REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Mary Alice Cook, Volunteer; updated by Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: James W. Stuhler Slides

COLLECTION NUMBER: B1997.011

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1966; 1982-1986

Extent: 0.4 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): James W. Stuhler, Arctic Circle Enterprises

Administrative/Biographical History:
James W. Stuhler worked on the Defense Environmental Restoration Account during 1966 and
from 1984 through 1985. The purpose of his work was environmental cleanup of sites in the
Aleutians and at other military sites, including some White Alice sites. Mr. Stuhler worked at
Dutch Harbor with Colt Denfield, a member of the Corps of Engineers and author of Defense of
Dutch Harbor, Alaska, in which many of the images in this collection appear in black and
white. Mr. Denfield worked as historian on the project, while Mr. Stuhler worked as
photographer. For more information, see The Defense of Dutch Harbor, Alaska From Military
Construction to Base Cleanup, by Colt Denfield, 1987, and Dew Line: Distant Early Warning;
The Miracle of America’s First Line of Defense, by Richard Morenus, 1957.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 806 35mm color slides. The first series (.1-432) depicts cleanup of
sites at Caines Head (Kenai Peninsula), Cold Bay, Dutch Harbor, Kaktovik, Kodiak, Nome, and
Yakutat. The second series (.433-806) contains personal photographs taken by Stuhler,
including images of Ketchikan, Anchorage, Palmer, Fairbanks, and Valdez, as well as various
aircraft. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged by location.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: A slide viewer may be needed to view the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
James W. Stuhler Slides, Anchorage Museum, B1997.011

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information:
Donated February 25, 1997 by James W. Stuhler. Addendum containing 768 slides transferred
from Archives and Special Collections at University of Alaska Anchorage in March 2014.
Duplicates deaccessioned; 374 slides retained.

RELATED MATERIALS
William Zeddies, Sr., Slides, B2011.009

SUBJECTS
Stuhler, James W.
United States Dept. of Defense – Environmental aspects
Alaska State Fair, Inc.
Iditarod (Race)
Fur Rendezvous (Anchorage, Alaska)
Armed Forces – Environmental aspects – Alaska
Hazardous waste site remediation – Alaska
Hazardous wastes – Cleaning – Alaska
Military bases – Environmental aspects – Alaska
Aircraft – Alaska
Military aircraft — Alaska
Fairs – Alaska
Agricultural exhibitions – Alaska
Kenai Peninsula (Alaska)
Ketchikan (Alaska)
Cold Bay (Alaska)

Dutch Harbor (Alaska)
Kaktovik (Alaska)
Kodiak (Alaska)
Nome (Alaska)
Yakutat (Alaska)
Totem Bight State Historical Park (Alaska)
Anchorage (Alaska)
Palmer (Alaska)
Wasilla (Alaska)
Fairbanks (Alaska)
Valdez (Alaska)
Trans-Alaska Pipeline (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

F1 – Caines Head, 1966
 01 — [Military artifact on gravel path.]
 02 — [Remains of wooden structure.]
 03 — [Metal canister on ground.]
 04 — [Three-man survey crew on wooded trail.]
 05 — [Remains of building foundation.]
 06 — [Remains of wooden structure.]
 07 — [View of water and mountains from ruins.]
 08 — [Boarded-up wooden structure.]
 09 — [Weathered wooden platform.] F2 – Cold Bay, 1985
 10 — [DEW line radar site.]
 11 — [Barbed-wire fence.]
 12 — [Partially-collapsed wooden building; water in background.]
 13 — [Collapsed wood and metal building.]
 14 — [Muddy gravel road.]
 15 — [Airplane wings on ground.]
 16 — [Large piece of twisted metal debris on ground.]
 17 — [Interior of weathered wooden building.]
 18 — [Partially-collapsed wooden building; water in background.]
 19 — [Remains of Quonset hut.]
 20 — [Panoramic shot of tundra.]
 21 — [Wooden building with stone chimney; wooden picnic tables.]
