REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Archivist

TITLE: Jeanne Schaver Boone Slides

COLLECTION NUMBER: B1991.046

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1950-1953

Extent: 1 box; 0.2 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Jeanne Schaver Boone, Lee

Administrative/Biographical History:
The M/V Health was a “floating clinic,” a marine unit of the Alaska Department of
Health. The program was created to facilitate the battle against tuberculosis in Alaska
after World War II. The M/V Health, along with the M/S Hygiene, were mobile health
units that allowed medical professionals to treat rural Alaskans in their villages. The two
ships serviced the coastlines of Alaska, from the Aleutian Islands to as far north as Point
Hope.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 151 35mm color slides taken by Jeanne Schaver and her colleagues
during service aboard the M/V Health in the 1950s. Most of the images depict rural village life
and clinic operations. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Loosely arranged by location.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE


Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. A lightbox may be
used to view transparencies.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Jeanne Schaver Boone Slides; Anchorage Museum, B1991.046

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Boone in December 1991.

Processing Note
Slides originally filed into subject files, with prints and ephemera separately accessioned as
B2001.035.

Separated Materials
Objects donated with the photographs transferred to Collections.


RELATED MATERIALS
M/V Health Collection, B2001.035
Clarence and Winona Gronning Slides, B2005.013
1991.065.1-3

SUBJECTS
Schaver, Jeanne
Health (Ship)
Public health—Alaska
Eskimos—Health and hygiene
Mekoryuk (Alaska)
Hooper Bay (Alaska)
Scammon Bay (Alaska)

