REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH
REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org
Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist
TITLE: William M. Svensson Collection
COLLECTION NUMBER: B2008.008
OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION
Dates: 1941-1942
Extent: 2 boxes, 1.5 linear feet
Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.
Name of creator(s): William M. Svensson, Arthur P. Herrman, Paul E. Mehus, Abraham
Vereide, Henry J. Olschewsky, John V. Hendrickson, First Presbyterian Church, Alaska Railroad,
United States Army Corps of Engineers, Herbert A. Hilscher, Schallerer, Thomas Foto Shop,
Charles S. Cann
Administrative/Biographical History:
William M. Svensson was born May 20, 1918, in Aarhus, Denmark, and immigrated with his
family to Seattle, Washington, in 1925. He received his bachelor’s degree in architecture from
the University of Washington in 1941. Shortly after graduating, Svensson traveled to
Anchorage, Alaska, with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers to work on the design of buildings
for Fort Richardson. In 1943, he was commissioned into the U.S. Navy as an ensign and taught
aircraft and ship recognition in Washington, D.C., and El Centro, California. He was discharged
from the Navy as a lieutenant in 1946.
From 1946-1948, Svensson served as a designer with Naramore, Bain, Brady and Johanson in
Seattle; he then served as a designer with Bliss Moore and Associates before establishing his
own architectural consulting business in 1950. He and his wife operated the Palace Hotel, in
the historic Captain H.L. Tibbals Building in Port Townsend, Washington, from 1976-1987.
An accomplished artist, Svensson’s work has been displayed at the Ballard Hospital, the Louise
Matske Gallery in Seattle, Liz’s Loft in Port Townsend, and in San Miguel, Mexico. He also
wrote an award-winning weekly column for the Ballard News Tribune, “Ballard and Beyond,”
from 1991-1993.
Svensson died August 29, 2004, in Puyallup, Washington.
Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of one photograph album and one binder of correspondence,
pamphlets, and ephemera pertaining to Svensson’s stay in Alaska, 1941-1942. Many of the
items relate to First Presbyterian Church in Anchorage, of which Svensson was a member, and
his activities in Christian Endeavor.
Arrangement:
Original order of binder materials maintained. Organization is roughly by format and date.
Loose items from album arranged after binder materials.
CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE
Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.
Physical Access: Original items in good condition.
Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.
Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.
Preferred Citation:
William M. Svensson Collection; Anchorage Museum, B2008.008
ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION
Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Svensson’s daughter Mary Anne Southam in October 2008.
Processing Notes
Clippings photocopied onto archival paper. Photo corners used to affix loose photos in album.
Separated Materials
Five watercolor paintings and two pen-and-pencil spiral-bound sketchbooks transferred to
Collections in June 2011.
RELATED MATERIALS
SUBJECTS
Svensson, William M., 1918-2004
Imus, Alden
Hendrickson, John Valdemar, d. 1945
Vereide, Milton
Nelson, Lewis
Sourdough Express
University of Alaska Museum
Curry Hotel (Curry, Alaska)
Anchorage Hotel (Anchorage Alaska)
Anchorage Westward Hotel (Anchorage, Alaska)
Providence Hospital (Anchorage, Alaska)
Anchorage Ski Club (Anchorage, Alaska)
First Presbyterian Church (Anchorage, Alaska
Presbyterian Church in the U.S.A. Presbytery of Yukon
United States. Army. Corps of Engineers. Engineer Office
Alaska Agricultural Experiment Station. Matanuska Station
World War, 1939-1945
Mines and mineral resources--Alaska
Anchorage (Alaska)
Palmer (Alaska)
Curry (Alaska)
Fairbanks (Alaska)
Chatanika (Alaska)
Seward (Alaska)
Kodiak Island (Alaska)
Portage Glacier (Alaska)
Cook Inlet (Alaska)
Chugach Mountains (Alaska)
McKinley, Mount (Alaska)
Steese Highway (Alaska)
Resurrection Bay (Alaska)
Fort Richardson (Alaska)
Elmendorf Air Force Base (Alaska)
Detailed Description of the Collection
B1/F1
1 – Admission ticket. Matanuska Valley Fair Association. No date
2 – Brochure. “British Columbia Odd Spots and High Spots.” Produced by Home Oil
Distributors, Ltd. Circa 1941. [64] pages
3 - Telephone directory. Anchorage, Alaska. Issued March 1942 by the Public Utilities
Department. [88] pages
B1/F2
Materials originally collected in binder
4 – [Introduction to binder materials, written by Dean and Mary Ann (Svensson)
Southam]. November 20, 2005
Correspondence
5 – Typescript. Arthur P. Herrman to Director of Naval Reserves, July 23, 1941. Letter of
recommendation for William M. Svensson
6 – Typescript. Paul E. Mehus to the Commandant, 13th
/
Naval Reserve District, July 22,
1941. Letter of recommendation for William M. Svensson
7 – Typescript. Abraham Vereide to Director of Naval Reserves, July 21, 1941. Letter of
recommendation for William M. Svensson
8 – Typescript. Henry J. Olschewsky to Commandant, 13th
/
Naval Reserve District, July
22, 1941. Letter of recommendation for William M. Svensson
9 – Typescript. Draft. From W.M. Svensson to his parents, August 2, 1941. Written
while aboard the U.S.S. U.S. Grant, concerning voyage
10 – Typescript. Draft. From W.M. Svensson to his parents, August 4, 1941. Concerning
stopover at Kodiak
11 – Typescript. Draft. From W.M. Svensson to his parents, August 13, 1941.
