1
Alaska Railroad Photograph Collection
B1979.002
Historical Background
1903 Alaska Central Railway built the first railroad in Alaska starting in Seward
and extending 50 miles north.
1910 Alaska Central Railway went bankrupt in 1907 and reorganized as the
Alaska Northern Railway Co. in 1910 extending the railroad to Kern
Creek- 71 miles from Seward.
1914 March 12- The U.S. Congress agrees to fund construction and operation of
a railroad from Seward to Fairbanks.
1915 June- Anchorage is created as a railroad construction town along Ship
Creek where the railroad moves its headquarters from Seward.
1916 December 1- Anchorage Alaska Railroad hospital first occupied by
medical staff and patients, on 3rd
Ave.
1917 Railroad construction crews peak at 4,500 workers. The Tanana Valley
Railroad, a 45-mile narrow-gauge line into Fairbanks from the Chatanika
mining area to the northwest, was purchased, principally to obtain its Fairbanks terminal Facilities.
1923 June 15- President Warren G. Harding marks the completion of the Alaska Railroad by driving the golden
spike in ceremonies at Nenana.
1938 Under the management of Col. Otto F. Ohlson, the Alaska Railroad operates its first profitable year.
1940 Two tunnels are built through the Chugach Mountains to allow rail access to Whittier, a military port and
fuel depot necessary to support the war effort. A new Anchorage passenger depot is completed in
December.
1944 Whittier opens as a second railroad port. Diesel locomotives begin to replace steam engines, a process
completed in 1966 when the last steam engine was sold.
1944 August- Alaska Railroad hospital at Anchorage closed down.
Post-
War Congress approves $100 million rehabilitation program.
1947 October 18- Inaugural run of the Aurora streamliner.
1951 November 6- Last rail placed on re-location project that eliminates the “Loop.”
1955 March 1- Alaska Railroad awarded a 20-year contract to B and R Tug and Barge Company for operating of
riverboat service on the Tanana and Yukon rivers.
1957 April 9- Curry hotel destroyed by fire.
1961 April- New $8,500,000 Port of Anchorage completed.
1962 May- First car-barge service established at Whittier, followed by train-ship service in June 1964.
1963 April 25- President John F. Kennedy signs executive order making the Alaska Railroad tariff rates subject
to the Interstate Commerce Commission.
2
1963 August 10- The Hydro-Train barge, the “Clair Engle” arrives at Whittier, beginning the first rail car service
between the Continental United States and Alaska.
1964 March 27- Good Friday Earthquake; railroad damage is estimated at $30 million. Freight service from
Anchorage to Fairbanks is restored April 6, passenger service is back on line April 11, and freight service
to Whittier resumes April 20.
1967 April- Control of the Alaska Railroad passes from the Secretary of the Interior to the Secretary of
Transportation.
1983 January 14- President Ronald Reagan signs into law legislation authorizing transfer of the Alaska Railroad
to the State of Alaska.
1983 July 15- Secretary of Transportation Elizabeth Dole and Governor Bill Sheffield sign a report detailing the
Alaska Railroad’s property, assets and liabilities to be transferred to the state.
1983 September 23- The U.S. Railway Association sets the fair market value of the Alaska Railroad at $22.3
million.
1984 May- Tour Alaska attaches the first three private dome railcars to the Anchorage/Fairbanks daily train
service.
1984 July 5- Governor Bill Sheffield signs legislation establishing the quasi-public Alaska Railroad Corporation
and its seven-member board of directors.
1985 January 5- The Alaska Railroad becomes the property of the State of Alaska in transfer ceremonies held in
Nenana and Seward.
Scope and Content
The collection consists of photographic images created by the Alaska Railroad. The majority of the collection
focuses on locomotives, bridges, buildings, construction, freight, equipment, passenger services, employees, and
track. While the main focus of the collection is the railroad, the photographs often capture details of mid 20th
/
century life in Alaska, as well as images of the Alaskan landscape.