 22 — [Large metal storage tanks and pieces of metal debris.]
 23 — [DEW line radar site and wooden building with tin roof, separated by river.]
 24 — [Roof of Quonset hut; mountains in background.]
 25 — [Partially-collapsed remains of Quonset hut; roofs of Quonset huts; roof of wooden building.]
 26 — [Partially-collapsed Quonset hut and debris; river in background.]
 27 — [Pile of wooden and metal debris; large metal cylinder with open door on end.]
 28 — [Weathered wooden Quonset hut with tin roof; river in background.]
 29 — [Collapsed wooden and metal building; standing building and second collapsed building in background.]
 30 — [Interior of wooden building; floorboards missing.]
 31 — [Close-up of exterior corner of log building.]
 32 — [Aerial view of partially-collapsed wooded building.]
 33 — [Remains of two collapsed wooden buildings and one standing wooden building; gravel road in foreground.]
 34 — [Panoramic view of snowy tundra; equipment visible on right.]
 35 — [Metal and wooden Quonset hut church; cross on top; utility pole in background.]
 36 — [Tundra with river and mountains in background.]
 37 — [View of collapsed Quonset hut from window of wooden building.]
 38 — [View of tundra from collapsed Quonset hut.]
 39 — [Panoramic view of tundra with red flowers and dirt road on right.]
 40 — [Collapsed wooden buildings and Quonset hut.]
 41 — [Wide-angle view of wooden buildings, collapsed and standing.]
 42 — [DEW line radar site; round building with white dome.]
 43 — [Pile of wooden and metal debris; large metal cylinder with open door on end.]
 44 — [Panoramic view of tundra.]
 45 — [Panoramic view of tundra and gravel road.]
 46 — [Collapsed building debris; river in background.]
 47 — [Close-up of buildings and tower at DEW line site; truck in background.]
 48 — [Panoramic view of tundra.]
 49 — [Collapsed building in foreground; wooden building and collapsed building in background.]
 50 — [Collapsed wooden building; collapsed Quonset hut.]
 51 — [Wood and metal Quonset hut with No Trespassing sign.]
 52 — [Ruins of dock in small pond.]
 53 — [DEW line site domed buildings.]
 54 — [Sign on DEW line building: “Welcome Cold Bay, Alaska 714 th ACW SQD.”]
 55 — [Square structure on tundra; river in background.]
 56 — [Partially-collapsed Quonset huts with debris.] F3 – Dutch Harbor, 1985
 57 — [Interior of Naval Station Brig, minus cell doors.]
 58 — [Sea-life painting; interior of CPO Club lounge; basement of Naval Radio Station, building 621.]
 59 — [Interior of wooden building.]
 60 — [Interior of building, with cooking ovens and shelves.]
 61 — [Buildings and Quonset huts.]
 62 — [Large concrete building and smaller wooden buildings.]
 63 — [Bunker built into hillside near body of water.]
 64 — [Panoramic aerial view of Dutch Harbor.]
 65 — [Ruined wooden buildings.]
 66 — [Ruined wooden buildings.]
 67 — [Interior of ruined building.]
 68 — [Closeup of interior of wooden building.]
 69 — [Quonset huts in the mountains.]
 70 — [Scattered buildings; Quonset hut, mountains.]
 71 — [Quonset hut, road, mountains, harbor.]
 72 — [Ruined buildings; Quonset huts.]
 73 — [Ruined buildings, wooden steps.]
 74 — [Ruined building with standing brick chimney.]
 75 — [Quonset huts.]
 76 — [Quonset huts; building and tower debris.]
 77 — [Quonset hut.]
 78 — [Weathered wooden building.]
 79 — [Interior of building, possibly kitchen.]
 80 — [ALSEC (Alaska Security Command) logo on terrazzo floor.]
 81 — [Interior of building with ovens and shelves, possibly kitchen.]
 82 — [Weathered wooden barracks building.]
 83 — [Interior of ALSEC (Alaska Security Command); logo visible on floor.]
