified as Edward Adam]
73 — [group portrait of men and women posed with burial casket next to church building in summer, several women holding wild flowers, young boy standing on church steps at right]
74 — [young Alaska Native man seated on step next to large wooden building, wearing brimmed hat and necktie, puppy at his feet. In manuscript on verso: “Lincoln Victor Anagrete[?] Dear Victor, I like you very much but you don’t like me ha ha, from Body[?].” Print cropped]
75 — [man riding tram across creek in winter]
76 — [large group of men, women, and children on steps of church building, some wearing traditional clothing and some wearing Western style clothing. Cf. .80. At AFN 2015, location identified as Methodist Church in Nome]
77 — [Alaska Native woman and two children posed seated on boardwalk outside wood-plank building, all wearing Western style clothing]
78 — [Alaska Native elder woman and young boy, both wearing parkas with fur trim, seated next to wood-plank building. Print damaged]
79 — [young Alaska Native man wearing uniform posed on ship deck with life ring of U.S.S. Boxer around his shoulders]
80 — [large group of men, women, and children on steps of church building, some wearing traditional clothing and some wearing Western style clothing. Cf. .76]
81 — [Alaska Native women posed next to log cabin. Original image blurry. Same as .65]
82 — [composite with two images: Alaska Native woman wearing spotted reindeer fur parka seated on tundra, three Alaska Native children in fur parkas posed outdoors. One print glued to page, one print sewn to page. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Unalakleet based on parka style]
83 — [two young Alaska Native men wearing Western style clothing posed outdoors in summer. In manuscript on verso: Deering. Photographic postcard, cropped]
84 — I. N. [Alaska Native family posed next to building, man wearing bib overalls, woman and children wearing cloth parkas with fur trim]
85 — [Alaska Native family next to wood-plank building, all wearing cloth parkas with fur trim]
86 — [group portrait of large group of Alaska Native children posed next to large wooden building, probably students at school. Print cropped]
87 — [large group gathered on tundra, American flag at center. In manuscript on verso: Fourth of July. Cf. .13, .160]
88 — [young white woman wearing dress and holding purse standing on boardwalk, building in background]
89 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed outdoors, woman wearing mukluks and spotted reindeer fur parka with geometric trim including swastikas over print dress, man wearing cloth parka with fur trim and mukluks]
90 — [four children posed standing against wall of wood-plank building, two holding puppies, one wearing sunglasses, all wearing Western style clothing, log building in background]
91 — [young Alaska Native man wearing Western style clothing and mukluks posed next to wooden building]
92 — 10 V [portrait of Alaska Native man wearing spotted reindeer fur parka, mittens, and mukluks posed indoors]
93 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family posed outdoors, man wearing suspenders, possibly river in background. Print damaged]
94 — [young man reclining indoors. Original image blurry]
95 — [two young Alaska Native women wearing sailor shirts and lace-up boots seated on fence or dock, possibly river in background. At AFN 2015, location suggested as St. Mary’s school, based on the uniforms]
96 — [two Alaska Native men posed next to log fence or low wall, buildings in background]
97 — [elder woman and young Alaska Native woman, both wearing cloth parkas with fur trim, posed outside log cabin]
98 — [young Alaska Native man and woman wearing Western style clothing posed next to wooden house, metal barrels and laundry on clothesline in background. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Ekuk, with Margaret Johnson’s house in background, man at right tentatively identified as Edward Abraham of Marshall]
99 — [Alaska Native man wearing fur parka, mukluks, and driving cap posed outdoors. In manuscript on verso: “This is Nick Evan. I some my picture to you. This is very good pick. It is not good picture.” Original image blurry]
100 — [men with two sleds and dog teams stopped on winter tundra. Print damaged]
101 — [Alaska Native family next to wood-plank building, wearing traditional and Western style clothing. Print damaged. At AFN 2015, man at left tentatively identified as Daniel Andrew Sr. of Bethel area]
102 — [two Alaska Native men and woman seated outside wooden building, men wearing Western style clothing, woman wearing fur parka with geometric trim. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Unalakleet]
103 — [Alaska Native man and woman seated outdoors between building and metal barrel, both wearing Western style clothing, man holding guitar, woman holding balalaika. At AFN 2015, identified as Isabelle and Isaiah Towarak of Unalakleet]
104 — [group portrait of Alaska Native men posed outdoors next to large wooden building, all wearing Western style clothing, one man wearing eyeglasses, bowtie, and suit coat. Cf. .120]
105 — [group portrait of Alaska Native women and children posed next to log building, one woman wearing Western style clothing]
106 — [large group of Alaska Native men in boat coming ashore, all raising boat oars, second boat behind at left]
