REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Tisdel White Mountain Government School Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2002.011

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1919-1929

Extent: 1 box; 0.2 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): U.B., I.N.

Administrative/Biographical History:
White Mountain was established on the site of the Inupiat fish camp called Nutchirviq. The
town grew after an influx of prospectors during the gold rush of 1900. A government-
subsidized orphanage was built at White Mountain, and was converted to an industrial school
in 1926. A post office was opened in 1932. The city government was incorporated in 1969.1

Nothing was known about the creator of the album at the time of processing. Based on the
image captions, it is likely that the creator was a teacher at the White Mountain school who
traveled up the Inside Passage to reach Alaska. Several images are signed with the initials
“U.B.” or “J.B.,” and one with the surname “Burlingame.”



1 State of Alaska, Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development. Community Database
Online, as accessed on January 22, 2018.
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/dcra/DCRAExternal/community/Details/03fd2a7b-c694-478a-be3d-
31ac75dd444f

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 258 black-and-white photographs and three photomechanical prints
mounted on album pages. The images primarily depict students and activities at the
government school in White Mountain. For more information, see Detailed Description of
Collection.

Arrangement: Not applicable


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in fair to good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Tisdel White Mountain Government School Collection; Anchorage Museum, B2002.011

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Fred and Carol Tisdel in June 2002.

Processing Note
Pages removed from album, possibly at time of donation.


SUBJECTS
Education—Alaska
Teachers—Alaska
Dogsledding
White Mountain (Alaska)
Council (Alaska)
Bettles (Alaska)
Golovin (Alaska)

Nome (Alaska)
Mary’s Igloo (Alaska)
Hooper Bay (Alaska)
Saint Michael (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
 1 — Snow ball [sled dog in harness, chained to wooden tie]
 2 — Pat’s team and sled – bluff [dog team at rest on trail, sled in foreground]
 3 — Team leaving White Mt. [dog team waiting outside log building]
 4 — Team starting to Council [dog team stopped on trail next to frozen water]
 5 — Tom [dog portrait]
 6 — Mail team in from Golovin [dog team stopped on trail, village buildings in background]
 7 — Native team [dog team stopped on trail next to frozen water]
 8 — Me [white man with mustache wearing fur parka posed outdoors, log building in background]
 9 — “Her” [white woman wearing fur parka posed outdoors, log building in background]
 10 — Crossing Soloman River in kyak [two Alaska Native men in Yupik style kayaks on Solomon River. Cf. .100]
 11 — Pat and me [white man and dog posed on summer tundra]
 12 — Pfaffle store at Council. Mr. B., Mr. Johnson, Mr. Oliver [?], Mrs. B., Mr. Pfaffle [five people posed in front of Pfaffle & Co. General Merchandise. Placed in album after image .13]
 13 — Miss French and Pat [white woman holding dog, posed next to building]
 14 — Mrs. Rydeen [woman posed outdoors, possibly wearing nurse’s uniform]
 15 — Martha Wagner [young girl posed on sidewalk, not Alaska]
 16 — Taken from air at Beetles AAA [aerial view of Bettles]
 17 — Mrs. B. + M. on bridge S.S. Victoria [two people standing on ship deck]
 18 — Launching water craft at Fairbanks [three men using bulldozer to maneuver boat into Chena River, spectators lining bridge above]
 19 — Fishing boat near Petersburg AAA [ship under way]
 20 — Beetles AAA from airplane [aerial of Bettles]
 21 — Inside Passage near Wrangal Narrows [boat under way]
