REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org


Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Marcus V. Tyler Album

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.007

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1905-1922

Extent: 1 linear foot

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Marcus V. Tyler, Albert J. Johnson, Basil E. Clemons, Shade, Lomen
Bros., C. L. Andrews, C. R. Bourne, Frank H. Nowell, Merl LaVoy, Frederick Blount Drane

Administrative/Biographical History:
Marcus V. Tyler was born circa 1878 in Cheney, Washington, to Mrs. L.E. Tyler. In 1901,
Marcus was living in Dawson City, Yukon Territory. A photograph in the collection shows
Marcus and his partner Brunell outside their store in interior Alaska, probably Ruby, in 1911
(.3). In 1912, Tyler was operating as Tyler & Co. in Ruby, Alaska (image .22, letterhead in
ephemera). In 1916, Marcus and his wife were in Nenana, Alaska, celebrating the birth of their
daughter. Another, undated, photograph in the collection shows the store Tyler and his partner,
Albert J. Johnson, operated in Brooks, Alaska (.25). In the period circa 1919-1921, the two
were Anchorage-based photographers for the Alaska Engineering Commission, and supplied
photographs for the JT and TT series of A.E.C. images. In November-December 1921, Marcus
was employed as a ranger at Mount McKinley National Park. No information on his date or
place of death was available at the time of processing.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of one album measuring 11 x 7 ¼” containing 153 images (black-and-
white photographs and both black-and-white and colored postcards), clippings, and ephemera.
Images are of Alaskan towns, primarily Interior locations, as well as of Alaska Railroad
construction. Ephemera include newspaper clippings, poetry, flyers, menus, and invitations.


Arrangement: Not applicable


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Marcus V. Tyler Album, Anchorage Museum, B2013.007

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Yvonne Duncan in January 2013. Duncan had purchased the album at a garage sale
in Washington State decades earlier.

Processing Notes
Some photographs were loose from the album at the time of receipt, and were replaced with
archival photo corners. Many items appear to have writing on verso; future conservation work
might be done to loosen photos from paper and reinsert with corners.

RELATED MATERIALS
Alaska Railroad Collection (A.E.C. JT, T, TT series), B1979.002

SUBJECTS
Tyler, Marcus V.
Allan, A. A. (Allan Alexander), d. 1941
Alaska Railroad
Alaskan Engineering Commission
Northern Commercial Company
Ed S. Orr Stage Co. (Valdez, Alaska)
White Pass & Yukon Route (Firm)
Spokane (Ship)
Corwin (Ship)