107 — [Alaska Native man, woman, and young girl posed on tundra, man and woman wearing cloth parkas with short fur ruffs, child wearing headscarf]
108 — [young Alaska Native woman wearing cloth parka with fur ruff. Print cropped]
109 — [Alaska Native family next to wood-plank building, all wearing Western style clothing]
110 — [Alaska Native family posed outdoors, wearing traditional and Western style clothing, one man wearing eyeglasses, young man wearing necktie and holding driving cap]
111 — [young Alaska Native man and woman wearing Western style clothing posed next to wooden house, woman wearing coat with fur trim and knitted cap, man wearing driving cap]
112 — [two Alaska Native men posed outdoors, one man wearing Western style clothing and driving cap and holding camera case, one man wearing fur pants and suit coat and holding Athapascan style beaded mittens with initials “N.O.”, buildings in background. Cf. .152. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Nome]
113 — [white man and young girl posed next to log cabin in winter]
114 — [young Alaska Native man and woman wearing Western style clothing posed next to log cabin, woman wearing coat with fur trim, hair cut short with bangs, man wearing driving cap and sport coat, cache in background]
115 — [men and women wearing Western style clothing posed on tundra, two young women carrying camera cases]
116 — [young Alaska Native woman holding infant outside log cabin, second child just out of frame at right]
117 — [two Alaska Native men seated on tundra, both wearing Western style clothing, neckties and driving caps]
118 — [young Alaska Native woman and young boy posed outdoors, woman wearing cloth parka with fur ruff and mittens, boy wearing Western style clothing]
119 — [young Alaska Native woman holding infant outside log cabin. Print damaged]
120 — [group portrait of Alaska Native men posed outdoors next to large wooden building, all wearing Western style clothing, one man wearing eyeglasses, bowtie, and suit coat. Cf. .104]
121 — [young Alaska Native girl wearing sailor shirt and hair bow posed next to wooden building in winter]
122 — [two Alaska Native men seated on tundra, both wearing Western style clothing, one wearing knitted cap]
123 — [four Alaska Native children posed next to wood-plank building. Print damaged]
124 — [musher's perspective, view from sled to dog team in harness on winter trail in wooded area]
125 — [village as seen from water, tent on beach, buildings and pine trees on low bluff]
126 — [group portrait of large group of villagers posed next to large wooden building, two women sitting in sled in front, people wearing both traditional and Western style clothing]
127 — [naked boys on riverbank, fresh from swimming. At AFN 2016, location suggested as Pilot Point]
128 — [large group of Alaska Natives gathered on tundra, all wearing traditional clothing, some wearing spotted reindeer fur parkas. Original image blurry]
129 — [two Alaska Native women holding infants, seated outdoors next to log cabin]
130 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed outdoors, man wearing cloth parka with fur ruff, mittens, and beret, woman wearing spotted reindeer fur parka and scarf. At AFN 2015, woman identified as Lower Yukon reindeer herder’s wife, in the area of Toksook Bay to Stebbins]
131 — [Alaska Native woman propping infant on ground next to wood-plank house, young boy looking out through window panes]
132 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed next to wooden building man wearing sport coat and driving cap, woman wearing plaid shirt over dress]
133 — [large group of Alaska Natives gathered outside public school, all wearing traditional clothing, other buildings at right. Print faded]
134 — [man and four women seated in doorway of log cabin]
135 — [two Alaska Native women posed next to wood-plank building in winter, one woman wearing cloth parka with fur ruff and headscarf, one woman wearing print kuspuk]
136 — [Alaska Native woman wearing dress, cardigan sweater, and mukluks posed next to wood-plank building. Print cropped. At AFN 2016, location suggested as Deering]
137 — [Alaska Native man wearing Western style clothing and driving cap posed next to wood- plank building]
138 — Fred W. Yenney Democratic Candidate for Representative Primary Election April 25 [studio portrait of man wearing bib overalls]
139 — [young Alaska Native boy sitting on a small sled or toboggan outdoors, wash basin and drying rack at right]
140 — [man paddling single-hole kayak. Original image blurry. Print cropped]
141 — [two women and young girl outdoors in winter in sparsely wooded area, one woman wearing fur parka with geometric decoration, woman with back to camera and young girl wearing print parkas with fur trim]
142 — [Alaska Native woman holding infant posed outdoors in winter]
143 — [four young Alaska Native men and women sitting drinking coffee. Print cropped]
144 — [Alaska Native man, woman, and child posed on tundra in summer, woman wearing kuspuk and headscarf, man wearing fur parka with geometric decoration. Print faded]
145 — [sailing ship Good Hope at anchor, American flag on stern]
146 — [young woman wearing dress and Mary Jane shoes posed next to wood-plank building in winter, icicles on eaves]
147 — [young man wearing three-piece suit and necktie posed outdoors. Print cropped]
148 — [two young Alaska Native children posed, standing. In manuscript on verso: “[illegible] speech.” Print faded]