Concerning first week in Anchorage
12 - Typescript. Draft. From W.M. Svensson to his parents, August 13, 1941.
Concerning first week in Anchorage, housing arrangements
13 - Typescript. Draft. From W.M. Svensson to Office of the District Manager, 11th
/
U.S.
Civil Service District, March 13, 1942. Concerning rating as Engineering Draftsman, U174
14 – Typescript. Draft. From W.M. Svensson to Office of the District Manager, 11th
/
U.S.
Civil Service District, March 13, 1942. Concerning rating as Engineering Draftsman, U174
Ephemera
15 – “Tentative List of Supplies for the Safari” by Valdemar Hendrickson and William
Svensson. No date. Trip to Russian River, Kenai Peninsula
16 – Poem. “Alaska, this is the place.” No date
17 – Menu. “Alaska Railroad, Mt. McKinley Park Route, Curry Hotel, Curry, Alaska.”
March 1, 1942
18 – Menu. “Westward fountain specials.” No date.
19 – Pamphlet. “What are you doing Sunday evening?” First Presbyterian Church. No
date
20 – Circular. The Presbytery of Yukon in Northern Alaska. Worship and meeting
schedule for First Presbyterian Church, Anchorage, typed on verso. No date
21 – Program. First Presbyterian Church, Anchorage, Alaska. No date
22 – Program. Choir Concert, First Presbyterian Church, Anchorage, Alaska. November
17 and 18, 1941. 2 copies
23 – Program. Dedicatory Services, First Presbyterian Church, Anchorage, Alaska.
November 23, 1941
24 – Program. “The Christ Child,” presented by Anchorage Presbyterian Choir.
December 21, 1941
25 – Program. Concert by the Presbyterian Choir. March 20, 1942. 2 copies
26 – Bulletin. Contains “Announcements” on recto and “Statement of General Church
Funds” on verso. March 26, 1942
27 – Program. The Seven Last Words of Christ. Presbyterian Choir. Easter Sunday 1942.
28 – Same as .27
29 – Program. First Presbyterian Church. June 14, 1942
30 - Program. First Presbyterian Church. July 5, 1942
31 - Program. First Presbyterian Church. July 26, 1942. 2 copies
32 – Program. Midnight Mass, All Saints’ Mission, Anchorage, Alaska. No date
33 – Bulletin. “Announcements.” No date
B1/F3
Clippings
34 – “Music Lovers Acclaim Choir” and “To Begin Drill on Cantata.” No date
35 – “Chaplain McBride to Speak Sunday.” No date
36 – “’Christ Child’ to be Heard Morning, Evening.” No date
37 – “Local Churches Plan Special Services for Easter, Offer Cantata, Sunrise Worship.”