Sarah (Steamboat)
Carl White (Steamboat)
Frontier and pioneer life—Alaska
Railroads—Design and construction—Alaska
Japanese Americans—Alaska
Mines and mining—Alaska
Inland water transportation—Alaska
Baseball—Alaska
Nenana (Alaska)
Manley Hot Springs (Alaska)
Ruby (Alaska)
Tanana (Alaska)
Seward (Alaska)
Dawson (Yukon)
Flat (Alaska)
Eagle (Alaska)
Circle (Alaska)
Dyea Trail (Alaska)
Iditarod (Alaska)
Ketchikan (Alaska)
Teller (Alaska)
Healy (Alaska)
Tolovana River (Alaska)
Atlin (British Columbia)
Nenana River (Alaska)
Yukon River (Yukon and Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
 1 — [two men panning gold in stream; Tyler on right?]
2 — [two men constructing log cabin; Tyler on left?]
 3 — This was my office when I was in charge A.E. store Nenana over two years [man, possibly Tyler, seated at desk with telephone, typewriter visible; Samson Hardware Co. calendar on wall shows August 1920]
4 — [Photographic postcard. Possibly Tyler, seated in rocking chair in living room, with phonograph, lamp, art on walls]
 5 — [Possibly Tyler, wearing same clothes as in .4, in store, with taxidermied birds, wall of shelves holding rolled items, possibly maps]
6 — My home – any old place I can hang my hat is home sweet home to me. M.V. Tyler [large log hotel, horse-drawn sleigh in front with “F.G. Manley Hot Springs” sign]
7 — This picture taken Sept. 30, 1911. My partner by my side and a mud puddle two feet deep in front. Jap Restaurant next to us. M.V.T. [Street scene showing log building under construction, wooden two-story building with sign “Shoes Repaired While You Wait,” walled tent with sign “Brunell and Tyler Painters Paper Hangers and Sign Writers,” and walled tent with sign “Restaurant, Bakery and Coffee House.” Two men outside Brunell & Tyler’s, and man and woman in aprons outside bakery, with two men in street clothes and a dog]
8 — [interior of store, displaying art, bottled and canned goods, and rolled items, cf. .5]
 9 — [two works of art, one possibly on a bed sheet, the other on hide hanging in front]
 10 — Showing part of front room, our past home in Nenana, take[n] three years ago, 1920 [interior of living area, with rocker, table, piano]
 11 — [Photographic postcard] Front St. Ruby, Alaska, July 1912. Clemons Photo [street scene showing pedestrians, horse-drawn wagon, The Cascade Laundry and Baths, Anderson’s Drug Store, California Café Bakery, N.N. Jaffe Clothing & Furnishings, Alaska Sheet Metal Works Geo. Apple Manager, Model Café]
 12 — Tyler-Genost [?] Stoor [sic] [detail of corner of walled tent, showing logs and tent ties]
 13 — [Photographic postcard] Silver grey fox skins Tanana, Alaska. Shade
 14 — [scenic view of mountain and frozen river]
 15 — [man wearing sunglasses holding rifle and snowshoes, standing next to moose antlers]
 16 — [Photographic postcard. Willow ptarmigan in winter]
17 — [Man with pipe stands next to tree stump with five puppies]
 18 — [Photographic postcard] H8 “Mush on you Malamutes” [dog team pulling sled with woman in basket]
 19 — [Photographic postcard] “Scotty” Allen and his racers. Lomen Bros. [Scotty Allan behind sled with dog team]
20 — [Photographic postcard] Stampeders – off for Ruby. Lomen [passengers and cargo in flat- bottomed riverboat, flume visible emptying into river on opposite bank]
 21 — [Photographic postcard] Seward, Alaska [bird’s eye view of town and docks]
22 — [Photographic postcard] Ruby, Alaska. Lomen Bros. [on verso] x is my home, o my shop. M.V. Tyler, July 1, 1912 [bird’s eye view of town and waterfront, with riverboats at dock]
 23 — [Photographic postcard] Enroute to Dawson in winter by stage. [passengers in horse- drawn sleigh]
24 — [Photographic postcard] Flat City, Alaska, 1911, Lomen [street scene showing pedestrians on boardwalks, horse team, N. Jaffe Clothing & Furnishings, E.W. Griffin, Casey’s, Arcade Restaurant, The Home Spring Beds and Furnished Rooms, Globe Bakery & Coffee House, M & M Bank]
 25 — [Photographic postcard] Tylor & Johnson’s Store, Brooks, Alaska [six men outside wooden storefront, thermometer and saw hanging on wall, snowshoes propped next to doorway]
 26 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Eagle, Alaska. C.L. Andrews Photo. Made in Germany [view of buildings along waterfront, with ice buildup in river]
 27 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] 1203 S.S. Spokane in ice Alaska
 28 — [Photographic postcard] Atlin in April. Published by C.R. Bourne, Atlin, B.C., No. 9 [view of frozen lake and buildings on shore]
 29 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Winter scene on the old A.C. Trail, Y.T. [cabin on All- Canadian Trail]