The collection is arranged by subject, alphabetically. The subjects often overlap (i.e. “Derailments” and “Wrecks”
share similar material), and therefore the subject index is a useful tool. Locations along the railroad line have a
corresponding milepost number with Seward at MP 0 and Fairbanks at 470.3, and list of the mileposts is provided.
The Alaska Railroad collection is housed in two filing cabinets. There is an accompanying collection of the Alaska
Engineering Commission (which became the Alaska Railroad in 1923). It has the same accession number of B79.2,
and houses nearly 2700 photographs relating to the earlier years of the railroad (1915-1923).
Helpful Terms and Abbreviations
AEC Alaskan Engineering Commission, created to build the railroad, in August of 1923, the
Commission was abolished and substituted with the “Alaska Railroad”
B & B Bridge and Building
MOW Maintenance of Way
MP Milepost
MP & E Motive Power and Equipment
Piggybacking When the trailer chassis is separated from the tractor and loaded directly onto a railroad flatcar.
Processing Note
The finding aid and subject index was created by Diann Benti in August 2004.
3
Alaska Railroad Photographic Collection, Inventory
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
items
1924-
1979
1/1 Accidents 7
1/2 Aerial Views- Fairbanks 4
1/3 Aerial Views- Unidentified 17
1/4 Alaska Days- 1947 25
1/5 Alaska Days- 1948 4
1/6 Alaska Days- 1950 7
1/7 Alaska Days- 1952 2
1/8 Alaska Steamship Company 34
1/9 Alaska Towns- Alaska Towns/ Misc. 58
1/10 Alaska Towns- Barrow 45
1/11 Anchorage, City of 45
1/12
Anchorage Fur Rendezvous 26
1/13
ARR Corporation- Meetings/Boards 24
1/14
ARR Corporation- Transfer (Federal to State) 22
1/15
Awards 41
1/16
Barges- Barge OB-6 2
1/17
Barges- Barge 754 12
1/18 Barges- Barge 754 Sinking (4/15/50), near Fox Island,
Thumb Cove
10
1/19 Barges- “Clair Engle”
22
1/20 Barges- Valdez Operation (X-Ref. Pipe [at Valdez])
27
1/21 Barges- Barges (X-Ref. Whittier 62.5) 37
1/22 Bridges (1 of 2)- MP199 Construction 16
1/23 Bridges (1 of 2)- Hurricane Gulch MP284.2 23
1/24 Bridges (1 of 2)- MP 301-415 97
1/25 Bridges (2 of 2)- Bridge Damage (Bear Valley, loop,
Kashwitna, etc.)
65
1/26 Bridges (2 of 2)- Bridge Steel (Sunshine, Yukon River)
via ARR
40
4
Date Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
1/27 Bridges (1 of 3)- By MP/Name Thru MP 300 80
1/28 Buildings (1 of 3)- Carlsbad (NM) Power Plant 23
1/29 Buildings (1 of 3)- ARR/CEA Power Plant 63
1/30 Buildings (1 of 3)- “Anchorage Headquarters” X-Ref.