 84 — [Group of weathered wooden barracks buildings.]
 85 — [Weathered wooden buildings.]
 86 — [Weathered wooden buildings.]
 87 — [Large, multi-gabled, red brick building; Naval Radio Station?]
 88 — [Buildings, storage tanks, and water tower.]
 89 — [Mast with cables attached.]
 90 — [Unalaska; Eastern Orthodox Church with other buildings.]
 91 — [Eastern Orthodox Church; buildings; Quonset Hut.]
 92 — [Mountains and spit in water.]
 93 — [Gun mount.]
 94 — [Wooden building.]
 95 — [Aerial view of docks, buildings, and boats.]
 96 — [Mountaintop with water in background.]
 97 — [Aerial view of ruined wooden buildings and Quonset hut.]
 98 — [Building and Quonset hut ruins.]
 99 — [Aerial view.]
 100 — [Aerial view.]
 101 — [Aerial view of ruined buildings and Quonset hut.]
 102 — [Ruined interior of Quonset hut, with large, porcelain sinks; latrine?]
 103 — [Ruined interior of Quonset hut, with large porcelain sink; latrine?]
 104 — [Ruined buildings.]
 105 — [Concrete bunker on bluff overlooking water.]
 106 — [Ruined buildings and Quonset hut.]
 107 — [Quonset hut.]
 108 — [View from interior of building, through round doorway.]
 109 — [View of water looking down from cliff.]
 110 — [View from interior of concrete building, looking through window in top.]
 111 — [Interior of concrete building; metal ladder rungs on wall.]
 112 — [Panoramic view of barracks buildings.]
 113 — [Weathered wooden barracks building.]
 114 — [Panoramic aerial view.]
 115 — [Unidentified building.]
 116 — [Panoramic aerial view; tower in foreground.]
 117 — [Aerial view.]
 118 — [View of dock from building ruins.]
 119 — [Wooden buildings and Quonset hut.]
 120 — [Wooden buildings and Quonset huts.]
 121 — [Water tower and storage tanks.]
 122 — [Ruins of wooden and metal building.]
 123 — [Aerial view.]
 124 — [Aerial view.]
 125 — [Aerial view.]
 126 — [Large porcelain sink in ruined Quonset hut; latrine?]
 127 — [Buildings built into mountainsides.]
 128 — [Rounded, concrete-block wall.]
 129 — [Aerial view of spit; Ballyhoo?]
 130 — [Round gun mount.]
 131 — [Aerial view.]
 132 — [Aerial view.]
 133 — [Collapsed building and Quonset hut.]
 134 — [Wooden building and Quonset hut.]
 135 — [Interior of building with large porcelain sink; latrine?]
 136 — [Wooden building.]
 137 — [Wooden building and Quonset hut.]
 138 — [Rocky cliff overlooking water.]
 139 — [Round concrete platform; gun mount?]
 140 — [Subterranean wooden building.]
 141 — [Large wooden wall.]
 142 — [Aerial view.]
 143 — [Rounded, concrete-block wall.]
 144 — [Wooden buildings.]
 145 — [Large weathered wooden timbers; boat?]
 146 — [Wooden structures built into hillside.]
 147 — [Aerial view.]
 148 — [Aerial view.]
 149 — [Aerial view.]
 150 — [Interior of building.]
 151 — [Closeup of large, gabled, red-brick building; Naval Radio Station?]
 152 — [Interior of building, possibly kitchen.]
 153 — [Interior of building; debris.]
 154 — [Exterior of weathered gray wooden building.]
 155 — [Interior of building, possibly kitchen.]
 156 — [Panoramic view; pipe protruding from ground.]
 157 — [Pipe protruding from ground.]
 158 — [Interior of building; opening in floor.]
 159 — [Interior of Fort Mears theatre building 716; Navy show stage.]
 160 — [Interior of ruined building.]
 161 — [Panoramic view.]
 162 — [Exterior of Fort Mears Radio Station and theatre, building 716.]