 30 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Ice jam at Five Finger Rapids, Yukon
 31 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Dog team hauling freight from steamer Corwin, five miles out at sea, Nome, Alaska [on verso] Photo by F.H. Nowell [view from ship’s deck onto ice]
 32 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Second run of ice, Fairbanks, Alaska [buildings along river include Hamilton & Kellogg Hardware]
 33 — [Photographic postcard] “Sarah” at Eagle, Alaska, No. 1904 Germany [sternwheeler on Yukon River]
 34 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Passengers lightering aboard ship for passage to Seattle and home ports, Nome, Alaska
 35 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Dawson City, Y.T., showing Klondyke and Yukon Rivers. 501911
 36 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Native village on the Yukon River, Alaska [on verso] Photo by F.H. Nowell [tents, fish racks, and boats on shore]
 37 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Circle City, Alaska [men outside Northern Commercial Co. store]
 38 — [Photographic postcard] Meat train arriving from coast, Fairbanks, Alaska [horse-drawn sleds on street, showing telegraph poles and businesses including The Cache]
 39 — [Photographic postcard] Freight-teams enroute to Dawson, Y.T. [horse-drawn cargo sleighs]
 40 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Fairbanks-Valdez Stage carrying U.S. mail [passengers in horse-drawn sleigh in front of log cabin, possibly Byler’s Roadhouse; photo by Albert J. Johnson?]
 41 — [Photographic postcard] LaVoy ©1912 [mountain in winter; near Mount McKinley?]
 42 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Atlin Lake from Anaconda Mine, Yukon
 43 — [Photographic postcard] White Pass R.R. cantilever bridge & summit
 44 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] Native from Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska. Photo copyrighted by F.H. Nowell, 1905 [Native girl in fur-trimmed parka]
 45 — [Photographic postcard] An old timer, St. Michael, Alaska. Drane [elderly male in fur parka]
 46 — [Photographic postcard] Canyon in Dyea Trail, Alaska [people with dog team pulling small sled]
 47 — [man and woman standing near entrance to dwelling completely covered with snow]
48 — [bicycle race in river town; steamer visible at anchor on left, viewing stands for spectators set up between two buildings]
 49 — [horse race along same street as in .48]
 50 — Sack race, July 4 th , 1911, Iditarod [street scene showing signs for Pioneer, Cigars & Tobaccos, Isadore Goldstein Ladies’ and Men’s Furnishings, Isaacs Bros. & Co. Leading Clothiers, City Drug Store]
 51 — [Photographic postcard] Start dog-race, Ruby, Alaska, 1913. Clemons Photo [dogs in harness, spectators line street, businesses shown include Bank Saloon, Empire Commercial Co. Wines Liquors & Cigars]
 52 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] 1208 Chief’s house and totem Ketchikan Alaska
 53 — [Photographic postcard] Gold Street, Flat City, Alaska, 1917. Clemons Photo [street scene with people on boardwalks, businesses F.E. Webber & Co. Merchandise, J.C. Murphy Attorney-at-Law, and banners over street “Dry Goods Cigars and Tobacco, Candies and Stationery, Miss Kotsch prop’ts,” and “Miss Swanson’s Restaurant Open Day and Night”]
 54 — [Photographic postcard] H7 “A Malamute Serenade” [dog team pulling sled with woman in basket, man in fur parka on runners; same photo as Albert Johnson’s Malamute Chorus C 35?]
 55 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] 565. Ptarmigan, or Arctic Grouse, showing seasonal variations of plumage, 1-8 Sept., 2 July, 3 Dec., 4-5 Oct., 6 April, 7 Jan., 9 March. Edward H. Mitchell publisher, San Francisco
 56 — [Photographic postcard, tinted] 761. An Alaska dog team [team in harness outside house, man and woman on runners]
 57 — [Photographic postcard] The [?] Malamute dog team on Iditarod Trail[?] Alaska [writing on recto very faded, photographer’s signature unreadable; man in Russian dress at left, woman in fur parka holding dog team, people in basket]
58 — [horse-drawn wagon stopped outside 36 Roadhouse, men and dogs on building’s roof, signs on walls “Take trail at No. 77 for 30 Below Lower Dominion Ck & Dawson Short Cut,” “Dog feed for sale,” “The Nugget Express”]
 59 — [creek in winter, with half-fallen trees]
 60 — [woman in front of tent in wooded area]
 61 — A Malamute dog of Alaska
 62 — [dog team on trail in wooded area]
