REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Joe Crusey Photographs

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.070

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1943-1972

Extent: 200 images

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Joe Crusey

Administrative/Biographical History:
Long-time Anchorage resident Joe Crusey was working as an insurance adjustor during the
1964 earthquake. Later, he worked for many years as an art appraiser.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 147 color 35mm slides, one black-and-white print, and two black-
and-white contact sheets of photographs taken by Joe Crusey. The images document life in
Anchorage and Southcentral Alaska in the period 1947-1961, including the aftermath of the
1964 Alaska Earthquake. Also included are images from a road trip to Dawson City, Yukon, in
the summer of 1961. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged by format, location, and date.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.


Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. Light box may be
used to view transparencies.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Joe Crusey Photographs, Anchorage Museum, B2013.070

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Joe Crusey in October 2013.

Note
The original negatives from which the contact sheets were made were discarded by the donor
prior to October 2013.

RELATED MATERIALS


SUBJECTS
Fur Rendezvous (Anchorage, Alaska)
Circus—Alaska
Aeronautics—Alaska—Anchorage
Snow—Alaska—Anchorage
Gold mines and mining—Alaska
River boats—Yukon
Earthquakes—Alaska
Alaska Earthquake, Alaska, 1964
Anchorage (Alaska)
Hope (Alaska)
Kenai (Alaska)
Portage Glacier (Alaska)
Sand Point (Alaska)
Dawson (Yukon)
Tok (Alaska)
Chicken (Alaska)
Kodiak (Alaska)
Alaska Highway
Taylor Highway (Southeast Fairbanks Census Area, Alaska)


