REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Rose Austin, Contract scanner, and Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: J.J. Prill Negatives

COLLECTION NUMBER: B1997.003

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1937

Extent: 2 boxes; 0.8 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): S. McVey

Administrative/Biographical History:
Platinum was first discovered in the Goodnews Bay area in 1926. In 1934, the Northland
Development Company began large-scale mining operations there. Ownership was transferred
to the Goodnews Bay Mining Company the following year. In 1937, a Yuba diesel-electric
dredge began operations.

The original film canisters bore the name “S. McVey.” Nothing was known about this individual
at the time of processing. He may have been a resident of Montana before and after his time
in Alaska.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 271 black-and-white 35mm nitrate negatives and some modern
contact prints. Most of the images document mining activities in the Goodnews Bay area,
including dredge construction. There are several images of Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim
100-B airplane N709Y. A handful of images depict construction activities outside of Alaska. For
more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.


Arrangement: Arranged by format.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in fair to good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
J.J. Prill Negatives; Anchorage Museum, B1997.003

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Purchased at auction in Missoula, MT, by Raymond Prill. Donated by J.J. Prill in January 1997.

Processing Note
Some contact prints made in 1997. Some prints carry identifying information written in an
unknown hand. Negatives numbered, scanned, and removed to freezer in 2018. Non-Alaskan
images separated for discard. Some effort was made to recreate rolls of film from separated
strips.


SUBJECTS
Mines and mineral resources—Alaska
Goodnews Bay Mining Company (Goodnews Bay, Alaska)
Goodnews Bay (Alaska : Bay)
Platinum (Alaska)
Bethel (Alaska)
Anchorage (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
1 — [man looking out tent opening, Pearl Oil can in foreground. No print]
2 — [crane and supplies at barge site, water in background. On verso of contact print: Platinum, AK, loading dredge parts on south spit Goodnews Bay for transport to construction site on the Salmon River]
3 — [man reclined on rocky ground, leaning against metal barrel, man standing at left]
4 — [men loading supplies at barge landing, wooden pallet in foreground, crane at left, men standing on piles of supplies in background]
5 — [float plane on water, beach and possible mining equipment in foreground; mountains in distance. On verso of contact print: Goodnews Bay, Alaska, taken from south spit. Goodnews village on shore just above airplane]
6 — [two men reclined inside building; one on cot, one on floor, shelves]
7 — [man standing on platform of Bucyrus Erie drag line excavator, pocket watch on fob visible, building in distance]
8 — [four men on steps outside small building, tarpaper; second structure in background]
9 — [drilling equipment on tundra, small structure at left. On verso of contact print: Platinum, AK, exploration drilling on Squirrel Creek]
10 — [distant view of work camp, road in middle ground, low clouds obscuring hills in distance]
11 — [view of work site on tundra, road in foreground, hills in background]
12 — [man sitting on platform of Bucyrus-Erie 34-B with feet on tracks, water]
13 — [man posing in front of Bucyrus-Erie 34-B shovel]
14 — [men climbing into back of pickup truck]
15 — [four men on steps outside building, tarpaper]
16 — [distant view of bulldozer in excavated work site; buildings in background; hills in distance]
17 — [drag line excavator and bulldozer at work site on tundra]
18 — [continuous track vehicle, bulldozer; excavation, soil, bucket]
19 — [Bucyrus-Erie drag line excavator stripping overburden]
20 — [continuous track vehicle, bulldozer, near stream, building on cart in background. On verso of contact print: Freighting upper Salmon River]
21 — [vehicle tracks left in tundra, antlers. On verso of contact print: Tundra road from Platinum on Goodnews Bay to Squirrel Creek camp, Goodnews Bay Mining Co.]
