REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Barbara Sweetland Smith Papers

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.050

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1966-2010

Extent: 7 boxes, 9 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Barbara Sweetland Smith

Administrative/Biographical History:
Barbara Sweetland Smith (1936-2013) was a noted scholar of Russian America and the Russian
Orthodox Church. She was a professor of Russian history at the University of Alaska,
Anchorage; co-curated exhibitions on Russian America at the Anchorage Museum; and worked
with the Orthodox Diocese of Alaska to document and preserve Russian American heritage in
the state. She received the Russian Order of Friendship in 2001, and the Order of St. Herman
from the Russian Orthodox Church.

Smith held several positions within the Alaska Historical Society, and was a founder of the
journal Alaska History. She served as board member of the National Archives of the Episcopal
Church, president of the Soroptimist Club of Anchorage, and president of F.I.S.H.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 1973 images (color and black-and-white 35mm slides, prints,
negatives, and digital files), research files, correspondence, records, audiocassettes, and
banners assembled by Smith during the course of her research on Russian America and her
work with Alaskan organizations and agencies. Of note are files pertaining to the Anchorage

Museum exhibitions “Russian America: the Forgotten Frontier,” “Heaven on Earth,” and
“Science Under Sail;” records of the organization and work of R.O.S.S.I.A., Inc. (Russian
Orthodox Sacred Sites in Alaska); documentation of Smith’s work for the Aleutian Pribilof
Islands Association; and the records of the Native Organization Records Project (NORP) of the
Alaska Native Foundation. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Original order largely maintained. Materials divided into twelve series: 1.
Museum exhibitions. 2. R.O.S.S.I.A. and Russian American heritage preservation. 3. Native
Organizations Records Project. 4. Aleutian Pribilof Islands Association. 5. Alaska State Historic
Records Advisory Board and state historic preservation. 6. Conferences. 7. Reprints. 8.
University of Alaska. 9. Personal files. 10. Correspondence. 11. Textiles. 12. Addenda 2015 and
2016.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in fair to good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access print materials. Light box may be
used for transparencies. Digital images require use of computer for access.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Barbara Sweetland Smith Papers, Anchorage Museum, B2013.050

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Floyd Smith in May 2013, with addendum sent in June 2013.

Processing Note
Reboxed and refoldered at time of processing. Paperclips removed, but staples remain.
Photographic materials rehoused in archival enclosures, but retained in original order. Images
not assigned item accession numbers at time of processing. Textile materials moved to end of
box 7. Files copied from CDs onto Museum servers at time of processing. Images individually
accessioned in April 2015.


782 images (including prints, negatives, and slides) of icon conservation and architectural
conservation projects at several churches found in Museum Records in September 2015, and
added as addendum at end of collection. See Box 8.

93 color photographs of the Heaven on Earth exhibition installation at Anchorage, as well as
photographs of artifacts at Holy Trinity Cathedral in San Francisco, CA; St. Mary’s Romanian
Orthodox Cathedral in Cleveland, OH; the OCA Chancery in Syosset, NY; St. Tikhon Monastery
in Waymart, PA; and St. Vladimir Seminary in Yonkers, NY, found in Museum Records in
December 2016, and added as addendum at end of collection. See Box 8.


RELATED MATERIALS
Sacred Space, Sacred Time Exhibition Collection, B2013.037
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center Exhibit Files

SUBJECTS
Smith, Barbara Sweetland
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Russkai
︠
a
︡
pravoslavnai
︠
a
︡
t
︠
s
︡
erkovʹ
Orthodox Eastern Church—Alaska
Russian Orthodox Greek Catholic Church of America. Diocese of Alaska
ROSSIA, Inc.
Aleutian/Pribilof Islands Association
Alaska State Historical Records Advisory Board
University of Alaska Anchorage
Booth Memorial Home (Anchorage, Alaska)
Church buildings—Alaska
Church decoration and ornament—Alaska
Icons, Russian—Alaska
Russians—Alaska—History
Alaska—History—To 1867

Detailed Description of the Collection

B1
Series 1: Museum exhibitions
(Textiles removed to box 7)
Russian America: the forgotten frontier
RATFF Awards
 1 — Barbara Sweetland Smith (Mills ’58) displays her unique award from Museums Alaska, November 1990, for developing the exhibit “Russian America: the Forgotten Frontier.” The award is an antique Russian document box, with an icon inset on the top. 12-1-90 [color portrait] RATFF Anchorage RATFF Contracts RATFF News & reviews RATFF Reaction, correspondence RATFF Object list RATFF Juneau RATFF Los Angeles, Gene Autry
 2 —15 – Opening of “Russian America,” LA, June 1992 [14 color 35mm negs, 9 color prints] RATFF Oakland
 16 — L to R: Diliara Safaralieva (Rus. Acad. of Art), Tom Frye, dir.; Barbara Smith, curator, Oct. 1991 [color print]
 17 — Diliara Safaralieva (l.), Barbara Smith, Oakland Museum, Oct. 1991 [color print]
 18 — L to R: Diliara Safaralieva, Tom Frye, ? (conservator at Acad. of Art, Leningrad), Oct. 1991 [color print] RATFF Tacoma, WSHS .19-43 – Tacoma installation [10 color prints, 25 color 35mm slides] RATFF Russia .44 – Moscow River & Lenin University, Sept. 1989 [skyline. color print]
 45 — Red Square from the buffet at my hotel (Rossiia), Moscow, Sept. 1989 [skyline. color print]
 46 — Capt. Anatolii Razdol’gin of Naval Museum Leningrad, Sept. 1989 (interpreter: Alexei Muzichkin) [three men at table in reading room. Color print]
 47 — Nikolau Bolkhovitinov (2nd from l.) & Svetlana Federova (far right), Moscow, Sept. 1989 [group portrait of five people. Color print]
 48 — Sergei Serov (l.) & Svetlana Federova, Moscow Institute of Ethnography, Sept. 1989 [Color print]
 49 — Director & research director of State Historical Museum, Moscow, Sept. 1989 [woman standing next to man sitting at desk. Color print]
 50 — Vasily Zhuravlev at Lydia Velichko’s flat, Moscow, Sept. ’89 [man wearing Alaska Iditarod sweatshirt siting at table set with dishes, food, wine. Color print]
