REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Courtney Frederic, Volunteer

TITLE: Doris Bordine Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B1992.033

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1927

Extent: 0.2 linear feet; 1 box

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Otto William Geist

Administrative/Biographical History:
Otto W. Geist (1888-1963) was an archaeologist, naturalist, and explorer who worked primarily
in the Circumpolar North. He worked for the University of Alaska for most of his adult life and
both Museum buildings of the University of Alaska Fairbanks were originally named for Geist.
Geist came to Alaska in the early 1920s, he started collecting artifacts in 1925 and was
collecting for the University by 1926. During WWII Geist helped organize the Alaska
Territorial Guard. This particular collection is from a collecting trip (1927) for the Agricultural
College & School of Mines, University of Alaska Fairbanks, in collaboration with Henry
Collins of the National Museum of Natural History.

Scope and Content Description:
One photo album, 7” x 5 ¾”, containing 86 photos with 14 loose black and white photos. For
more information see detailed description of collection.

Arrangement: Not applicable.

CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.


Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Doris Bordine Collection, Anchorage Museum, B1992.033


ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Doris Bordine of Eagle River whose aunt Florence Tobin Thornton [Florence
Nupok Malewotkuk] was Otto Geist’s Secretary in Ketchikan and was given the album.
Florence is featured in the picture .83, [caption] An Eskimo (?) from New England.

SUBJECTS

Geist, Otto W., 1888-1963
Collins, Henry B., Jr.
Sanvik, Herman
Stewart, Daly
Firestone, Dr.
Bilkenstaff, Mr.
Whitlam, Captain
Bush, Joe
Chief Stephens
Malewotkuk, Florence Nupok
Akoolmee, Grace
Otiyohok, Jimmie
Okwomangen, Isabel
Kihlamrook, Lena
Kakhsogon
Tokoyu, Nita
Wiyi
Anghahluk, Thelma
Anghahluk, Anakhoon
Angecko, Nina
Anatoonga

Aghnali, Katherine
Lifeboats
Orphanages
Caches
Eskimos-Alaska- Bristol Bay
Eskimos-Alaska- Lower Kuskokwim
Eskimos-Alaska- Clothing & dress
Eskimos-Alaska-Dwellings
Eskimos-Siberia- Dwellings
Eskimos-Alaska- Funeral customs & rites
Eskimos-Food
Eskimos-Boats- Alaska
Basket making- Alaska
Icebergs
Sealing
Archaeology
Shamanism- Alaska
Fish drying
Hunting trophies
Walrus
Log cabins- Alaska
Sewing
Umiaks
Dogs
U.S.M.S. Boxer (Ship)
Star of New Zealand (Ship)
Star of Lapland (Ship)
Otsego (Steamship)
General Gongas (Steamship)
Bering Sea Region
Nushagak River (Alaska)
Kanakanak (Alaska)
Mumtrak (Alaska)
Goodnews Bay (Alaska)
Kulukak (Alaska)
Togiak (Alaska)
Tanunak (Alaska)
Nelson Island (Alaska)
Coffee Point (Alaska)
Kvichak River (Alaska)
Saint Michael (Alaska)
Gambell (Alaska)
Saint Lawrence Island (Alaska)
Bettles (Alaska)
Kiana (Alaska)
Kobuk River (Alaska)