22 — [moving building using continuous track vehicle, bulldozer; two men, tracks in tundra, Bucyrus-Erie]
23 — [moving building using continuous track vehicle, bulldozer, metal barrels on trailer, men standing next to steam shovel bucket at right]
24 — [Two men stand near railroad cars loaded with supplies and equipment on tundra]
25 — [man standing in tall grass, looking out at ship at sea. On verso of contact print: Lightering equipment and supplies ashore at Goodnews Bay, Alaska]
26 — [six men standing outside walled tent, metal barrel at right, wheels in background]
27 — [ship and barges anchored near beach, far shore in distance]
28 — [crane offloading supplies at barge site, man standing atop container, small structure in center right]
29 — [two men on flatbed trailer on tundra]
30 — [continuous track vehicles, bulldozer, men, steel wheels]
31 — [man in hat smoking cigarette on tundra]
32 — [Roebling blue center spool, continuous track vehicles, bulldozer, supplies, tundra]
33 — [three men, unloading metal barrels from wagon with tracked wheels, building in background. On verso of contact print: Platinum, AK, 1937, dredge parts scattered along the south spit, Goodnews Bay, AK]
34 — [two men standing, smiling, buildings, tundra, supplies]
35 — [man leaning over metal barrels on wagon, possibly adjusting supplies]
36 — [crane lifting material at dredge construction site]
37 — [dredge construction, barrels in foreground, drag line]
38 — [dredge construction, barrels in foreground]
39 — [cranes lifting materials, dredge construction]
40 — [two men posing in front of equipment; one with rifle over shoulder; metal barrels in background]
41 — [two men suspended from crane at dredge construction site]
42 — [dredge construction site, drag line moving equipment. On verso of contact print: Lifting upper tumbler into position (bucket drive)]
43 — [dredge construction site, drag line moving equipment, man on ramp; men atop structure. Similar to .42. No print]
44 — [dredge construction site, cranes at right, bucket in foreground. No print]
45 — [dredge construction site; view from dredge down to drag line]
46 — [man holding camera, standing amid machine parts]
47 — [Construction site; man standing on object suspended by crane]
48 — [dredge construction site. On verso of contact print: Lifting stern gantry]
49 — [dredge construction site, crane at left]
50 — [continuous track vehicle pulling flatbed trailers on tundra, drag line excavator at right]
51 — [dragline excavator digging hole]
52 — [two men standing on beam suspended by crane; hills in distance. No print]
53 — [men standing on beam, suspended by crane]
54 — [steam shovel loading rock into rail car next to cliff, man standing at left]
55 — [two men at cab of heavy equipment, crane or drag line excavator]
56 — [man working atop drag line excavator or crane]
57 — [view down tracks on tundra to buildings, airplane in distance, people in middle ground. On verso of contact print: Platinum, AK, Platinum Roadhouse at air field on south spit of Goodnews Bay]
58 — [buildings, tents, and airplane in distance; tall grasses in foreground, probably Platinum Roadhouse]
59 — [Bucyrus-Erie 34-B on beach]
60 — [Bucyrus-Erie 34-B on beach; man sitting on box on deck of equipment]
61 — [blurry image, circular framing. No print]
62 — [scenic view of valley. On verso of contact print: Upper Platinum Creek in left foreground, Squirrel Creek camp just visible near center of photograph]
63 — [scenic view of valley. On verso of contact print: Fox Gulch (left) and Upper Platinum Creek]
64 — [person on tundra, possibly caribou on horizon in fog]
65 — [caribou on tundra in fog]
66 — [steam shovel on beach; man on platform to left]
67 — [aerial view of buildings at early Squirrel Creek camp]
68 — [similar to .67. On verso of contact print: Early Squirrel Creek camp (Goodnews Bay Mining Co.)]
69 — [distant view of disturbed ground in valley. On verso of contact print: Mining Upper Squirrel Creek]
70 — [distant view of valley with tailings piles] [No prints for .71-99]
71 — [two men wearing hats walking on boardwalk with railings, man in front wearing gloves, buildings in background, water at far left, Bethel?]
72 — [Louis Moncher, Furs & General Mdse, Bethel, building with ladders against wall and on roof; fuel wood at right, chicken wire enclosure in foreground]
73 — [view along shore at breakup, with ice, buildings in distance, Bethel?]