 163 — [Aircraft hangars.]
 164 — [Ruins of flagpole in front of fire station at Naval Station.]
 165 — [Interior with metal piping.]
 166 — [Gun mount?]
 167 — [Rusting metal equipment.]
 168 — [Interior of building with lockers.]
 169 — [Panoramic view of Fort Mears site.]
 170 — [Sea life painting; interior of CPO Club lounge; basement of Naval Radio Station, building 621.]
 171 — [Interior of Fort Mears theatre building?]
 172 — [Sea life painting; interior of CPO Club lounge; basement of Naval Radio Station, building 621.]
 173 — [Interior of Naval Station brig.]
 174 — [Interior of kitchen?]
 175 — [Interior of Marine barracks.]
 176 — [Panoramic view.]
 177 — [Interior of CPO Club; basement of Naval Radio Station.]
 178 — [Exterior of barracks building?]
 179 — [Interior of building.]
 180 — [Exterior of buildings.]
 181 — [Exterior of buildings.]
 182 — [Exterior of Naval Radio Station.]
 183 — [Exterior of U.S. Coast and Geodetic, Aerology cottages.]
 184 — [Fire watch station in Defense Housing area.]
 185 — [Interior of kitchen?]
 186 — [Fire station buildings in Defense Housing area.]
 187 — [Dutch Harbor Power Plant.]
 188 — [Utility poles and wires. Radio antennae field?]
 189 — [Fire watch station in Defense Housing area.]
 190 — [Close-up of brick structure; Naval Radio Station?]
 191 — [Radio antennae field?]
 192 — [Orthodox Christian cemetery.]
 193 — [Quonset hut.]
 194 — [Exterior of lookout structure?]
 195 — [Interior of lookout structure?]
 196 — [Quonset huts.]
 197 — [Quonset huts.]
 198 — [Quonset huts.]
 199 — [Panoramic view.]
 200 — [Rusted truck.]
 201 — [ Rusted truck and barrels.]
 202 — [Exterior of collapsed building.]
 203 — [Quonset hut.]
 204 — [Exterior of collapsed building.]
 205 — [Quonset hut and Quonset hut frame.]
 206 — [“World War II in the Aleutians” monument.]
 207 — [Fort Schwatka barracks.]
 208 — [Naval Air Station hangars.]
 209 — [Quonset hut.]
 210 — [Exterior of buildings.]
 211 — [Exterior of collapsed building.]
 212 — [Water tower and unidentified buildings.]
 213 — [Building on top of mountain.]
 214 — [Gun mount.]
 215 — [Quonset hut bunker.]
 216 — [Interior of collapsed building.]
 217 — [Interior of gun emplacement/bunker.]
 218 — [Small buildings on dock.]
 219 — [Buildings and radio antennae field?]
 220 — [Interior of collapsed building.]
 221 — [Aerial, panoramic view of dock/spit.]
 222 — [Aerial view of Dutch Harbor.]
 223 — [Panoramic view of buildings and Quonset hut.]
 224 — [Panoramic view of buildings.]
 225 — [Panoramic view of buildings and Quonset huts.]
 226 — [Water or sewage pipes?]
 227 — [Exterior of collapsed building.]
 228 — [Exterior of collapsed buildings.]
 229 — [Fort Schwatka barracks?]
 230 — [Foundation and chimney of Fort Mears commander’s house on Valley View.]
 231 — [Quonset hut.]
 232 — [Partially ruined building built into hillside.]
 233 — [View of docks.]
 234 — [Water tower.]
 235 — [Panoramic aerial view of Dutch Harbor.]
 236 — [Quonset huts.]
 237 — [Panoramic view of hillside buildings.]
 238 — [Shoreline, docks, water tower.]
 239 — [Shoreline, docks, buildings.]
 240 — [Water main; hydrant?]
 241 — [Hillside buildings.]
 242 — [Water tower; storage tanks.]
 243 — [Gun mount on hilltop.]
 244 — [Close-up of gun mount.]