Detailed Description of the Collection

35 mm Slides
[Alaska, 1947-1972]
 1 — Ship Creek house, 1947 [exterior of residence in summer]
 2 — Joe, 1951 [sitting in door of automobile]
 3 — Anchorage, 1952, 4th & Gambell [Dodge-Plymouth car dealer, two men on car lot, one brushing automobile with duster]
 4 — Anchorage 1953 [woman in costume riding paint horse down street, house and spectators in background; Shrine Circus?]
 5 — Anchorage, 1951 [1953? Man in red suit leading elephants carrying costumed women, some bearing paper advertisements including one reading “Hunter Bar,” building visible in background]
 6 — Anchorage, 1953 [woman in costume riding elephant down street, buildings visible in background]
 7 — Anchorage, 1953 [mother and two children watch automobile ride by, with two women in costume and two men, one with Shriners hat, automobiles and buildings in background, Providence Hospital in distance?]
 8 — Anchorage, 1953 [man leading costumed woman on paint horse down street, with spectators and buildings in background]
 9 — Anchorage, 1951 [1953? Man in red suit leading elephants carrying costumed women, some bearing paper advertisements including one reading “Hunter Bar,” buildings visible in background, Providence Hospital in distance?]
10 — Anchorage, 1953 [elephants parading down street past buildings including Union 76 gas station]
 11 — Anchorage, 1951 [1953? Circus parade on Fourth Avenue passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, J.C. Morris Real Estate, Tom’s Radio, Commercial Stationers, Players Café]
 12 — Palmer, 1953 [scenic view with hay stacked in field in foreground, mountains in distance]
 13 — Palmer Fair, 1953 [people looking at new model automobiles on display, with signs for Dodge and Plymouth hanging on grandstand in background]
14 — Dave, Anch., 1953 [man in business suit with one foot up on fender of automobile in car lot, Snyder Office Supply visible in background]
 15 — [snow-covered pine trees next to house, from box labeled “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 16 — [car dealership with automobiles buried in snow, icicles hanging from building roof, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 17 — [street scene, probably F Street in Anchorage, with snow, pedestrians, automobiles, and signs for businesses including Ward W. Wells and Clark’s Paint Store, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 18 — [automobiles buried in snow, buildings visible in background, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 19 — 5th & D St., Anch. [men shoveling snow outside Hoyt Motor Co., “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
20 — [Fifth Avenue street scene, with snow, pedestrians, automobiles, and signs for businesses including Kimball’s, Independent Lumber, and Book Cache, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
21 — [street scene, E Street at Fourth Avenue, with snow, automobiles, and signs for businesses including Book Cache, Rexall Drugs, and 515 Club, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
22 — [two automobiles buried in snow, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 23 — [street scene at Fifth Avenue and D Street with snow, pedestrians, and Loussac-Sogn Building with sign for Rand Shoes Finley’s, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
24 — [residential area with houses, snow, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
25 — [residential area with blowing snow, houses, automobiles, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”; in 2014, location tentatively identified as Westchester Lagoon area with Kenai Building at right]
26 — [street scene with blowing snow, automobiles, utility poles, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 27 — [similar to .26]
 28 — [airplanes damaged in snow storm in front of hangars including Alaska Freight Lines and Airport Machinery Co., with truck parked at left, Merrill Field, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 29 — [truck parked near damaged airplane outside Alaska Freight Lines hangar, Merrill Field, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 30 — [damaged airplane outside Alaska Freight Lines hangar, Merrill Field, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
31 — [airplanes flying overhead, sign for Stork Shop, Fur Rendezvous? “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 32 — [Weaver Bros. Inc. truck pulling parade float for Anchorage P.B.W.C., with igloo, dogsled, people in fur parkas, Fur Rendezvous? “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 33 — [antique car in parade carrying men and sign “Where in the H is the Miners & Trappers Ball?” passing Snyder Office Supply, Fur Rendezvous, “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 34 — [street scene of Fourth Avenue at E Street with pedestrians, automobiles, and signs for businesses including Ship Creek Market, Esquire Shop, Pacific Northern Airlines, Rexall Drugs, and Hewitt’s Drug Store, Fur Rendezvous? “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 35 — [street scene of Fourth Avenue at D Street with pedestrians, automobiles, and signs for businesses including Verna’s Café and Kennedy Hardware, Fur Rendezvous? “Anchorage snow storm of 1954”]
 36 — Lake Spenard, Anch. [sunbathers on beach, 1955?]
