REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Frank Borys Slides

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2012.029

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1964-1982

Extent: 219 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Frank Borys

Administrative/Biographical History:
Frank Borys was born April 14, 1908, in Minneapolis, Minnesota. He first came to Alaska in
the 1940s for a short stint as an employee of the Federal Aviation Administration, returning in
1961. In 1968, he retired from the FAA as the chief of general aviation in the airworthiness
branch. He died on February 1, 1988, in Anchorage. [See the Anchorage Daily News, Feb. 4,
1988, B10, for an obituary]

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 219 color 35mm slides of airports, aircraft, towns, and scenery in
Alaska, primarily around the Anchorage area, Kennecott, and along the Richardson Highway.

Arrangement: Materials arranged chronologically.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.


Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. Light box may be
used for viewing.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Frank Borys Slides, Anchorage Museum, B2012.029

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Found in collection, October 2012.

Processing Notes
Several duplicate or near-duplicate slides discarded.

RELATED MATERIALS


SUBJECTS
Borys, Frank, 1908-1988
Seltenreich, Bud, 1901-1999
Alaska Earthquake, Alaska, 1964
Glaciers—Alaska
Mountains—Alaska
Airplanes—Alaska
Airports—Alaska
Volcanoes—Alaska
Copper mines and mining—Alaska
Kennecott Copper Mine (Alaska)
Anchorage (Alaska)
McCarthy (Alaska)
Palmer (Alaska)
Richardson Highway (Alaska)
Alaska Range (Alaska)
Portage Glacier (Alaska)
Alyeska, Mount (Alaska)
Cook Inlet (Alaska)
Tyonek (Alaska)
Nikiski (Alaska)

Kenai (Alaska)
Soldotna (Alaska)
Skwentna (Alaska)
Talkeetna (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