 51 — E. Dzinezkevich (l.) & Rosa Liapunova at Museum of Ethnography, Leningrad, Sept. 1989 [Color print]
 52 — Vladimir Tarasov, director, International Dept. Central Archives, USSR, Moscow, 9-89 [Color print]
 53 — Ruslan Zainetdinov, March 1990 (our “agent terrible”) [man talking on telephone in art museum or gallery. Color print]
 54 — Pat Wolf, director Anchorage Museum, Barbara, & Steve Haycox, symposium director, Nov. 1990 [group posed in Museum auditorium. Color print] RATFF Storyline RATFF Walkthrough NEH “Russian America”’ NEH Budget RA: the forgotten frontier text Documentary, Russian America RA Doc., PBS treatment Final pickup of RA Russian objects, 1992
 55 —80 – [26 color 35mm negs, 7 color prints. Includes Barbara Sweetland Smith, Diliara Safaralieva, Saint Innocent Orthodox Christian Cathedral in Anchorage, Sourdough Mining Co.] [Thanksgiving 1990]
 81 —106 – Ekaterina Gishina & Diliara Safaralieva, guests, Nov. 1990 [26 color 35mm negs, 3 color prints]
 107 —132 – Thanksgiving 1990 with our Soviet friends [26 color 35mm negs, 10 color prints] [RATFF scrapbook] [Faberge Book of Days, 1990, with manuscript annotations, extra-illustrated with photographs, presented to Smith by Jean Swearingen, Cicely Muldoon, and Connie Estep]
 133 —162 – [29 color prints. Includes installation, Anchorage reception, Museums Alaska award] Finnish Broadcasting Co., “Russian Alaska” Project, 1991 RATFF: California lectures, 1991-92 RATFF: CIHS 8/94 RATFF: Waxwell Charter of Nobility
 163 — “St. Paul” (?), miniature on Sven Waxwell family charter of the nobility, 1778 [Color print]
 164 — “St. Peter”, miniature on Sven Waxwell family charter of the nobility, 1778 [Color print]
 165 —167 – [Russian charter and seal. 3 color prints] Heaven on Earth Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Newark Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Chicago
 168 —189 – Heaven on Earth at Field Museum, Oct. 1996 [22 color 35mm negs, 20 color prints. Includes opening blessing]
 190 —213 – Chicago blessing [24 color prints] Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Anchorage .214 – Mina Jacobs & Barbara Smith, opening of “Heaven on Earth,” 1994 [color print] Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Juneau Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Boise Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Whatcom
 215 —240 – Heaven on Earth, Whatcom [26 color 35mm negs, 18 color prints. Includes installation] Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: News & reviews
 241 — To Barbara Smith for all your hard work. L. Young, Anchorage, AK, 11/24, x, 1995 [reproduction of St. Michael the Archangel icon] Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Miscellaneous
 242 — L to r: Lydia Litvinov, Barbara Sweetland Smith, Chris Arend, Museum of Peter the Great, St. Petersburg Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997: Images for video
 243 — Bishop Tikhon in Alaska, with priests & others, ca. 1901. M.Z. Vinokouroff Collection, ASL, PCA 243-78 [b&w copy print]
 244 — 6057. Street scene in Sitka, Alaska. Taber Photo, San Francisco, Cal. Courtesy Bancroft Library. Date 1886-1890? (Note de Groff sign) [b&w copy print]
 245 — Atka Church, post-war, ca. 1946-52. OrHi 88274 lot 392, Ransom Coll., env. 40, Oregon Historical Society [bird’s eye view of St. Nicholas Russian Orthodox Chapel and cemetery, three children on grass in foreground. b&w copy print]
 246 — Unalaska w/ Cathedral of Holy Ascension. Photo by Barry McWayne, 1989. ASF- U [bird’s eye view of village and harbor. b&w print]
 247 — Unalaska, n.d. UAF #76-95-51 [bird’s eye view of village and river. b&w copy print]
 248 — 1308. Native church (Greek), Akutan, Alaska. J.E.T. ASL, John E. Thwaites Collection, PCA 18-493. Ca. 1918 [exterior of original St. Alexander Nevsky Chapel. b&w copy print]
 249 — Biorka Church (fig. 2) (D-3), Chapel of St. Nicholas. National Archives, DOI file #7469 (1944). Unalaska Island, 1944 [exterior of church. b&w copy print]
 250 — Church of St. Nicholas, Nikolski, Alaska, 1992. B. Smith photo [distant view of church and village. color print]
 251 — Communion at Akutan, Alaska, 1992. B. Smith photo [interior of church during rite, St. Alexander Nevsky Chapel. Color print]
 252 — [interior of unidentified church. Color print]
 253 — [portrait of priest standing inside unidentified church. Color print]
 254 — [exterior of unidentified church and cemetery. Color print]
 255 — Treasury warrant (check purchasing Alaska) RUAM 031 [b&w copy print]
 256 — Signature page from the ratification of the Alaska Treaty, 1867 [color print]
 257 — The Iverskaya Mother of God, HOE 72 [color print]
 258 — [painting, “Signing the Alaska Treaty of Cessation”, Emanuel Leutz. Color print]
 259 — Metropolitan Innocent, ca. 1869. Sheldon Jackson Museum, Sitka [digital print]
 260 — St. George Church, St. George Island, ca. 1986. APIA RPHO 140 [b&w print]
 261 — Very Rev. Ismail Gromoff at St. Paul Bicentennial, 1987. Tricia Brown photo [portrait of priest inside church. b&w print] Suzi Jones [Lifting the Fog, 1999] Science Under Sail Science Under Sail: NEH Grant, 1999 Science Under Sail: NEH Grant, 1996 Science Under Sail: Budget Science Under Sail: Evaluations Science Under Sail: Final report to grantors Science Under Sail: NSF Project description of walk-through Science Under Sail: NSF Science Under Sail: Slide talks Science Under Sail: Object list Science Under Sail: Design Science Under Sail: Outlines Science Under Sail: Panels Science Under Sail: Panel/Label text info Science Under Sail: Labels, numerical B2 Science Under Sail: Reading stands Science Under Sail: Pendulum Science Under Sail: Specimens Science Under Sail: Lydia Black Science Under Sail: California Science Under Sail: Amiq Institute Science Under Sail: Zviagin Science Under Sail: Japan Science Under Sail: Animals Science Under Sail: Plants Science Under Sail: Maps, reference Science Under Sail: Ships Science Under Sail: Kreher, Russian maritime tradition Science Under Sail: Nautical instruments Science Under Sail: Tin cans Science Under Sail: Aleut nomenclature Science Under Sail: Language activity Science Under Sail: History theme Science Under Sail: Resources Science Under Sail: Voyagers, Others Science Under Sail: Voyagers, Eschscholtz Science Under Sail: Voyagers, Choris Science Under Sail: Voyagers, Chamisso Science Under Sail: Images