 37 — Lake Spenard, Anch. [sunbathers on beach and swimmers in water, 1955?]
 38 — 4th Ave., Anchorage [street scene looking east to Chugach Mountains, with automobiles and signs for businesses including Inlet Hotel and Columbia Lumber]
39 — [three people and four folding chairs on lawn overlooking Cook Inlet; in 2014, location identified as Lyn Ary Park on Cook Onlet]
40 — [road construction, workmen and equipment on dirt road, water tower and McKinley Apartments visible in distance; in 2014, location identified as C Street in foreground]
 41 — [man in suit and bowtie standing in doorway]
 42 — 4th Ave., Anch. [street scene with McKinley Apartments]
 43 — [log building with faded sign reading “Hope [?] Hall,” firewood stacked on porch, Hope?]
 44 — [flower and vegetable garden, man in background]
 45 — [flower garden]
46 — [man’s hand holding cigarette pack and carrot that is wider than pack]
 47 — [view of Port of Anchorage from Second Avenue, with Alaska Railroad depot and headquarters, possibly cannery complex in background, Cook Inlet and Knik Arm in distance]
48 — [skaters on frozen lake, automobiles parked at left near small building, Chugach Mountains in distance; in 2014, location identified as Lake Spenard]
 49 — [Fifth Avenue winter street scene, with automobiles, Hansen Plumbing, McKinley Apartments, Union 76 gas station]
 50 — 4th Ave., Anch. [street view with Christmas decorations, automobiles, and signs for businesses including First National Bank, Bert’s Drug Store, Empress Theater]
 51 — Getchel Hotel, 4th Ave & E St. [sic] [street scene at Fourth Avenue and F Street, with Christmas decorations, pedestrians, automobiles, and businesses including Gitchell Hotel, Smart Shop, City Hall]
 52 — 3rd & E St., Anch., jail on right [winter street scene with automobiles, Chugach Mountains in distance]
 53 — Ship Creek home, 1956 [cinder block house, winter, automobile in driveway]
 54 — Talkeetna [winter view of town buildings along road, mountains in background; actually Hope?]
 55 — Hope, ’55 [automobile parked on street outside U.S. Post Office, Hope, Alaska, in winter]
 56 — Anchorage, 1955, 5th & D St [street scene with automobiles, Loussac-Sogn Building, and businesses including Finley’s Shoes, Paul’s Jewelry]
 57 — [aerial view of unidentified coastal town, probably Southeast, 1957?]
 58 — [similar to .57]
 59 — [aerial view of snow-capped mountains along coast, probably Southeast, 1957?]
 60 — [winter street scene, unidentified town, with automobiles, pedestrian, and buildings]
61 — [aerial view of roads in winter, frozen waterway at left; in 2014, identified as Anchorage Natural Gas pipeline, now belonging to ENSTAR]
 62 — [road in winter, with hills beyond, Arctic Valley]
63 — Arctic Valley [skiers gearing up at bottom of hill in foreground, skiers on tow-rope in background]
 64 — [Portage Lake and Glacier in winter]
 65 — [Portage Lake and Glacier in winter]
 66 — [two people at Portage Lake and Glacier in winter]
 67 — [Portage Lake and Glacier in winter]
68 — [Anchorage street scene, with dogsled on top of car in foreground, crowds of people and KENI television camera crane outside federal building on Fourth Avenue, Fur Rendezvous?]
 69 — [blanket toss jumper in air, with federal building visible behind, Anchorage Fur Rendezvous?]
70 — Kenai [winter view of two wood-frame buildings]
71 — Kenai [winter street scene with town buildings, including Kenai Drugs]
72 — Kenai [winter street scene with buildings, trucks parked in lot, possibly automotive shop at right]
73 — [Kenai winter scene with fences in foreground, buildings in middle distance, mountains in background]
74 — Russian orphanage, Kenai [dilapidated two-story wooden building in winter]
75 — Kenai [wooden buildings in old town, including St. Nicholas Russian Orthodox Chapel]
76 — Russian orphanage, Kenai
 77 — [airplane with tail number N21856 on landing strip in winter, with truck and equipment parked at left, Kenai?]
 78 — Portage Glacier, 1960
 79 — Sand Point, 1961 [exterior of St. Nicholas Russian Orthodox Chapel]
 80 — Joe ’72 [portrait photograph of Joe Crusey]
 81 — Joe ’72 [similar to .80]
 82 — Hoyt Motors, Lloyd & Rudy [four men inside at service counter for automotive shop, with automobile in bay at right, 1950s?]
 83 — [woman hiking along snowy ridge, no date]
 84 — [exterior of Kessler, Hillstrand & Crusey insurance company, winter, car lot at left, mid- 1950s?] [Dawson, Yukon, 1956-1961]
 85 — Dawson City, 1956 [street scene with pedestrians, automobiles, and businesses including White Pass Hotel, The Grill Chinese Food, Rexall Drugs]
 86 — [view of dirt road through hilly area, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 87 — [view across Yukon River with Dawson on far bank, print date Jul 61]
 88 — [view across Yukon River with Dawson on far bank, Chevrolet automobile with Alaska plate in foreground, print date Jul 61]
 89 — [car ferry approaching across Yukon River, print date Jul 61]
 90 — [Chevrolet automobile with Alaska plate boarding ferry on Yukon River, print date Jul 61]
 91 — [men and automobile on ferry McQuesten, print date Jul 61]
 92 — [view from dock, with Yukon Saw Mill Co. sawmill building on shore, print date Jul 61]
 93 — [Dawson street scene with automobiles and businesses including Westminster Hotel, print date Jul 61]