 245 — [Quonset hut and gun mount.]
 246 — [Ship on bay water.]
 247 — [Exterior of building, chimney, and pipe.]
 248 — [Buildings on hillside.]
 249 — [Ruined building; standing chimney.]
 250 — [Building ruins on hillside.]
 251 — [Site of Ft. Mears?]
 252 — [Hangar? Garage?]
 253 — [Entrance to building.]
 254 — [Aerial view of hilltop, water, building.]
 255 — [Aerial view of docks, buildings, storage tanks.]
 256 — [Door of building.]
 257 — [Dirt road and docks.]
 258 — [Partial wall of building.]
 259 — [Inside airplane cockpit.]
 260 — [Man and woman standing beside airplane.]
 261 — [Mountains, water, buildings, harbors.]
 262 — [Exterior of ruined building; ladder.]
 263 — [Aerial view of harbors, buildings, docks, storage tanks.]
 264 — [Aerial view of mountains, water, islands, harbors.]
 265 — [Aerial view of mountains, islands, roads, harbors.]
 266 — [Aerial view of mountains, islands, roads, harbors.]
 267 — [Site of Ft. Mears?]
 268 — [Barracks buildings?]
 269 — [Aerial view of roads, buildings.]
 270 — [Interior of Marine barracks?]
 271 — [Building ruins.]
 272 — [Ruined beams and bolts.]
 273 — [Bunker and gun mount?]
 274 — [Aerial view of ruined buildings.]
 275 — [Marine railway building.]
 276 — [Closeup of building ruins.]
 277 — [Interior of ruined building.]
 278 — [Aerial view of roads, buildings, harbors.]
 279 — [Rusting ship.]
 280 — [Gun mount.]
 281 — [Interior of Naval Operating Base Officer’s Club.]
 282 — [Ruined buildings.]
 283 — [Woman with camera; building in background.]
 284 — [Observation post on Hill 400; Panama mount for 155mm gun.]
 285 — [Interior of Naval Operating Base Officer’s Club lounge.]
 286 — [Observation post on Hill 400.]
 287 — [Ruined building.]
 288 — [Collapsed Quonset huts.]
 289 — [Ruined building built in hillside.]
 290 — [Buildings.]
 291 — [Harbor; buildings; boats.]
 292 — [Aerial view of road and buildings.]
 293 — [Aerial view of roads, buildings, harbors.]
 294 — [Aerial view of harbors, buildings, roads, storage tanks.]
 295 — [Aerial view of harbors, buildings, roads, storage tanks.]
 296 — [Gun mount.] F4 – Kaktovik, 1985
 297 — [Quonset hut frame.]
 298 — [Aerial view of ship.]
 299 — [Radar dome and communications antennae.]
 300 — [Aerial view.]
 301 — [Communications antenna.]
 302 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 303 — [Storage drums.]
 304 — [DEW site.]
 305 — [Portable buildings.]
 306 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 307 — [Storage tank.]
308 — [Ruined buildings.]
 309 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 310 — [Metal surface with holes.]
 311 — [Rusted equipment.]
 312 — [Rusted metal drums.]
 313 — [DEW site structures.]
 314 — [Rusted metal drums.]
 315 — [Aerial view of ship.]
 316 — [Storage tanks.]
 317 — [Rusted storage drums.]
 318 — [Rusted storage drums on beach.]
 319 — [Dew Line antennae.]
 320 — [Aerial view of ship.]
 321 — [Wooden door.]
 322 — [Ruined buildings.]
 323 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 324 — [Buildings and helicopter.]
 325 — [Quonset hut frame.]
 326 — [Ruined building.]
 327 — [Storage tanks; storage drums.]
 328 — [Communications dishes.]
 329 — [Scaffolding.]
 330 — [Rusting construction equipment.]
 331 — [Storage tank.]
 332 — [Rusting storage drums.]
 333 — [Aerial view of tundra and beach.]
 334 — [Buildings and propeller engine.]
