REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Mary Alice Cook, Volunteer

TITLE: Eklutna Vocational School Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B1980.026

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1942-1943

Extent: 26 items, .2 linear feet.

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Hettie Pointer.

Administrative/Biographical History:

Hettie Pointer moved to Alaska in the early 1940s to be near her daughter, Hortense Hanshew,
wife of U.S. Hanshew, for whom Hanshew Middle School was named. According to her
granddaughter, Mary Pointer of Anchor Point, Alaska, Hettie Pointer worked as a cook at Ft.
Richardson during the war years. In the mid-1940s, Hettie lived at and worked as a cook at the
Eklutna Vocational School. The Eklutna Vocational School was built by the Department of
Interior’s Bureau of Education in 1924 to house and educate children orphaned by the 1918
influenza epidemic in Alaska. A fish camp was built and maintained by the school as well, to
provide training in subsistence fishing and to help provide food for the children. Courses at the
school were mainly vocational training classes. By 1930, 110 students were enrolled at the
school. In 1946, the school’s buildings were condemned and the school was permanently
closed. Hettie Pointer died in 1963 and is buried at Angelus Memorial Park in Anchorage,
along with her daughter and son-in-law.

Scope and Content Description: The collection consists of the 1943 yearbook of the Eklutna
Vocational School, and 25 photographs of the school’s buildings, students, teachers, athletic
teams, clubs, and events. The yearbook includes senior wills, descriptions of school clubs and
activities, faculty information, and names of class members.


Arrangement: Not applicable


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Eklutna Vocational School Collection, Anchorage Museum, B1980.026.


ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated February 21, 1980 by Hortense Pointer Hanshew. The collection was previously
owned by Mrs. Hanshew’s mother, Hettie Pointer.

Processing Notes: Photographs which were originally contained in the yearbook have been
removed and placed in a separate folder.

Separated Materials

Notes

RELATED MATERIALS


SUBJECTS

Eklutna Vocational School--Students--Yearbooks.
Eklutna Vocational School--Photographs.
School yearbooks--Alaska--Eklutna.
Vocational education--Alaska--Eklutna--Photographs.
Vocational education--Alaska--Eklutna--Sources.
Alaska Natives--Alaska--Eklutna--Photographs.

Alaska Natives--Education--Alaska--Eklutna--Photographs.
Alaska Natives--Education--Alaska--Eklutna--Sources.
Vocational school students--Alaska--Eklutna--Photographs
Vocational school students--Alaska--Eklutna--Societies, etc.
Alaska Native students--Alaska--Eklutna--Photographs.
Teachers--Alaska--Eklutna--Photographs.
Eklutna (Alaska)--Photographs.