M.P. Anchorage 114-11
93
1/31 Buildings (1 of 3)- Commissary for Employees
1
1/32 Buildings (2 of 3)- Mechanical Shops (Anchorage) 1 of
2
139
1/33 Buildings (2 of 3)- Mechanical Shops (Anchorage) 2 of
2
83
1/34 Buildings (2 of 3)- Freight House, Anchorage 11
1/35 Buildings (2 of 3)- ARR Employees Club- Hilltop Youth
Club
5
1/36 Buildings (2 of 3)- Hospitals/ Dormitory 40
1/37 Buildings (2 of 3)- Housing, Government Hill 14
1/38 Buildings (3 of 3)- Stations, ARR Miscellaneous 18
1/39 Buildings (3 of 3)- Section Houses (X-Ref Milepost) 38
1/40 Buildings (3 of 3)- Depot, Fairbanks 40
1/41 Buildings (3 of 3)- Unidentified and Miscellaneous 25
1/42 Buildings (3 of 3)- Whittier 18
1/43 Cars (1 of 3)- Auto Carriers 16
1/44 Cars (1 of 3)- Baggage 15
1/45 Cars (1 of 3)- Box, Flat 41
1/46 Cars (1 of 3)- Brill/ Self Propelled 13
1/47 Cars (1 of 3)- Business 19
1/48 Cars (2 of 3)- Caboose 92
1/49 Cars (2 of 3)- Coach Cars (including “Dome”) 81
1/50 Cars (2 of 3)- Coach Air Conditions 4/61 14
1/51 Cars (2 of 3)- “Dump” 12
1/52 Cars (3 of 3)- Observation, Sleepers 99
5
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
1/53 Cars (3 of 3)- Outfit 17
1/54 Cars (3 of 3)- Reefer 24
1/55 Cars (3 of 3)- Railbus, Rail Mobile, Railcar 56
1/56 Cars (3 of 3)- Troop (Kitchen, Sleeper) 16
1/57 Cars (3 of 3)- Unloading (Whittier) 10
2/58 Ceremonies- Anchorage, 50th
/
Anniversary 1
2/59 Ceremonies- 4th
/
of July 18
2/60 Ceremonies- Centennial 1967 27
2/61 Ceremonies- “Locomotive #1 Monument” (X-Ref.
Locos, Steam #1)
16
2/62 Ceremonies- Fairbanks Celebration 5
2/63 Ceremonies- Bicentennial 1976 (X-Ref. Locos, Diesel-
Bicentennial)
10
2/64 Ceremonies- Gold Spike 50th
/
Anniversary, 7/15/73 41
2/65 Ceremonies- Potter Dedication 1
2/66 Ceremonies- Seward Highway 3
2/67 Ceremonies- Mears Memorial Bridge/ Nenana 1974 10
2/68 Ceremonies- Whittier Tunnel (Holding thru/ dedication) 50
2/69 Ceremonies 5
2/70 Coal- Export Project (Coal Trains) 317
2/71 Coal- “Aurora” (X-Ref. Locos, Diesel #10507 42
2/72 Coal- Chickaloon 3
2/73 Coal X.Ref- Suntrana 358.0- Anchorage 3
2/74 Coal X. Ref- Suntrana 358.0- Suntrana/Healy/Usibelli 27
2/75 Coal X. Ref- Suntrana 358.0- Miscellaneous 19
2/76 Coal X. Ref- Suntrana 358.0- Eska 29
2/77 Coal X. Ref- Suntrana 358.0- Alaska Coal Export
Project
2
2/78 Coastwise Line 31
2/79 Communications- Microwave 7
6
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
2/80 Communications- Electronics, Road 17
2/81 Communications- T and T Mi 75.4-79.5 17
2/82 Communications- Pole line, Tripod 23
2/83 Construction (1 of 3) X-Ref. Historical- Construction
(AEC)
15
2/84 Construction (1 of 3) X-Ref. Historical- Anchorage
Freight House Addition
7
2/85 Construction (1 of 3) X-Ref. Historical- Diesel and
Heavy Equipment Shop
38
2/86 Construction (1 of 3) X-Ref. Historical- Car Shop 8
2/87 Construction (1 of 3) X-Ref. Historical- General Repair
Shop
5
2/88 Construction (2 of 3)- Grading (Road to Government
Hill, Anchorage Yards)
11
2/89 Construction (2 of 3)- Morrison- Knudsen Road Gang 10
2/90 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR/CEA Power Plant,
Anchorage
36
2/91 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- Boiler Construction 1951-1952 Contract #I-3arr-
8761
31
2/92 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)-General Repair Shop- 1951-1952 Contract #I-
3arr-9317
9
2/93 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- North Portion Utility Distributions System 1952,