 262 —363 – [67 color prints, 34 digital prints. Includes photographs of artifacts, specimens, reproductions of artwork, exhibitions] [Lifeline to Alaska exhibit, 1997] Veniaminov Exhibit, 1997 .364-365 – [interiors of unidentified churches. 2 color prints] Photos for Heartland
 366 — Greek priest and deacon, Nushagak, 1884. Priest Vasily Shishkin (Aleut), Deacon I. Orloff & ? (Eskimo), ca. 1884, Nushagak, Alaska. Henry E. Huntington Library & Art Gallery [three men seated outside church. b&w copy print]
 367 — Deacon Vasilii Shishkin (Aleut), 1868. Photog: unknown. ASL Portraits, Shishkin, Deacon, 01-1975 [b&w copy print]
 368 — Chapel of the Holy Ascension, Karluk, Kodiak Island, Alaska, ca. 1900 [exterior of church and cemetery, people standing in entrance. b&w copy print]
 369 — Metropolitan (St.) Innocent, ca. 1868 [b&w copy print] B1973.079.6 - Russian Orthodox Church, St. Michael, Alaska. Winter of 1907-08. Mrs. A. C. Cron at right of picture [wearing fur parka. Cron Collection. b&w copy print]
 370 — 365. Russian Church, Kodiak, Alaska. Thwaites. Church of the Holy Resurrection, Kodiak, ca. 1910. U. of Wash. Archives [b&w copy print]
 371 — Wm. L. Gerstle. Church on left built in 1896, church on right built by Rev. (St.) Iakov Netsvetov in 1848-9. Russian Mission (on the Yukon River), Alaska, ca. 1898. UAF Gerstle Album Collection, #76-132-3 [b&w copy print]
 372 — Russian Church, Nushagak, Alaska. J.E.T. Interior, Church of the Transfiguration of Our Lord, Nushagak (on Bristol Bay), ca. 1905. ASL John E. Thwaites Collection, PCA 18-10 [b&w copy print]
 373 — 470. John the Baptists Society. John the Baptist Brotherhood, Killisnoo, Alaska, Fr. John Soboleff (l. w/ grey beard) and Bishop Nicholas, date ca. 1896 [sic]. ASL [b&w copy print. Bishop identification and circa date corrected in 2017 by Alexis Liberovsky: Bishop Innocent Pustynsky, served 1903-1909]
 374 — Parishioners & model builder w/ model of Cathedral of St. Michael, Sitka, Alaska, ca. 1906. ASL [b&w copy print]
 375 — Russian Mission, Elevation of the Holy Cross Church, rear view w/ cemetery, ca. 1900. ASL U.S.F.W.S. Collection, PCA 186-48 [b&w copy print]
 376 — Sitka, St. Michael Brotherhood & Sisterhood (?), Merrell photo, 1868-1929, prob. 1900. ASL [b&w copy print]
 377 — Russian preast, chiefs and head men of the Thlingets, Sitka, Alaska. W.H. Case, 70-N. Tlingit elders with Russian Orthodox bishop, Sitka, ca. 19--. Historical Society of Seattle & King County, #18558 [b&w copy print]
 378 — Russian Orthodox Church Society, Juneau and Hoonah, May 5th 1929. W.P. Co. Juneau, St. Nicholas Orthodox Church congregation surrounding Rev. Andrew Kashevarov (Alutiiq-Russian), ca. 1929. ASL [b&w copy print]
 379 — Killisnoo, Priest Ivan Soboleff, 1896-1920. ASL PCA 1-200 [b&w copy print]
 380 — 6394. Photo by F.H. Nowell. Main street – Sitka. 1901-1908. Courtesy Bancroft Library [b&w copy print]
 381 — 76. Religious procession, Græco-Russian, Sitka, Alaska. Ca. 1880. ASL Early Prints of Alaska, PCA 01-1637 [b&w copy print]
 382 — Russian Church, Ikogmute, June 1907, Russian Mission. Elevation of the Holy Cross. UAF #76-2-113 [b&w copy print]
 383a — Scenes at Russian Mission (on the Yukon River), 1980. Photo by Barbara Sweetland Smith [three women wearing headscarves walking past cemetery and church. b&w copy neg]
 383b — [same as .383a. b&w print]
 384a — Taking communion, Russian Mission, 1980. B.S. Smith. [women wearing white dresses and colored scarves and hair bows. Color 35mm slide]
 384b — Communion at Russian Mission (Eskimo village on the Yukon, 1980. B. Smith photo [same as .384a. color print]
 385 — Rev. Andrew Kashevarov (Alutiiq-Russian), Juneau, St. Nicholas Church, ca. 1930. ASL [b&w copy print]
 386 — Russian Church at Killisnoo. V.L.S. Killisnoo R.O. Church of St. Andrew, 1896- 1920. SE Alaska, Tlingit. Photog: V. Soboleff (son of priest) [b&w copy print] Series 2: R.O.S.S.I.A. and Russian American heritage preservation R.O.S.S.I.A.: Records R.O.S.S.I.A.: Pre-organization planning R.O.S.S.I.A.: Organizational docs, April 8, 2002 mtg. R.O.S.S.I.A.: Strategic planning, 11/02 R.O.S.S.I.A.: Articles of incorporation R.O.S.S.I.A.: By-Laws R.O.S.S.I.A.: Bank authorization R.O.S.S.I.A.: Executive Director R.O.S.S.I.A.: Development Director R.O.S.S.I.A.: Admin Asst. R.O.S.S.I.A.: Board of Directors R.O.S.S.I.A.: Board development R.O.S.S.I.A.: Board correspondence R.O.S.S.I.A.: Board minutes, 2002-2004 R.O.S.S.I.A.: Board minutes, 2005-2007 R.O.S.S.I.A.: Projects Committee R.O.S.S.I.A.: Progress report, 2002-2003 R.O.S.S.I.A.: MOA w/RODA R.O.S.S.I.A.: Budget R.O.S.S.I.A.: Fundraising R.O.S.S.I.A.: Donors R.O.S.S.I.A.: Rasmuson Foundation R.O.S.S.I.A.: Foraker Group R.O.S.S.I.A.: Proposal for preservation, icons and historic churches R.O.S.S.I.A.: Orthodox churches in Alaska R.O.S.S.I.A.: Chuathbaluk R.O.S.S.I.A.: Chuathbaluk, condition assessment R.O.S.S.I.A.: Grant NTHP condition assessment R.O.S.S.I.A.: Juneau grant R.O.S.S.I.A.: Juneau summary of field notes R.O.S.S.I.A.: Juneau icon conservation R.O.S.S.I.A.: Correspondence, general R.O.S.S.I.A.: Public relations R.O.S.S.I.A.: Public relations, museum exhibit R.O.S.S.I.A.: Brochure B3 Preliminary survey of the archive of the Russian Orthodox Church in Alaska Pribilof records [1983] Russian America theme: national historic landmarks [1987] Tilson Building, NPS, Sitka Sitka Blockhouse Erskine House-Magazin, Kodiak Erskine House-Magazin, NPS, 1986 Erskine House-Magazin, Kodiak Historical Society, 1988 St. George Bicentennial [1986] St. George Bicentennial: Proposal and reports Microfilm notes Community Council minutes Interview notes Personnel at St. George St. George, ROAM articles St. George interviews, B. Smith, April 1986 [four audiocassettes] St. George transcripts, B. Smith interviews April 1986, transcribed by Dawn Scott St. George, 1986
 387 —445 – St. George, 1986, Andronik [59 color 35mm negs, 21 color prints. Includes interior and exterior of St. George the Great Martyr Orthodox Church, village of St. George, Barbara and Floyd Smith inside Anchorage house, snow covered trees in Anchorage yard] St. George
 446 — Courtesy of Martha Prokopiof [church congregation standing outside next to Company House hotel on St. George Day. Identification supplied on photocopy: John Merculief, Paul Swetsof, Isaac Philemonof, Joseph Merculief, Ignaty Philemonof, Fr. Michael Lestenkof, Fr. Theodosii, Warden Serge Lekanof, subdeacon Nikolai M., Peter Kashevarov, Anatoly Lekanof, Feom Kashevarov. b&w copy print]