74 — [four men standing on porch outside Bethel Roadhouse]
75 — [scenic taken from ship; hills on coast in distance]
76 — [three men on ship deck holding stringer of fish]
77 — [large building on shore, pier to right, possibly cannery, prominent hill across water in background]
78 — [ship and fishing boats at pier, building at left, possibly cannery]
79 — [two men, one wearing fedora, one wearing a cap, standing on high point above dock, ship, building and dock on pilings. Same location as .78. Original image blurry]
80 — [two men posing on a dirt trail, one wearing fedora, one wearing a cap; brush alongside trail. Same men as in .79]
81 — [man wearing fedora standing on high point above dock, ship, building and dock on pilings. Same location as .78]
82 — [distant view of coastal town; tundra]
83 — [bird’s eye view of coastal town, possibly cannery at left]
84 — [two men on boat: one in cook's apron and cap holding salmon; one wearing driving cap, squatting atop tarp holding rope with fish; tarp covering crate of “No. 1 Alaska grade potatoes, L.B. Garnett Co, Seattle, Wash," shore in background; American flag at right]
85 — [man standing in snow holding rifle next to automobile; open trunk; fence along side of road]
86 — [man aiming rifle while standing in snow, automobile trunk propped open; skis on the ground at left]
87 — [automobiles and people on river beach, piles of lumber or debris, metal barrels, posts or piers in ground; bridge and buildings in distance, possibly Fairbanks?]
88 — [man wearing cap, holding handgun in front of building, possibly hangar from image .90, looks at camera]
89 — [man wearing cap pointing handgun while standing in front of building, possibly hangar from image .90]
90 — [two airplanes in field near hangar]
91 — [view through automobile windshield of pickup truck parked next to two airplanes on the ground; men standing at left]
92 — [man wearing overalls walking in foreground; men walking over railroad tracks in background, probably quarry. Not Alaska?]
93 — [two men at quarry, one carrying a lunchbox; lumber pile in background]
94 — [men wearing hard hats taking a break at quarry, wooden keg on table in midground]
95 — [man walking along rails toward railcar at quarry]
96 — [U.S.E.D. ES-2 steam shovel digging rocks at quarry; men working; railroad cars at left]
97 — [man wearing cap squats with lunch buckets at quarry]
98 — [steam shovel loads large rock onto railroad car at quarry while man stands on other rocks; group of men watch]
99 — [railroad cars “Great Northern” loaded with large rocks at quarry; man standing atop a rock while others stand near steam shovel bucket]
100 — [dredge construction site, crane hook in center foreground]
101 — [dredge construction site; bulldozer, crane, building at center right]
102 — [men at work; drag line lifting materials; men in center left of image. On verso of contact print: Auxiliary power plant (generator) being lifted into place on dredge. Main power generator being assembled under tarp]
103 — [dredge in storm, possibly snow storm?]
104 — [similar to .103]
105 — [two men walking near pickup truck; tall man has hand on head of shorter man who is carrying a rifle and bucket; mining equipment to right. Original image blurry]
106 — [two men standing in front of pickup truck; one lighting cigarette for man with rifle and bucket in his hands and basket on his back; snow on ground]
107 — [man holding rifle and bucket stands in front of truck with driver's door open; snow on ground]
108 — [dredge under construction, bucket line in water of pond]
109 — [airplane parked on snowy landing strip; tire tracks in snow, barrel in foreground. On verso of contact print: Platinum, AK, airstrip on Squirrel Creek]
110 — [two airplanes parked on snowy landing strip; vehicle tracks in snow in foreground]
111 — [dredge in pond. On verso of contact print: Goodnews Bay dredge ready to dig (about Nov. 1, 1937)] [No prints for .112-126]
112 — [steam shovel at rock quarry; neg deteriorated. Not Alaska]
113 — [railroad tracks to rock quarry, men walking, steam shovel, railroad cars; neg deteriorated]
114 — [man operating steam shovel, loading railroad cars at rock quarry as another man looks on; neg deteriorated]
115 — [man operating steam shovel, loading railroad cars at rock quarry as two men look on; neg deteriorated]
116 — [locomotive engine and car on railroad track, pickup truck, rocks; neg deteriorated]
117 — [Harlem-Snake Butte Railroad locomotive on tracks at quarry; pickup truck in background; neg deteriorated]
118 — [three men standing on railroad tracks; rail car, man in cab of steam shovel looks on; rock quarry in background]
119 — [Steam shovel operating at rock quarry; rail car to left]
120 — [men standing next to rail car; rock outcrop in background]
121 — [bird's eye view of railroad tracks, locomotive engine, drag line, rail cars]