 63 — Front St. Ruby, Alaska, Jan. 1912. Clemons [street scene with people standing in street and in front of stores, including The Paystreak Saloon, California Café Bakery, Grand Café Oriental Noodle House, Anderson’s Drug Store, Bloom’s Hardware Etc.]
 64 — [young child posed with dolls and tea set in front of Christmas tree in home interior]
 65 — [Photographic postcard] Wild moose grazeing Kenai River
 66 — [Photographic postcard] Raindeer, Teller Alaska
 67 — [caribou or reindeer]
68 — [four young children in a chicken-wire enclosure with two bear cubs on chains, with buildings and large pile of logs in background]
 69 — Rio Grande. Tyler [theater production, with actors on stage and trio in orchestra, including piano, guitar, and drum set]
 70 — Indian Mission [aerial of village at confluence of two rivers]
 71 — [man and woman with dog team; similar to .54, in 6.5 x 8.5” print]
 72 — [river in foreground, snow-covered mountain in distance]
 73 — Mile 352.7, R. angles to roadbed, June 27, 20 [railroad workers with load of rocks between McKinley Park and Moody; double exposure?]
 74 — 107 T. Dec. 10, 19 [Camp...?] [writing on recto very faded; railcars on track, including locomotive #208, passenger car U.S. 1052, piles of lumber next to tracks, walled tents in middle ground]
 75 — [frozen river running between mountains]
 76 — T. No. 135 mile 355.8 L.N. June 27, 20 [Nenana River canyon near Garner]
 77 — T. 146, June 27, 20, L.N. mile 354.8 [Nenana River? Alaska Railroad right-of-way between Moody and Garner]
 78 — T. 212 x US. Mail dog teams going north at 327 Feb 21, 21, showing Panorama Mt.
 79 — T. 209 mile 250 in Nenana Canyon U.S. Mail 9000 lbs. going north Feb. 27, 21 [horse- drawn wagons on skis]
80 — [interior of Alaska Railroad workshop, with men cutting lumber on table saws; lumber stacked along walls and in rafters]
 81 — T. 55 Looking north Sta. L 19720, July 19, 19 [Alaska Railroad train carrying freight and work crew near Moraine; caption “g” printed backwards]
 82 — Looking south, canyon Broad Pass
 83 — [probably Nenana; two-story wooden building with “The Southern” painted on one wall; people stand in front of storefronts including Portland and Fairbanks Clothing Co.; small sign in the window of the Portland reads “Agency Nenana Steam Laundry”]
84 — At an old Indian hunting ground, Tolovana River. By Tyler. [sternwheeler Carl White stopped along shore to take on passengers; buildings visible at top of bluff]
 85 — [river barge with wooden boxes and other cargo stopped at small dock; men, automobiles, and log cabins on low bluff]
 86 — 111 T. Dec. 9, 19, looking to north portal tunnel no. 1 right angl [sic] to line. T. Dec. 9, 19, looking south to north portal tunnel L. St. 17055
 87 — T. 55 Eng. Camp #423, July 21, 19 [adults and child standing near walled tents in a clearing, clothesline hanging at left, one man with horse team, others with surveying equipment]
 88 — T. No. 155. June 27, 20 L.S. mile 354.3 [Nenana River? Alaska Railroad right-of-way between Moody and Garner]
 89 — Mile 352.7, R. angles to roadbed, June 27, 20 [two men next to Nenana River south of Moody]
 90 — [group of men standing outdoors in winter with surveying tripod, several log cabins visible, moose antlers propped against one wall]
 91 — T. No. 142 Kestly Camp, mile 356, June 27, 20 [group of men, one dressed as a cook, stand outside several log cabins, man in center is playing with bear cub]
 92 — T. 127, June 27, 20, Healy Camp mile 358 [bird’s eye view looking north, railroad camp along tracks, equipment and buildings visible]
 93 — T. No. 128, June 27, 20, Camp Healy [men sit or stand on small porch outside office of the Resident Engineer, surveying tripod at right]
 94 — T. 239, mile 379 L.S. bridge 16 washed out by Nenana River, July 22, 1921 [railroad cars and work crew installing logs for bridge repair]
 95 — T. 238, mile 379, L.N. showing new grade to get around washout, July 22, 1921 [view from top of railcar, with another train on separate line at left, between Ferry and Browne stations along Nenana River]
 96 — T. 88, mile 469, point 8, looking north, July 28, 19 [railroad tracks and telegraph poles south of Fairbanks; church spire and bridge in Fairbanks visible in distance]
 97 — Mile 455, point 5, looking north / T. 87, mile 456, point 5, looking north, July 26, 19 [two images printed on one sheet: mile 455 shows railroad tracks with warped rail; mile 456 shows large pile of railroad ties next to track]
 98 — T. 3. July 8, 1919, Y. & Dock 412, north Nenana. July 8, 19 [bird’s eye view of roads and buildings along river near Alaska Railroad mile 412]
