REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Kenneth C. Allen Earthquake Slides

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2012.027

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: April 1964

Extent: 29 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Kenneth C. Allen, C.P. Johnston Company

Administrative/Biographical History:
Kenneth C. Allen had an apartment in the McKay Building in Anchorage at the time of the
1964 Good Friday Earthquake. He was also reportedly one of the first people to travel to
Seward after the quake, flying there in his personal float plane to survey damage.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 28 35mm slides of damage from the 1964 Alaska Earthquake, taken
in Anchorage and Seward by Kenneth C. Allen. One commercial slide from the C.P. Johnston
Company shows the Seward waterfront after reconstruction.

Arrangement: Not applicable

CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.


Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. Lightbox may be
used.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Kenneth C. Allen Earthquake Slides, Anchorage Museum, B2012.027

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by daughter Wylie Allen in October 2012.

Processing Notes
Two slides of unidentified, non-earthquake scenes deaccessioned.

RELATED MATERIALS
CIHS McCutcheon Collection, B1964.x.006
AHFAM Earthquake Photographs, B1969.011
Betty Bannon Collection, B1970.015
Zappa Earthquake Papers, B1972.060
Portage Earthquake Photographs, B1973.070
Patricia Mayo Earthquake Time Ticket, B1974.013
Kroninger Photograph Collection, B1976.118
Army Corps of Engineers 1964 Earthquake Photographs, B1977.118
Corps of Engineers 1964 Earthquake Photographs, B1979.038
Woodman Photograph Collection, B1980.027
McDermott Collection, B1987.083
Ron Aldrin Earthquake Slides, B1994.024
Seismograph Reading, B1997.023
Anchorage Chamber of Commerce Collection, B2002.002
Charles Koppel 1964 Earthquake Collection, B2002.008
Norman Campbell Photographs, B2005.041
Bronitsky Letter, B2006.021
4th and H St. Demolition Collection, B2007.002
Opal Myers 1964 Earthquake Collection, B2007.003
Christenson Slide collection, B2007.016
Bangkok Embassy Teletype Collection, B2009.044
Truth Coven Gray Earthquake Album, B2009.056
Kleihauer Slide Collection, B2010.004
Johnny Sartor Collection, B2010.020

Langford-Ose Photograph Collection, B2011.002

SUBJECTS
Alaska Earthquake, Alaska, 1964
Earthquakes--Alaska—Anchorage
Earthquakes--Alaska—Seward
Railroads--Earthquake effects--Alaska
Anchorage (Alaska)
Seward (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
1 — School on Government Hill
 2 — Railroad cars
 3 — Anchorage [Fourth Avenue, D & D, Frisco Cafe]
 4 — 5th [Avenue, Anchorage, looking east]
 5 — Anchorage street [Fourth Avenue, Denali Grill]
 6 — Turnagain [houses with inlet in background]
 7 — Tank cars
8 — Turnagain [houses with inlet in background]
9 — Turnagain [houses with inlet in background]
 10 — Turnagain [house]
 11 — Turnagain [houses]
 12 — Turnagain [houses]
13 — Army [boys?] [three men in uniform, two with bunny boots, stand with school and water tank in background]
 14 — Texaco truck
15 — Texaco trucks
 16 — Matsons market [banner on building “All-America City Seward 1964”]
17 — Flower shop
 18 — Don’t know what it is [overturned railroad cars along tracks, probably Turnagain Arm]
 19 — Down by the water, the tanks [Seward]
 20 — On the lagoon
21 — The dock
 22 — Tanks
 23 — Head of the bay
 24 — Railroad track end
25 — Tracks
 26 — The railroad tracks
27 — Down by the bay
28 — Lagoon
 29 — R268B Salmon Derby at Seward, C.P. Johnston Company Guide written: October 19, 2012