[1964]
 1 — [Damage from the 1964 earthquake; home, possibly in Turnagain area]
 2 — [Damage from the 1964 earthquake; homes, possibly in Turnagain area] 1966
 3 — 9-9-66 Alaska Range Mile 240 Richardson Highway
 4 — 9-9-66 Black Rapids Glacier sign Mile 225 Richardson Hiway
 5 — 9-9-66 Black Rapids Glacier Mile 225 Richardson Hiway
 6 — 9-9-66 Sable Pass Alaska Mile 215 Richardson Hiway
 7 — 9-9-66 Sable Pass Alaska Mile 215 Richardson Hiway
 8 — 9-9-66 Sable Pass Alaska Mile 215 Richardson Hiway
 9 — 9-9-66 Sable Pass Alaska Mile 202 Richardson Hiway
 10 — 9-9-66 [--] Glacier Alaska Mile [--] Richardson Hiway
 11 — 9-9-66 Summit Lake Alaska on Richardson Hiway
 12 — 9-9-66 Paxson Lake Alaska Mile 180 Richardson Hiway
 13 — 9-9-66 Mt. Sanford Alaska from Richardson Hiway
 14 — 9-9-66 Mts. Wrangell and Drum Alaska from Richardson Hiway
 15 — 9-9-66 Mt. Drum Alaska from Richardson Hiway
 16 — 9-9-66 Mt. Sanford Alaska from Richardson Hiway
 17 — 9-9-66 Tazlina Glacier Alaska
 18 — 9-9-66 [--] Glacier Alaska Mile 132 Richardson Hiway 1967
 19 — 1-67 Anchorage Alaska [parachutist]
 20 — 1-67 Anchorage Alaska [parachutist]
 21 — 1-67 Anchorage Alaska [parachutist]
 22 — 3-29-67 Mt. Spur from Kenai, Alaska
 23 — 3-29-67 Mt. Redoubt from Kenai, Alaska
 24 — 3-29-67 Mt. Illiamna [Iliamna] from Kenai, Alaska
 25 — 4-22-67 Palmer, Alaska, FAA-FSS [Flight Service Station]
 26 — 4-22-67 Palmer, Alaska airport
 27 — 4-26-67 Anchorage, Alaska Anchorage Westward Hotel
 28 — 5-27-67 Anchorage, Alaska Earthquake Park
 29 — 5-27 Anchorage, Alaska Earthquake Park
 30 — 5-27-67 Anchorage, Alaska Earthquake Park
 31 — 5-27-67 Anchorage, Alaska Earthquake Park
 32 — 5-27-67 Anchorage, Alaska Earthquake Park
 33 — 5-27-67 Anchorage, Alaska Knik Arm Earthquake Park
 34 — 5-38-67 Anchorage, Alaska Moose Gooser [railroad engine]
 35 — 5-38-67 Anchorage, Alaska Moose Gooser [railroad engine]
 36 — 7-7-67 Anchorage, Alaska, Jap destroyers, U.S. Gen.Breitwiser [General Robert Allen Breitweiser]
 37 — 7-7-767 Anchorage, Alaska U.S. Gen. Breitwiser [General Robert Allen Breitweiser]
 38 — 7-13-67 Anchorage, Alaska Penney’s garage [J. C. Penney store]
 39 — 7-21-67 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view looking west]
 40 — 7-21-67 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view looking north west]
41 — 7-22-67 Bud Seltenreich, Finger Lake, Alaska [man standing next to float plane]
 42 — 7-22-67 Frank, Finger Lake, Alaska [man standing next to float plane]
 43 — 7-22-67 Long Lake, Alaska, Dick Twaits [Thwaites] cabin near Willow, Alaska [cabin and float plane]
 44 — 7-30-67 Earthquake Park, Anchorage, Alaska
 45 — 8-2-67 Penney’s garage, Anchorage, Alaska
 46 — 8-3-67 Knik River, Palmer, Alaska [bird’s eye view]
 47 — 8-3-67 Matanuska Glacier, Alaska
 48 — 8-3-67 Matanuska Glacier, Alaska
 49 — 8-3-67 Bud Seltenreich, Chokosna, Alaska [airplane next to village sign]
 50 — 8-3-67 Frank, Chokosna, Alaska [man next to airplane]
 51 — 8-4-67 Long Lake, Alaska
52 — 8-4-67 Bud Seltenreich, Long Lake, Alaska [man next to airplane]
 53 — 8-4-67 Long Lake, Alaska
 54 — 8-4-67 Long Lake, Alaska
 55 — 8-4-67 Kennicott Glacier near McCarthy, Alaska
 56 — 8-4-67 Kennicott Glacier near McCarthy, Alaska
 57 — 8-4-67 Kennicott Glacier near McCarthy, Alaska
 58 — 8-4-67 Kennicott Glacier near McCarthy, Alaska
 59 — 8-4-67 Kennicott [Kennecott] Copper Mine, Kennicott [Kennecott], Alaska [aerial view]
 60 — 8-4 Kennicott [Kennecott] Copper Mine, Kennicott [Kennecott], Alaska [aerial view]
 61 — 8-4-67 McCarthy, Alaska [aerial]
 62 — 8-4-67 Frank, McCarthy, Alaska [standing next to airport sign, Cordova Air Service, Inc.]
 63 — 8-4-67 Kennecott [sic] Glacier near McCarthy, Alaska
 64 — 8-4-67 Bud Seltenreich, McCarthy, Alaska
 65 — 8-4-67 Frank, McCarthy, Alaska
 66 — 8-4-67 McCarthy, Alaska [building with signs for Museum and The Golden]
 67 — 8-4-67 McCarthy, Alaska [RO. G. Watsjolg Groceries & Meat]
 68 — 8-4-67 Frank, Spruce Point, Alaska [man next to airplane]
 69 — 8-5-67 Glacial morane [sic] Kennecott, Alaska
 70 — 8-5-67 Kennecott Copper Mine, Kennecott, Alaska
71 — 8-5-67 Bud Seltenreich, Kennecott, Alaska [standing in front of post office]
72 — 8-5-67 Bud Seltenreich, Kennecott, Alaska
 73 — 8-5-67 Kennecott, Alaska, copper mine
 74 — 9-23-67 310 Lake, Alaska, Bud Seltenreich, Frank [men and float plane]
 75 — 9-23-67 310 Lake, Alaska
76 — 9-24-67 Tolovana, Alaska, hot springs, Jim Dawson, Bud Seltenreich, Frank
77 — 9-24-67 Tolovana Hot Springs, Alaska, Frank, Bud Seltenreich 1969
 78 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?]
 79 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?]
 80 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?]