Anchorage Daily Times. No date
38 – “Minstrel Show Replete with Talent ‘Wows’ Huge Audience.” No date
39 – “Cabby Loses Street, Urges Liberal Markers.” Anchorage Daily Times. April 13,
1942
40 – “Golf Course No Place to Tarry.” Anchorage Daily Times. April 21, 1942
41 – “How Seattle Sees Us Through the Times.” Anchorage Daily Times. May 23, 1942
42 – “’I Take Alaska’ Says F. Hurd.” Circa December 1941
43 – “What We Think of Us.” Anchorage Daily Times. No date
44 – “If You Want a Job, Take Your Choice.” No date
45 – “’Peggy’ Jumped Into Soldiers’ Spotlight in San Benito and She’s Never Been Out
of it Since.” April 8, 1942
46 – “Rescue Pair of Soldiers from Ice Cake.” No date
47 – “Man Bites Thumb Off Woman.” No date
B1/F4
Military documents
48 – Brochure. “Mt. McKinley tops them all: U.S. Army recreation camp, Alaska.” July
30, 1943. [32] pages
49 – Gathering of six documents pertaining to purchase of Defense Savings Bonds by
Payroll Reservation. April-May, 1942
50 – War Department, United States Engineer Office, Anchorage, Alaska, Area Office
Memorandum No. 31-1942. Gas masks. June 3, 1942
51 – Memorandum to all employees, U.S. Engineer Area Office. Concerning emergency
planning and preparedness. June 4, 1942
52 – Headquarters Ninth Corps Area, Office of the Commanding General, Fort Douglas,
Utah. Restriction of Vacation Leave for Civilian Employees. June 11, 1942
53 – United States Engineer Office, Anchorage, Alaska. Evacuation of office in case of
air raid. July 9, 1942
54 - War Department, United States Engineer Office, Anchorage, Alaska. Concerning
delivery of newspaper. August 19, 1942
55 – Headquarters Fort Richardson, Office of the Commanding Officer, Fort
Richardson, Alaska. Safeguarding military information. August 29, 1942
56 - War Department, U.S. Engineer Office, Anchorage, Alaska, Area Office
Memorandum No. 67-1942. Use of cameras by civilians. September 1, 1942
B1/F5
Clippings
57 - “Life on the Newsfronts of the World.” [Life?] No date
58 – “She Ought to be a General.” Herbert A. Hilscher. Alaska Life. April 1942. 59 –
“Trip to Anchorage Impresses Young Lady from Yakima No End, She Tells All, Then Some.”
Anchorage Daily Times. November 14, 1941
60 – “1500 Are Dead in Honolulu.” Anchorage Daily Times. December 8, 1941
61 – “Hong Kong Resistance Holds, Japanese Admit Tough Fight.” Anchorage Daily
Times. December 20, 1941
62 – “U.S. Troops Meet Japanese.” Anchorage Daily Times. December 10, 1941
63 – “British Press Wants Fighting in West.” Fairbanks Daily News-Miner. September
18, 1941
64 – “World’s First Army Station is Approved.” Anchorage Daily Times. August 1, 1942
B1/F6
Loose items from album
Ephemera
65 – Christmas card. Photographic print of black-and-white pencil sketch by W.M.
Svensson. [1942]; same as image .343
66 – Program. Memorial service for John V. Hendrickson. June 3, 1945
67 – Bookplate. Ex libris John Valdemar Hendrickson
Photographic prints
68 – [Cabins on water, mountain in distance]
69 – [City buildings, water, skyline in distance; Seattle?]
70 – [Still life with Alaska magazine and alcohol bottles; same image as .171]
71 – [William Svensson and unidentified male on bicycles outside convenience store;
Palmer?]
72 - [William Svensson and unidentified male posed near woods]
73 – [William Svensson seated with water and buildings in distance]
74 – Most of the C.E. bunch on our last trip [Group portrait with Violet, Alden Imus,
and William Svensson identified; Lake Hood?]
75 – This was at a Y.P. institute up the Valley last month [William Svensson leads choral
practice, lake in background]
76 – Lt. Alden Imus & bride, 1945
77 – Lewis Nelson in L.A.
Negatives
78 – [Church group playing game, possibly in church building; same image as. 322]
79 – [Ice skaters on pond; Westchester Lagoon?]