 447 — Courtesy of Martha Prokopiof [man seated on wooden box outdoors in winter. Identification supplied on photocopy: Fr. Theodosii at upper lake, ice house in background right, tank house in background left, ca. 1939-1940? b&w copy print]
 448 — Courtesy of Martha Prokopiof. 2.11, Funter Bay camp, ca. 1943, St. George Tanaq [group gathered on boardwalks outside building. Identification supplied on photocopy: George Merculief, John Merculief, Michael [Shane?], Nikolais Merkuliev, Ben Merculief Jr., Funter Bay mess hall and church at far end, bunkhouse, laundry. b&w copy print]
 449 — Courtesy of Andronik P. Kashevarof [group gathered outside church, priest at left, young man holding icon, young girl in white dress and veil, older woman wearing headscarf, two men at right wearing suits and lapel pins. Identification supplied on photocopy: Father Peter Kashevarof, Alexy Prokopiof, Fevronia Merculief, Elizabeth Merculief Gromov, George Merculief Jr., Joseph Merculief. b&w copy print]
 450 — Courtesy Susie Ann Merculief. L to R: Innokentii Merculief, Bishop John, Gregory Nozikov, unnamed priest, Susie Lestenkof (Merculief), Dan Malivansky, Andronik Kashevarov, Ella Lestenkof (?), ca. 1939, carpenter shop, center back, company store, left back [group walking outside. b&w copy print]
 451 — Courtesy Susie Ann Merculief [group posed next to building. Identification supplied on photocopy: All are children of Dimitri & Alexandra, L to R: Innokentii Lestenkof, Michael Lestenkof (boy), Constantine Lestenkof, Alexandra L. (Tetoff), Ludmilla L. (Kashevarov), Theodore L. (boy), Dimitri L. (son of Father Innokentii), Elizabeth (Gromoff), Laurenty Lekanof (boy). b&w copy print]
 452 — Courtesy Susie Ann Merculief. Church of St. George, ca. 1936-1940 [exterior. b&w copy print]
 453 — Courtesy Susie Ann Merculief [four men posed next to building. b&w copy print]
 454 — [three men posed outdoors next to umiak frame, Father Theodosii in center. b&w copy print] Icon Preservation Task Force Icon Preservation Task Force: Inventory of Orthodox Church of the Holy Assumption, Kenai, 1988
 455 —626 – [4 b&w prints, 171 b&w negs with contact sheets. Inventory of church objects] Icon Preservation Task Force: Working team, accession photos, Kenai, 1988
 627 —658 – Kenai Inventory Team at work, April 1988 [11 prints, 32 b&w 35mm negs with contact sheet]
 659 —845 – Icon Project, 4/88 [187 b&w prints] Icon Preservation Task Force: Kenai, 1988, selected b/w with descriptions .846-874 – [29 b&w prints] Icon Preservation Task Force: Status reports Icon Preservation Task Force: Kenai inventory .875-919 – Kenai Inventory [45 color 35mm slides] St. Herman’s archives [1993] .920-921 – [“Phase 1 Archival Restoration work,” 1994. 2 color Polaroids] Missions project proposal, Ann Riordan, 1989 [Church and icon photos, CDs, 2007. Digital files on Museum servers] - ECI/Hyer Church Rest. Projects, 10-10-07 o .922-926 – 0398 Akutan [5 digital image files] o .927-935 – 0398 Akutan – new [9 digital image files, 1 digital text] o .936-941 – 0596 St. George [6 digital image files, 3 digital text files] o .942-948 – 0596 St. George – new [7 digital image files] o .949-961 – 1098.1 Nikolski [13 digital image files] o .962-964 – 1098.1 Nikolski – new [3 digital image files, 1 digital text file] o .965-970 – 1194.1 Atka [6 digital image files, 1 digital text file] o .971-973 – 1194.1 Atka – new [3 digital image files, 3 digital text files] o .974-986 – 2690 Unalaska [13 digital image files, 1 digital text file] o .987 – 2690 Unalaska – new [1 digital image file, 4 digital text files]
 988 —1011 – Icon photos, Oct. ’07 [24 digital image files]
 1012 —1016 – 5 St. Paul Island photos (4 courtesy of Dr. H.H. McIntyre family, 5th is photo by H.H. McIntyre courtesy of Robert E. King) of St. Paul church exterior in 1872. 6/19/2007 scans made for Barbara Smith for use in her books [signed] Robert E. King. Note: each of the 5 photos is scanned twice: as 600 dpi tif, as 300 dpi jpeg [10 b&w digital image files] Orthodox Church in America Russian America article mss Russian America lectures Russian America timeline Russian America bibliography CIHS speech, Kuikhpak archive, 9/29/74 Schmemann lecture [1976] Anne Sudkamp Manuscript: Cathedral on the Yukon [1981] Russian America cultural legacy paper Lecture: Alaska-Yukon Pioneers, 11/19/88 Lecture: Homer S.N.H., 2/7/89 Natasha Bogdanova visit, 1990 .1017 – [Natasha Bogdanova and Barbara Smith in front of fireplace, 1990? Color print] Rublev Museum, NPS [1991] Bishop Gregory history [1994-95] Orthodox Church Bicentennial, 1993-94 Orthodox churches in Alaska: photos and history
 1018 — Akutan church, given by Daryl Pelkey (McLashin) [interior of St. Alexander Nevsky Chapel. Color print] Parish histories B4 [Altai Republic, June 2001, photographs]
 1019 — Altaian shaman [Altai man wearing ceremonial dress and holding drum. Color print]
 1020 — Altaian shaman, from my summer trip to Siberia (Altai), June 2001 [same man as in .1019, standing on wooded path with arms raised. Color print]
 1021 — “Soviet native” chieftains at the 10th anniversary of the Altai Republic [two elderly men wearing Western style clothing, hats, and medals on their chests standing in front of wooden wagon. Color print]
 1022 — Ceremony of the Purification by Fire, Altai, June 2001 [group gathered around person in ceremonial robe holding burning branch. Color print] [Fort Ross restoration, 2002] Collections, Juneau [Outreach Alaska] Series 3: Native Organizations Records Project NORP: NEH NORP: [notebook] NORP: Feasibility study, Nov. 1977 NORP: Archive statements of interest NORP: Workshop on records
 1023 — Flossie Chrestman, arctic Slope; Hollie Swanson, Lea Hayes, Cook Inlet N.A.; ANF Records Workshop, Sept. 1978 [color print]