Contract #14-04-003
8
2/94 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- Ship Creek Bridge 1952 Contract #1-3arr-9578
7
2/95 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)-Contract I-3arr-9426 November 1951 Loading
Muskeg, Pipe laying, Excavation, View, Also 1952
additional
11
2/96 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- Diesel Plant 1950-1951
7
2/97 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- Heavy Equipment and Diesel Repair Shop July
and April 1949
4
2/98 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- Scale House May 1949 and November 1948
4
7
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
2/99 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- Diesel Locomotive Shop 12-1-44
4
2/100 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- Freight Shed Addition June 1, 1948
3
2/101 Construction (2 of 3)- ARR Construction (Progress-
Anch.)- CEA Steam Power and Heating Plant
18
2/102 Construction (2 of 3)- Progress Anchorage 26
2/103 Construction (3 of 3)- Pogress- Fairbanks 71
2/104 Construction (3 of 3)- Progress- Seward 48
2/105 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Mi. 355, 1949 5
2/106 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Healy 1944 5
2/107 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Fairbanks Area 1949 51
2/108 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Bird Area 15
2/109 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Damages October 1954 14
2/110 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Houston 1971 23
2/111 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Mi. 18, 55.4 Honolulu,
Suntrana
7
2/112 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Anchorage Yard 17
2/113 Derailments (X-Ref. Wrecks)- Miscellaneous 20
2/114 Dredges 6
2/115 Earthquake- High Tides, 1964 35
2/116 Earthquake- Misc. 1964 9
2/117 Earthquake- Whittier, 1964 26
2/118 Earthquake- Bridges (Earthquake) 29
2/119 Earthquake- Portage 1964 10
2/120 Earthquake- Potter Hill 1964 140
2/121 Earthquake- Post-Quake Repairs 21
2/122 Earthquake- Anchorage 1964 37
2/123 Earthquake- Seward 1964 121
2/124 Eklutna power Project/ housing 9
8
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
2/125 Equipment- Army War Surplus (WWII) 8
2/126 Equipment- Brush Cutter 12
2/127 Equipment- Caterpillars 18
2/128 Equipment- Crawler Crane 2
2/129 Equipment- Ditcher 8
2/130 Equipment- Equipment Register 3
2/131 Equipment- Flange Plow 3
2/132 Equipment- Flying Switch 1
2/133 Equipment- Forklifts 16
2/134 Equipment- Gas Cars (With grass cutter) 12
2/135 Equipment- Gantry Cranes 55
2/136 Equipment- Jordan Spreaders 3
2/137 Equipment (2 of 3)- Lima Crane 6
2/138 Equipment (2 of 3)- Locomotive Crane 4
2/139 Equipment (2 of 3)- Mower (Cutter) 8
2/140 Equipment (2 of 3)- Pile Drivers 10
2/141 Equipment (2 of 3)- Power Cars 16
2/142 Equipment (2 of 3)- Shovels 11
2/143 Equipment (2 of 3)- Snow- GOS 18
2/144 Equipment (2 of 3)- Stiffleg Derrick 18
2/145 Equipment (2 of 3)- Straddle Carriers/ Trucks 19
2/146 Equipment (2 of 3)- Surplus 5
2/147 Equipment (3 of 3)- Trackliner 8
2/148 Equipment (3 of 3)- Ties/Tie Tampers 29
2/149 Equipment (3 of 3)- Van Lifter 14
2/150 Equipment (3 of 3)- Weed Sprayer 25
2/151 Equipment (3 of 3)- Trucks (X-Ref. To Freight) 19
2/152 Equipment (3 of 3)- URB’s (X-Ref. to Freight) (X-Ref.