 335 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 336 — [Rusting storage drums on beach.]
 337 — [Ruined buildings.]
 338 — [Remains of ruined building.]
 339 — [Rusting storage drums and tanks.]
 340 — [Storage tanks and buildings.]
 341 — [Rusting storage drums.]
 342 — [Radar dome and communications dish.]
 343 — [Platform of radar dome.]
 344 — [Leffingwell Camp; Alaska state historic marker.]
 345 — [Aerial view of DEW site buildings.]
 346 — [Aerial view of DEW site buildings.]
 347 — [Aerial view of buildings on tundra.]
 348 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 349 — [Storage tanks.]
 350 — [Aerial view of scattered logs.]
 351 — [Storage drum.]
 352 — [Building and platform.]
 353 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 354 — [Buildings, storage tanks, and drums.]
 355 — [Buildings, storage tanks, and drums.]
 356 — [Two men examine wrecked plane.]
 357 — [Storage tanks and drums.]
 358 — [Scaffolding.]
 359 — [Rusting storage drums.]
 360 — [Wooden brace and dowel.]
 361 — [Ruined buildings.]
 362 — [Aerial view of building on tundra.]
 363 — [Ruined building.]
 364 — [Ruined building and storage drums.]
 365 — [Ruined buildings.]
 366 — [Ruined buildings.]
 367 — [Scaffolding.]
 368 — [Buildings and storage tanks.]
 369 — [Building and storage drum.]
 370 — [Storage drums and metal pieces on beach.]
 371 — [Aerial view of DEW site.]
 372 — [Ruined building.]
 373 — [Ruined building.]
 374 — [Collapsed buildings.]
 375 — [Building and crane.]
 376 — [Aerial view of storage tanks.]
 377 — [Wooden sidewalk segment.] F5 – Kodiak, 1984
 378 — [U.S. Coast Guard Boathouse.]
 379 — [Large, two-story building; boarded-up windows.]
 380 — [Concrete storage structure.]
 381 — [Concrete wall near shoreline.]
 382 — [Gray and red building with two towers.]
 383 — [Gray and red building with two bays.]
 384 — [Two small metal huts; sign on one says “585A.”]
 385 — [Sections of metal pipe on rocky beach.]
 386 — [Gray building with boarded-up windows.]
 387 — [Concrete hangar or bunker with graffiti.]
 388 — [Gun mount?]
 389 — [Interior of large boathouse.]
 390 — [Close-up of open end of large pipe.]
 391 — [Unidentifiable rusting metal.]
 392 — [Metal or brick building foundation.]
 393 — [Metal or brick building foundation.]
 394 — [Gun mount and gun.]
 395 — [Gun mount and gun.]
 396 — [Gun mount and gun.]
 397 — [Rusted metal bolt on wooden door.]
 398 — [Rusted metal bolt on wooden door.] F6 – Nome and Yakutat, 1985
 399 — [Large weathered wooden building on tundra.]
 400 — [Section of wooden building wall with door opening.]
 401 — [Buildings and building frames; overturned storage tank.]
 402 — [Rusting truck with yellow and red cab and wooden bed.]
 403 — [Dew site buildings.]
 404 — [Buildings, storage tank, and front loading boat.]
 405 — [Dew site structure.]
 406 — [Large pile of rusted metal drums.]
 407 — [Radio tower with wind sock; stone chimney.]
 408 — [Man stands beside stone chimney with fireplace and set of wooden steps.]
 409 — [Stone chimney with fireplace stands beside open, below-grade building foundation.]
 410 — [Stone chimney with fireplace.]
 411 — [Ruined building.]
 412 — [Derelict railroad car on section of track.]
 413 — [Large weathered L-shaped building with one door and two windows.]
 414 — [Rusted truck with red and yellow cab and wooden bed.]
 415 — [Ruined Quonset huts.]
 416 — [Pile of metal pipe sections.]
 417 — [Five separate walls of buildings stand beside a road.]
 418 — [Gun on wheels; ore buckets; buildings.]