Detailed Description of the Collection:
 1 — The Bering Sea Region [Map with place names entered in black in by Mr. Geist.]
 2 — O.W.Geist #3. [caption] The BOXER’S Lifeboat- - chief engineer Herman Sanvick at the bow, in Nushagak River, Bristol Bay.
 3 — O.W.Geist #5. [caption] Mr. H. B. Collins, Jr. of the U.S. National Museum with the aid of Mr. Daly Stewart of John Hopkins and Dr. Firestone of the Kanakanak Government Hospital taking the measurements (anthropological) among the natives at Coffee Point, near Kanakanak.
 4 — O.W.Geist-12 [caption] Kanakanak orphan boys with their superintendent, Mr. Blikenstaff and Captain Whitlam of the BOXER. While older boys digging ditches the younger boys are busily bringing cool lemonade from the orphanage kitchen to the ever thirsty and hard working boys. (note the large lemonade container on the plank) [group photograph] [Photo missing, caption] A typical Eskimo woman of the Bristol Bay region. Mumtrak, Goodnews Bay.
 5 — O.W.Geist-14 [caption] Eskimo woman from the Kuskokwim River now living at Mumtrak, Goodnews Bay. [woman outside a building]
 6 — O.W.Geist-15 [caption] A group of Eskimos, taken at Mumtrak, Goodnews Bay.
 7 — O.W.Geist.16. [caption] A collection of fine masks with the traces of clothing and household utensils fastened on a board towards the rear of the cache, belonging to a native sorcerer at Mumtrak, Goodnews Bay.
 8 — O.W.Geist-17. [caption] Natives at Mumtrak, Goodnews Bay. [group in front of cache; in 2002 Betty Jean Huffman identified the man lying on ground at left as wood carver and elder Walter Smith, girl 3rd at left as Margaret Williams Kasayulie, girl 4th on left as Lucy Watamus]
 9 — O.W.Geist-18. [caption] Native children at Kulukak, Bristol Bay Region. [two young native girls; in 2002 Betty Jean Huffman identified the girls as Margaret Williams Kasayulie on left and Elsie Williams on right]
10 — O.W.Geist-19. [caption] Kulukak natives. [group outside]
 11 — Natives in front of the local kashim or guest house, at Mumtrak.
 12 — O.W.Geist-21. [caption] A Kuskokwim belle at Mumtrak. [woman standing outside]
 13 — O.W.Geist.22. [caption] A group of Mumtrak natives. [family outside building]
 14 — O.W.Geist.23. [caption] Mumtrak natives. [group outside building]
 15 — O.W.Geist.24. [caption] Mr. Daly Stewart of John Hopkins on detached service with the U.S. Nat’l Museum inspects the methods of burial at Mumtrak, Goodnews Bay. [ Mr. Daly Stewart at burial site]
 16 — O.W.Geist-25. [caption] Capt. Whitlam, 1 st officer Joe Bush and 2 nd Engr. Of the BOXER taken while in the ice fields, Bering Sea, 1927.
 17 — O.W.Geist- 26. [caption] Advance sentinels on detached service scouting over the Bering Sea; when these are seen the ice pack is quite nearby.
 18 — O.W.Geist-27. [caption] This picture represents the next step; more small floes are encountered. [continuation of events from picture .17]
 19 — O.W.Geist-28. [caption] The floes are getting larger now. [Ice floes in the Bering Sea, continuing from picture .18]
 20 — O.W.Geist-29. [caption] U.S.S. BOXER aside an ice field. [Photo missing, caption] The ice is getting closer and closer, the fields larger in extent and thicker through.
21 — O.W.Geist-31. [caption] Native parents with their children in front of their primitive home in Togiak, Bristol Bay.
22 — Geist.913. [caption] Young folks from Togiak. They constitute a part of the household of the local chief Stephen. (The three girls are married, the children are not their own) [Photo missing, caption] A Cache belonging to the chief of Togiak, in which is stored such things as dried fish and meat, skins, ropes clothes, and household goods.
 23 — O.W.Geist.34. [caption] Native family.
