REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Candy Waugaman Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2008.024

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1936-1959

Extent: 81 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): unknown

Administrative/Biographical History:
Nothing was known about the provenance of the images at the time of processing. Some of
the prints might have come from the collection of Joe de la Cerda, Sr., who served with the
armed forces in Alaska in the early 1950s.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 81 black-and-white photographs of Anchorage and rural Alaska
villages, most taken during or shortly after World War II. Twenty-eight images (.50-77) are of a
parade on Fourth Avenue in Anchorage. For more information, see Detailed Description of
Collection.

Arrangement: Loosely arranged by subject


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.


Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Candy Waugaman Collection, Anchorage Museum, B2008.024

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Candy Waugaman in 1996. Accessioned and processed by Museum staff in 2008.


RELATED MATERIALS
Candy Waugaman Collection, B1998.025

SUBJECTS
United States. Army
Alaska Railroad
Yupik Eskimos—Alaska
Dogsledding—Alaska
Fishing—Alaska
World War, 1939-1945
Anchorage (Alaska)
Akulurak (Alaska)
Alakanuk (Alaska)
Aleknagik (Alaska)
Holy Cross (Alaska)
Wasilla (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

F1
1 — [young Alaska Native boy wearing fur parka posed outdoors in winter, dog team lying in snow behind him, warehouse-type building in background. At AFN 2015, location tentatively identified as old mission at Akulurak]
2 — [Alaska Native woman wearing kuspuk with fur trim posed outdoors, dog team lying in snow, buildings in background, same location as in .1. At AFN 2015, woman tentatively identified as surname Kylook]
 3 — [three Alaska Native boys posed outdoors in winter, fourth boy in background. 2 copies]
 4 — [three-story building flying Union Jack flag]
 5 — [crying child on sled frame in winter, building in background]
6 — [Alaska Native girl wearing Western-style clothing and mukluks posed outdoors in winter, entrance to semi-subterranean dwelling in background]
 7 — [exterior of trapper’s log cabin in summer, beaver pelts on drying boards propped against wall]
8 — [man wearing brimmed hat posed outside log cabin in winter with three dogs, wood pile at left. Cf. .10. At AFN 2015, location tentatively identified as Holy Cross]
9 — [Alaska Native girl wearing fur parka with geometric decoration and lace-up boots posed outside log cabin in winter, skis and pole propped against wall. At AFN 2016, tentatively identified as surname Miller at Holy Cross]
10 — [man posed outside log cabin in winter, large sled frame propped against wall. Cf. .8. At AFN 2016, location tentatively identified as Anvik]
11 — [man wearing parka, mukluks, and driving cap standing outdoors; at AFN 2014, tentatively identified as Wassillie Etuckmelra Sr. of Aleknagik]
12 — [Alaska Native man and woman posed outside log cabin in winter. Cf. .15, .17, .21. At AFN 2015, identified as Joseph and Katherine Agayar of Alakanuk]
13 — [same woman as in .12, wearing fur-trimmed kuspuk, posed in brush in winter. At AFN 2015, woman identified as Katherine Agayar]
14 — [three children in fur-trimmed parkas outside log cabin; at AFN 2013, location identified as Old Akulurak, standing girl identified as Esther Paukan Tyson. Cf. .18, .20]
15 — [woman posed outside log cabin in winter. Cf. .12, .17. At AFN 2015, woman identified as Katherine Agayar]
16 — [mother and two children, all in fur-trimmed printed parkas, standing outside log cabin; at AFN 2013, location identified as Old Akulurak, mother identified as Agnes Paukan and standing girl as Esther Paukan Tyson]
17 — [two Alaska Native women posed outside log cabin in winter. Cf. .12, .15. At AFN 2015, woman at left identified as Katherine Agayar]
18 — [same three children as in .14 posed with dog]
19 — [man hugging two small girls in printed parkas outside building; at AFN 2013, identified as Fred Alstrom in front of Alstrom Trading Co. in Alakanuk, girls identified as Alice (left) and Anna (right) Alstrom]
20 — [same children and dog as in .14, with two additional children, posed outside log cabin in winter]
21 — [same couple as in .12 posed outside log cabin in winter. At AFN 2015, woman identified as Joseph and Katherine Agayar]
22 — [woman and young child standing outside building; at AFN 2014, location identified as the Mission School at Akulurak; at AFN 2015, woman tentatively identified as Gladys Shunak]
 23 — [floatplane with military insignia tied to river dock]
 24 — [four men posed with construction or mining equipment, naked child walking in background. stamp of Gardner Photo Service dated Jul 1936 on verso]
 25 — [unidentified glacier]