 419 — [Front view of yellow and red truck; sits on railroad tracks.]
 420 — [Interior of truck cab containing rusty chair.]
 421 — [Ruined wooden building and large wooden storage tank.]
 422 — [Group of ruined building walls.]
 423 — [Weathered building with boarded-up large window.]
 424 — [Weathered building with boarded-up large window.]
 425 — [Two large white storage tanks.]
 426 — [Ruins of rusty truck.]
 427 — [Docks and boats tied up on shoreline.]
 428 — [Dilapidated blue wooden building with tin roof.]
 429 — [Two ruined, rusty trucks.]
 430 — [Gun mount and gun.]
 431 — [Two rusty railroad cars.]
 432 — [Gun mount and gun beside wooden picnic table.] Addendum F1 - Totem Bight State Historic Park, Ketchikan, Summer 1981
 433 —475 – [totem poles and clan house at park]
 476 — 39-4 (Ace-160) Totem Bight Park, Ketchikan. Southeast Alaska Set No. 39, Arctic Circle Enterprises F2 – Anchorage Fur Rendezvous, February 1982
 477 —478 – [World Championship Sled Dog Races, team preparing sled basket, dogs tied to dog truck, basket sponsored by Jones Tool Rental and Harry’s Auto Parts, Eagle River]
 479 — [dog team tied to dog truck]
 480 —482 – [musher with bib #5 and dog team next to dog truck]
 483 — [musher with bib #3 and dog team next to dog truck]
 484 — [musher with bib #1 with team and handlers at starting line]
 485 — [handlers at starting line, with KTUU television camera in left foreground, Atlantic Richfield building in background]
 486 — Fur Rondy Dog Races 1982 [handlers at starting line]
 487 — [handlers at starting line, with KTUU television camera and scoreboard in background]
 488 —490 – [musher with bib #15 with team and handlers at starting line]
 491 —493 [musher in fur hat talking with race official]
 494 —495 – [musher with bib #10 with team and handlers at starting line]
 496 — [view of spectators lining Fourth Avenue in front of businesses including Grant’s Fine Jewelry, Stewart’s Photo Shop, Zales Jewelers, Abacus North]
 497 —498 – [musher with bib #2 driving team past spectators on Fourth Avenue]
 499 — [close-up of spectators]
 500 — [musher driving team past spectators on Fourth Avenue]
 501 — [musher with bib #10 driving team past spectators on Fourth Avenue]
 502 —510 – [sled dogs tied to dog trucks]
 511 —512 – [grader preparing snow surface for dog races on Fourth Avenue]
 513 —517 – Fur Rondy Carnival 1982 [spectators and children at snow sculpture contest]
 518 —519 – [wood carving competition]
 520 —526 – [midway rides on Third Avenue]
 527 —.529 – [fur auction] F3 – Anchorage Fur Rendezvous Balloon Race, February 1982
 530 —566 – [spectators and balloons] F4 – Anchorage, 1982-1983
 567 —574 – [aerials of Anchorage, including construction and residential areas]
 575 —586 – [aerials of Lake Hood Seaplane Base]
 587 — [Club 25 and Captain Cook Hotel]
 588 — [street scene with businesses including Howard’s Gun Shop]
 589 — [street scene with houses in foreground, Atwood and ConocoPhilips buildings in background]
 590 —606 – [aerials of Anchorage]
 607 —610 – [aerials of airplanes landing at Lake Hood Seaplane Base]
 611 —613 – [float plane landing and taxiing, probably Lake Hood]
 614 — [small commercial twin-propeller airplane loading cargo at unidentified airport] F5 – Port of Anchorage, Summer 1982
 615 —623 – [aerials of port and dredging operation]
 624 —643 – [aerials of port tanks, and facilities]
 644 —652 – [aerials of docks and facilities on Ship Creek]
 653 —655 – [aerials of Alaska Railroad yards]
 656 — [aerial of Resolution Park]
 657 — [aerial of Alaska Railroad train on tracks along Cook Inlet]
 658 —664 – [aerials of Alaska Railroad yards] F6 – Sears Mall, Anchorage, circa 1982
 665 —669 – [interior of Sears Mall, with businesses including Book Cache, Jeans West, Payless, Sheffields, Carrs] F7 – Iditarod, ceremonial race start, Anchorage, March 1983
 670 —675 – [musher with bib #45 or 46 at starting line]
 676 —678 – [musher with bib #41 at starting line]
 679 — [handlers with dog team at starting line]
 680 —681 – [female musher with bib #43 at starting line, Pam Flowers?]