 22 — Tug “Sawtooth” [man piloting tugboat]
 23 — Govt. launch “Successor” [riverboat on bank]
 24 — Myself crossing Reindeer Slough at breakup [blurry image of man in small craft on water]
 25 — Native in Kyack at Solomon AAA [Alaska Native man using paddle in Yupik style kayak, ice in water]
 26 — Marking reindeer at Golovin [men branding reindeer next to corral]
 27 — Reindeer in corral [herd in pen]
 28 — Launching gov. boat “Sampan” [men standing next to boat on log rollers]
 29 — Govt. freight arriving White Mt. [barges in river and at riverbank, lumber and other supplies piled on shore]
 30 — Billy Roe’s wagon, Nome [wagon wheels in yard between buildings. Cf. .241]
 31 — New school bldg. White Mt. [building under construction]
 32 — Andrew hauling lumber from beach [man driving tractor pulling cart loaded with lumber past building in summer, four men riding in cart]
 33 — Mr. B. + Boys hauling wood [man driving tractor pulling sled loaded with timber in winter, men riding in wagon. Cf. .139, .215]
 34 — Breakup on Fish River [view down river, with ice chunks along shoreline]
 35 — Fred Walker team [musher and dog team on winter trail, passengers in basket]
 36 — Walker’s team [same image as .35]
 37 — Pat [dog standing next to kennel]
 38 — Pat [dog portrait. Original image blurry]
 39 — Tom (1/4 wolf) [dog standing next to small fir tree]
 40 — Me and my beard [white man wearing fur parka and knit cap posed outdoors, log building in background]
 41 — Tony [Alaska Native boy wearing bib overalls and work gloves]
 42 — Quills [Alaska Native boy posed outdoors. Center of image overexposed]
 43 — Fresh fish [white man with mosquito netting on head holding fish in both hands]
 44 — Peter [Alaska Native boy posed outdoors, house in background]
 45 — Daniel + Clara Ptarmigan [Alaska Native boy and young girl standing outdoors]
 46 — “Jeems” + Frank Oksoktarak [Alaska Native man holding book standing with boy next to log building]
 47 — Dewey [Alaska Native boy standing next to fuel wood pile in winter, building in background]
 48 — School house, Igloo, AAA [distant view of school building in winter]
 49 — Cold storage meat barge, Igloo, AAA [barge iced in in winter]
 50 — Ruth Smith’s baby at Igloo AAA 3 pictures taken in Jan. (note darkness this time of year) [Alaska Native woman holding infant outdoors in winter]
 51 — First group dormitory children [large group of students posed on steps of building in winter]
 52 — Ethel Smith [Alaska Native woman carrying infant, posed next to building]
 53 — Helen Egelik [Alaska Native girl wearing fur parka posed on frozen river in winter, buildings on low bluff at right]
 54 — Mary Lincoln [Alaska Native woman wearing eyeglasses and carrying infant posed in front of log house in winter, child at left, photographer’s shadow in foreground]
 55 — Ruth Kowchee [Alaska Native girl wearing fur parka posed on frozen river in winter, buildings on low bluff at right]
 56 — Walker children [two Alaska Native children posed outdoors in winter. Original image blurry]
 57 — Walker children (Esquimaux and Russian) [Alaska Native children wearing fur parkas posed on frozen river in winter, buildings on low bluff at right]
 58 — Maggie Kowchee [Alaska Native woman posed next to window with glass panes in bark- covered plank building]
 59 — Village st. White Mt. [view down row of houses in winter, people standing in middle ground]
 60 — British Columbia waters [scenic]
 61 — Inside Passage [scenic]
 62 — Petersburg Alaska [view of village from water. Center of image overexposed]
 63 — Inside Passage [scenic]
 64 — Group, Native school. White Mt. [large group of students posed next to building in winter]
 65 — Reuben Sapook [Alaska Native man wearing bib overalls posed outdoors, building in background]
 66 — Wash house boiler + pump [interior of building]
 67 — Students painting govt. bldgs. [distant view of people on ladders against two-story building]