 1024 — Laurel Bolden, Kodiak Area N.A.; Barbara Smith, NORS Project Director; ANF Records Workshop, Sept. 1978 [color print] NORP: Funding ideas NORP: ANCSA records, historical value NORP: ANCSA records, questions and answers NORP: ANCSA records, archival criteria NORP: ANCSA records, trip reports NORP: ANCSA resources NORP: ANCSA resources, IRA NORP: ANCSA records, correspondence, 1977 NORP: Addresses NORP: AFN NORP: ANF information NORP: HCRS NORP: Collections to check on NORP: Ethnic fraternal project, IHRC, Minnesota NORP: Financial statements NORP: NHPRC final report NORP: NHPRC grant application NORP: Native organizations in Alaska [1979] NORP: Organizations NORP: Records surveys NORP: Surveys NORP: AFN NORP: Arctic Slope NORP: AVCP Yukon-Kuskokwim NORP: Bering Straits info NORP: Kenai NORP: ANCSA Kodiak NORP: Miscellaneous contacts NORP: ANCSA records, Southeast Alaska NORP: Tyonek NORP: Progress reports NORP: Proposals NORP: Project information NORP: Reaction NORP: Tundra times NORP: Drucker, ANB NORP: Hagan, Archival captive NORP: Hensley, What rights NORP: Viola, American Indian NORP: Archives re Indians NORP: Archives materials NORP: Conservation workshop, 9/79 NORP: Records surveys, Washington State NORP: Records management consulting firms NORP: Sealaska records management Series 4: Aleutian Pribilof Islands Association APIA: Making it right, 1992-94 APIA: A sure foundation, book production, 1994 APIA: A sure foundation [text] APIA: A sure foundation [images] .1025 – [view from village of Atka towards water. Color print]
 1026a — [Very Reverend Paul Merculief, Nikolski, 1992. B. Smith photo. Color print. See also slide of same image. Was in envelope labeled “Atka”]
 1027 — Atka, Dmitri Philemonof, c. ’94 [image of artwork. Color transparency]
 1028 — HABS, Jet Lowe, 1989 [village of Nikolski, St. Nicholas Church at right. b&w print]
 1029 — Rev. Grigorii Kochergin, Umnak Russian Orthodox Church, 1936-37. Oregon Historical Society Ransom Coll. N-13 [priest standing outside Saint Nicholas the Thaumaturge church. b&w copy print]
1030 — Rev. Alexander Panteleev family & servant in Bishop’s House parlor, Unalaska, ca. 1909-13. Unalaska Aleut Development Corp. & National Park Service [b&w copy print]
 1031 — I.G. Voznesenskii, 1843, Unalaska, Iliuliuk settlement. Blomkvist 1951: 254-255, fig. 15 [Russian caption on print. b&w copy print]
 1032 — Oululuk principal etablisseme. sur l’ile d’Ounalachka. Choris, 1816-1818, shows the octagonal chapel built at Unalaska by Fedor Burenin ca. 1808. Caption 9. Property L. Black [b&w copy print]
 1033 — [bird’s eye view of village and bay, church at right. Was in envelope labeled “Atka”. b&w copy print]
 1034 — Atka, 1934, Orthodox church, M. Lantis. Photo courtesy of the Aleut Corporation. 2.12. APIA. Fig. 9 [view past church to water. b&w copy print]
 1035 — St. Nicholas Church, Atka, AK, pre-WWII. Photo courtesy of Atka Village Council. Fig. 11 [church interior. b&w copy print]
 1036 — Kashega (Fig. 1). National Archives, RG75 CCF AK 123 7469 IA [view of village from water. b&w copy print]
 1037 — Akutan (Fig. 1). National Archives, RG75 CCF AK 123 7469 IA. Fig. 5 [bird’s eye view of village. b&w copy print]
 1038 — Native church by the “cliff,” Akutan, Alaska. Thwaites 1307. Ca. 1910. ASL John E. Thwaites Collection, PCA 18-6 [man leaning against corner of St. Alexander Nevsky Chapel next to hanging bells. b&w copy print]
 1039 — Atka (Fig. 6), site of church burned in July 1942. National Archives, D.O.I. file 7469, RG75 CCF AK 123 7469 IA. Fig. 12. Atka 2.13, 1945. APIA [men working on burned patch of grass, grave markers to left and right, buildings in background. b&w copy print. Cf. .1069]
 1040 — Attu, Church of the Dormition. Courtesy Doug Veltre, UAA. Fig. 15 [b&w copy print]
 1041 — Makushin Church (Fig. 2) (6-7), Nativity of Our Lord Chapel, Makushin, National Archives, D.O.I. file 7469 (1944), RG75 CCF AK 123 7469 IA. Fig. 36, p. 163 [b&w copy print]
 1042 — Chapel at Killisnoo. ASL Butler Dale Collection, PCA 306 neg. 898.02 (Aleuts) [man standing in church doorway. b&w copy print]
 1043 — Burnett Inlet church. Photo from: Gert Svarney [interior of Etolin Island church. b&w copy print]
 1044 — Nikolski, 1909-1910. UAF Jochelson Aleutian Photo Coll., #92-89-780 [b&w copy print]
 1045 — Royal doors, Shaiashnikov [?] Church, ikons are by Kriukov, originally in Veniaminov church & now in Radonezh chapel. Archives of the Episcopal Church, Austin, Texas, Pho. 2.149 [interior. b&w copy print]
 1046 — Unalaska. Robinson Studio, Anchorage, photographer (1948-1953). AMRC Olson Collection [b&w copy print]
 1047 —1052 – Intro [7 color 35mm slides in sheet] .1047 – 28. Fr. Paul Merculief. AMRC [portrait] .1048 – 31. Russian Mission, 1980. B. Smith [interior of church during rite] .1049 – 32. Rev. Gabriel Gabrieloffi, Russian Mission, 1980. B. Smith [portrait]
 1050 — 33. 81.68.7. Choris, Louis. “Oululuk...Oonalashka.” AMRC [reproduction of artwork]
 1051 — Akutan chapel. Dennis Hellawell photo, 1992 [church and cemetery]
 1052 — ASL V-A-142 [reproduction of artwork]
 1026b — V. Rev. Paul Merculief, Nikolski, 1992. B. Smith photo [portrait] .1053-1058 – Nikolski [6 color 35mm slides in sheet] .1053 – 2. Nikolski [church interior] .1054 – Nikolski, Lot 134. Don C. Foster Collection, 1941-52 [church exterior] .1055 – Unalaska, 1992 [church exterior] .1056 – St. Andrew. UNHA 81 [reproduction of artwork] .1057 – UNHA 16 [reproduction of artwork] .1058 – St. Luke (Innokenty Chapel). UNHA 104 [reproduction of artwork] .1059-1066 – Book illustrations, Unalaska [9 color 35mm slides in sheet] .1059 – 36. Innokentii Chapel, Unalaska, 1989 [church interior] .1060 – St. Sergius Chapel. UNHA. B. McWayne photo [church interior] .1061 – St. Luke (St. Sergius royal doors). UNHA 118 [icon] .1062 – Kriukov. L. Black [icon] .1062.1 – 8. St. John. Photo Black, 1975 [icon] .1063 – Conservation, before. UNHA 16 [icon] .1064 – Damaged icon, Unalaska [icon] .1065 – St. Luke. IPTF [icon] .1066 – 9. St. Matthew. Lydia Black [icon] .1067-1071 – Atka, book chapter [2 color and 3 b&w 35mm slides in sheet] .1067 – Atka church. Dennis Hellawell photo [church exterior] .1068 – Atka, ca. 1936 [distant view of village] .1069 – Site of Atka church burned in 1942, 1946 [not same as .1039] .1070 – Atka, circa 1936 [bird’s eye view of village] .1071 – NKSN. c. Dennis Hellawell [church exterior] .1072-1075 – Akutan [4 color 35mm slides in sheet] .1072 – Crucifixion. AKAN 70 [icon] .1073 – AKAN. c. Dennis Hellawell [church interior] .1074 – AKAN 61 [icon] .1075 – AKAN 43 [icon] .1076-1086 – St. George [11 color 35mm slides in sheet] .1076 – c. 1998, Chris Arend [church bells] .1077 – c. 1998, Chris Arend [church bells] .1078 – c. 1998, Chris Arend [crucifix with icons] .1079 – c. 1998, Chris Arend [church exterior] .1080 – c. 1998, Chris Arend [distant church exterior] .1081 – c. 1998, Chris Arend [priests and bishop inside church] .1082 – c. Chris Arend, 9/22/98 [ceremony on church porch] .1083 – St. George church. Dennis Hellawell, photo [church exterior] .1084 – SGSG 69. D. Hellawell [icon] .1085 – 30. Interior of St. George church. A.P.I.A., 