Golovin (Alaska)
Saint Lawrence Island (Alaska)
Gambell (Alaska)
Savoonga (Alaska)
Shaktoolik (Alaska)
Saint Michael (Alaska)
Koyuk (Alaska)
Diomede Islands (Alaska and Russia)
Ukivok (Alaska)
Chignik (Alaska)
Akhiok (Alaska)
Kodiak Island (Alaska)
Akutan (Alaska)
Perryville (Alaska)
False Pass (Alaska)
King Cove (Alaska)
Belkofski (Alaska)
Sanak Islands (Alaska)
Sand Point (Alaska)
Unga Island (Alaska)
Yakutat (Alaska)
Seward (Alaska)
Saint George (Alaska)
Chevak (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection
 1 — Mekoryuk, 6/51 [village as seen from water]
 2 — Mekoryuk, 6/51 [view of bay from village, M/V Health at anchor, dwelling with sod roof in foreground]
 3 — Mekoryuk – M/V Health, 6/51 [M/V Health at anchor, as seen from beach]
 4 — Fish drying at Mekoryuk, 6/51 [salmon on drying racks on beach]
 5 — Reindeer bones, Mekoryuk, 6/51 [pile of bones on low bluff above beach]
 6 — Larson King, Mekoryuk, 6/51 [man sitting in doorway of dwelling, dog lying at his feet]
 7 — Barabaras, Mekoryuk, 6/51 [semi-subterranean dwelling with sod roof, sled frame on roof]
 8 — Child, Mekoryuk, 6/51 [young Alaska Native girl wearing parka standing on deck of M/V Health]
 9 — Breakfast in Alaska, Larson King’s mother at Mekoryuk, 6/51 [Alaska Native woman wearing cotton parka, cooking outdoors]
10 — Eskimo children, Mekoryuk, 6/51 [young Alaska Native girl wearing cotton parka carrying infant on back]
11 — Hooper Bay, 7/51 [young Alaska Native girl wearing waders sitting on stairs, holding infant on lap, infant wearing cotton parka, bonnet, and seal skin mukluks]
12 — H.B., 7/51 [young Alaska Native girl wearing kuspuk standing outdoors, metal barrel in background, Hooper Bay]
13 — Lunch time, Hooper Bay, 7/53 [young barefoot Alaska Native child wearing kuspuk standing outdoors eating, log cabin in background]
 14 — H.B. in clinic, 7/51 [young Alaska Native girl standing on ship, Hooper Bay]
15 — Hooper Bay, 7/51 [Schaver posed outdoors holding medical kit, Alaska Native man standing at right]
 16 — Fish drying, H.B., 7/51 [salmon on racks near beach at Hooper Bay]
17 — Hooper Bay, 7/51 [eight Alaska Native men and women posed on ship deck]
18 — Eskimo children & their P.H.N.! 7/51 [Schaver sitting on log with eight Alaska Native children, metal barrels in background, Hooper Bay]
 19 — Aloralrea family, H.B., 7/51 [Alaska Native woman and children posed next to tents at camp, Hooper Bay]
20 — Patients in my office, H.B., 7/51 [Alaska Native family in clinic, Hooper Bay]
 21 — Home in Hooper Bay, “Home, sweet home,” 7/51 [house with sod roof in foreground, semi-subterranean dwelling in background]
 22 — Hooper Bay (Dolly) [dogs in dog yard in foreground, metal barrels in open area, houses in background, church in distance at left]
23 — Hooper Bay, 8/51 [Alaska Native men, women, and children standing on low bluff above beach, Yupik kayak in foreground]
24 — Hooper Bay [two young Alaska Native boys in Yupik kayak]
25 — Scammon Bay, 7/51 [six Alaska Native children posed in front of house, fish net propped against wall at right, fish trap on roof]
 26 — Scammon Bay, 7/51 [windmills and log cabins in foreground, M/V Health anchored in river in background]
 27 — Old graves, Scammon Bay, 7/51 [cemetery in foreground, M/V Health anchored in river in background]
 28 — Scammon Bay, 7/51 [bird’s eye view of village, church in center foreground, river in background]
 29 — Mary Amokon, Scammon Bay, 7/51 [Alaska Native woman wearing kuspuk standing next to house, fish net propped against wall at right, fish trap on roof]
 30 — Theresa Amokon, Scammon Bay, 7/51 [young Alaska Native woman wearing fur parka, headscarf, and lace-up shoes posed next to house, fish net propped against wall at left]
 31 — Golovin, 8/51 [view of village from water]
 32 — Golovin, 8/52 [white woman sitting on driftwood log on beach, cooling bare feet in water, boots on ground behind her, village in background]