 94 — [three men standing inside the tire of large vehicle labeled United States Army Transportation Corps, print date Jul 61]
 95 — [gold dredge, print date Jul 61]
 96 — [gold dredge, print date Jul 61]
 97 — [gold dredge, print date Jul 61]
 98 — [men lying in sleeping bags on floor of dilapidated building or boat, print date Jul 61]
 99 — [ruins, possibly riverboat graveyard near Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 100 — [ruins, possibly riverboat graveyard near Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 101 — [dilapidated riverboat, possibly at riverboat graveyard near Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 102 — [view of pilothouse of the Julia B., possibly at riverboat graveyard near Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 103 — [dilapidated riverboats, possibly at riverboat graveyard near Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 104 — [Dawson street scene, with man standing outside boarded-up business, print date Jul 61]
 105 — [Masonic temple, Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 106 — [dilapidated building, Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 107 — [street scene in Dawson, with Mme. Tremblay’s Store and Canadian Pacific Airlines, print date Jul 61]
 108 — [boarded-up building with sign for Cribbs, the Rexall Store, print date Jul 61]
 109 — [boarded-up building with sign for J & T Adair Wholesale Hardware, print date Jul 61]
 110 — [boarded-up building with sign for Picobac tobacco, print date Jul 61]
 111 — [boat No. 40 Kingfisher on grass outside boarded-up building with sign for Red Feather Saloon, print date Jul 61]
 112 — [boarded-up building with sign for Red Feather Saloon, print date Jul 61]
 113 — [boarded-up building, Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 114 — [boarded-up buildings, Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 115 — [trees growing up around boarded-up building with sign “Guns Ammunition Hardware”, print date Jul 61]
 116 — [Dawson street scene, with hill in background, print date Jul 61]
 117 — [wagon, Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 118 — [boarded-up building with sign for The American, print date Jul 61]
 119 — [scenery, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 120 — [scenery, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 121 — [scenery, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 122 — [scenery, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 123 — [scenery, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 124 — [scenery with glacier, Matanuska? trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 125 — [man standing near two automobiles parked in overlook with glacier, Matanuska? trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 126 — [moonrise over mountains, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 127 — [man standing next to automobile parked on riverbank, supplies spread on ground, highway in background, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 128 — [man washing face in river water, highway in background, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 129 — [three men entering Parker House roadhouse, Tok, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 130 — [view out windshield of bear crossing highway, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 131 — [bird’s eye view of Pedro Gold Dredge, Chicken, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 132 — [four men standing near small gold mining plant, Taylor Highway, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 133 — [people standing near small gold mining plant, print date Jul 61]
 134 — [water draining into pan at small gold mining plant, print date Jul 61]
 135 — [dump truck loading dirt into small gold mining plant, people standing near plant below, print date Jul 61]
 136 — [scenery, Taylor Highway, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 137 — [debris, probably near Jack Wade dredge, Taylor Highway, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 138 — [Jack Wade Dredge, Taylor Highway, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 139 — [two men on Jack Wade Dredge, Taylor Highway, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 140 — [two men near Jack Wade Dredge, Taylor Highway, trip to Dawson, print date Jul 61]
 141 — [man standing in doorway of boarded-up building with sign for “Office”, street sign for 1st Ave., Dawson, print date Aug 61]
 142 — [woman and three children loading or unloading boats on bank of Yukon River, fourth child in boat in foreground, river ferry in background, trip to Dawson, print date Aug 61]
 143 — [four Athapascan children on river shore near kayak, supplies on ground, bulldozer parked next to Canadian Customs house in background, Dawson, print date Aug 61]
 144 — [three men and two automobiles outside Yukon Saw Mill Co. building, Dawson, print date Aug 61]
 145 — [Yukon River ferry crossing, with automobile parked near signs reading “Welcome to Dawson City Heart of the Klondike” and “Dawson City Ferry Closing Hours,” print date Aug 61]
 146 — [man on bulldozer in mown field, probably near Yukon River ferry crossing at Dawson, print date Aug 61] [Ohio, 1943]
 147 — Tom & Joe, Sidney, Ohio, 1943 [two young men, one in military uniform] Prints [Alaska Earthquake, 1964]