 68 — Construction of govt. bldgs. [building under construction]
 69 — Construction govt. bldgs. [building under construction]
 70 — Looking west main st., Nome AAA [winter street scene]
 71 — Miss Colby – Mrs. Leibold [two women posed with two dogs in kennel]
 72 — Mrs. Ball, Mrs. Birling and, Mrs. Barnhouse [three white women standing outside government building, people in steps in background, large triangle for calling students hanging from porch eave]
 73 — Mr. and Mrs. Markham [white man and white woman wearing fur parka posed outdoors, river in background]
 74 — Rollyn J. Ball [white man posed outdoors, river in background]
 75 — Big Jim Eguk [Alaska Native man in Yupik style kayak, holding paddle. Cf. .108]
 76 — Same [double exposure of children jumping up and down on seesaw]
 77 — Eskimo football [distant view of group of people on frozen river. Cf. .152]
 78 — White Mt. AAA [dogs and freight sleds on beach, boats pulled up next to buildings in background]
 79 — Picnic on White Mt. [distant view of group of people on hillside]
 80 — From river looking up [distant view of two women standing next to fence along bluff]
 81 — Tom – “The Missionary” [Alaska Native boy standing outdoors holding pan and bucket, people painting government building at right]
 82 — Harley Kanyak [Alaska Native man wearing cardigan sweater posed next to building]
 83 — Phillip, Mollie Dexter’s boy [Alaska Native boy posed next to building. Phillip Dexter was born in 1925]
 84 — Sam Riley [Alaska Native man cleaning fish at table on beach, drying racks at right]
 85 — Sam drying fish for food [distant view of drying racks on beach, two men working at table]
 86 — Our dog team [dog team stopped on winter trail]
 87 — Mrs. B. in distance ??? [village view, with building under construction at right, bell on frame in center, woman sitting on log in middle ground. Center of image overexposed]
 88 — Spring has come. Water running [boats including Successor tossed up on riverbank, one with broken hull, buildings in background. Center of image overexposed]
 89 — 8th. Grade girls 1929 [group portrait. Center of image overexposed]
 90 — 8th. Grade boys 1929 [group portrait. Center of image overexposed]
 91 — Village group school children [students posed next to school building. Center of image overexposed]
 92 — Tug “Ensee” St. Michael AAA [boat under way]
 93 — Going fishing [large group of people on beach next to riverboat. Center of image overexposed]
 94 — His “mule”[?] “Billy” Oliver + his R.R. [men standing around handcar on narrow gauge railroad next to building. Center of image overexposed]
 95 — “Successor” at anchor [riverboat in river]
 96 — This group 3 yrs. at govt. school White Mt. [three men and two women posed next to building. Center of image overexposed]
 97 — Ship at sea. N. Pacific Ocean [distant view of ship under way]
 98 — Walker team leaving for spring camp [distant view of dog team on frozen river, village buildings in background]
 99 — Blindman house [exterior of dwelling, dog lying in snow at right]
 100 — [two Alaska Native men in Yupik style kayaks on Solomon River. Same image as .10]
 101 — Fred Walker’s, Igloo [exterior of house in winter]
 102 — Mr.Harrson + Raugi [?] [two men and dog getting into riverboat from beach]
 103 — Sam Riley, work on school [basement?] [distant view of man holding shovel standing on cleared ground]
 104 — Fred Walker [man wearing fur parka standing in doorway. Original image blurry]
 105 — Village Council [four Alaska Native men posed outside building, child standing at left]
 106 — Big Jim [Alaska Native man posed next to window with glass panes in bark-covered plank building]
 107 — Rt. Rev. Frank Oksoktarak [Alaska Native man holding book posed next to building]
 108 — Big Jim in kyak [Alaska Native man in Yupik style kayak, holding paddle. Same image as .75]
 109 — Peter Kowchee [Alaska Native man sitting next to building, crate from Carnation Milk in right background]