33 — Eskimo woman, Golovin, Alaska, 7/53 [Alaska Native woman wearing kuspuk standing on beach]
 34 — Old mining train, Solomon, 8/51 [person posed sitting inside rusting locomotive, Council City & Solomon River Railroad]
 35 — Solomon, 8/52 [Council City & Solomon River Railroad locomotives rusting on tundra]
 36 — Solomon, 8/52 [view down river to village buildings]
37 — Solomon ferry, 8/52 [view down gravel ramp to empty ferry, sign at left reads “Solomon Ferry Service 8 A.M. to 5 P.M. Daily, Alaska Road Commission”. The ferry operated from 1931 to 1958]
 38 — Gamble, 7/52 [two young Alaska Native girls standing next to building in Gambell]
39 — Patriarchs of Gamble, 7/52 [group portrait of eight Alaska Native men posed outdoors, buildings in background, Gambell]
 40 — Siberian octagonal home at Gamble, 7/52 [woman in doorway of Russian-style wood- plank building in Gambell. Original image blurry]
 41 — Mary Silook w/ Jewell, Gamble, 7/52 [Alaska Native woman carrying infant on shoulders, Gambell]
 42 — Florence Malegoothuk, seal oil lamp, Gambell, 7/52 [Florence Malewotkuk tending lamp inside house]
 43 — Skin boats at S., 7/52 [umiaks on racks, Savoonga]
 44 — Savoonga, 7/52 [view of village from water]
 45 — Pulling up skin boat, Savoonga (Lee) [large group of men and boys hauling umiak across ice]
 46 — Savoonga (Lee) [large group of villagers on beach, ice chunks in open water]
 47 — Savoonga (Lee) [house in village, dogs lying on boardwalk near sled frame in foreground, skins drying on roof, metal barrels at right, house and drying racks in background]
48 — People at Savoonga, 7/52 [two Alaska Native women and young girl on house steps. Original image blurry]
49 — Savoonga (Lee’s) [portrait of Alaska Native girl with beads in braided hair]
 50 — Meat drying – walrus, Savoonga (Lee) [strips of meat on rack in foreground, buildings and laundry on clothesline in background]
 51 — David Akeya [Alaska Native woman with facial tattoos tending to young child on cot inside house, Savoonga]
 52a — Mary Kingeekuk, Savoonga, sewing “mukluks” [Alaska Native woman sitting on floor in house sewing, cartons behind her for goods including Butterfinger, Hershey’s, Bordo Dates, Laurel Brand Eggs]
 52b — Horace Akeya, carving ivory, Savoonga, 7/52 (Lee) [Alaska Native man wearing white parka with fur ruff and mukluks sitting on porch of house carving, walrus tusks propped next to him, another carver just out of frame at right]
53 — [Alaska Native woman with child on shoulders holding up inflated walrus stomach, Savoonga. Original image blurry]
54 — Savoonga, 7/52 (Lee’s) [Alaska Native woman standing on boardwalk holding infant, church in background. At AFN 2019, identified as Ina Annogiyuk]
 55 — Shaktoolik, 8/52 [woman and child in doorway of house, vegetable garden in foreground, laundry on clothesline in background]
56 — School children, Sh., 8/52 [four children holding “Dental Health” workbooks posed outdoors, Shaktoolik]
 57 — Cache, Sh., 8/52 [log cache on tundra at Shaktoolik]
 58 — Food cache, Sh., 8/52 [log cache on tundra at Shaktoolik, drying rack at right]
 59 — St. Michael, 9/52 [waterfront, with dock at right, Retail Store at left, M/V Health at anchor in bay]
 60 — St. Michael, 9/52 [view down boardwalk, Retail Store at right]
 61 — Koyuk, 1952 [log cabin with caches and kennels]
 62 — Koyuk, 1952 [houses and caches, metal barrels in left foreground, laundry on clothesline in left background]
63 — Stebbins, 9/52 [portrait of Alaska Native girl wearing kuspuk]
64 — Stebbins [portrait of Alaska Native girl wearing headscarf. Cf. .66]
 65 — Plane, Stebbins [two small boats tied to floatplane delivering supplies]
 66 — Stebbins [three children playing on swing set next to log cache. Cf. .64]
 67 — Little Diomede, July ’50, roof top, Big D. in backg. [dogs sleeping on roof of semi- subterranean dwelling]
 68 — King Island, July ’50 [view up cliff to building, boats suspended from underside]
 69 — King Island, July ’50 [view of village from water]