24 — Geist. #35. [caption] Native girls of Kulukak weaving grass baskets in their homes (note modern clock--never runs--used for ornament).
 25 — O.W.Geist.36. [caption] Eskimo family [mother and two children outside]
26 — O.W.Geist.37. [caption] Family group at Togiak. They evidently were shopping at some neighbor’s home for the mother carries some seal meat in her hands.
 27 — O.W.Geist.38. [caption] Chief Stephen’s family at Togiak. Note the typical ground squirrel skin outer garments of parkas, as worn in this section of the Bristol Bay region. As a rule the head gear of the woman consists of bright colored bandanna handkerchiefs while the man uses skull caps as brought in by traders. The man at left is using modern snow goggles.
28 — Geist.39. [caption] Togiak man in the act of stretching (for scraping) the hide of a sea animal. The man to the right is seen eating the flesh of this animal. While one end of the meat is held in the mouth by the teeth, the left hand holds the other end and stretches it, making it easy to sever the meat quite close to the mouth with the knife held in right hand.
 29 — O.W.Geist.40. [caption] Mr. O.Wm. Geist working on a shell heap near Togiak, Bristol Bay. [group outside at shell heap]
30 — O.W.Geist.41. [caption] Chief Stephens of the Togiak tribe. Note the skulls, baskets, wooden platters, etc. on the fence behind this man. (The anthropological material caused some friction between natives and scientists later on.)
 31 — O.W.Geist-42. [caption] Chief Stephens’ family and their neighbors at Togiak, Bristol Bay.
 32 — O.W.Geist-43. [caption] Chief Stephen’s daughters, real and adopted, all married. The trend is toward the modern.
 33 — O.W.Geist.-44. [caption] Delegation lead [sic.] by Chief Stephens and Chief medicine man who protested against taking of anthropological material from burial grounds. With aid of interpreter (2 nd from left) this trouble was satisfactorily smoothed out.
34 — O.W.Geist.45 [caption] Native girls from Togiak.
35 — O.W.Geist.46 [caption] A study in men’s and women’s parkas of the Bristol Bay section. [man, woman and infant all wearing parkas outdoors.]
 36 — O.W.Geist 47 [caption] Photo taken in a native house at Togiak. [group with man making hand gesture]
 37 — O.W.Geist.48. [caption] The man is wearing typical outer garment or parka with a peculiar hood. This type of parka is found all along the Bristol Bay region as far north as Mumtrak, Goodnews Bay. [group outdoors all wearing parkas]
38 — O.W.Geist-49. [caption] Capt. Whitlam with group of native children who are his friends and all of whom seem to know him well, for he always distributes a generous supply of candy and chewing gum to youngsters of every village he visits.
 39 — O.W.Geist-51. [caption] Kukulak youngsters from left to right, Katherine, Michael, Oolia, Ocalena, Sophia and Olia 2 nd .
 40 — O.W.Geist.52 [caption] Natives in front of their kashema at Mumtrak.
 41 — O.W.Geist.-53. [caption] Native children at Tanunak, Nelson I. [children around sled]
 42 — O.W.Geist.54. [caption] Scene along the beach front at Tanunak. [group on beach with kayaks and various materials]
43 — Geist.55. [caption] Native women stringing fish on grass ropes at Tanunak. (Before the fish are strung they are placed in hollows and covered with dried grass or grass mats.)
44 — O.W.Geist.56. [caption] The women towards the front is squatting in a fish hole stringing the fish while the coverings of native hay and grass mats are thrown to the side and above her.
 45 — O.W.Geist.57. [caption] Tanunak’s burial grounds; nowhere else could be found the duplicate of Nelson I’s burial grounds and methods.