 110 — Mr. “Sweetie” Komoyuk [Alaska Native woman posed outdoors in winter, building in background, possibly Irene Kamayak? Cf. .126]
 111 — Typical Eskimo squaws [two Alaska Native women posed next to building]
 112 — Mukchoik [?] [Alaska Native woman posed next to dwelling]
 113 — Igloo Mary [Alaska Native woman wearing fur parka posed next to building in winter, possibly the Mary after whom Mary’s Igloo was named]
 114 — Squaw + papoose [studio portrait of Alaska Native woman carrying infant. Possibly Lomen Bros. photographers]
 115 — Rose Riley [portrait of Alaska Native woman wearing print parka with fur ruff]
 116 — Balooga (native food) [two beluga whale carcasses on tundra]
 117 — White Mountain Alaska. UB [students posed next to school building, one looking out window above]
 118 — Hauling wood at White Mt. [four men with wagon loaded with timber]
 119 — Inside Passage [scenic]
 120 — 1929 8th grade U.S. govt. school [students posed next to school building]
 121 — School house burning night of Apr. 1, 1928. UB [building fire]
 122 — Overlooking Fish River. U.S. govt. building construction in foreground [building under construction]
 123 — Catholic Church, King Island, Alaska [image underexposed]
 124 — Yacoff Itsooenuk [Alaska Native man standing outdoors in winter, Yacoff Itsoonuk]
 125 — Oksrook [Alaska Native man standing outdoors in winter, buildings of White Mountain on low bluff at right]
 126 — Komoyuk and Oksrook [Alaska Native woman and man posed next to house, laundry hanging on clothesline at left. Cf. .110]
 127 — Village boys at school [seven boys posed on frozen river]
 128 — Native child [infant sitting on boardwalk or porch]
 129 — Fisher women [two Alaska Native women paddling large riverboat]
 130 — Village school children [three men and three women posed next to building in summer]
 131 — School children [three women and two men posed on steps of building in winter. Cf. .134]
 132 — Edward, Mathew, Morris, Johnie [four Alaska Native boys wearing matching wool parkas posed outdoors]
 133 — Village children in new parkies [six Alaska Native girls wearing fur parkas posed on frozen river]
 134 — School children White Mt. [three women and two men posed on steps of building in winter. Same group as in .131]
 135 — Jeems [Alaska Native boy using stilts next to school building. Cf. .46]
 136 — Summer camp of reindeer herder [group of Alaska Natives sitting and standing next to piles of supplies on beach, driftwood in foreground, building and communications tower in background]
 137 — Edwin [?]guk and lead dog [man and dog next to log building in winter, Edwin Pungak?]
 138 — His Eminence Rt. Rev. Aksook Tunak [?] [Alaska Native man wearing torn parka cover posed outdoors]
 139 — Hauling fuel for govt. school White Mt. [man driving tractor pulling sled loaded with timber in winter, men riding in wagon. Cf. .33]
 140 — Arron Mukpeadeluk [Alaska Native boy posed next to log building. Aaron Mukpaedaluk was born in 1920]
 141 — [Alaska Native boy wearing fur parka posed outdoors in winter, man wearing sunglasses in background right, dog in background left.]
 142 — Carrie Cohen, Mrs. Undeen, Mrs. Mc. [three women posed outdoors in winter, Selma Undem?]
 143 — Midnight June 21 looking north from White Mt. [boats on riverbank in dim light]
 144 — New house [exterior of house in winter with porch under construction]
 145 — 10 minutes for lunch [white man sitting on plank at building construction site, eating out of a large bowl]
 146 — [musher and dog team on frozen river. Image badly faded]
 147 — Govt. launch “Husky” [distant view of boat anchored off beach]
148 — First group of native children received at govt. school at White Mountain, after 3 months [large group of students posed next to school building]
 149 — Edwin Punguk house [Alaska Native man standing next to house in winter, laundry on clothesline at right, Edwin Pungak?]