1992 .1086 – SGSG 69, “Last Supper” after conservation in 1993 [icon] .1087 – Smile V. Gromoff [reproduction of graphite drawing, bird’s eye view of village] .1088 – D. Philemonof, ’86 [reproduction of line drawing of church] APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc. [new Board Member packet] APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc. [1998] APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Directors meeting Sept. 22, 1998 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Directors annual meeting, Dec. 7-8, 1998 B5 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Directors teleconference meeting, Sept. 28, 1999 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Directors annual meeting, Dec. 8, 1999 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Annual meeting, Dec. 6, 2000 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Board of Directors meeting, Nov. 30, 2001 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Annual meeting, Dec. 3, 2003 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Board of Directors meeting, Dec. 1, 2004 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc., Board of Directors meeting, Dec. 1, 2005 APIA: Carolyn Robison lawsuit, judge’s findings, 2003 APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc. [miscellaneous] APIA: Aleutian Pribilof Heritage Group, Inc. [publications] Attu materials Series 5: ASHRAB and state historic preservation State Historical Records Advisory Board State Historical Records Advisory Board, Alaska State Archives Archives, Nevada Coord. Meeting, 1992 Workshop, tribal records, 1992 Gov. Conf. on Historic Preservation [1978] Alaska Historical Commission [1986] Alaska Association for Historic Preservation [1991] Historic Preservation Commission, 2007 Anchorage History Project, Wendy Baring-Gould [1981] Translation Project, UAF [1983-85] Oral history Alaska Historical Society Publication handbook Series 6: Conferences Conferences: AK Anthro AAA Symposium, 1986 Alaska at War Conference, 1993 Conferences: AHS Conferences: Bering/Chirikov, 8/91 Conferences: Bilingual workshop [1990] Church in Alaska’s past [1978] Conferences: Circumpolar north, 1988 Conferences: Crossroads [1988] Conferences: Kodiak heritage [1988] Russia in the Pacific, Alaska conference [1979] Russian America, Sitka conference [1987] SAA meeting, 1978 SAA meeting, 1981 2010 Sitka international conference Conferences: Spain and the north Pacific Coast, 4/91 Vancouver symposium, Exploration in the North Pacific 1741-1805 Western Museums, 1998 Series 7: Reprints Russian America, Arndt, K. Exploration timeline Russian America, Arndt, K. Site typology Russian America, Blomkvist. Russian scientific expedition Russian America, Dolitsky Gavac. Education of women in Alaska Gibson. Russian dependence Gibson. Russian expansion Haycox articles Kushner. United States, Russia, and Russian America Pierce. Little known bibliographic Pierce. List of Russian ships and voyages B6 Polansky. Sources on Russian America Sarafian. Economic foundations Senkevitch. Architecture and settlements Ushin diary Wheeler. Russian-American Company White. Reindeer hunt in the Arctic Series 8: University of Alaska University of Alaska University Swim Club University Community Ministry UAA Archives Series 9: Personal papers University of Washington UW field course notes UW M.A. thesis Archival Institute, final project [1977] Gruening for U.S. Senate [1979] Cowper for Governor [1986] School Board election, 1979 Chugach Optional, Anchorage Wendler Alternative, Anchorage Booth Memorial Home Advisory Council St. Mary’s Vestry, FUS
 1089 — [view up driveway to St. Mary’s Episcopal Church in winter, Lake Otis at Tudor, Anchorage. color print] Mister Rogers [1972] Sunday School class, grades 4-6 Constitution and canons, Episcopal Church [1982] Theodosy class Series 10: Correspondence Correspondence: Black, Lydia
 1090 —1094 – [5 color 35mm slides included in letter dated April 23, 1981, of “Aleut ceremonial highly decorated kamleikas” located at the Peabody Museum of Salem, Massachusetts] .1090 – Item no. 7, no number .1091 – [close-up of decoration] .1092 – Salem/Peabody E 7344. Photo T.E. Lux. Detail, hem .1093 – Salem/Peabody E 7344. Photo T.E. Lux. Or is this 19089? .1094 – Salem/Peabody E 7344. Photo T.E. Lux Correspondence: Orthodox Church Correspondence: Treadgold, Donald W. Correspondence: Legislation Correspondence, 1977 Correspondence, 1978 Correspondence, 1979 .1095-1096 – [2 color prints, school portraits, Andy and Colin Hunter?] Correspondence, 1980 Correspondence, 1981 .1097 – [color prints, school portrait, unidentified girl] Correspondence, 1984 Correspondence, 1985 B7 Correspondence, 1986 Correspondence, 1987 Correspondence, 1988 Correspondence, 1989 Correspondence, 1990 Correspondence, 1991 Correspondence, 1992 Textiles (from Museum Exhibitions) Banner, Science Under Sail Flags, Russian America Co. [2, one inscribed in Russian to Barbara Smith] B8 Addendum, 2015 F1 From binder: “Photographs, Icon Conservation (1993); Architectural (ECI/Hyer, 1992-93). Church Restitution Project, Aleutian/Pribilof Islands Association, 1991-1993”
 1098 — UNHA 16 Annunciation after conservation
 1099 — AKAN 43 St. Innocent after conservation
 1100 — SGSG 69 The Last Supper, St. George, after conservation
 1101 — SGSG 69 [before conservation]
 1102 —1105 – SGSG 69 [after conservation]
 1106 —1118 – Details
 1119 — “Before” conservation, Icon of St. Innocent of Irkutsk, Akutan, AKAN 43
 1120 —1122 – [details of AKAN 43 before conservation]
 1123 — “After” conservation, Icon of St. Innocent of Irkutsk, Chapel at Akutan, conservation by Jean Martin-Yost
 1124 — Detail, before conservation, UNHA 16 Annunciation
 1125 — [detail before conservation, UNHA 16]
 1126 — [detail, backing, UNHA 16]
 1127 — UNHA 16 Annunciation after conservation, 1993
 1128 — UNHA 16 Annunciation before conservation
 1129 — [detail, backing, UNHA 16]
 1130 — Calendar icon damaged during moves to SE Alaska in World War II, Unalaska, UNHA 60
 1131 — [UNHA 60 after conservation]
 1132 — #2 [UNHA 16 Annunciation after conservation]
 1133 — Before conservation, February calendar icon, Unalaska
 1134 — Before conservation, February calendar icon, Unalaska, close-up middle top register
 1135 — Before conservation, consolidating paint, February calendar icon, Unalaska
 1136 — Before conservation, February calendar icon, close-up top
 1137 — Before conservation, February calendar icon, close-up top