 46 — O.W.Geist.58. [caption] Nelson I’s burial methods are unique. Especially the erecting of totem-like figures and the placing of the articles used by the diseased [deceased] on poles. [Nelson Island’s burial grounds] [Photo missing, caption] Images placed on burial grounds near grave of one in whose honor and memory images were carved in driftwood.
 47 — O.W.Geist-60. [caption] Another view of Tanunak burial grounds which are located directly in front of the village between the village and the beach. [Photo missing, caption] A close view of a peculiar and unique burial system on Nelson I. It is told that the images were erect in honor of two drowned men. Note the cross, perhaps a trend towards Christianity.
48 — Geist.62. [caption] A close up of one of the peculiar images. [totem-like figure at burial grounds]
49 — O.W.Geist-63 [caption] This grave is absolutely intact just as left at time of burial, evidently a man’s grave; it may also contain the remains of a woman, for with all the hunting equipment of the man, the woman’s kitchen utensils are also placed on the post.
50 — O.W.Geist.-64 [caption] Fish strung on grass ropes and hung over poles for drying; all fish are split at the belly.
 51 — O.W.Geist-65. [caption] A native family from the Tanunak in front of their home.
 52 — O.W.Geist-66. [caption] A Nelson Island belle in front of her home. [ young woman outside home]
 53 — O.W.Geist.67 [caption] A group of Nelson Island natives. [Photo missing, caption] A group of Nunivak I. taken at Nash Harbor. Nose beads worn by girl to indicate that she is unmarried. [Photo missing, caption] A Nunivak I. beauty with her mother. (wearing white girl’s clothes, but still clinging to native foot wear.)
 54 — O.W.Geist-70. [caption] A Nelson I. [island] woman, perhaps of mixed blood.
 55 — O.W.Geist.71. [caption] Mr. Daly Stewart inspects a peculiar burial on Nelson Island. [Photo missing, caption] Formation of the coast line near Nash Harbor, Nunivak Island.
 56 — O.W.Geist.73 [caption] It took much persuation [sic.] on part of photographer to get this picture. [native woman outdoors] [Photo missing, caption] Same girl sans skin parka; not camera shy any longer, Nash Harbor. [same woman from photograph .56]
 57 — Geist.75 [caption] The storekeeper and family at Tanunak, Nelson Island.
 58 — O.W.Geist-76. [caption] Sotrekeeper’s [storekeeper’s] wife with her fancy parka of reindeer skin with wolf timmings [trimmings], Tanunak, Nelson Island. [Photo missing, caption] Another wild one from Nunivak I. with her baby. [Photo missing, caption] A native group from cape Etolin, Nunival Island, Alaska. [Photo missing, caption] Nash Harbor maiden with her parents, Nunivak Island. [Photo missing, caption] Stringing fish on grass ropes, Cape Etolin. The method used here in taking care of the fish is slightly different from that used on Nelson I. No grass coverings in evidence. [Photo missing, caption] Cutting the blubber from the sea animal, Cape Etolin, Nunivak Island.
 59 — O.W.Geist.-89. [caption] Family of Medicine man at Coffee Point, near Kanakanak.
 60 — O.W.Geist.90 [caption] The cache belonging to the man of No.89 [Photo missing, caption] The Poor Old Medicine Man Himself. (On the verge of death)
 61 — O.W.Geist-92 [caption] Mr. Stewart & Mr. Collins taking measurements of the old medicine man’s family at Coffee Point.
 62 — O.W.Geist-93. [caption] BOXER lying at anchor in Nushagak River off Kanakanak.
 63 — O.W.Geist-94. [caption] STAR OF NEW ZEALAND anchored in Nashagak River.
 64 — O.W.Geist.#95 [caption] BOXER unloads cargo for orphanage at Kanakanak. [ man in small unloading boat with BOXER behind.]
 65 — O.W.Geist-96. [caption] STAR OF LAPLAND anchored in Kvickak River, Bristol Bay.
 66 — O.W.Geist-97. [caption] S.S. OTSEGO formerly an interned German passenger liner, now a combination passenger & salmon carrier.