 81 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?]
 82 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?]
 83 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?]
 84 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?]
 85 — 2-69 Anchorage, Alaska [parade, Fur Rendezvous?] 1970
 86 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 87 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 88 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 89 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 90 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 91 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 92 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 93 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 94 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier area, Alaska
 95 — 4-22-70 Portage Glacier Lake, Alaska
 96 — 4-22-70 Mt. Alyeska, Alaska
 97 — 6-14-70 4th Ave. [looking] W, Anchorage, Alaska [Schorn Paints, Chevron, 4th Avenue Theater]
 98 — 6-14-70 5th Ave [looking] W, Anchorage, Alaska [Don’s Restaurant, Allen Organs, First Federal Savings, Pet Palace, Anchor Realty, Pacific Finance Loans]
 99 — 6-14-70 6th Ave [looking] W, Anchorage, Alaska [car wash, Texaco, J. C. Penney]
 100 — 6-14-70 3rd Ave [looking] E, Anchorage, Alaska
 101 — 6-14-70 4th Ave [looking] E, Anchorage, Alaska [Chevron, Pioneer Club, 4th Avenue Theater, Matanuska Valley Bank, Club 25, Seaman’s Sport Shop]
 102 — 6-14-70 5th Ave [looking] E, Anchorage, Alaska
 103 — 6-14-70 6th Ave. [looking] E, Anchorage, Alaska
 104 — 8-6-70 5th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska [Shimek’s, Kodak Camera Center, Charles Shoes, Anchorage Key Shop, Howard’s Gun Shop, Alaska Mutual Savings Bank]
 105 — 8-6-70 Loussac Lib[rary] and 1st National Bank, 5th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska
 106 — 8-6-70 Royal Inn, 5th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska
 107 — 8-6-70 Holy Family Church, 5th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska
 108 — 8-6-70 6th & K St., Anchorage, Alaska
 109 — 8-6-70 Old Providence Hospital, L St., Anchorage, Alaska
 110 — 8-6-70 Community Hosp[ital.], L St., Anchorage, Alaska
 111 — 8-6-70 Union 76 Bldg, 9th & I St., Anchorage, Alaska
 112 — 8-6-70 9th & L St. hospitals, Anchorage, Alaska
 113 — 8-6-70 6th & D St., Reeve Bldg, Anchorage, Alaska
 114 — 8-6-70 6th & D St., N.C. Co. & J.C. Penny garage, Anchorage, Alaska [Northern Commercial Co., later Nordstrom, and J. C. Penney]
 115 — 8-6-70 D St. & 5th, Anchorage, Alaska, Jonas Bro. & 1st Federal [Dicy’s Alaska Tailor Shop, Jonas Brothers, First Federal Savings and Loan]
 116 — 8-6-70 Museum A & 6th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska
 117 — 8-6-70 Fountain Apts. 7th & Barrow, Anchorage, Alaska
 118 — 8-6-70 Travelodge 3rd & Barrow, Anchorage, Alaska
 119 — 8-6-70 Century Bldg., 3rd & Barrow, Anchorage, Alaska
 120 — 8-6-70 3rd Ave., Anchorage, Alaska [looking west between D & E St.; Anchorage Westward Hotel]
 121 — 8-6-70 3rd Ave., Anchorage, Alaska [looking southwest between D & E St.; Anchorage Westward Hotel]
 122 — 8-6-70 Alaska R.R. depot, Anchorage, Alaska
 123 — 8-6-70 Anc. Westward Hotel, Anchorage, Alaska [from 2nd St.]
 124 — 8-6-70 Totem, Brown’s Pt., Anchorage, Alaska [Brown’s Point Park, 348 Harvard]
 125 — 8-6-70 City view, Brown’s Pt., Anchorage, Alaska
 126 — 8-6-70 City view, Brown’s Pt., Anchorage, Alaska [Alaska Railroad yard in foreground]
 127 — 8-6-70 Port of Anchorage, Anchorage, Alaska
 128 — 8-6-70 U.S. Post Office, Anchorage, Alaska [Federal Building, Fourth Avenue]
 129 — 8-6-70 4 th Ave. U.S.P.O., Anchorage, Alaska
 130 — 8-6-70 Anc. City Hall, 4 th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska
 131 — 8-6-70 City view, Hillcrest Dr., Anchorage, Alaska
 132 — 8-6-70 City view, Hillcrest Dr., Anchorage, Alaska
 133 — 9-70 Anchorage Times, Anchorage, Alaska [Fourth Avenue]
 134 — 9-70 Parsons Hotel, Anchorage, Alaska
 135 — 9-70 Built in 1915, Anchorage, Alaska [Club 25]
 136 — 9-70 Anchorage, Alaska [Fifth Avenue? First Federal Savings]
 137 — 9-70 4 th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska [city hall, Woolworth’s, 4th Avenue Theater]
 138 — 9-70 City Hall, Anchorage, Alaska
 139 — 9-70 J.C. Penney Co., Anchorage, Alaska
 140 — 9-70 Anchorage Westward Hotel, Anchorage, Alaska
 141 — 9-70 J.C. Penney Co., Reeve Bldg., Anchorage, Alaska
 142 — 9-70 Totem, Anchorage, Alaska [outside shop]
 143 — 9-70 Royal Inn Hotel, Anchorage, Alaska
 144 — 9-70 Royal Inn Hotel, Anchorage, Alaska
 145 — 9-70 Anchorage Westward Hotel, Anchorage, Alaska
 146 — 9-70 4 th Ave., Anchorage, Alaska [Chevron, Alaskan Publishing Co. Printing, Beauty Salon, Chugiak Optical Service, Pioneer Club]