 150 — Village school children White Mt. [thirteen children posed on frozen river. Cf. .127 and .133]
 151 — Abloogalook [Alaska Native man sitting outdoors]
 152 — Native football [distant view of group of people on frozen river. Cf. .77]
 153 — Natives leaving over the ice for spring camp [man and woman leading dog team pulling boat and sled over ice, White Mountain buildings in background]
 154 — Native children White Mt. [two young Alaska Native children standing outdoors next to open window, two infants being held up in window, another young child looking out]
 155 — Eva Jimooruk (Hair-lipped child. Surgical aid rendered in Seattle) [young Alaska Native child wearing fur parka posed next to log building. Eva Jermuruk born in 1924. Center of image overexposed]
 156 — Ptarmigan [musher kicking freight sled as dog team pulls on frozen river, buildings at right]
 157 — Joe and John [two Alaska Native men holding musical instruments posed next to building]
 158 — [Alaska Native woman and man, both wearing fur parkas, posed next to house in winter]
 159 — School children White Mt. [large group of students posed next to school building in spring]
 160 — U.S. govt. school building from across Fish River [distant view of White Mountain]
 161 — Girls gymnasium class, White Mt. U.S. govt. school [large group of girls wearing uniforms performing calisthenics in classroom, projection screen and piano in background]
 162 — Mrs. B., Buster, Mrs. M. + myself. U.B. 1927 [two women, man, and boy sitting on porch holding puppy dogs, crate from Borden Milk at left]
 163 — Break-up, Fish River. J[?] Burlingame, 1927 [close-up of ice on river]
 164 — Mr. Trigg (cook for two years govt. school White Mt.) [white man with mustache posed outdoors in winter, wearing coat over apron, building in background]
 165 — Mr. Burlingame in winter garb [white man wearing fur parka and holding rifle, posed in forest clearing]
 166 — Koohach[?] igloo [semi-subterranean dwelling]
 167 — Group half breed children at dormitory [group of students posed next to building in spring]
 168 — Group of boarding pupils White Mt. school. U.B., Oct. 14, ’28 [large group of students posed on steps of school building]
 169 — Mrs. Mc. + Mrs. B. Starting out for dog team ride [woman leading dog team along frozen river, woman in basket, White Mountain buildings at right]
 170 — Breakup 1928 [ice chunks along riverbank, damaged drying racks in background, ladder on ground in foreground]
 171 — Mrs. Burlingame in winter garb [white woman wearing fur parka and holding rifle, posed in forest clearing]
 172 — Russian garden, Dutch Harbor, Aleutian Islands, N. Pacific [cultivated fields, fence in middle ground, mountains in background]
 173 — Teller, Alaska, “ghost of bygone days” [sun low on horizon, buildings silhouetted in background, ice chunks in water in foreground]
174 — School children + teacher, Little Diomede Island [bird’s eye view of Alaska Native students saluting the American flag]
 175 — Walker’s team at a distance [distant view of musher and team on frozen river]
 176 — Budi with Pat + Pat [two people and two dogs on tundra]
 177 — Reindeer fair, Noatak AAA 1919 [distant view of herders with teams of reindeer pulling sleds]
 178 — Reuben + Fred [two Alaska Native men posed next to log building in winter]
 179 — Tug “Genevieve” at Nome [Genevieve in stormy weather in background, passengers on deck of lightering boat in foreground]
 180 — Kasson dog train. Team that brought diphtheria serum into Nome. Balto in lead [dog team on street in Nome]
 181 — Dogs [two dogs asleep on porch]
 182 — More dogs [dog and litter of puppies outdoors, building under construction in background]
 183 — Mr. Andrew at Shaktoolik [musher and dog team stopped next to log building, timber shelter in background]
 184 — Mr. Andrew [musher and dog team resting on trail]
 185 — Mr. Andrew [musher and dog team stopped on winter trail through taiga]