to Piggyback)
30
9
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
2/153 Equipment (3 of 3)- Miscellaneous 49
2/154 Equipment (3 of 3)- Gondola Hopper 47
3/155 Fires- Anchorage 11
3/156 Fires- Anchorage- RR/Shops 41
3/157 Fires- Bridges 10
3/158 Fires- Coach Shed and Machine Shop 1951 11
3/159 Fires- Healy 28
3/160 Fires- Miscellaneous- (Broad Pass, Curry, Fairbanks,
Portage, Nenana)
39
3/161 Fires- Whittier 6/17/1953 12
3/162 Floods- Miscellaneous 17
3/163 Floods- Fort Wainwright- E Ielson Br. 8/1967 24
3/164 Floods- Nenana 8/1978 and 7/1967 61
3/165 Floods- Whittier 11/1948 5
3/166 Floods- Nenana 5/1948, 6/1952 68
3/167 Floods- Fairbanks 8/1967 13
3/168 Freight- Poor Loading 9
3/168.1 Freight- Dockside 25
3/168.2 Freight- On Flat Cars 118
3/168.3 Freight- Freight 150
3/168.4 Freight- Loading, Unloading, Handling 54
3/169 Freight- Miscellaneous 59
3/170 Historical (1 of 2)- Alaska Central/ Northern 24
3/171 Historical (1 of 2)- Housing 2
3/172 Historical (1 of 2)- Camps and Towns 36
3/173 Historical (1 of 2)- A.E.C. (Ak Engr. Commission X-
Ref. Coal
22
3/174 Historical (1 of 2)- Early Anchorage 56
3/175 Historical (2 of 2)- Miscellaneous 41
3/176 Historical (2 of 2)- Davis Collection 38
10
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
3/177 Historical (2 of 2)- By E.J. Cronin 34
3/178 Insignia
15
3/179 Locomotives, Diesel- #1050 (X-Ref. Ceremonies
“Aurora”)
25
3/180 Locomotives, Diesel- Bicentennial 1976 (X-Ref.
Ceremonies Bicentennial)
39
3/181 Locomotives, Diesel- Locomotives Diesel (1 of 3) #25 to
2000
116
3/182 Locomotives, Diesel- Locomotives Diesel (2 of 3) #2000
to 3000
30
3/183 Locomotives, Diesel- Locomotives Diesel (3 of 3)
#3000+
78
3/184 Locomotives, Steam- Unloading Whittier, 1942 12
3/185 Locomotives, Steam- #556, 557 40
3/186 Locomotives, Steam- Junk Locomotives 9
3/187 Locomotives, Steam- Loco #1 (X-Ref. Ceremonies) 12
3/188 Locomotives, Steam- Sold to Spain 24
3/189 Locomotives, Steam- Locomotives, Steam (Misc.) 96
3/190 “Loop Area” 52
3/191 Maps 10
3/192 Medical 14
3/193 Miscellaneous- Films/ Movies 10
3/194 Miscellaneous- Painting (WPA) 7
3/195 Miscellaneous- Christmas 9
3/196 Miscellaneous- Alaska Pictures 30
3/197 Miscellaneous- Displays 8
3/198 Miscellaneous- Other railroads (incl. Models,
miniatures)
28
3/199 People (1 of 6)- Boy Scouts 9
3/200 People (1 of 6)- IBM Branch- Machines and Personnel 26
3/201 People (1 of 6)- ARR/Groups 134
3/202 People (2 of 6)- Parties (1 of 2) 200
11
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
3/203 People (2 of 6)- Parties (2 of 2) 91
3/204 People (2 of 6)- Picnics 200
4/205 People- Not ARR (Identified) 48
4/206 People- Unidentified 9
4/207 People (3 of 6)- “A” 4
4/208 People (3 of 6)- “B” 36
4/209 People (3 of 6)- “C” 27
4/210 People (3 of 6)- “D” 24
4/211 People (3 of 6)- “E” 2
4/212 People (4 of 6)- “F” 32
4/213 People (4 of 6)- “G” 14
4/214 People (4 of 6)- “H” 35