99 — [American Legion group gathered next to Alaska Railroad train, many men wearing stovepipe hats and fur coats, marching band musicians at head of group, Leonhard Seppala with dog team at rear]
 100 — Tug war July 4th [large group of spectators in two lines along railroad tracks watching tug-of-war, river in background; “J” and “4” backwards in printed caption]
 101 — [same event as in .100, taken from a bird’s eye vantage farther from the river shore, additional buildings visible at left and across river]
 102 — First airplane in Alaska, Fairbanks, July 19, 1920. Photo Tyler Nenana [spectators in Weeks Field; “J” backwards in printed caption]
 103 — [men and women in boat, Dan Patch, not Alaska?; print from torn negative]
 104 — [men unloading a river boat at a homestead, two men on boat and two men next to log cabin, one holding a horse; chairs and other household goods on ground]
 105 — Coal seams measuring 60 ft. Healy River 3 miles from mile 360 June 27, 21
 106 — Coal seams measuring 60 ft. Healy River 3 miles from mile 360 June 28, 21
 107 — Coal seams measuring 60 ft. Healy River 3 miles from mile 360 June 28, 21. By Tyler Nenana [not same as .106]
 108 — No. 4. Healey River Coal Corporation Mines, Healey Forks, Alaska. Johnson & Tyler, Anchorage, Alaska [supplies at base of ridge showing coal seams]
 109 — No. 15. Healey River Coal Corporation Mines, Healey Forks, Alaska. Johnson & Tyler, Anchorage, Alaska [coal chutes at base of ridge showing coal seams]
 110 — [coal seams, probably near Healy]
 111 — [sunrise or sunset over river or lake shore; telegraph poles or other support structure visible on far shore next to boat or canoe]
 112 — Baseball excursion, Nenana to Healy, crossing Nenana River at 43. Tyler [men in baseball uniforms crossing pedestrian bridge, railroad car on tracks on far shore near two wood plank buildings]
 113 — T. No. 8. Pier II looking down strem [sic] showing top of base July 30, 22 [construction of Alaska Railroad bridge over the Tanana River showing workmen and machinery]
 114 — T. No. 16. Pier II looking down strem [sic] showing pouring of shaft Aug 1, 22
 115 — [steam shovel or other equipment on bridge trestle over river; not similar to Tanana Bridge?]
 116 — T. No. 11. Pile trussel approach L.S. from bent [sic] #3 July 30, 22 [steam pile driver atop trestle structure]
 117 — T. No. 10. Trussel approach Tanana Bridge. L.S. from pier 2 July 30, 22
118 — Tanana, Alaska and Youkon [sic] at Nenana Dock Sept. 28, 1921 with three river barges. Tyler Nenana [barge Beaver on left; stacks of three steamships visible behind barges]
 119 — T. No. 5. Driving steel sheet piling, Pier II, June 22, 22
 120 — T. 199. Steel gang near tunnel #1 Feb. 17, 1921 looking south. [printed caption truncated:] Ties front
 121 — T. No. 175. Mile 348 Horseshoe Lake, June 27, 20 [bird’s eye view of lake]
 122 — T. L’L. T. 181. July 27, 20. L.N. before big shot [printed caption:] before shot [river valley north of Nancy along Alaska Railroad right-of-way]
 123 — T. 200. Bringing ties to the front Feb 17, 1921 LS [printed caption:] bringin steel to the front
 124 — T. 49. July 14, 19. Surfacing camp #2 mile 385 [printed caption:] July 14, 19 [work crew and railroad motorcar on Alaska Railroad tracks in Interior Alaska]
 125 — T. No. 126. June 27, 20. Looking down stream, where rail crosses Nenana River, mile 370.7
 126 — T. 3 [?]. Driving steel sheet piling Pier II June 22. [construction of Alaska Railroad bridge over Tanana River at Nenana]
 127 — [group of men, women, and one child gathered outside two-story log building and walled tent in cleared area]
 128 — T. 259. L.N. mile 345 making fill with work train showing of glcier [sic] mud slide on July 21, 1921 [work crew removing earth from railroad tracks south of McKinley Park]
 129 — T. 205. Tunnel #2 showing jumbo to the front Feb. 21, 21 [work crew excavating tunnel]
 130 — T. 235. Bridge 355.0 slides delayed the casting of piers June 27, 21 [railroad bridge construction north of Moody]
 131 — T. 204. Tunnel #1 south end 2.17.21 L.N. [work crew on wooden support structure for railroad tunnel construction]
 132 — T. 244 mile 352.1 showing washout in grade culvert berried July 22, 1921 [washout along river bed on Alaska Railroad right-of-way south of Moody; photographer’s number corrected in manuscript to T. 248]
 133 — T. 227. Top tunnel #2 looking north showing spring slides, June 27, 21 [river channel with railroad track construction along left bank]
 134 — [three horse teams pulling loads underneath railroad trestle between two buildings]