 186 — Dec. 25, 1926 [time-lapse photograph of path of sun over water at Christmas. Print cropped with partial loss of image and caption]
 187 — [scenic of water and coastline. Print cropped with partial loss of image and complete loss of caption]
 188 — Sun from 11pm. – 1am. July 1, 1925 / In the land of the midnight sun [time lapse photograph of path of sun over water in summer. Double caption]
 189 — U.S. govt. school employees ashore from U.S. ship Boxer [passengers debarking from lighter boat from fourth U.S.S. Boxer, a training brigantine]
 190 — Native Village Hooper Bay Alaska, kyaks on racks [several Yupik style kayaks on racks on beach, semi-subterranean dwellings in background]
 191 — Native grave, Hooper Bay Alaska [wooden grave above ground, with snowshoes, tea kettle, rifle, atlatl, and other objects]
192 — Isaac Newlin (Native teacher) and his school, Hooper Bay AAA [group portrait of students and teacher posed next to building]
 193 — Tractor mired down [men and young boys working to free tractor from mud on taiga]
 194 — Looking S.E. from graveyard hill [bird’s eye view of White Mountain and river]
 195 — Looking down Fish River from downtown [group of young boys watching men cutting lumber in foreground, tractor at right, buildings in middle ground, river in back]
 196 — Preparing fuel [men piling timber between two buildings for fuel wood. Cf. .232]
 197 — Mr. Burlingame and helpers hauling coal from Golovin across [Golovnin] Bay, a distance of 18 miles across the ice [man driving tractor pulling wagon with sled runners, two men riding on wagon]
 198 — Myself and dog team on way to Golovin with “Tony” my chauffer [musher leading dog team across ice, man using foot to brake sled from basket, wagon or dog team in background]
 199 — White Mountain in winter dress [view of village from across river. Cf. .203, .219, .258]
 200 — S.S. “Derbley” discharging in Golovin road stead [steamship in bay. Original image blurry]
 201 — Golovin [view of village from bay]
 202 — Tug with lighters coming in to Golovin with govt. freight [tug, barge, and boat under way in bay]
 203 — White Mt. in winter [view of White Mountain from across river. Cf. .199]
 204 — 8th. Grade 1929 class ready for a “hike” [group portrait of young men and women in fur parkas posed next to school building]
 205 — Moonlight on the river White Mt. [riverboat and sailboat silhouetted on river]
 206a — [two white women wearing fur parkas and mukluks posed next to pressure ridge on sea ice]
 206b — Mr. Andrews (reindeer supervisor) [musher with dog team stopped on winter trail]
 207 — Arriving at Fairbanks from Golovin Early May [Wien Alaska Airways Hamilton H-45 airplane tail number NC10002 at airstrip, Rodebaugh Airplane Transportation hangar and airplanes in background]
 208 — 1 st 8th grade class [two young men and two young women wearing fur parkas posed outdoors]
 209 — Miss Ferges (govt. nurse) [white woman wearing fur parka posed in doorway]
 210 — Receiving govt. freight [man standing on barge looking over piles of supplies, including crates of Mazola oil and Engine Distillate fuel]
 211 — White Mt. gov. buildings in summer [village waterfront as seen from river]
 212 — Mary [Punakoonuk?] [Alaska Native woman posed with fir trees]
 213 — [composite image of man wearing fur parka superimposed on image of palm trees]
214 — [two monkeys on chains sitting on railing around building in winter]
 215 — Wood hauling for govt. use [man riding tractor pulling sled loaded with timber, two men riding sled. Cf. .33, .139]
 216 — Govt. school spring camp (upper Fish River) [group posed in front of tent in winter, some holding snowshoes, dog in front]
 217 — Herd of reindeer in corral [reindeer in pen]
 218 — [white man posed on frozen river, White Mountain in background, two children wearing parkas standing next to him]
 219 — [view of White Mountain in winter as seen from frozen river. Print mounted upside- down. Cf. .199, .203]
 220 — Construction [workers posed atop scaffolding on government building at White Mountain]