149 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family posed next to tent on tundra, elder woman wearing fur parka with walrus tusk gussets, elder man wearing Western style clothing and suspenders, young man wearing Western style clothing, young woman wearing kuspuk with fur trim, child wearing Western style clothing, can of Stanavo fuel on grass at left, laundry on clothesline at right, coffee cup on wooden box, boat on shoreline of water in background]
150 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family posed next to wood-plank building, man wearing Western style clothing and driving cap, women and young boys wearing traditional clothing, young woman holding infant]
151 — [young Alaska Native man posed in doorway of wooden building, large building in background. Original image blurry]
152 — [two Alaska Native men posed outdoors, one man wearing Western style clothing and driving cap and holding camera case, one man wearing fur pants and suit coat and holding Athapascan style beaded mittens, buildings in background. Man on right same as man on right in.112]
153 — [three young Alaska Native men posed outdoors, all wearing Western style clothing including driving caps and neckties. At AFN 2015, located suggested as Ekuk, man on left tentatively identified as John Heyano Sr. At AFN 2016, man at right tentatively identified as John Allie of Unalakleet]
154 — [composite consisting of 2 images: formal studio portrait of young Alaska Native man wearing suit coat and necktie; Alaska Native men wearing Western style clothing and brimmed hats posed next to wood-plank building]
155 — White Mountain. I. N. [group portrait of Alaska Native family posed next to log cabin, man wearing fur parka, woman and children wearing cloth parkas with fur trim, woman holding infant in fur onesie]
156 — [Alaska Native woman wearing print parka with fur trim sitting on ground holding infant, young boy wearing bib overalls standing at left, woman in doorway of log cabin in background]
157 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family next to log cabin in winter, man and young woman wearing Western style clothing, elder woman wearing fur parka with walrus tusk gussets and eyeglasses, child at left with cleft lip. Cf. .29. At AFN 2016, location identified as Deering]
158 — [close-up of child sucking thumb or pacifier. Original image blurry and dark. Same as .3]
159 — [Alaska Native elder woman and four young women posed outdoors, all wearing traditional clothing, woman at right wearing squirrel fur parka, wood-plank building and hill in background]
160 — [women lined up on tundra, probably start of foot race, Fourth of July celebration. Cf. .13, .87. At AFN 2016, location identified as Nome]
161 — [group portrait of large group of Alaska Natives posed on tundra, possibly in front of biplane. Same as .63]
162 — [Alaska Native boy posed outdoors in winter with two wooden chairs, possibly hunchbacked, wood-sided building in background. At AFN 2015, location suggested as Bristol Bay orphanage]
163 — [Alaska Native children posed outside wood-plank building in winter, possibly school]
164 — [Alaska Native man seated outdoors holding guitar, large buildings in background, location non-Alaskan, possibly boarding school. cf. .6, .20. Original image cropped into diamond shape. Same as .34]
165 — [toddler child in yard next to log cabin, log fence at right]
166 — [young Alaska Native girl and boy posed outdoors, boy wearing bib overalls and driving cap, girl wearing Western style clothing and holding infant]
167 — [studio portrait. Oval print. Print faded]
168 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed with sled, man wearing Western style clothing, woman wearing fur parka with walrus tusk gussets and headscarf, two children lying in sled basket]
169 — [group portrait of Alaska Native family next to log cabin in winter, all wearing traditional clothing]
170 — [two Alaska Native women posed outdoors, one wearing baby belt and knitted hat, one wearing cloth parka with fur ruff. In manuscript on verso: “Mrs. Oney & myself”. At AFN 2016, woman at left identified as Martina Oyomik of Unalakleet]
171 — [white man seated at desk inside office, reading book, papers in pigeonholes above desk, curtains on window. Same man as in .28?]
172 — [group portrait of several Alaska Native men, women, and infants posed outside a large wooden building. Original image blurry. Same as .44]
173 — [Alaska Native man holding young boy posed next to wood-plank building in winter, woman looking out through window panes at right]
174 — [Alaska Native man wearing suit, necktie and driving cap posed in front of brick building, possibly boarding school. Blue-toned silver gelatin print]
175 — [Alaska Native man on crutches posed outdoors in spring, cut timber at right, snow under pine trees at left, tent in background. At AFN 2016, location suggested as White Mountain area]
176 — [Alaska Native man wearing plaid jacket and necktie posed outdoors in low brush]
177 — [six Alaska Native boys posed outdoors next to wooded-sided building. In manuscript on verso: “[illegible] Anagrok [illegible] gave it to [illegible] picture are [illegible] boys, Unalakleet, Alaska, Nov. 28, 1[cropped]”]
178 — [four Alaska Native men paused in their work outdoors, three wearing visors, one wearing driving cap, utility pole in background] Guide updated: October 26, 2016