80 – [William Svensson ice skating on pond; Westchester Lagoon? Same image as .165]
81 – [Group playing cards; same image as .176]
82 – [Hockey players on pond; Westchester Lagoon? Same image as .166]
83 – [Group having winter cookout]
84 – [Male skier making a jump]
85 – [Male figure; faded]
86 – [Group having winter cookout]
87 – [Five cross-country skiers on hillside; same image as .311]
88 – [Two male and one female skier on hillside; female has arm patch “Anchorage,
Alaska” and waist pouch labeled “Ski Patrol”; same image as .308]
B2
Photographic album
89 – [Title leaf with sketch] “18 Months in Alaska, August 1941 to December 1942”
90 – [Sketch, map of Alaska and Western Canada, with location of Tokyo]
91 – [William Svensson, posed crying over pamphlet on Seattle]
92 – [Unidentified man with camera]
93 – [Unidentified man with skies]
94 – [Unidentified man; identified as Charles Baker Abbott by Gretchen Bersch in 2015]
95 – [Unidentified man with dog, same man as .94; identified as Charles Baker Abbott
by Gretchen Bersch in 2015]
96 – [Sketch, map of southcentral and interior Alaska with route of Alaska Railroad]
97 – [Reproduction of check for Alaska territory purchase]
98 – [Photographic postcard] Four Generations Eskimos, Compliments of Kaye’s Furs-
Curios-Gifts, Fairbanks, Alaska 20667
99 – [Photographic postcard] Howard Weyahok 20665
100 – [Photographic postcard] King Island Eskimo-Carver, Compliments of Kaye’s Furs-
Curios-Gifts, Fairbanks, Alaska
101 – [Photographic postcard] The Alaska Musher
102 – [Photographic postcard] S.S. Aleutian in Alaska, c. Schallerers S-434
103 - [Photographic postcard] A Tough Winter Trip, Alaska, c. Schallerers S-127
104 - [Photographic postcard] Alaska Winter Scene, c. Schallerers S-416
105 - [Photographic postcard] The Longest Totem in Alaska – Mud Bight near
Ketchikan, c. Schallerers S-481
106 – [Photographic postcard] “Nicholas,” Patron of Purgatory
107 – First Landfall – Kodiak Island at Sunset [panoramic composed of six 1.5 x 2 inch
prints]
108 – [Photographic postcard] Kodiak, Alaska; labeled by Svensson: Kodiak – wettest
spot in the hemisphere – alcoholically, if not meteorologically speaking
109 – [View of coast and water from deck of ship; passengers on deck]
[Photo labeled “Kodiak Main Street” missing]
110 – USS U.S. Grant in Resurrection Bay [view of shore from ship]
111 – Stateroom chums [two men]
112 – Resurrection Bay “Foothills” [view of mountains, pier, railroad track; probably
taken from train]
113 – [William Svensson taking photo of himself and unidentified man in mirror]
114 – Seward [Two men on sidewalk outside Seward Beer & Wine Parlor]
115 – [Three men posing as hitchhikers, on station platform? Mountains in distance]
116 – [Group of passengers on station platform next to Alaska Railroad train; hills in
distance]
117 – [Seward? Buildings on unpaved street, parked automobiles, male pedestrian]
118 – “Belle of the Boat” – the Colonel’s daughter [group of men with female, possibly
on station platform]
119 – Just Another Glacier [view of glacier, probably taken from train]
120 – Portage Glacier, From Train
121 – [Photographic postcard] The Alaska R.R.; labeled by Svensson: The “Loop
District”
122 – Alaska R.R. Songfest [two 1.5 x 2 inch prints together showing six people in train
car]
123 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Panoramic composed of three 1.5 x 2 inch prints, with
labels “Living Room,” “Outdoor Bathroom,” and “Airport”]
124 – They Move Out, “Draft Dodgers, Inc.” Take Over [Elmendorf Air Field? Four men
standing next to truck, two women and dog in bed of truck]
125 – To Work – 1 3/4 Miles of Dust [Elmendorf Air Field? Two men walking along dirt
road, airplane, buildings, telegraph poles]
126 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Three men outside tent, one preparing to shave]
127 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Four men standing outside tent, with tripod-mounted
camera; Left to right: Ken, John Hendrickson, George, William Svensson holding camera]
128 – “Kenai Jim” [Elmendorf Air Field? man shaving]
129 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Three men with girl and boy, single-story wooden
structures in background]
130 – [puppy]
131 – 5/6 of “Draft Dodgers, Inc.”: “Klondyke Ken,” “Big John” [Hendrickson], “Tundra
Bill” [Svensson], “Skagway Arnold,” “Tin Can George” [Elmendorf Air Field? five men standing
outside tent]
132 – [Pamphlet] Season’s Greetings from Alaska, Anchorage 1941 [4 pages]
133 – [Photographic postcard] City Building, Anchorage, Alaska, Thomas Foto Shop
[labeled by Svensson: “Town & Chugach Mts. from Federal Bldg.”]
134 – Anchorage Main St. – “4th
/
Ave.” [Looking east down paved street, buildings,
automobiles, pedestrians, Chugach Mountains in distance, Columbia Lumber Company of
Alaska, Inlet Hotel]
135 – Anchorage Hotel
136 – Vlad & Winter Str. Scene [4th
/
Avenue looking east; pedestrians, automobiles,
Piggly Wiggly, White Spot Liquor Store, hardware store]
137 – [William Svensson, seated at desk with Anchorage Daily News edition headline
“Japanese Stymied...”]