122 — [bird's eye view of railroad cars loaded with large rocks, steam shovel, flatbed trailers, men, railroad tracks, quarry]
123 — [man in cardigan sweater standing at car door; house, tree, possibly barn in background]
124 — [two women sit on rear bumper of an automobile; one holding a bottle and wearing a novelty pattern skirt or dress; the other wearing a dress and saddle shoes; interior wall in background, possibly inside a shed with dirt floor]
125 — [two women and two men; women sit on rear bumper of an automobile; one holding a bottle and wearing a novelty pattern skirt or dress; the other wearing a dress and saddle shoes; one man wears aviator goggles on his head and leans against car; one squats next to one woman whose arm is draped over his shoulder; interior wall in background, possibly inside a shed with dirt floor]
126 — [aerial of plains with roads, possibly culvert in center; portion of plane in foreground]
127 — [two women stand behind automobile on side of road; snow on ground; hills and valley in background]
128 — [man wearing new overalls and cap poses in front of steam shovel]
129 — [steam shovel loads dirt into truck]
130 — [man in overalls and cap operates steam shovel, "U.S.E.D. D.15" on side of cab; truck to the right]
131 — [man wearing overalls and billed cap squats at door on deck of excavator, steam shovel]
132 — [two men at work site, one wearing billed cap backward, "U.S.E.D. D.15" on cab of tracked vehicle, powerlines in the distance to the right of image]
133 — [man wearing plaid jacket and fedora walks through grass between a building and possibly an automobile; powerlines in the distance]
134 — [woman wearing dress and overcoat shields her face as she walks through grass from small building, possibly an outhouse? toward an automobile; utility poles in the background]
135 — [view through automobile window, possibly flooding of buildings, trees]
136 — [woman wearing striped hat, short sleeve dress in front of building with closed windows, signs outside]
137 — [Four men possibly assembling something near automobile with open trunk; film that covers portion of image is actually part of the captured image]
138 — [man on bulldozer grading a slope. On verso of contact print: Stripping overburden, Squirrel Creek]
139 — [Three men raise a frame-like assembly off the ground while fourth man leans over to peer at something; one wheel on ground behind men; same men as image .137]
140 — [man wearing sunglasses operates a Caterpillar continuous track vehicle; men in background carry long narrow objects; front of automobile in right midground]
141 — [Man sitting in driver's seat of automobile; buildings in the background; could be same location as image .123]
142 — [Hand in center of image; man sitting on rocks in right midground; man at left; quarry scene]
143 — [similar to .118] [No prints for .144-173]
144 — [similar to .113; steam shovel loading quarried rock; railroad tracks, man walking. Not Alaska]
145 — [train car loaded with rock, engine, utility poles, lines]
146 — [woman stands next to automobile with one foot on running board, leaning against window of open door where a rifle is mounted, possibly looking through a scope; wears pants that button up the back, short sleeved jacket; bottom third of image is double exposed - see image .145]
147 — [woman from image .146 stands looking over her shoulder while next to automobile with gun mounted in window of passenger door]
148 — [locomotive; image taken from inside an automobile]
149 — [woman sitting in passenger seat of automobile]
150 — [ship, possibly high-speed ferry, near pier; boats in the distance]
151 — [ship, possibly conventional ferry, approaching pier; smaller boat in distance]
152 — [ship at pier, possibly logging ship; logs in water, men standing on logs]
153 — [similar to image .152]
154 — [scenic taken from ship, land in the distance]
155 — [similar to image .154]
156 — [three men standing on ship deck, railing, rope, water]
157 — [scenic taken from ship, land in the distance]
158 — [S.S. Latouche, New York; view of deck, crew members, water, rigging]
159 — [S.S. Latouche, New York; man standing on ship deck holding a container]
160 — [view of shore from ship; buildings, trees, birds flying above water]
161 — [view of shore from ship; rope]
162 — [view of land, water from ship; unidentified object in middle left of image is part of negative]
163 — [scenic image; possibly islands in midground; land, water]
164 — [men on ship deck playing instruments, violin, fiddle, possibly guitar; accordion in lower portion of image, box on deck]
165 — [scenic, land, trees, water]
166 — [water, waves, ship rigging]
167 — [rough water, sea]
168 — [ship rigging, rail, water, bird in center of image]
169 — [rough water, seas, ship rail]