 682 — [musher with bib #48 with dog team and handlers]
 683 —685 – [musher with bib #42 leaving from starting line]
 686 —687 – [musher with bib #25 bringing dog team to starting line]
 688 — [musher with bib #14 with second rider on runners, man with television camera in basket, near starting line]
 689 —690 – [musher Pam Flowers at starting line]
 691 —693 – [female musher with bib #17 bringing dog team to starting line]
 694 —696 – [musher with bib #44 with dog team and rider at starting line]
 697 —698 – [musher with bib #15 bringing dog team to starting line]
 699 — [female musher with bib #31 at starting line]
 700 — [dog teams, dog trucks, and spectators on Fourth Avenue near Woolworth’s]
 701 — [musher with bib #54 waving to crowd]
 702 — [musher with bib #34 with dog team and handlers at starting line]
 703 —704 – [mushers and teams with handlers at starting line]
 705 — [musher and rider waving to crowd as team pulls away from starting line]
 706 —707 – [close-up of handler]
 708 — [handlers moving dog team up to starting line]
 709 — [bird’s eye view of dog trucks and teams preparing, musher with bib #22 near dog truck in foreground]
 710 —714 – [close-ups of spectators, some with cameras]
 715 —716 – [musher with bib #53 with dog team and rider in front of spectators lined up outside businesses including Downtown Deli, Zales, and Seidenverg & Kay’s, Anchorage Westward Hotel in background]
 717 —720 – [close-ups of mushers]
 721 —722 – [handlers working with dog teams]
 723 —725 – [toddler getting settled into basket of sled at starting line]
 726 —743 – [close-ups of individual dogs and teams in harness] F8 – Palmer and Wasilla, 1986
 744 — [Alaska State Fairgrounds]
 745 — [prize-winning cabbage]
 746 —747 – [fair booths including Win This Airplane, The King’s Gold, The Leather-Fur Renaissance, Wool House, Natural Pantry, House of Fine Linens]
 748 —762 – [outdoor exhibits at the Museum of Alaska Transportation & Industry] F9 – Fairbanks, Winter 1986
 763 —764 – [Welcome to Fairbanks sign and milepost]
 765 —766 – [Chena River bridge]
 767 —768 – [frozen Chena River]
 769 —770 – [Immaculate Conception Church] F10 – Valdez Pipeline Terminal, July 1986
 771 —776 – [aerials of Trans-Alaska Pipeline terminal, with tanks, docks, and cargo ships] F11 – Aircraft, 1982-1983
 777 —779 – [Wien Air Alaska jets on tarmac]
 780 —781 – [Wien Air Alaska airplanes in flight]
 782 — [passengers on tarmac to board Alaska Airlines jet, Anchorage]
 783 — [Alaska Airlines jet at jet bridge, Anchorage]
 784 — [Japan Airlines jet on tarmac]
 785 —787 – [Slafco Super Catalina N9505C]
 788 —790 – [damaged airplane N1438Z under repair in yard]
 791 —792 – [Troy Air airplane gassing up outside Alaska Smokejumpers hangar]
 793 — [aerial view of two USAF airplanes on tarmac]
 794 —798 – [military fighter jets on tarmac]
 799 —800 – [military cargo airplane on tarmac]
 801 —804 – [military airplane and helicopter in flight over Weeks Field]
 805 —806 – [military helicopters on ground at Weeks Field] Guide updated April 7, 2014