4/215 People (4 of 6)- “I” and “J” 45
4/216 People (4 of 6)- “K” 27
4/217 People (5 of 6)- “L” 217
4/218 People (5 of 6)- “M” 32
4/219 People (5 of 6)- “N” 7
4/220 People (5 of 6)- “O” 11
4/221 People (5 of 6)- “P” and “Q” 6
4/222 People (5 of 6)- “R” 17
4/223 People (5 of 6)- “S” 33
4/224 People (5 of 6)- “T” 4
4/225 People (6 of 6)- “U” and “V” 2
4/226 People (6 of 6)- “W-Z” 10
4/227 People (6 of 6)- ARR Employees 145
4/228 People (6 of 6)- Hosts and Hostesses 7
4/229 Piggyback/URB Service (X-Ref. Freight) 141
4/230 Pipes- At Fairbanks 1
12
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
4/231 Pipes- At Valdez 17
4/232 Pipes- Miscellaneous 6
4/233 Pipes- At Seward Dock 17
4/234 Rails 6
4/235 Reconstruction of ARR- 1951-1952 Progress 25
4/236 Reconstruction of ARR- 1948-1949 (“Before” Photos) 46
4/237 Riverboats- “Alice” 19
4/238 Riverboats- “Tanana” 20
4/239 Riverboats- “Nenana” 41
4/240 Riverboats- “Yukon” 32
4/241 Riverboats- Miscellaneous 56
4/242 Scenic- Alaska Highway 1945 13
4/243 Scenic- Animals 114
4/244 Scenic- Fish Wheel 5
4/245 Scenic- Glaciers 39
4/246 Scenic- Lakes 14
4/247 Scenic- Mountains 36
4/248 Scenic- Miscellaneous 100
4/249 Shops (X-Ref. Buildings- Mech. Shop) 1
4/250 Slides (X-Ref. Snow Removal) 81
4/251 Snow and Ice- Snow Removal 88
4/252 Snow and Ice- Ice Conditions 20
4/253 Snow and Ice- Snow Plows 25
4/254 Sports 112
4/255 Statehood 20
4/256 Timetables 5/5/1918 4
5 Unlabelled Slides
5/257 Track (1 of 3)- Milepost 0-100 125
13
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
5/258 Track (1 of 3)- Milepost 101-200 30
5/259 Track (2 of 3)- Milepost 201-300 28
5/260 Track (2 of 3)- Milepost 301-400 64
5/261 Track (2 of 3)- Milepost 401-Eielson Br. 61
5/262 Track (2 of 3)- Crossings 2
5/263 Track (2 of 3)- Deferred Maintenance 62
5/264 Track (2 of 3)- Experimental Concrete Ties 43
5/265 Track (2 of 3)- Reconstruction along Seward Highway
1949-1951
16
5/266 Track (2 of 3)- Laying Track 61
5/267 Track (2 of 3)- Damage/Repair 129
5/268 Track (3 of 3)- Miscellaneous 83
5/269 Trains, Diesel (1 of 3)- Auto-Shuttle Train 65
5/270 Trains, Diesel (2 of 3)- Gravel 17
5/271 Trains, Diesel (2 of 3)- Pipe (X-Ref. Pipe) 9
5/272 Trains, Diesel (2 of 3)- Work 11
5/273 Trains, Diesel (2 of 3)- Mixed 14
5/274 Trains, Diesel (3 of 3)- Trains (Diesel)- Freight 7
5/275 Trains, Diesel (3 of 3)- Passenger (1 of 3) (with dates
shown)
122
5/276 Trains, Diesel (3 of 3)- Passenger (2 of 3) (People
boarding and aboard)
61
5/277 Trains, Diesel (3 of 3)- Passenger (3 of 3) Misc. (Not
Dated)
82
5/278 Ski Train, Auto-Shuttle, Color Transparencies – Special 12
5/279 Trains Steam 71
5/280 Tunnels (See Whittier Tunnel)- Tunnels 23
5/281 Washouts- milepost 435.6 3
5/282 Washouts- Honolulu 7
5/283 Washouts- Houston 3
14
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
5/284 Washouts- Healy 10
5/285 Washouts- Milepost 199 16