 221 — Govt. construction [workers on scaffolding on building at White Mountain. Print cropped with loss of original caption]
 222 — Along beach near Bluff, Aaa. [scenic of Daniels Creek emptying into Norton Sound]
 223 — 10/11/26 White Mountain, Aaa. [U.B.?] [distant view of village along river]
 224 — Dormitory White Mt. [building under construction at White Mountain]
 225 — Mr. B. with load of children. I.N. [man driving tractor pulling wagon with group of children]
 226 — Mr. Undes [?] and group Native carpenters working on govt. bldgs. [eight men posed at construction site, White Mountain]
 227 — River scow ready to start [bird’s eye view of two riverboats tied to beach, horse riding on one, timber piled on beach]
 228 — Party at dormitory [group portrait of school children and adults posed indoors]
 229 — [scenic of river with ice chunks. Collotype]
 230 — [man seated in dental chair, two women standing, instruments on table in foreground]
 231 — Wood haulers [man sitting on tractor, seven young men standing next to wagon loaded with timber]
 232 — Sawing wood [men cutting down timber between two buildings for fuel wood. Cf. .196]
 233 — White Mountain (note reflection) [view of village from across river, buildings reflected in water]
 234 — Isaac [Alaska Native man wearing fur parka and using crutch posed outdoors in winter, cross on hill in background, sled at right]
 235 — Whale on wharf at Akutan [whale carcass on dock. Image underexposed]
 236 — Mrs. Mc., Mr. Johnson, Mr. Burlingame, Mr. [Pauls?], Mrs. Burlingame, Mr. Oliver, Buster [two white women and five white men posed outdoors, possibly person lying on ground covered with fur parka, rifle next to body, cloth sack at right]
 237 — Mr. Oliver’s gold dredge on Ophir Creek near Council Aaa. [dredge in pond]
 238 — Site of destroyed school house [foundation of burned building]
 239 — Mr. Burlingame, Mr. Oliver, Mrs. McCallister [two white men and woman posed next to building]
 240 — Native boat (power) with others in tow [riverboat pulling line of other boats on river]
 241 — Billy Roe’s gigantic wagon (one trip yielded $50,000) [wagon wheels in yard between buildings, Nome. Cf. .30]
 242 — Gold dredge, Engineer Creek near Fairbanks [dredge in pond]
 243 — Villagers in front of dormitory [group portrait next to building]
 244 — Native village children [group portrait next to log building]
 245 — Stampede of reindeer [herd of reindeer on low hill]
 246 — 8th grade 1927 [two Alaska Native men and two Alaska Native women posed outdoors]
 247 — Village Sunday school [group portrait next to log building]
 248 — Reuben [Punikoonuk?] with power boat, others in tow [riverboat tying up to beach, passengers in first boat, passengers and dog teams in other boats]
 249 — Reindeer with young fawn [distant view of reindeer on snow]
 250 — Breaking ground for first govt. school building White Mt., myself on tractor, Albert [Andrew?] holding plow, 1925 [distant view of men turning earth on taiga, low timber wall in middle ground. Image damaged in lower right corner]
 251 — Break up Fish River in front White Mt. [ice chunks in river]
 252 — Reindeer herd on winter range [distant view of herd on snow. Original image blurry]
 253 — Reindeer herd in spring of year [distant view of herd on snow, calf in foreground]
 254 — Whale on ways Sept. 24 Akutan AAA [two men standing next to whale carcass. Image underexposed]
 255 — Nome from roadstead [view of town from across water]
 256 — Rance’s house [exterior of house in winter, Nome?]
 257 — White Mt. village [distant view of White Mountain in winter]
 258 — White Mt. buildings [view of White Mountain from frozen river in winter. Cf. .199]
 259 — S.S. “Victoria” in Nome roadstead [steamship in sound]
 260 — 2442. Fort St. Michael Alaska [view down boardwalk past buildings. Letterpress halftone postcard]
 261 — 2405. Company Street, Fort St. Michael, Alaska [view down boardwalk past buildings. Letterpress halftone postcard] Guide written: February 1, 2018