138 – [Unidentified man in kitchen area opening can of Norpac Bartlett pears]
139 – [Milton Vereide and unidentified man in kitchen area]
140 – [William Svensson in kitchen area opening food can]
141 – [William Svensson in kitchen area opening food can]
142 – [William Svensson drawing bow, arrows set in ground at feet]
143 – [Unidentified man drawing bow, arrows set in ground behind him]
144 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Unidentified man asleep at drafting table]
145 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Men at desks in white-walled room]
146 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Sign for Engineering Division Entrance; icicles hanging from
eaves]
147 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Group of eight men standing outside wooden building]
148 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Three men at drafting tables]
149 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Men at drafting tables]
150 – [Elmendorf Air Field? John Hendrickson? and unidentified man at drafting table]
151 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Unidentified man and William Svensson at wall board]
152 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Two unidentified men at drafting table]
153 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Two unidentified men at drafting tables]
154 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Man kneeling on drafting table, two men at tables in
background]
155 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Four men at drafting tables, man in white shirt and tie
possibly William Svensson]
156 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Men at drafting tables]
157 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Unidentified man seated at desk]
158 – [Elmendorf Air Field? John Hendrickson? standing at drafting table]
159 – [Man and two women standing in trench]
160 – [Four people standing in trench as others look on; two-story wooden building in
background; Presbyterian Church in Palmer?]
161 – WCTU – Come Quick! [near corner of 4th
/
Avenue and C Street, looking east to
Chugach Mountains, Lucky-Shot Café, Sourdough Cocktail Bar, liquor store, Owl Cocktail Bar,
Schodde’s, The Canteen Café & Bar]
162 – No more “Frisco Café & Bar” – one down, a heck of a lot to go! [view of Frisco
Café lot on 4th
/
Avenue after fire]
163 – Ford Tri-Motor on Municipal Golf Course [two men on bicycles looking at
airplane parked on grass, buildings and Chugach Mountains in distance]
164 – Lake Spenard – 4 mi. from Town [four unidentified men with floatplane]
165 – [William Svensson ice skating on pond, Westchester Lagoon? Sam image as .80;
print added later by Mary Ann Southam]
166 – [Hockey players on frozen pond, Westchester Lagoon? Sam image as .82; print
added later by Mary Ann Southam]
167 – [Winter scene, log cabin with boats and supplies outside, mountains in distance;
same image as .276]
168 – Milt Vereide, “Col.” [Alden] Imus at airport Easter Sunday [two men in uniform
next to airplanes]
169 – W.M.S. & Dream Girl [Svensson leaning on airplane rotor]
170 – Changeover to skis [four men working on airplane, one in military dress, with
dog]
171 – [Still life with Alaska magazine and alcohol bottles; same image as .70]
172 – [Three carvings, whale, figure with pointed head, and possible totem]
173 – [Two couples at a party]
174 – [Couples dancing at a party]
175 – [Couple at a party; woman is holding an LP]
176 – [Group of men playing cards; same image as .81]
177 – [Red ribbon, “Anchorage Skating Club 1942-43”]
178 – [William Svensson, right, and two unidentified males wearing hats, smoking]
179 – The “Gruesome Twosome” [two unidentified males sitting on bunk bed]
180 – [William Svensson with camera, left, and unidentified male]
181 – [Three unidentified males sitting on bed, drinking]
182 – [William Svensson in hat, with cigar]
183 – [Unidentified male wearing coat and fur hat, posing with gas mask]
184 – [William Svensson and unidentified male from .183, posed in front of a wall map
of Alaska]
185 – [William Svensson at typewriter]
186 – [William Svensson smoking cigar]
187 – [William Svensson posed in front of a wall map of Alaska]
188 – [Two unidentified men standing next to truck, puppy sitting on running board]
189 – [Puppy tied to wooden building, unidentified male with package walking by]
190 – [William Svensson getting a haircut from an unidentified male]
191 – [William Svensson giving haircut to unidentified male]
192 – [Unidentified male with puppy]
193 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Three men standing in snow, two in military dress,