147 — 10-70 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view looking east]
148 — 10-70 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view looking southeast] 1977
149 — 11 Jul 77 Beluga Airport, Alaska, Cook Inlet [aerial view of ARCO Alaska airstrip]
150 — 11 Jul 77 Beluga Airport, Alaska oil co. strip, Cook Inlet [aerial view]
151 — 11 Jul 77 Tyonek, Alaska, Cook Inlet [aerial view of village airport]
152 — 11 Jul 77 oil platforms, Cook Inlet, Alaska [aerial view]
153 — 11 Jul 77 oil platforms, Cook Inlet, Alaska [aerial view]
154 — 11 Jul 77 oil platforms, Cook Inlet, Alaska [aerial view]
 155 — 11 Jul 77 oil platforms, Cook Inlet, Alaska [aerial view]
 156 — 11 Jul 77 oil platforms, Cook Inlet, Alaska [aerial view]
 157 — 11 Jul 77 volcanos Mt. Illiamna [Iliamna], & Mt. Redoubt, Alaska
 158 — 11 Jul 77 volcanos Mt. Illiamna [Iliamna], & Mt. Redoubt, Alaska
 159 — 11 Jul 77 volcano Mt. Spurr on Cook Inlet, Alaska
 160 — 11 Jul 77 volcano Mt. Redoubt, Alaska
 161 — 11 Jul 77 Mt. Spurr, Alaska
 162 — 11 Jul 77 oil platform, Cook Inlet, Alaska [aerial view]
 163 — 11 Jul 77 Tesoro storage tanks & refinery, Nikiski, Alaska
 164 — 11 Jul 77 Kenai airport, Alaska [aerial view]
 165 — 11 Jul 77 Kenai airport, Alaska [aerial view]
166 — 11 Jul 77 Soldotna airport, Alaska, Kenai River [aerial view]
167 — 11 Jul 77 Soldotna airport, Alaska [aerial view]
 168 — 11 Jul 77 Fire Island, Cook Inlet, Alaska [aerial view]
 169 — 11 Jul 77 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view]
 170 — 11 Jul 77 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view]
 171 — 11 Jul 77 Turnagain Arm, Alaska [aerial view]
 172 — 11 Jul 77 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view]
 173 — 11 Jul 77 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view]
 174 — 11 Jul 77 Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view]
 175 — 11 Jul 77 Campbill [Campbell] Lake, Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view]
 176 — 11 Jul 77 International Airport, Anchorage, Alaska [aerial view]
 177 — 11 Jul 77 Boeing 727 Anchorage, Alaska [Alaska Airlines plane in flight]
 178 — 12 Jul 77 Susitna airport, Alaska [aerial view of Little Susitna airport, a private airstrip]
 179 — 12 Jul 77 Mt. Spurr, Mt. Susitna, Alaska
 180 — 12 Jul 77 Lake Alexander strip, Alaska [aerial view]
 181 — 12 Jul 77 Alexander Lake strip, Alaska [aerial view]
 182 — 12 Jul 77 Alexander Lake strip, Alaska [aerial view]
 183 — 12 Jul 77 Skwentna airport, Skwentna, Alaska [aerial view]
 184 — 12 Jul 77 Talkeetna airport, Talkeetna, Alaska [aerial view] [1979]
 185 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 186 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 187 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 188 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 189 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 190 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 191 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 192 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 193 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains and coastline]
 194 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 195 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains and coastline]
 196 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 197 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 198 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 199 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains]
 200 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 201 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 202 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 203 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 204 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 205 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 206 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 207 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 208 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 209 — [aerial view of Anchorage] [No date, 1980s?]
 210 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 211 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 212 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 213 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 214 — [aerial view of Anchorage]
 215 — [aerial view of Anchorage] [1982?]
 216 — [airplane with tail number N4615U, Weatherly 620]
 217 — [airplane with tail number N59AT, Interstate S-1B2 Arctic Tern airplane]
 218 — [airplane with number N49888, Spratt 108?]
 219 — [airplane with number N2236, Spratt 107?] Guide written: October 25, 2012