 1138 — Before conservation, proper right side, February calendar icon, Unalaska
 1139 — February calendar icon, Unalaska #60, after conservation, April 1993
 1140 — During conservation, February calendar icon, Unalaska
 1141 — February calendar icon, Unalaska #60, during conservation, before inpainting, March 1993
 1142 —1161 – UNHA Feb. calendar conservation, VB Espinola, 3/93
 1162 —1185 – Conservation, VB Espinola, 3/93
 1186 — SPSP 138 [before conservation]
 1187 — SPSP 138 [after conservation]
 1188 — [SPSP 138 after conservation]
 1189 — Last Supper, St. George, before conservation, VBE
 1190 — Last Supper, St. George, before conserv., VBE
 1191 — Close-up frame, Last Supper, St. George Is., before conserv., VBE
 1192 — Close-up frame, Last Supper, St. George Is., before conserv., VBE
 1193 — St. George frame, after conserv., VBE
 1194 — St. George frame, after conserv., VBE
 1195 — St. George frame, after conserv., VBE
 1196 — St. George frame, after conserv., VBE
 1197 — St. George frame for “Last Supper” before conservation, March 1993
 1198 — St. George frame for “Last Supper” before conservation
 1199 — St. George frame for “Last Supper” after conservation, March 1993
 1200 — St. George frame for “Last Supper” during conservation
 1201 — 1-2. View from northwest, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1202 — 1-3. West elevation, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1203 — 1-1. North elevation, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1204 — 1-4. South elevation, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1205 — 1-9. Bare light bulbs, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1206 — 1-10. Siding base, north wall, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1207 — 1.5. East elevation, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1208 — 1-12. Side door, west, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1209 — 1-14. Plastic “storm sash” over nave windows, north and south, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1210 — 1-15. Cross over central tower, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1211 — 1-13. Attic door and icon over entry door, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1212 — 1-16. Cross over west, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1213 — 1-21. Starosta’s desk, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1214 — 1-22. Porcelain light socket with wiring, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1215 — 1-17. Exterior light, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1216 — 1-26. Exposed wiring on sanctuary side of iconostasis, Sir Alexander Nevsky Chapel, Akutan, AK
 1217 — 1-32. View from southwest, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1218 — 1-33. South elevation, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1219 — 1-31. View from southwest, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1220 — 1-34. East elevation, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1221 — 2-5. Nave rusting ceiling fixture, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1222 — 1-35. North elevation, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1223 — 2-2. Balcony, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1224 — 2-1. Iconostasis, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1225 — 2-7. Sanctuary ceiling damage, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1226 — 2-9. Bell tower, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1227 — 2-6. Sanctuary ceiling damage, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1228 — 2-11. Nave ceiling/roof attic, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1229 — 2-22. Light fixture, royal door, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1230 — 2-14. Balcony window, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1231 — 2-21. Light fixture, nave entry, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1232 — 2-15. Cupola framing, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1233 — 2-24. Wiring, breaker box, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1234 — 2-26. Sanctuary roof, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1235 — 2-23. Wiring iconostasis, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1236 — 2-27. Nave onion dome, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1237 — 2-34. Icon storage, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1238 — 2-29. West elevation, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1239 — 2-31. Typical window trim corner, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1240 — 2-30. Typical window, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1241 — 2-35. Front door, St. Nicholas Church, Nikolski, AK
 1242 — 3-2. Northwest elevation, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1243 — 3-3. West elevation, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1244 — 2-36. East elevation, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1245 — 3-4. South elevation, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1246 — 3-6. Nave cupola, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1247 — 3-7. Skirting, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1248 — 3-5. West cupola, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1249 — 3-8. Window, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1250 — 3-10. Corner nave, southeast, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1251 — 3-11. Sanctuary, power to outside lights, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1252 — 3-9. Corner nave, southeast, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1253 — 3-13. Eave/soffit, southeast, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1254 — 3-22. Stain [i.e. stair], south, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1255 — 3-23. Stair with retaining wall, north, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1256 — 3-14. Flue/chimney, north, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1257 — 3-24. Attic, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1258 — 3-29. Vestibule light and wiring, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1259 — 3-30. Large cupola from above, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1260 — 3-27. Storage, meter and breaker, north, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1261 — 3-31. Church from above, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1262 — 3-35. Exterior window head, south, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1263 — 4-1. Window head, deteriorated cross piece and flashing, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1264 — 3-33. Under nave floor to west, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1265 — 4-2. Nave cupola from north, missing flashing, St. Nicholas Chapel, Atka, AK