buildings and mountains in distance]
194 – [Two unidentified men laying on boardwalk, drinking; possibly Charles Baker
Abbott at left]
195 – [William Svensson taking photograph of himself and two unidentified men in
mirror; possibly Charles Baker Abbott at center]
196 – [Unidentified male posed in leather jacket, aviator’s cap and goggles]
197 – [Unidentified male posed reading Sunset magazine in bed, gas mask suspended
from small table above; possibly Charles Baker Abbott]
198 – [Milton Vereide on bicycle, water and log cabin in background]
199 – [Two unidentified men posed as if throwing something, woods in background;
possibly Charles Baker Abbott at right]
200 – [Pedestrians on sidewalk, old automobile at curb, probably 4th
/
Avenue,
Sourdough Cocktail Bar, liquor store, Owl Cocktail Bar, Schodde’s]
201 – [View of Knik Arm of Cook Inlet, possibly from Government Hill, pier, buildings]
202 – [Boat “Sea Sled” at dry dock, hand-painted sign “Oscar Gill has authority”]
203 – [Boats at dry dock, probably Ship Creek, water tower, building, mountains in
distance]
204 – Canadian Planes at Sunset [floatplanes? and boats on Cook Inlet, wooden trestle
in foreground]
205 – Cook Inlet at Sunset
206 – Chugach Range – East of Anchorage
207 – Chugach Range – East of Anchorage
208 – [Icebergs near shore of Cook Inlet, Mt. Susitna in distance]
209 – [Ship Creek? pier, Cook Inlet in distance]
210 – [Ice frost on trees, man in distance]
211 – [Ice frost on trees, man crouched on snow, building and mountains in
background]
212 – [Ship Creek? ice accumulation on bridge piers, mountains in distance]
213 – Cook Inlet Ice Floes
214 – Taylor, “Snuffy,” & Providence Hospital [L Street and 9th
/
Avenue]
215 – [Morning sun through steam, trees]
216 – [Two unidentified men bending down to put on skis; ski jump and Chugach
Mountains in background; possibly Charles Baker Abbott at left]
217 – [William Svensson and Milton Vereide on bicycles near creek, Chugach
Mountains in background]
218 – Svensson & Another Big Government Exec. [William Svensson on left with
unidentified man, standing next to Lavery Airways airplane]
219 – West & North of Anchorage [view out of airplane window, over wing]
220 – [View of airplane cockpit, taken from passenger seat]
221 – [Aerial view of mountains from airplane window, number on wing NC15165;
Stinson A Tri-Motor?]
222 – [View of cockpit door, passenger seating area in airplane]
223 – [Aerial view of terrain from airplane window]
224 – [Aerial view of water from airplane window]
225 – [Aerial view of river valley from airplane window]
226 – [Aerial view of mountains from airplane window, number NC15165 on wing]
227 – [Aerial view of Mt. McKinley and river valley from airplane window]
228 – [Aerial view of Mt. McKinley from airplane window, number NC15165 on wing]
229 – [Photographic postcard] S-441 Mt. McKinley and Ruth Glacier, Alaska, Schallerers
230 – [Aerial view of Mt. McKinley from airplane window]
231 – [Aerial view of river valley from airplane window]
232 – Fairbanks – “Golden Heart” of Alaska [Aerial view of city]
233 – [Aerial view of river valley from airplane window]
234 – [View of river with city in distance]
235 – [Airplane behind PAA sign, globe for Pacific Alaska Airways; Fairbanks airport?]
236 – [Photographic postcard] First Locomotive Brought to Tanana Valley, Cann
[Fairbanks, Alaska Railroad Depot]
237 – [Photographic postcard] Chena River Bridge at Depot, Fairbanks, Alaska, Cann
238 – Fairbanks Main Street [Fairbanks Variety Store, Lillian’s Beauty Salon, California
Bar, automobiles, bridge, church]
239 – Chena River [floatplane, Northern Commercial Co., Nevada Bar, Model Café,
bridge]
240 – Fairbanks – Forest of Radio Aerials [view of city from high point, Gordon’s,
mountains in distance]
241 – Baby Walrus [stuffed walruses in University of Alaska, Fairbanks museum]
242 – Baby Seals [stuffed seals in University of Alaska, Fairbanks museum]
243 – Billie Marston & Johnny Amundsen [with stuffed white moose at University of
Alaska, Fairbanks museum
244 – Gold dredge
245 – Sluicing nozzle
246 – [William Svensson outdoors with camera on tripod]
247 – [Billie Marston and William Svensson, posed reading map while standing next to
automobile, Chatanika]
248 – [Billie Marston and William Svensson, posed hitchhiking next to the road sign for
Circle, 134]
249 – Chatanika Main Drag [Billie Marston and William Svensson, standing on unpaved
road, Billie leaning on small table]
250 – [Steese Highway?]
251 – [Billie Marston and William Svensson, looking out over hilly terrain]
252 – [Mine tailings?]