5/286 Washouts- Miscellaneous 9
5/287 Whittier Tunnel 25
5/288 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 12/29/1949 7
5/289 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 11/16/1951 Anch. Yards
(2/21/1950), (1025/1951)
15
5/290 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 11/21/1961 Grandview 7
5/291 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 8/29/1962 Mile 443 8
5/292 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- Kern 7
5/293 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- Mile 27 4
5/294 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- Moose Pass 4
5/295 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- Mile 91 1
5/296 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- Unidentified 8
5/297 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 5/4/1948 Mile 13.4 15
5/298 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 8/29/1950 Nenana 28
5/299 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 3/8/1943 Rainbow
3/24/1950
4
5/300 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 8/2/1952 Whittier 9
5/301 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- Misc. Damage 15
5/302 Wrecks (X-Ref. Derailments)- 6/4/1963 Matanuska
Bridge
6
5/303 Yards (X-Ref. Buildings, mileposts- Anch 114-Y and
Fairbanks) 470.3 (1 of 2)- Anchorage (1 of 3) (aerial
views)
50
5/304 Yards (X-Ref. Buildings, mileposts- Anch 114-Y and
Fairbanks) 470.3 (1 of 2)- Anchorage (2 of 3) (1920s
thru 1950s)
71
5/305 Yards (X-Ref. Buildings, mileposts- Anch 114-Y and
Fairbanks) 470.3 (1 of 2)- Anchorage (3 of 3) (1960s
forward)
70
5/306 Yards (2 of 2)- Fairbanks (See Milepost section 470.3
(yards)
12
5/307 Yards (2 of 2)- Seward 17
15
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
5/308 Yards (2 of 2)- Valdez 19
6/309 Seward 0.0. (1 of 2)- Seaway Express 31
6/310 Seward 0.0. (1 of 2)- Seward 0.0. (Buildings) 25
6/311 Seward 0.0. (1 of 2)- Historical 19
6/312 Seward 0.0. (1 of 2)- Depot, Seward 11
6/313 Seward 0.0. (1 of 2)- Miscellaneous 36
6/314 Seward 0.0 (2 of 2)- Seward 0.0 (X-Ref. to Earthquake-
Seward)
1
6/315 Seward 0.0. (2 of 2)- Docks (1 of 2) 77
6/316 Seward 0.0. (2 of 2)- Docks (2 of 2) 150
6 Mileposts (Seward to Eielson)
6/317 Divide 12.0 2
6/318 Primrose 18.4 2
6/319 Lakeview 20.2 2
6/320 Lawing 23.3 2
6/321 Moose Pass 29.3 6
6/322 Hunter 40.0 1
6/323 Grandview 44.9 7
6/324 Tunnel 51.0 21
6/325 Morraine 55.4 9
6/326 Whittier 62.5- Aquatrain/ (Canadian National) 27
6/327 Whittier 62.5- Barges (Hydro-train) 39
6/328 Whittier 62.5-Car Slip/ Construction 29
6/329 Whittier 62.5- Dock 25
6/330 Whittier 62.5- Miscellaneous 37
6/331 Whittier 62.5- Trainship “Alaska” 52
6/332 Whittier 62.5 X Ref. to Earthquake (Whittier 0
6/333 Whittier 62.5 X-Ref. to Buildings (Whittier and Whittier
Tunnel) Also ceremonies (Whittier Tunnel)
0
16
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