Detailed Description of the Collection

Series 1: Periodicals
B1/F1

	1 —	Eklutna Vocational School yearbook for 1943; 36 pages are stapled between brown cardstock. Cover reads “Nethotda-ah 1943.” Series 2: Photographs B1/F2 1.1 – Photograph. Handwritten on verso: Supt. Ludy; Nethotda-ah, 1943. [School superintendent Reginald Ludy.] 1.2 – Photograph. Handwritten on verso: front. [Evening view of front of school complex.] 1.3 – Photograph. Handwritten on verso: (Eklutna); (not photo file); Nethotda-ah, 1943; album; Boys Dorm; Girls Dorm; Dining downstairs; Hosp. [View of school buildings with mountains in background and railroad track in foreground.] 1.4 – Photograph. Handwritten on verso: Eklutna; Nethotda-ah, 1943. [Another view of school buildings.] 1.5 – Group photograph. Faculty, Nethotda-ah, 1945. 1.6 – Group photograph. Seniors, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.7 – Group photograph. Juniors, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.8 – Group photograph. Sophomores, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.9 – Group photograph. Freshmen, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.10 – Group photograph. Junior High, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.11 – Group photograph. Intermediate Grades, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.12 – Group photograph. Primary Grades, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.13 – Group photograph. Student Council, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.14 – Group photograph. Busy Bees, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.15 – Group photograph, Girls Glee Club, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.16 – Group photograph, Boys Glee Club, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.17 – Group photograph, Girls Basketball, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.18 – Group photograph. Boys Basketball, Nethotda-ah, 1943. 1.19 – Photograph. Home Economics, Nethotda-ah, 1943. [Three girls are standing around a table, preparing food.] 1.20 – Group photograph. Practice Cottage, Nethotda-ah, 1943. [Group of younger students with teacher in front of building labeled “Knik Hall.”] 1.21 – Group photograph. Eklutna. [Four students pose under large sign that reads “Eklutna” with car parked nearby.] Loose photographs:
	2 —	Photograph. Eklutna Christmas Party. [Children and one adult with wrapped Christmas gifts, Christmas tree, and costumed Santa Claus.]
	3 —	Photograph. Eklutna Industrial School. Mildred and Ann Simeonoff, twin sisters from Kodiak.
	4 —	Photograph. Eklutna Industrial School. [Group of students singing at school function, possibly graduation ceremony; 2 men also sit on stage, which is decorated with tree branches.]
	5 —	Photograph. Edward Pagana [female], 1944Valedictorian, and Mr. Ludy, Superintendent. List of names referenced in 1943 Eklutna Vocational School annual: Ahvakana, Stephan Aimeonoff, Anna Alec, Herbert Alec, Julia Alec, Katherine Allen, Walter Ananatoc, Nick Anderson, Arthur A. Anderson, Dorothy Anderson, Ernest Anderson, Pauline Anderson, Robert Andola, Carl Andola, Elsie Andola, George Andrewvitch, Herman Antoski, Louisa Ashworth, Evelyn, Postmistress Ashworth, Walter A. Aveoganna, Bertha Aveoganna, Hazel Barber, Billy Berg, Albert Berg, Carol Berg, Pearl Bergmans, Esther Bergmans, Rev. Arthur Bolt, Felix Bowen, Freddie Bowne, Clarence Boyle, Florence Brawner, Mr. A.H. Burns, Dan Charles, Norma Chase, Michael Churchill, Jennie Chute, Ethel “Beaver” Cole, Dorothy G. Cozette, Billy Cunningham, Clara H., Nurse David, Helen Davidson, William Davis, Louise M. Dean, Julia G. Delphin, Agnes Depperman, Frances Derendy, Andy Dozette, Helen Dozette, Laura Edwards, Florence Edwards, Leo Englishoe, Marian (Marion?) Ezi, Alberta Ezi, Benny Ezi, Elizabeth Ezi, William, Jr. Fennessey, Mr. Ford, Celia Gabriel, John Gardner, Billy Goodlatau, Mae Greenway, Eleanor Gregory, William, Jr. Hertz, Mr. Hertz, Mrs. Hollman, Jacqueline Housler, Mae Hubbell, Hildegarde Hutte, Arthur Hutte, Jackie James, Frances Jimmy, Clara John, Maudrey (Maudry) Joseph, Catherine Joule, Vera Juneby(?), James Kaveolsek, Harold S. Keating, Mabel Kinzy, William F. Knox, Charles Kokrines, Elsie Koutchak, Anna Kuzakin, Xenia Lawney, Eugene Lawney, George Lawney, Kenneth Lohr, Alice Longcarp, Margaret Ludy, Reginald, Superintendent Luke, Elsie McCormick, Florence Mensoff, Annie Miller, Marion Milligan, Lena Mingus, June Munson, Henry Munson, Oscar Murphy, Katy Megevnanna, Henry Newman, Alice Newman, Bertha Nickolie, Evan Noble, Hilda Notti, Beverly Notti, Josephine Ogden, Mrs. Osbekoff, Irene Oskolgoff (?), Sophie Oulette, Margaret Pagano, Edward Pagano, Frank Painter, Olivia Panchine, Jennie Perry, Clare Peters, Mary Peterson, Ernest Pitka, Elsie Pitka, Lillian Pitka, Nancy Ponchene, Mary Rasmussen, Conard Rasmussen, Effie Rasmussen, Margaret Resoff, Miss Rogers, Mrs. Rogers, William M. Schaeffer, Harriet Schetzle, John B. Seller, Kathryn D. Shanigan, Nick Simeonoff, Anna Simeonoff, Mildred Solomon, Mardow Solomon, Paul Standifer, Elsie Starr, Edna Stevens, Frances Stevens, Frankie Stevens, Silas Strom, Margaret Sunrise, Annie Sweetsir, Vivian Tagarook, Peter Talaak, Isaac Bennett Thoahun, Anita Thomas, Morris Tobuk, Alice Tooyak, Alice Tooyak, Madeline Underwood, Lena Vincent, David Vincent, Leon S. Vincent, Marilyn Vincent, Ruth A. Wheeler, Chaplain Williams, Jimmie