REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Celebration ’98 Panorama

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.028

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1998

Extent: 1 item

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): unknown

Administrative/Biographical History:
Celebration is a biennial Tlingit, Haida and Tsimshian cultural event held in Juneau, Alaska. It
is sponsored and organized by the Sealaska Heritage Institute, the non-profit cultural arm of
Sealaska Corporation. The event consists of a three-day program of staged and parade dancing,
soap berries and seaweed traditional food contests, a juried visual arts presentation, a Native
crafts market, and lectures or workshops. Celebration was first held in 1982.¹

Scope and Content Description:
One color panoramic group portrait measuring 71” x 11” of Celebration attendees in 1998. The
photo caption reads: Celebration ’98 Juneau Alaska June 4th 1998.

Arrangement: Not applicable

CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.


¹ Wikipedia contributors. "Celebration (Alaska festival)." Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Wikipedia, The Free
Encyclopedia, 21 Jan. 2013. Web. 25 Mar. 2013.

Physical Access: Original item in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Celebration ’98 Panorama, Anchorage Museum, B2013.028

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Panorama found in collection in 2013.

RELATED MATERIALS


SUBJECTS
Sealaska Heritage Institute
Tlingit Indians--Alaska--Social life and customs
Haida Indians--Alaska--Social life and customs
Tsimshian Indians--Alaska--Social life and customs

Guide written: March 25, 2013