 1266 — 4-5. South elevation, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1267 — 4-6. Iconostasis, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1268 — 4-3. North elevation, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1269 — 4-7. Choir loft, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1270 — 4-9. Church yard from north, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1271 — 4-10. East elevation, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1272 — 4-8. Narthex, stair and vestibule doors, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1273 — 4-12. Iconostasis meets south wall of sanctuary, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1274 — 4-14. Attic over vestibule, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1275 — 4-21. Attic over sanctuary, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1276 — 4-13. Door at iconostasis, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1277 — 4-22. Attic over sanctuary, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1278 — 4-24. Overhang above sanctuary windows, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1279 — 4-25. Vestibule window, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1280 — 4-23. Attic over sanctuary, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1281 — 4-27. Sanctuary window, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1282 — 4-29. Furnace flue, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1283 — 4-30. Bell tower ornament, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1284 — 4-28. Bell tower window, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1285 — 4-33. Burned area above iconostasis in attic, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1286 — 4-34. West elevation, St. Peter and Paul Church, St. Paul, AK
 1287 — 5-2. Cupola window, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1288 — 5-3. Cupola roof framing, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1289 — 5-1. Patch at roof in attic above south entry, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1290 — 5-6. Cupola window, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1291 — 5-7. Floor of cupola, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1292 — 5-8. Attic above nave, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1293 — 5-13. Basement window, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1294 — 5-14. Iconostasis light fixture, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1295 — 5-31. Moisture on basement concrete wall, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1296 — 5-33. East half of nave roof, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1297 — 5-34. Nave and apse roof, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1298 — 5-32. Typical window, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1299 — 5-35. Basement light well, St. George Church, St. George, AK
 1300 — 5-36A. Apse roof and chimney, St. George Church, St. George, AK F2 From envelope: “Negs & proof sheets for HOE cond. rep. photos”
 1301 —1335 – Orthodoxy in Alaska 1, 12/93
 1336 —1368 – Orthodoxy in Alaska 2, 12/93
 1369 —1400 – Orthodoxy in Alaska 3, 12/93
 1401 —1433 – Orthodoxy in Alaska 4, 12/93
 1434 —1462 – Orthodoxy in Alaska 5, 12/93
 1463 —1495 – Orthodoxy in Alaska 6, 12/93
 1496 —1528 – Orthodoxy in Alaska 7, 12/93
 1529 —1560 – [objects and icons]
 1561 —1595 – [objects and icons]
 1596 —1629 – [objects and icons]
 1630 —1663 – [objects and icons]
 1664 —1697 – [objects and icons]
 1698 —1732 – [objects and icons]
 1733 —1764 – [objects and icons]
 1765 —1795 – [objects and icons]
 1796 —1830 – [objects and icons] F3 From envelope: “Unalaska conservation survey party at work, 3/92. Nikolski, St. Paul. Photos by B. Smith”
 1831 —1854 – Unalaska conservation survey party at work, 3/92
 1840 — Debra Fox ® & Rufina Shaiashnikoff (l) work on books, Unalaska, March 1992 [on print]
 1842 — Vera Espinola (conservator) photographing an icon, Unalaska, Feb. 1992 [on print]
 1849 — Vera Espinola repairs and enamel, Unalaska, Feb 1992 [on print]
 1851 — V. Rev. Paul Merculief & Starosta Nikolai Lekanoff examine Gospels, Unalaska, March 1992 [on print]
 1855 — Feddie Krukoff, Starosta, writing identifying number on an icon, Nikolski, June 1992
 1856 — Feddie Krukoff, Starosta, & Very Rev. Paul Merculief at Nikolski during APIA inventory, 1992
 1857 — Barry McWayne, photographer, adjusts lights at St. Paul, Feb. 1992
 1858 — Barry McWayne, photographer, St. Paul, Feb. 1992
 1859 — Fr. Sergie Active, St. Paul 3/92
 1860 — Rev. Sergie Active models vestment, St. Paul, Feb. 92, Pat Petrivelli assisting photographer F4 From envelope: “Negs of Yost & Espinola conservation for APIA newsletter”
 1861 —1869 – Negs of Yost & Espinola conservation for APIA newsletter .1867 – #6. Detail on blessing cross (St. Paul) after conservation, 3/93 [on print] .1868 – #3. Last Supper (St. George) before [on print] .1869 – #4. Last Supper (St. George) after, 3/93 [on print] Addendum, 2016 F5 Heaven on Earth, 1994-1997 Anchorage
 1870 —1928 – [59 exhibition photographs] F6 California
 1929 —1935 – [6 images of objects at Holy Trinity Cathedral in San Francisco] .1929 – Belt (folded in thirds) .1930 – Gospel [closed] .1931 – Gospel [opened] .1934 – St. Nicholas, personal F7 Cleveland
 1936 —1946 – [11 images of objects at St. Mary’s Romanian Orthodox Cathedral in Cleveland] .1939 – HOE 198, “Dormition,” icon on glass, George Dodrea, Cleveland .1940 – HOE 196, icon on glass, Last Judgement, George Dodrea, Cleveland .1945 – HOE 194 .1946 – HOE 189, Annunciation, from a royal door, Rumanian, 19 th c. F8 OCA Chancery
 1947 —1951 – [5 images of objects at the Chancery Office of the Orthodox Church in America in Syosset, NY] .1947 – Choir robe, front, ca. 1900 F9 St. Tikhon Monastery
 1952 —1955 – [4 images of objects at the Monastery of St. Tikhon in Waymart, PA] F10 St. Vladimir Seminary
 1956 —1962 – [7 images of objects at St. Vladimir’s Orthodox Theological Seminary in Yonkers, NY] .1960 – Cover, hand embroidery, St. Vladimir Seminary chapel Guide updated: August 14, 2017