REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Anchorage Panorama Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.029

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1920-1976

Extent: 10 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): E. O. Goldbeck, W. E. Logemann

Administrative/Biographical History:
E. O. (Eugene Omar) Goldbeck, born 1891 or 1892 in San Antonio, Texas, was a well-known
photographer specializing in panoramics and military photography. In 1921 he established the
National Photo Service, the first and only independent news-photograph supplier headquartered
in Texas. He employed several photographers to assist him in canvassing the country recording
groups and events, and the company prospered. Goldbeck began providing motion-picture
footage to newsreel companies in the 1930s and renamed his company National Photo and
News Service.1 He died in 1986.

W. E. (William Ernest) Logemann (1885-1952) was an early Anchorage photographer.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of ten panoramic photographs of Anchorage scenes. Nine show
downtown Anchorage and vicinities, and one is a group portrait of civilian employees at Fort
Richardson. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged chronologically.

1 Curlee, Kendall. “GOLDBECK, EUGENE OMAR.” In The Handbook of Texas Online. Denton, TX: Texas State
Historical Association. Web. 25 Mar. 2013.



CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Anchorage Panorama Collection, Anchorage Museum, B2013.029

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
All photographs found in collection in 2013.

RELATED MATERIALS


SUBJECTS
United States. Air Force. Weapons Wing, 57th
Pacific Northern Airlines
Anchorage (Alaska)
Fort Richardson (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
1 — Anchorage, Alaska. Photo by W.E. Logemann [circa 1920? Looking west from downtown, with Fourth Avenue in center of image; matted b&w, 59.5” x 10”]
2 — Anchorage, Alaska. Goldbeck Photo 106482, Nat’l Photo & News Service, San Antonio, Texas [1948? looking southeast from between Third and Fourth Avenues; NPNS stamp on verso; b&w 70.5” x 10”]
3 — Anchorage, Alaska, 1948, Alaska’s largest city. Goldbeck Photo 106481, Nat’l Photo & News Service, San Antonio, Texas [looking northwest from between Third and Fourth Avenues; NPNS stamp on verso; matted B&w, 64.5” x 9”]
4 — Civilian employees, 57th Fighter Wing, Air Installations, Ft. Richardson, Alaska, July 27, 1949. Goldbeck Photo No. 72719491, National Photo & News Service, San Antonio, Texas [group portrait, with Pacific Northern Airlines hangar in background; NPNS stamp on verso; b&w with water damage, 51” x 10”]
5 — Anchorage, Alaska, 1965. Goldbeck Photo No. 1910651, National Photo & News Service, San Antonio, Texas [looking north from downtown, with some locations labeled on image; matted b&w, 58.76” x 10”]
6 — Anchorage, Alaska, 1971. Goldbeck Photo No. 2427712, National Photo & News Service, San Antonio, Texas [looking west from downtown, with Mt. Susitna; b&w, 50” x 10”]
7 — [same as .6, measuring 50.25” x 10”]
8 — [same as .6, measuring 48.5” x 9”]
9 — Anchorage, Alaska, 1976. E.O. Goldbeck Photo, 723 Drexel Ave., San Antonio, Texas [looking northwest from downtown; mounted color, 40.5” x 9.25”]
10 — [same as .9, mounted b&w, measuring 40” x 8”] Guide written: March 25, 2013