253 – [Billie Marston standing next to automobile, hydraulic mine operation in
distance]
254 – [Stripped down vehicle, drying rack, homestead along Steese Highway?]
255 – [Unidentified man standing on boardwalk, unpaved road and wooden house in
background]
256 – [Fairbanks, Northern Commercial Co. smokestacks, Chena River]
257 – [Husky dog standing at fence]
258 – [Out-of-service Sourdough Express railcar, two boys playing, concrete mixer]
259 – [Log cabin homestead, Steese Highway?]
260 – [Log cabin homestead, Steese Highway?]
261 – [Log cabin homestead, Steese Highway?]
262 – [Milton Vereide? and William Svensson, right, posed with bicycle outside Russian
River Rendezvous roadhouse]
263 – [Unidentified man, sitting and sketching river valley and mountains, Kenai
Peninsula]
264 – [Unidentified man sitting outside log cabin, with second cabin in background,
river on right; Kenai River?]
265 – [Log cabin with antlers mounted over doorway, mountains in background]
266 – [Boy on porch of log cabin next to river, mountains in distance; Kenai River?]
267 – [Antlers on ground, bicycle]
268 – [Young boy fishing off pier, seated]
269a – [Young boy fishing off pier, standing, boat in foreground, mountains and trees
in background, Kenai River?]
269b – [Kenai Lake? View of water and mountains from gravel road, bicycle]
270 – [William Svensson and unidentified man on bicycles, stopped near trees on dirt
road]
271 – [William Svensson and unidentified man on bicycles, riding past four-story
wooden building; Anchorage]
272 – [William Svensson riding bicycle into large puddle on dirt road]
273 – [Winter scene, road curving down to frozen lake, man on bicycle near building at
base of hill, mountains in distance]
274 – [William Svensson, right, and unidentified man sitting and eating on log pile]
275 – [William Svensson and unidentified man standing with bicycles outside of
Mountainview Store; two men near entrance to building marked “Husky,” one holding broom]
276 – [Winter scene, log cabin with boats and supplies outside, mountains in distance;
same image as .167]
277 – [Man in military uniform standing on boardwalk in front of Mountainview Store,
standing water on street]
278 – [View of water with small treed island]
279 – [View of mountains, log cabin obscured by brush]
280 – [Milton Vereide? standing on bank overlooking broad river valley, mountains in
distance]
281 – [Man rowing into shore in small rowboat on large lake, man and group of
children looking on, mountains in distance]
282 – [Still life, Reader’s Digest magazine with root vegetables; Agricultural Experiment
Station at Matanuska?]
283 – [Agricultural Experiment Station at Matanuska? man in suit and hat feeding
cows]
284 – [Agricultural Experiment Station at Matanuska? boy and girl feeding goats in
pen]
285 – [Agricultural Experiment Station at Matanuska? man in suit and hat standing
next to tractor in field]
286 – [Agricultural Experiment Station at Matanuska? man standing next to
sunflowers, barn and silos in background]
287 – [Milton Vereide and William Svensson sitting on stoop outside store eating,
bicycles parked nearby]
288 – [Palmer? William Svensson standing on boardwalk next to building with sign for
“C.C. Brix, Lawyer,” bicycle parked nearby]
289 – [Man standing on boardwalk beneath Budweiser sign, sign for Ron Da Voo Café
visible, automobiles parked along boardwalk, mountains in distance]
290 – [Palmer School, with mountains in distance]
291 – [Homestead near Palmer? Log cabin, hay stacks, cows grazing, wire fencing in
foreground and mountains in distance; same image as .346]
292 – [Milton Vereide on bicycle next to gravel road, Cook Inlet in distance?]
293 – [Milton Vereide, sweater wrapped around head, holding a fishing pole]
294 – [William Svensson posed with fishing pole next to creek]
295 – [Milton Vereide sitting on bus with bicycle in aisle next to him]
296 – [Milton Vereide and William Svensson sitting on boardwalk outside store]
297 – [Milton Vereide talking with three men, one on motorcycle, on gravel road]
298 – [Anchorage Ski Club members standing and sitting in a railway train box car,
socializing on a ski train trip to Curry, Alaska. Skis and poles are visible in the background. One
member is playing a saxophone, another is holding a guitar, and others appear to be singing.