170 — [lumber, timbers on ship deck, S.S. Latouche, ship deck, railing]
171 — [four men standing on ship deck wearing hats: possibly newsboy cap, watchcap, fedora; S.S. Latouche, New York]
172 — [lumber, timber on ship deck, chains, plank walkway, ladders, ship rigging, whitecaps, waves]
173 — [view of land across water; possibly ship on horizon]
174 — [men and young man standing at ship rail, one pointing; one leaning; child wearing rolled-down waders, jacket, hood; ladder lashed to rail, rope on deck]
175 — [small boat in water. No print]
176 — [small boat in foreground; ship in middle ground; lightering]
177 — [steamship under way]
178 — [men standing and sitting on ship deck; men walking in background, smoke coming from smoke stack, rope, rigging, ladder]
179 — [view of water from ship deck, rope in foreground, something in water in distance. Original image blurry]
180 — [view of shore and possibly buildings from ship over deck rail]
181 — [men lounging on ship deck, some possibly crewmen, lifebuoy of S.S. Latouche in background]
182 — [view of shoreline, buildings, pier, boats]
183 — [view of shoreline, buildings]
184 — [float plane in flight with ship in foreground]
185 — [bulldozer, track vehicle aboard ship, men standing, preparing to unload]
186 — [men unloading bulldozer from ship at pier. On verso of contact print: Platinum, AK, unloading RD-8 Cat]
187 — [men unloading tracked vehicle from barge using timbers as ramp to ground, water and mountains in distance]
188 — [bulldozer pulling "Goodnews Bay Mining Company" cab on flatbed trailer, water in background, top of crane in foreground] [No prints for .189-201]
189 — [bulldozer pulling "Goodnews Bay Mining Company" cab on flatbed trailer, water in background]
190 — [ship in bay in distance]
191 — [ship in midground; man in fedora at right at ship rail]
192 — [man on pier standing in front of ship, S.S. Latouche]
193 — [view of buildings from ship, possibly cannery, crates of potatoes on deck in foreground. Identified in 2018 by Bob King as Port Moller]
194 — [view of buildings from ship, possibly cannery; deck rail in foreground. Identified in 2018 by Bob King as Port Moller]
195 — [scenic of water and horizon from ship]
196 — [poor quality image; possibly view of coast, post in mud?]
197 — [view from bridge or ship deck of steam pile driver near shore]
198 — [“Jefferson” dredge in water. Not Alaska; Fort Peck]
199 — [man learning on sign on barbed-wire fence]
200 — [man standing near water, possible mine tailings; water in distance]
201 — [two men walking near water]
202 — [tracked truck pulling flatbed trailers up dirt road]
203 — [dog sitting on wooden planks. Original image blurry]
204 — [dog walking on wooden planks]
205 — [dredge under construction]
206 — [dredge under construction, dredge buckets in foreground, cranes]
207 — [airplane flying near mine equipment] [No prints for .208-238]
208 — [airplane on ground, wings covered, heater on ground at left; deteriorated neg]
209 — [airplane on ground, man refueling, passengers and crew standing next to plane, wings and nose covered in fabric for heating; deteriorated neg]
210 — [aerial view, possibly railroad tracks and cars, farm fields, forest; deteriorated neg]
211 — [possible landscape; deteriorated neg]
212 — [aerial view of possibly buildings, trees, roads; deteriorated neg]
213 — [Alaska Air Express airplane on ground, seven men stand near plane; possibly pilot above wing; building in distance; deteriorated neg]
214 — [North Pole Bakery delivery truck driving near Top Hat, possibly Anchorage]
215 — [aerial view of Merrill Field, Anchorage; buildings, planes left of landing strip; mountains in background]
216 — [aerial view of Anchorage in winter, Mount Susitna in upper right; deteriorated neg]
217 — [aerial view of Anchorage, possibly park strip; Mount Susitna in distance; deteriorated neg]
218 — [aerial shot; possibly Anchorage area, mudflats?; deteriorated neg]
219 — [aerial image, water, mountains, possibly near Anchorage; deteriorated neg]
220 — [aerial image of water, coast, mountains; probably near Anchorage, deteriorated neg]
221 — [aerial view, likely near Anchorage]
222 — [blank exposure]
223 — [aerial view of pass, airplane wing in foreground; deteriorated neg]
224 — aerial view of pass, airplane wing in foreground; deteriorated neg]
225 — [aerial view of mountains, airplane wing in foreground; deteriorated neg]
226 — [aerial view of mountains, airplane wing in foreground; deteriorated neg]
227 — [aerial view of mountains and river or fjord, airplane wing in foreground; deteriorated neg]
228 — [aerial view of mountains, airplane wing in foreground; deteriorated neg]
229 — [aerial view of mountains; deteriorated neg]
230 — [aerial view of mountains; deteriorated neg]
231 — [aerial view, ship in water at pier]
232 — [aerial view of town, port, mountain; possibly Seward?]