6/334 Whittier 62.5- Military (Whittier) 19
6/335 Portage 64/2- Portage 64.2 X-Ref. to Auto-Shuttle Train
and earthquake (Portage)
69
6/336 Kern 70.5
5
6/337 Girdwood 74.8 9
6/338 Bird 81.7 3
6/339 Indian 88.7 12
6/340 Rainbow 93.5 8
6/341 Potter 100.6 X-Ref. to Earthquake (Potter Hill 1964) 5
6/342 Campbell 109.3 2
6/343 Anchorage 114-Y (Yards and Buildings) (X-Ref. yards)-
Storage Yard
6
6/344 Anchorage 114-Y (Yards and Buildings) (X-Ref. yards)-
Warehouse- Industrial
26
6/345 Anchorage 114-Y (Yards and Buildings) (X-Ref. yards) 46
6/346 Anchorage 114-H (Headquarters Office) 50
6/347 Anchorage 114-F (Freight Depot) (Farming)- Anchorage
114F (Farming)
4
6/348 Anchorage 114-F (Freight Depot) (Farming)- (X-Ref. to
Earthquake [Anchorage])
0
6/349 Anchorage 114-F (Freight Depot) 41
6/350 Anchorage 114-F (Freight Depot)- Miscellaneous 27
6/351 Whitney 119.1 1
6/352 Birchwood 136.3 4
6/353 Eklutna 141.2 16
6/354 Matanuska 150.7 25
6/355 Wasilla 159.8 6
6/356 Palmer 30
6/357 Palmer (Farming) 21
6/358 Pittman 166.5 2
6/359 Houston 174.9 4
17
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
6/360 Nancy 180.7 1
6/361 Willow 185.7 17
6/362 Kashwitna 193.9 6
6/363 Caswell 202.3 3
6/364 Montana 209.3 8
6/365 Sunshine 215.3 4
6/363 Fish Lake 221.3 2
6/364 Montana 209/3 8
6/365 Sunshine 215.3 4
6/366 Fish Lake 221.3 2
6/367 Talkeetna 226.7 26
6/368 Chase 236.2 2
6/369 Lane 242.6 0
6/370 Curry 248.5 71
6/371 Curry Hotel 248-H 22
6/372 Sherman 258.3 4
6/373 Gold Creek 263.2 6
6/374 Indian River 263.5 7
6/375 Canyon 268.4 1
6/376 Chulitna 273.8 8
6/377 Hurricane 281.4 3
6/378 Honolulu 288.7 3
6/379 Colorado 297.1 1
6/380 Broad Pass 304.3 23
6/381 Summit 312.5 6
6/382 Cantwell 319.5- Miscellaneous 9
6/383 Cantwell 319.5- Women’s Section Group 12
6/384 Windy 326.7 4
18
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
6/385 Carlo 334.4 7
6/386 Yanert 341.7 0
6/387 Lagoon 343.7 2
6/388 McKinley Park 347.9- Miscellaneous 35
6/389 McKinley Park 347.9- Station at McKinley Park 23
6/390 McKinley Park 347.9-Scenery 100
6/391 McKinley Park 347.9- Tourists 5
6/392 McKinley Park Hotel 347-H- Old 34
6/393 McKinley Park Hotel 347-H- New 115
6/394 Moody 353.2 3
6/395 Garner 355.7 4
6/396 Suntrana 358.0 19
6/397 Healy 358.1 82
6/398 Lignite 363.1 2
6/399 Ferry 371.2 7
6/400 Browne 381.2 4
6/401 Rex 387.2 0
6/402 Clear 394.2 2
6/403 Julius 401.3 3
6/404 Nenana 411.7 147
6/405 North Nenana 415.4 6
6/406 Berg 420.4 1
6/407 Dunbar 431.6 11
6/408 Standard 439.5 1
6/409 Cache 447.7 1
6/410 Saulich 450.8 0
6/411 Dome 456.2
6/412 Happy 463.0 0
19
Date Span Drawer/Folder Subject Number of
Items
1924-
1979
6/413 Ester 465.6 0
6/414 College 467.1 0
6/415 Fairbanks 470.3- Miscellaneous 53
6/416 Fairbanks 470.3- ARR Buildings 14
6/417 Fairbanks 470.3- Agricultural Experiment Farm 30
6/418 Fairbanks 470.3- Fairbanks Terminal Yards 1947, 1948,
1949, 1950, 1960
100