Completed by JD; 2/06/2009
MUYBRIDGE COLLECTION. Photos. 1 file folder in .33 cu. ft. 1868, 1875?
B76.194

Accession:
1976, December 20 Muybridge
Photographs of Tlingit Natives, Fort Wrangell, and Sitka. Also in the collection are
photographs of engravings of the “Report on an Expedition to the Copper, Tanana and
Koyukon Rivers in the Territory of Alaska, in the year 1885”.
Donated. Alaska Historical Library. Juneau, Alaska
40 Photos.

Eadweard Muybridge was born in Kingston-on-Thames in England on April 9, 1830. Muybridge
came to America in 1852 and established a bookstore in San Francisco in 1855. He started his
own photographic studio in 1867 and became one of the best landscape photographers there.
Muybridge was commissioned by Major General Henry W. Halleck in 1868 to travel to Alaska
to photograph and inspect the Military Department of Alaska. Onboard the steamer Pacific,
Muybridge photographed the B.C. coast, including Victoria and Nanaimo, and arrived in Fort
Wrangle (Wrangell) on August 15 and Sitka on August 18, 1868. Muybridge photographed the
area in five days and submitted his photographs to Halleck on his return in September of 1868.

The Muybridge collection consists of 40 photographs, some of which are photographs of
engravings from “Report on an Expedition to the Copper, Tanana and Koyukon Rivers in the
Territory of Alaska, in the year 1885”. The collection includes photographs of Tlingit Natives,
Fort Wrangell, and Sitka. Sitka photographs include Tlingit Natives, the Harbor, priests, Lincoln
Street, buildings, and the U.S. Customs House. Photographs of Fort Wrangell include the
Cemetery, Tongass, Tlingit Natives, and views from Rock Cod. Photographs were taken by
Eadweard Muybridge who was commissioned to record a trip to inspect the Military Department
of Alaska in 1868. The collection is arranged in number order in a binder. The binder also
contains an article on Eadweard Muybridge from Alaska Journal.

This collection was purchased by the Anchorage Museum from the Alaska Historical Library in
1976.

INVENTORY

Binder 1
B76.194.1 – 39

Article, “Eadward Muybridge: Alaska’s First Photographer” By Richard A. Pierce

Photo List

B76.194.1 Sitka from Japanese Island B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.2 Sitka from Japanese Island B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.3 Sitka from Japanese Island B&W 8 x 10

Completed by JD; 2/06/2009
B76.194.4 Sitka from Japanese Island B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.5 Sitka from the northeast
B76.194.6 Sitka Harbor from the Governor’s garden B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.7 Tlingit Village and totems, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.8 Sitka Harbor from the Governor’s garden B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.9 Parade ground, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.10 Lincoln Street, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.11 St. Michael’s Cathedral, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.12 St. Michael’s Cathedral, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.13 Russian Orthodox Eastern Church priests, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.14 U.S. Customs House, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.15 Hospital and priests residence, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.16 Group in front of the double decker, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.17 (Tlingit) Indian Chiefs, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.18 (Tlingit) Indian Chiefs, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.19 Tlingit Natives, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.20 Tlingit Natives, Sitka B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.21 Fort Wrangell from Rock Cod B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.22 Fort Wrangell military post B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.23 Fort Wrangell Native village from Rock Cod, Tlingit Natives B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.24 Fort Wrangell Native village from Rock Cod, Tlingit Natives B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.25 Fort Wrangell Cemetery, Tlingit totems B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.26 Fort Wrangell Cemetery, Tlingit totems B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.27 Fort Wrangell, Tongass from Pine Cove, 1868 or 1875 B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.28 Fort Wrangell, Tongass, military post, 1868 or 1875 B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.29 Fort Wrangell, Tongass view from fort, 1868 or 1875 B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.30 Tlingit Natives, 1868-1875 B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.31 Tlingit Natives, 1868 or 1875 B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.33 Natives (Tlingit?), 1868 or 1875 B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.34 “Uchek in September. Moss Eng. Co. N.Y.” photo of engraving
from Allen, Report on an Expedition to the Copper, Tanana and
Koyukon River., 1885
B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.35 “Red Shirt (Athapaskan), Koyukon medicine man and Tyrone,
Moss Eng. Co. N.Y. photo of engraving from Allen, Report on an
expedition to the Copper, Tanana and Koyukon Rivers. 1885.
B&W 8 x 10*
B76.194.36 “Ivan, a Nukluktana Tyone Moss Eng. CO. N.Y.” photo of
engraving from Allen, Report of an Expedition to the Copper,
Tanana and Koyukon Rivers, 1885
B&W 8 x 10*
B76.194.37 “Nuklukyet – a summer picture. Moss Eng. Co., N.Y.” photo of
engraving from Allen, Report on an Expedition to the Copper,
Tanana and Koyukon Rivers, 1885.
B&W 8 x 10*
B76.194.38 “A midnoosky cache and sled. Moss Eng. Co. N.Y.” photo of an
engraving from Allen, Report of an Expedition to the Copper,
Tanana and Koyukon Rivers, 1885. (Athapaskan)
B&W 8 x 10
B76.194.39 “A midnoosky house.” Photo of engraving from Allen, Report on B&W 8 x 10*

Completed by JD; 2/06/2009
an Exploration of the Copper, Tanana and Koyukon Rivers, 1885
(Athapaskan)
B76.194.40 “Nowikakat in winter, showing dogs and sled. Moss Eng. Co.
N.Y.” Photo engraving from Allen, Report on an Expedition to the
Copper, Tanana and Koyukon Rivers, 1885 (Ingalik)
B&W 8 x 10*
B76.194.41 “Nuklukyet – a winter picture. Moss Eng. Co. N.Y.” photo of
engraving from Allen, Report of an Exploration to the Copper,
Tanana and Koyukon Rivers, 1885
B&W 8 x 10*

*Has Negative