233 — [aerial view, possibly Seward?]
234 — [view of shore from ship, birds flying over water, mountains, building in distance; deteriorated neg]
235 — [scenic view of water, mountains, passengers on ship deck standing at ship rail, fog]
236 — [view of passing steamship from ship deck, mountains; deteriorated neg]
237 — [ship passengers on deck, railing, men, children, trees across water at left]
238 — [scenic view of water, trees, shore]
239 — [mine site, excavation equipment, stream, tundra. On verso of contact print: Platinum, AK, feeding the trestle sluice box, Upper Platinum Creek]
240 — [two men working at mine site, one directing water from monitor, one using rake on dirt in chute]
241 — [man operating steam shovel or drag line]
242 — [drag line moving equipment at mine site; men atop structure]
243 — [man operating drag line 37-B]
244 — [three men posing at Goodnews Bay Mining Company drag line cab, gas can at right, tundra in background]
245 — [distant view of drag line moving equipment at mine site, water, tundra, hills] [No prints for .246-255]
246 — [four men resting atop supplies, boxes, sacks, wooden fence or railing]
247 — [person sitting hunched outside wall tent, metal parts, litter, tundra]
248 — [building, possibly being moved into position by track vehicle and drag line; tall grass in foreground; metal barrels in right midground]
249 — [airplane on landing strip; steel drums strewn about the area; tundra, probably Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B airplane N709Y]
250 — [airplane taking off, probably Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B airplane N709Y; tundra, hills in background; possible river at lower left]
251 — [man wearing fur parka and winter boots, possibly mukluks, poses in front of door on wooden building. Original image is blurry]
252 — [man wearing fur parka and mukluks poses at door of wooden building]
253 — [aerial view of buildings, small village along waterway, possibly river or bay]
254 — [men standing near Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B airplane N709Y, tundra, wind sock at far right]
255 — [five Alaska Native children standing outside wooden building; more structures in distance. Original image blurry]
256 — [Alaska Air Express airplane taking off or landing on beach, Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B N709Y]
257 — [two men on Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B airplane N709Y; propeller moving, bucket or can on wing; trees, possibly supplies in right background]
258 — [aerial view of landscape; struts and bottom of airplane wing in foreground. On verso of contact print: Kuskokwim delta between Bethel and Goodnews Bay]
259 — [possibly aerial view of land, bend in river]
260 — [aerial view of braided river, tundra; neg is deteriorating] [No prints for .261-271]
261 — [mining equipment, dredge, rocks, hill in background]
262 — [three men in front of Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B airplane N709Y, luggage, tie-downs]
263 — [aerial view of braided river, strut and underside of airplane wing in left foreground]
264 — [aerial view of low rolling hills]
265 — [aerial view of snow-covered mountains, water to left]
266 — [aerial view of rivers, mountains; airplane wheel and strut in foreground]
267 — [aerial view of mountains, glacier, inside of airplane, struts, bottom of wing in foreground]
268 — [scenic view of landscape, clouds, water, struts in left foreground]
269 — [nine people and an airplane on beach, trees in distance, possibly Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B airplane N709Y]
270 — [people using a sled to move cargo to Alaska Air Express Fairchild Pilgrim 100-B airplane N709Y; trees in distance]
271 — [scenic view of beach, water, mountains and possible sunset in distance; Airplane wing in foreground] Guide updated: April 23, 2018