 135 — Showing dock cut by spring breakup 1921, May 11, 6:42 AM. Nenana [same as AEC T223a; manuscript photographer’s number: 209]
 136 — T. No. 20. Looking into mixer pier II Aug. 4, 22 [concrete mixer and construction workers at railroad bridge pier construction site on Tanana River at Nenana, crane at left]
 137 — T. No. 15. Looking north from top trussel approach Aug. 1, 22 [bridge construction over Tanana River at Nenana, pile driver in background and men walking along tracks at left]
 138 — T. No. 14. Looking down from pier 2 removing forms pier 10 Aug 1, 22 [concrete piers in construction of bridge over Tanana River at Nenana]
 139 — [wooden support structure for conveyor belt or pulley-cart apparatus next to railroad tracks, three men standing at base of belt; Healy? Cf. .151]
 140 — [five men stand in cut of hydraulic mining operation]
 141 — [passengers on board river barge Carl White stopped at small dock, with two men on shore and log cabin visible on low bluff; a skiff has tied to the Carl White, which also carries a small boat on the roof of the enclosed passenger area]
 142 — T. 211. Soderland Cont. mile 327 L.N. Feb 19, 21 [printed caption:] T. No. mile 327 L.N. Suderland Cont. Feb. 19, 21 [winter view of railroad construction site between Windy and Carlo]
 143 — T. 206. Tunnel #2 up to the front Feb. 17, 21 [construction crew with horse in tunnel, with workers standing on and under work platform]
 144 — The frozen north, Fred Majors home, Nenana, Alaska [“J” backwards in printed caption; Major’s family outside large homestead, with cultivated field, water tower, greenhouse and other outbuildings; Market and Second streets in Nenana? Circa 1917?]
 145 — Nenana Alaska June 10 1919 [street view, with large crowds of people on street in distance; businesses shown include Simson’s Department Store, The Southern, Fairbanks Clothing Co., Tavern Café and Bakery; telegraph poles and flags visible]
 146 — T. No. 6 [photographer’s number in manuscript; construction workers and crane hoisting gravel for backfill during railroad bridge construction along Tanana River at Nenana]
 147 — T. 4 july T. 4 July [?] 19. Brownie repairing wter water front [same location as .146? workmen and steam-driven crane working on railroad tracks next to river]
 148 — T. 219. Ice cutting A.E. dock broke May 11 6:42 AM. 1921 Nenana [printed caption:] Ice cutting the dock, Tanana River at Nenana [people and buildings along dock with river at left, sign for W.A. Coghill in distance]
 149 — Tanana River at Nenana Ala, ice broke May 11, 6:42 1621, flag in middle of river. Giving the combination rough necks 6,500.00. Mouth Nenana [view of nearly ice-free Tanana River after breakup]
 150 — [Northern Commercial Co. General Merchandise concrete block storefront, with pile of logs at right]
 151 — Healy River Coal Co., Febuary [sic] 15, 1921, Healy, Alaska. Photo Tyler [railcars being loaded with coal; cf. .139]
 152 — Baseball ground, Healy. Healy at the bat. June 26 1921. Tyler 3 [baseball game in progress , spectators sitting on ground]
 153 — [man in garden, with picket fence and telegraph poles] - Clipping. “Shipwreck prompts poetic utterances: Edgar C. Raine, Special Deputy Internal Revenue Collector for Alaska, writes interesting rhyme while stranded on the Bering Coast near Teller—launch was wrecked on the way to Kotzebue Sound.” No date - Clipping. “That old gang of mine. Author unknown. [...] Submitted by Miss Mary Sterret.” No date - Typescript poem. “The Kobuck maiden.” - Typescript. “An address [sic] on the tomb of Napoleon.” - Handbill. “Sour Dough Hotel, 1333 Icicle Avenue.” [possibly satirical handbill produced by “Stroller” White, Dawson, circa 1898] - Typescript menu. “Sourdough Xmas Dinner, Dec. 25, 1912.” On letterhead of Tyler & Co. Paint Supplies and Sign Work, Ruby, Alaska. - Envelope containing the following items: - Receipt. Loyal Order of Moose, Nenana Lodge No. 1193, annual receipt for dues paid by M.V. Tyler, 1922 - Invitation. Pacific Telephone and Telegraph Co. 11 th annual dancing party, 1915 - Invitation. Independent Order of Odd Fellows first annual ball, Flat City, 1911 - Invitation. Marriage of Lowella Eveline Morrison to Mr. Herman B. Rosburg, Nenana, 1919 - Invitation. Nenana Masonic Club dancing party, 1919 - Clipping. Photo caption: “There is cheer in this bleak scene of the far North, for in this log cabin schoolhouse, bordering the Arctic Circle, is a receiving set which brings in concerts from broadcasting stations along the Pacific Coast. It is located at Pilot Station, Alaska, a post maintained by the department of Interior.” No date Guide written: February 14, 2013