 70 — Frosting Mountain, Chignik, 3/52 [view down beach to buildings and docks at base of mountain in winter]
 71 — Chignik, 3/52 [view of village from water]
 72 — Chignik, 3/52 [view of cliffs, ice chunks in water]
 73 — Nickia & Kay, Chignik, netting for herring, 3/52 [bird’s eye view of two men in rowboat, one man holding fish net, one man at oars, fish in bottom of boat]
 74 — Chignik, 3/52 [debris on beach, snow on mountains in distance]
 75 — Near Alitak, Earl Brown’s store, 3/52 [people inside store, storekeeper at counter with cash register, canned food on shelves, woman reading magazine at left, Akhiok]
 76 — Mary & I outside our “child’s” house, 3/52 [two women posed between boardwalk and wood-shingle building, ladder and metal barrel at left, plants in window, two other buildings in background, Akhiok?]
77 — Children, Alitak, 3/52 [four Alaska Native children posed outdoors, dogs in background, Akhiok]
 78 — Alitak, 3/52 [view of Akhiok from water]
 79 — Russian Orthodox church in Alitak, 3/52 [exterior of Protection of the Theotokos Church, dog in foreground, Akhiok]
 80 — Kodiak (Lee) [view down shoreline to docks]
 81 — Kodiak, 3/1/52 [several ships at dock, snow-covered mountains across water at left]
 82 — Akutan, 7/52 [view of village from water, ship under way at right]
 83 — Akutan, 7/52 [scenic of coastline as seen from ship]
 84 — Whaling station, 7/52 [storage tanks, barrels, and other equipment of station as seen from water, Akutan]
 85 — Whaling station in Akutan, 7/52 [storage tanks, barrels, and other equipment of station as seen from water]
86 — Children in Akutan, 7/52 [two Alaska Native children playing on overturned wheelbarrow]
 87 — Perryville, 4/52 [wood-sided house with sod piled against walls, other houses in background]
 88 — Perryville, 4/52 [view of village from water]
 89 — Perryville, 4/52 [Schaver standing next to building, wearing camera around neck]
 90 — “Dinner”, False Pass, mess boy, 5/51 [man wearing cook’s hat and plaid wool coat pushing wheelbarrow with large fish on boardwalk next to houses]
 91 — False Pass, 5/51 [scenic, with driftwood in foreground, trees in middle ground, mountains in distance]
 92 — Pile driver in False Pass, 7/52 [tugboat next to pile driver in bay, other boats anchored at left, building in background]
 93 — Pile driver, F.P., 5/52 [pile driver at end of dock in bay]
 94 — At False Pass, 7/52 [Schaver posed on ship deck, buildings of P.E. Harris & Co. cannery in background]
 95a — False Pass cannery, 5/51 [signs for Store and Post Office on building in foreground, boardwalks and buildings at right, P.E. Harris & Co. cannery]
 95b — False Pass, 7/52 [docks and buildings of P.E. Harris & Co. cannery]
 96 — King Cove, 5/52 [view down beach past village buildings, boats hauled up on shore]
97 — Belkofsky, 4/52 [view of Belkofski with Holy Resurrection Church in center, water in background]
98 — Russian Orthodox church, Belk., 4/52 [interior of Holy Resurrection Church]
99 — Russ. Orth. church, 4/52 [interior of Holy Resurrection Church, Belkofski]
100a — Me showing health movies (ugh) to the children, Belkofsky [Schaver manning projector in center, children gathered around table, Belkofski]
 100b — Health at Sanak, 5/52 [M/V Health at dock, other boats tied to her, Pauloff Harbor, Sanak Island]
 101 — Sand Point, 7/52 [view down dock to buildings]
 102 — Unga, 4/52 [view down boardwalk between buildings to water, M/V Health at anchor in bay]
 103 — Near Unga, 4/52 [scenic of coastline, photographer’s shadow in foreground]
 104 — Unga, 4/52 [view down boardwalk past buildings, bench at right next to fence. Slide mounted backwards]
105 — Mr. & Mrs. Pete Sather (Herring Pete), Nuka Bay, Alaska, 2/52 [couple posed at kitchen table, refrigerator and bookshelves in background]
106 — H. Pete’s wife, Nuka Bay, 5/51 [Josephine Sather posed on small dock]
 107 — Yakutat, 5/51 [view of buildings from dock]