 26 — [unidentified volcano as seen from water, probably Aleutian Islands]
 27 — [man fishing in river, posed with large fish]
 28 — [Santa Claus posed with young boy, sign reading “Yokota Air Base, 1959”]
 29 — [scenic of coastline as seen from water]
 30 — [man driving dog team down road in winter, automobile following. 2 copies]
 31 — [similar to .30, without automobile. 2 copies]
 32 — [United States armed forces unit with color guard in formation in yard of complex]
 33 — [soldiers or peace officers in uniform assembled on field]
 34 — [view down highway in summer]
 35 — [bison grazing in field]
 36 — [man stopped with large dog team in yard, concrete sidewalk in foreground, electrical substation and houses in background, Anchorage?]
 37 — [man wearing uniform and man wearing suit and tie posed outside of log building with sign “Church of Christ,” Anchorage]
 38 — [depot and storage building along railroad tracks, Wasilla? Cf. .42]
 39 — What we have to wear up here in Alaska [two men, possibly same men as in .37, wearing military-issue winter coats, standing next to automobiles]
 40 — [military marching band and color guard on parade in residential area, Anchorage]
 41 — Little Joe Jr. de la Cerda, taken in Alaska, Joe Jr. was born Aug. 23, ’52 [baby posed with milk bottle on grass, house in background]
 42 — [Alaska Railroad depot at Wasilla]
 43 — 1952 [man wearing bib overalls holding salmon and fishing pole, woman fishing along bank in background, possibly same man as in .37, Joe de la Cerda Sr.? 2 copies]
 44 — Anchorage, Alaska, taken June 21, 1953 [same man as in .43, posed with woman and string of large salmon]
 45 — [woman posed in cabbage field]
 46 — [same woman as in .45, posed with man in military uniform and another woman on side of road near lake]
 47 — [automobile parked outside Wasilla Roadhouse Café Liquor Store]
 48 — [men and women at rest area, some holding plates of food, log outhouse at right]
 49 — [scenic of mountains, wooden fence in foreground] F2
 50 — [bird’s eye view of military units on parade, Fourth Avenue, Anchorage, looking east near F Street, passing businesses including Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear, Ship Creek Market, Dr. Hines Optometrist, Reed’s, J. Vic Brown & Sons Jewelers, 515 Club, Rexall Drugs]
 51 — [bird’s eye view of Elks float on parade, men carrying large American flag, Fourth Avenue near F Street, Anchorage]
 52 — [bird’s eye view of military color guard passing reviewing stand set up outside federal building on Fourth Avenue, Anchorage]
 53 — [similar to .52, with larger color guard]
 54 — [spectators on steps of federal building, military heavy gun at left, Fourth Avenue, Anchorage]
 55 — [bird’s eye view of military truck pulling heavy gun past reviewing stand set up outside federal building on Fourth Avenue, truck carrying sign reading “Antiaircraft Artillery Automatic Weapons A 867”]
 56 — [Elks float on parade passing federal building on Fourth Avenue near F Street]
 57 — [similar to .56]
 58 — [bird’s eye view of military color guard and units marching past businesses on Fourth Avenue near F Street, Anchorage]
 59 — [similar to .58]
 60 — [bird’s eye view of policemen on parade on Fourth Avenue in Anchorage, passing businesses including Gitchell Hotel, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers]
 61 — [bird’s eye view of parade on Fourth Avenue, with automobile carrying sign for “Civil Air Patrol Cadet Corps Anchorage Sqdn.”, cadets and color guard following, passing spectators and businesses including Gitchell Hotel, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers]
 62 — [bird’s eye view of military units on parade on Fourth Avenue, passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear]
 63 — [similar to .62]
 64 — [bird’s eye view of construction equipment on parade on Fourth Avenue, passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear]
 65 — [bird’s eye view of military vehicles on parade on Fourth Avenue, passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear]
 66 — [similar to .65]
 67 — [bird’s eye view of automobiles and Civil Air Patrol Cadet Corps on parade on Fourth Avenue, passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear]
 68 — [similar to .65]
 69 — [similar to .65]
 70 — [similar to .62]
 71 — [bird’s eye view of color guard on parade on Fourth Avenue, passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear]
 72 — [bird’s eye view of military marching band on parade on Fourth Avenue, passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear]
 73 — [similar to .62]
 74 — [similar to .62]
 75 — [bird’s eye view of military police on parade on Fourth Avenue, passing businesses including Oyster Loaf, Smart Shop, Anchorage Jewelers, Lee’s Menswear]
 76 — [children riding bicycles in parade passing federal building on Fourth Avenue in Anchorage]
77 — [bird’s eye view of Boy Scouts on parade on Fourth Avenue near F Street, Anchorage] Guide updated: October 26, 2016