 148 — Kodiak, 1964 earthquake [downed trees and debris in foreground, partially submerged buildings and vehicles in background; cf. 196] [Contact prints]
 149 — [Anchorage street scene, with pedestrians and automobiles]
 150 — [surveyor’s tripod in street in front of buildings with earthquake damage]
 151 — [damaged homes in residential area, probably Turnagain]
 152 — [people walking past damaged apartment building, with equipment and debris pile in foreground, other buildings in background]
 153 — [automobile in residential driveway with heaved pavement]
 154 — [heaved pavement, with buildings in distance]
 155 — [street scene, Fourth Avenue looking east, with automobiles and damaged buildings including D & D Café, Sportsman’s Club, Frisco Café, McKinley Apartments in distance]
 156 — [damage to McLain’s Camera Center building]
 157 — [damage to McLain’s Camera Center building]
 158 — [building damage]
 159 — [view of J.C. Penney parking structure from across Fifth Avenue, with signs for businesses including Nerland’s, Craig’s, Singer, Book Cache]
 160 — [Fifth Avenue street scene looking east, with pedestrians and businesses including J.C. Penney, Nerland’s, Igloo Native Arts and Crafts, Craig’s, Singer, Book Cache]
 161 — [Fourth Avenue street scene looking west, with pedestrians and businesses including D & D Café, Mac’s Foto, Scandinavian Club, Sam’s Liquor Store, Alaska Trading Post Loans, Safari Hotel, Sedalia Shine Parlor]
 162 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with signs for Home Cooking, Anchorage Pawn Shop Loans, Denali Grill]
 163 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with businesses including Safari Hotel, Sedalia Shine Parlor, Union Leader, Denali Grill]
 164 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with Pawn Shop Loans, Scandinavian Club, Anchorage Arcade, Sam’s Liquor Store, Safari Hotel, Union Leader]
 165 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with D & D Café, Sportsman’s Club, Frisco Bar & Café, BJ’s Billiards]
 166 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with Hobby Lobby, Koslosky’s]
 167 — [damage to J.C. Penney parking structure and Singer, Fourth Avenue]
 168 — [trucks in front of J.C. Penney parking structure, including Shanteri’s storefront]
 169 — [Fifth Avenue street scene with Army soldiers at barricade in front of First Federal Savings, with businesses including Golden Horseshoe]
 170 — [damage to First Federal Savings building]
 171 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with Bagoy’s, Green Dragon, Bowling Emporium, Turf Sport Center]
 172 — [damage to Flowers by Bagoy building]
 173 — [woman standing behind large snow pile]
 174 — [snow piled against house to roof level]
 175 — [work crew in open truck bed loading or unloading on street, with automobiles and buildings visible]
 176 — [heaved pavement with buildings in background]
 177 — [damaged building]
 178 — [Fifth Avenue street scene with automobiles, trucks, and businesses including J.C. Penney parking structure, HFC Loans]
 179 — [rock slide on Seward Highway partially covering Alaska Railroad tracks along Turnagain Arm]
 180 — [snow and mud in lot in front of building, oil barrels and other materials in yard, Turnagain Arm area?]
 181 — [trucks outside McLain’s Camera Center]
 182 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with Northern Jewelers, Hobby Lobby, Koslosky’s, Pioneer Loan Co., D & D Café]
 183 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with automobiles, pedestrians, hoisting equipment, and businesses including McLain’s Camera Center, Northern Jewelers, Hobby Lobby, Koslosky’s, Pioneer Loan Co., D & D Café]
 184 — [after start of demolition of Fourth Avenue buildings including Sportsman’s Club]
 185 — [Fourth Avenue street scene with automobiles, pedestrians, hoisting equipment, and businesses including McLain’s Camera Center, Northern Jewelers, Hobby Lobby, Koslosky’s, Pioneer Loan Co., D & D Café, BJ’s Billiards]
 186 — [heaved pavement in foreground, buildings in middle ground, Cook Inlet in distance; possibly Fourth Avenue]
 187 — [bird’s eye view of damaged dock or heaved earth in waterway near Kodiak; cf. 198]
 188 — [bird’s eye view from roadway of damaged dock or heaved earth in waterway, with buildings along shore, Kodiak; cf. 198]
 189 — [badly damaged building with marker “5” on pole in front, Anchorage?]
 190 — [workmen on damaged building, with Craning Service truck parked in front]
 191 — [Mitch Bennett Co. crane lifting section of damaged building, workmen visible, Cook Inlet in background?]
 192 — [street scene near Fourth Avenue and D Street with businesses including Mutual of New York, Mary Lou’s Café, Howard’s Gunshop, Mehner’s Restaurant, Pacific Finance Loans, Television Rendezvous, and J.C. Penney]
 193 — [“Life” van parked outside multi-story building with earthquake damage]
 194 — [damaged homes, Kodiak]
 195 — [damaged homes, Kodiak]
 196 — [damaged homes, Kodiak; similar to .148]
 197 — [fishing boats washed onto shore and lying near buildings, Kodiak]
 198 — [damaged dock or heaved earth in waterway near Kodiak, cf. .187-188]
 199 — [damage to McKinley Apartments]
 200 — [Fourth Avenue pavement damage, blurry, cf. 186] Guide updated: November 5, 2014