 108 — Seward, 5/51 [view of town from water]
 109 — Main street, Seward, 9/51 [street scene, Third Avenue at Adams Street, fire hydrant at right, automobiles and pedestrians in front of businesses including Alaska Airlines, City Cab, Bus Depot]
 110a — Castle Cape, 3/52 [scenic of coastline]
 110b — St. George, 6/51 [view of village from water]
 111a — St. George, 6/51, Jack [umiak filled with people rowing up to M/V Health, one man preparing to throw rope, buildings on shore in background]
 111b — Eskimo tent, Old Chevak, 8/52 [interior of tent, large bucket from Snow Cap lard in center]
 112a — St. George, 6/51 [seals on rocky beach]
 112b — Week’s washing, Old Chevak, 8/51 [clothing soaking in metal can]
 113a — St. George Is., 6/51 [seals on rocky beach]
 113b — Fish camp, Kashunak River, 8/51 [large group of men, women, and children posed at fish camp on Kashunuk River near old Chevak]
 114a — Fur seals, St. Paul, 6/51 [seals on beach]
 114b — C & G tent, Kashunak R., 8/51 [view from water of tent next to tower along Kashunuk River near old Chevak]
115 — H. Bay, 7/51 [Alaska Native woman with two small children standing outdoors, railroad tracks leading up to school in background, Hooper Bay]
 116 — St. Michael [two young Alaska Native boys in clinic, one sitting on chair and one playing underneath. “Stebbins” crossed out on mount]
117 — Children, Stebbins [Alaska Native woman with three naked children holding dolls in clinic, same location as in .116]
 118 — Nelson Island, 8/51 [scenic of coastline]
 119 — Unga, Agate Beach, 4/52 [view along coastline, small boat tied to beach in middle ground]
 120 — Alaska cotton, H.B., 7/51 [Schaver posed in field of cotton grass at Hooper Bay]
 121 — Salmon trap, 6/51 [two people standing on commercial fish trap]
 122 — A salmon trap, 6/51 [commercial fish trap, portion of rocky coastline visible in background]
 123 — Aleutian mailboat (K.C.), 4/52 [ship Garland at dock, King Cove]
 124 — The “Explorer”, H.B., 7/51 [steamship Explorer at anchor, Hooper Bay]
 125 — Iris Jette, ANS nurse, 9/52 [woman posed on ship deck]
 126 — Dr. Blair, 5/52 [Hazel Blair using hammer in workshop on ship]
 127 — Salmon trap, Dr. Blair, 6/51 [Hazel Blair climbing on commercial fish trap]
 128 — Eating hardtack [Schaver sitting in riverboat, eating]
 129 — Frank Picinich [man wearing eyeglasses and driver’s cap standing on ship deck]
 130 — M/V Health, Bob, H.B., 7/51 [M/V Health at anchor, Hooper Bay]
 131 — The Health boat, E. Anchor Cove, 6/51 [M/V Health at anchor]
 132 — Chignik, 3/52 [man standing on M/V Health at dock, railings encased in ice]
 133 — Dr. Blair, new carpenter with model village [Hazel Blair holding hammer, kneeling on floor next to scale model of village]
 134 — Charlie drying dishes [man wearing captain’s hat drying dishes at sink on ship, tattoo on left hand, box of Tide detergent on counter]
 135 — Charlie [portrait of man wearing captain’s hat standing on ship deck]
 136 — Jessie’s “going away” party, Sand Point, 4/52 [men and women seated at kitchen table on ship, one man holding accordion, plates of cake and glasses of juice on table]
 137 — Lee, the barber, with Charlie [woman wearing white coat cutting hair of man sitting in examination chair]
 138 — Dolly and Clarence with fish, 7/52 [woman and Clarence Gronning sitting on ship deck holding stringer full of fish, Gronning with multiple tattoos on arms]
 139 — Jack, 8/51 [man wearing winter coat and sunglasses sitting in boat, holding up duck]
 140 — Perryville, M/V Health, 4/52 [ship at anchor in bay. Chignik crossed out on mount]
 141 — Clinic laundry, K.C., 5/52 [clothing hanging from rigging on ship at dock, two men leaning against ship railing, one man walking on dock, King Cove]
 142 — Lillian, fish line & bait, 6.51 [woman wearing apron standing on ship deck with large piece of blubber hanging from line]
 143 — Lee & I riding in the [illegible], 6/52 [Schaver and woman sitting in boat] Guide updated: June 28, 2019