REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Tony Yurkovich Photographs

COLLECTION NUMBER: B1980/078

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1940s-1960s

Extent: 2 boxes; 1.5 linear ft

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Anton Yurkovich

Administrative/Biographical History:
Anton “Tony” Yurkovich was born October 19, 1918, in Rutland, Washington. He moved to
Fairbanks, Alaska, and worked as a mechanic for Wien Air Alaska for nearly 40 years. He died
in March 1980.

Yurkovich’s nephew had a gold mine near Central, Alaska, which may be the mine depicted in
some of the collection photographs.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 828 slides and 105 35mm negative images, along with contact sheets
for hundreds of additional negatives which were not retained.

Arrangement:
Arranged by format. Slides loosely arranged by topic. Strip negatives were not arranged prior to
contact sheets being made; arrangement of negatives as printed was maintained for ease of
access.

CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE


Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Light box may be needed to view slides and negatives.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Tony Yurkovich Photographs, Anchorage Museum, B1980.078

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by wife Nell Yurkovich on May 9, 1980. In June 1982, 10 reels of moving image film
and an 8mm movie projector were transferred to the University of Alaska Fairbanks Media
Services department’s Alaska Motion Picture Film Archives. Notes on film contents were
retained in collection documentation. In February 2012, several hundred slides and negatives of
non-Alaskan locations were deaccessioned from the collection. Strip negatives in advanced
states of deterioration were scanned and then discarded.

Processing Notes
Slides not rearranged prior to numbering, keeping the loose topical order imposed after
collection receipt. Contact sheets numbered based on original foldering. Contact sheet numbers
then applied to original negatives. Negatives scanned and either discarded or moved to freezer
for retention. Only strips from contact sheets B1, C1, H1, I1, and I2 retained.

Separated Materials
Moving image films transferred to University of Alaska Fairbanks Film Archives.

Notes

RELATED MATERIALS


SUBJECTS
Yurkovich, Anton, 1918-1980
Wien Alaska Airlines
Wien Air Alaska
Wien Consolidated Airlines
Airplanes

Hot springs—Alaska
Hunting—Alaska
Fishing—Alaska
Skis and skiing--Alaska
Mines and mineral resources—Alaska
Fairbanks (Alaska)
Anchorage (Alaska)
Galena (Alaska)
Barrow (Alaska)
Kotzebue (Alaska)
Kiana (Alaska)
Rampart (Alaska)
Yukon River (Yukon and Alaska)
Nome (Alaska)
Livengood (Alaska)
Ester (Alaska)
Chitina (Alaska)
Richardson Highway (Alaska)
Paxton (Alaska)
Boundary (Alaska)
Nenana (Alaska)
Circle (Alaska)
Teller (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

B1
Slides

	1 —	.37 Airplanes/Aviation
	38 —	.53 Towns
	54 —	.66 Airplanes, Accidents
	67 —	.106 Towns
	107 —	.131 People
	132 —	.203 Gold mining
	204 —	.461 Towns
	462 —	.658 Sports/Activities
	659 —	.828 Scenery/Animals B2 Contact sheets, 35mm [Alaskan and non-Alaskan] A-J A1-J1 A2-J2 A3-G3 Contact sheets, 120mm [non-Alaskan, Asia-Pacific?] Negatives (Separated to freezer) B1.1-18 [Scenes from a bar, Fairbanks?] C1.1-12 [Scenes from a bar, Fairbanks?] [Hunting camp] H1.1-23 [Ferry trip] [Street scenes, possibly Non-Alaskan] I1.1-20 [Alaskan scenery] [Tony Yurkovich in uniform] [Mining] [People, houses] [Pacific Alaska Airways airplane] H3.1-12 [No contact sheet] [Alaska Railroad scenes] [Street scenes, Fairbanks?] I2.1-24 [Fairbanks Public Schools] [Streets scenes, Fairbanks and non-Alaskan?] [Deer, non-Alaskan?] Guide written: March 2012