Same photo as UAA-hmc-0055-series6-28]
299 – [Cross-country skiers in field, low hills in distance; may be Curry]
300 – [Group sitting on carpet playing game]
301 – [View of Curry Hotel from hill, pedestrians crossing suspension bridge over
Susitna River]
302 – [Two men inspecting grille of bus stopped on snow-covered road, another
automobile waits behind; probably Anchorage Ski Club trip, possibly to Trail Glacier]
303 – [Anchorage Ski Club members preparing to ski; possibly Hatcher Pass]
304 – [Anchorage Ski Club members unloading gear from rear of automobile and
putting on skis, wooden building in background]
305 – [Unidentified man on skis bending down to tree branches covered by snow]
306 – [William Svensson on skis, posed on hillside above valley; may be Trail Glacier or
Grandview, Alaska]
307 – [Milton Vereide and two unidentified men standing outside of stores, eating,
open car door at right of image]
308 – [Two male and one female skier on hillside; female has arm patch “Anchorage,
Alaska” and waist pouch labeled “Ski Patrol”; same image as .87]
309 – [Anchorage Ski Club members putting on skis, standing next to one automobile
and two buses]
310 – [William Svensson, right, and unidentified man, possibly Charles Baker Abbott,
skiing]
311 – [Five cross-country skiers on hillside; same image as .87]
312 – [Male and female skiing]
313 – [Unidentified man on skis, petting dog; possibly Charles Baker Abbott]
314 – [Unidentified man holding ski poles]
315 – [Unidentified man]
316 – [Unidentified man holding camera]
317 – 1942 Ski Trip out of Anchorage [winter scene, view of river valley and mountains;
same image as .344]
[Prints of .88, .84, .87, added by Mary Ann Southam]
318 – [Steeple, First Presbyterian Church, Anchorage]
319 – [Group of men, most in military dress, standing outside doorway of First
Presbyterian Church, Anchorage; sign for church leaning against wall, sign on wall reads
“Young People Attend Christian Endeavor Here”]
320 – [First Presbyterian Church, Anchorage, view of exterior from across street]
321 – [Group of men and women dancing, streamers hung from ceiling; First
Presbyterian Church?]
322 – [Church group playing game, possibly in church building; same image as .78]
323 – [Alden Imus at keyboard, outdoors]
324 – [Man and woman standing at outdoor brick oven or grill, white picket fence and
buildings in background]
325 – [Group of men seated on benches around campfire, eating, serving table on
right, floatplane on lake behind; Lake Spenard?]
326 – [Group of men and women standing in hall, some watching a blindfolded woman
crouching down to the floor; may be First Presbyterian Church]
327 – [William Svensson, right, with unidentified man and woman, standing outside
three-story wooden building with covered ramp leading to second story; Kennecott?]
328a – [William Svensson in foreground, women and men in civilian and military
clothing standing next to log shelter in background, with sign reading “No Dogs Allowed in
These Waters,” floatplane behind shelter; Lake Spenard?]
[Print of image .74]
328b – [Group portrait of men and women, most men in military uniform, Alden Imus
on right; Lake Spenard?]
329 – [Group of men seated and standing at picnic table, William Svensson taking a
paper bag from a cardboard box, lake in background
330 – [Yukon Presbytery men and women standing in line, lake in background; William
Svensson in rear, near bushes]
[Prints of images .75, .83, and .86]
331 – [Unidentified church, mountains in background; Matanuska Valley?]
332 – [Palmer Community Church]
333 – [Unidentified man standing next to sign reading “Notice, Do Not Pick Up
Nuggets, one foot propped on empty wooden cable spool]
334 – [Unidentified woman standing on uprooted tree roots]
335 – [Milton Vereide, seated at table in restaurant]
336 – [Milton Vereide, standing in river with fishing pole]
337 – [Milton Vereide with unidentified woman, both standing on boardwalk with
buildings, bicycles, and other people in background]
338 – [Elmendorf Air Field? Alden Imus standing next to sign for Post Engineer Property
Yard]
339 – [Man digging hole with pickaxe, man with shovel stands at right and man in
military dress stands at left]
340 – [Winter scene, wooden buildings and Quonset huts in valley, mountains in
distance]
341 – [Alden Imus? at left holding three cameras, Milton Vereide on right?]
342 – [Reproduction of original sketch by William Svensson, Christmas greetings 1941]
343 – [Reproduction of original sketch by William Svensson, Christmas greetings 1942;
same as .65]
344 – [Winter scene, river valley and mountains; same image as .317]
345 – [Winter scene, log cabin]
346 – [Homestead near Palmer? Log cabin, hay stacks, cows grazing, wire fencing in
foreground and mountains in distance; same image as .291]
Guide updated: May 26, 2016