 67 — O.W.Geist-98. [caption] S.S. GENERAL GORGAS anchored at Bristol Bay.
 68 — [caption] Eskimos at St. Michael. Note the walrus tusks in foreground.
 69 — O.W.Geist-102 [caption] Mizuka, Florence Napuk and Grace Akoolmee, Gambell, St. Lawrence I. [three children next to boat]
 70 — O.W.Geist. 103 [caption] Jimmie Otiyohok and Isabel Okwomangen. [man and woman wearing parkas outside building] [Photo missing, caption] Raechel Agekhscok, Rosie Assoongu, Anaghasook, Mizuku, Grace Akoolmee and Florence Napuk, Gambell, St. Lawrence I. [Photo missing, caption] BOXER anchored to the ice pack, June, 1927, midway between Alaska mainland and St. Lawrence I.
 71 — O.W.Geist-108. [caption] Splitting a walrus skin to be used later either as a covering for Siberian types of homes or for boats. Gambell. [Photo missing, caption] Some of the pack ice encountered by BOXER during June 1927.
 72 — O.W.Geist-111. [caption] Gambell girls at the village spring. [three women carrying buckets] ,73- Geist. 112 [caption] Lena Kihlamrook, Gambell.
74 — O.W.Geist.113 [caption] Nita Tokoyu working on a raincoat out of the intestine of the seal. From left to right: Kakhsogon, Nita Tokoyu and Wiyi, Gambell. [Photo missing, caption] Nina Angeeko and Ruth Iknokinook in front of Iknokinook’s house.
 75 — O.W.Geist.110 [caption] From left to right: Thelma Anaghahluk and baby Anakhoon, Nina Angecko, Anatoonga, Katherine Aghnali (baby), Adelinda Aghnaghaghpok, Noceyellingok, (boy), Asi, Tracy Imoorigan or Kavenkuk, Patrick Womkon.
 76 — O.W.Geist.125 [caption] Lena Kihlamrook, Gambell. [woman outside building] [Photo missing, caption] Cabin at Bettles.
 77 — [caption] Dad’s Boiler House.
 78 — [caption] Bettles on the Koyukuk. (steamer at dock)
 79 — [caption] Kulukak’s favorite indoor sport; making grass baskets. (Viola and Alice) [Two women weaving grass baskets]
 80 — [caption] Kiana on the Kobuk. [coastal village]
 81 — [caption] Siberian types of homes. [building process and wood frame in background]
 82 — [caption] Siberian types of homes. [man working on building next to ladder]
 83 — [caption] An Eskimo (?) from New England. [man wearing parka in winter,(with rifle?)]
 84 — [caption] Siberian type of home completed. Interior is sometimes partitioned off but oftimes [sic.] left as one large room. [outside view of home]
 85 — [caption] Siberian type of home under construction; built of driftwood and covered with Walrus or seal skin. [End of album caption] LIST OF PHOTOGRAPHS TAKEN DURING 1927 EXPEDITION OF THE ALASKA COLLEGE MUSEUM TO POINTS ALONG THE MAINLAND FROM THE ALASKA PENINSULA TO HOOPER BAY, ALSO INCLUDNG POINTS ON NELSON ISLAND, NUNIVAK ISLAND AND ST. LAWRENCE I. , ALL OF WHICH ARE LOCATED IN THE REGION OF THE BERING SEA.
 86 — [caption] Otto Wm Geist, collector for the Alaska Agricultural College & School of Mines, College, Alaska.
 87 — Geist.608. [Three men with umiak, unloading seals.]
 88 — Geist.905 [Village scene- sealskins drying]
 89 — Geist.887. [Eskimo Children playing]
 90 — Geist.467. [Girl outside house under construction]
 91 — Geist.884. [Dog lot outside village]
 92 — Geist.944. [Group carrying umiak over tundra.]
 93 — Geist,492. [Two Eskimo men shouldering rifles, seals at their feet]
94 — Geist.493. [Two Eskimo men standing by boat with rifles, dead seals]
 95 — Geist.482 [Group digging in tundra, 3 others watching starting new home?]
 96 — Geist.478. [Native children in contemporary dress]
 97 — Geist.623. [Native women in contemporary dress]
 98 — Geist.500. [Family group in parkas]
 99 — Geist.890. [women and children posing in parkas ]
 100 — Geist.607. [Two Eskimo women in native dress] Guide written: November 18, 2013