AMHA Archives
Herning/Louise Potter collection
B64.17


The Herning/Potter collection contains materials on a variety of subjects, which
can be divided into three parts. (Omnia Hernia in tres partes divisa est...my apologies to
Caesar) First is a series of publications and materials gathered about the Matanuska-
Susitna valley and the settlement thereof. Second is material pertaining to the life and
diaries of O.G. Herning, the prospector and settler who came to Alaska in 1898. Third
and finally is a manuscript of a book entitled “Alaska Highway Idyll”, which traces the
author’s journey from Vermont to Wasilla in 1956. Any and all of this material would be
of great interest and use to a historian specifically studying any of these topics, or to
anyone who simply wishes to spend a few enjoyable hours expanding their knowledge of
Alaskan history and geography.

The folders of the Herning/Potter collection are as follows:

“Matanuska Valley Memoir”-
Contains a book of that title by H. A. Johnson and K. L. Stanton that chronicles
“The Story of How One Alaskan Community (Palmer) Developed”. Published 1955, it
traces the history of Palmer and the Mat-Su Valley from the Russian Era through the
“Present Day (1955) Situation”.

“Matanuska Valley Alaska”-
Contains a booklet of that title prepared and published in 1965 by the Matanuska
Valley Chamber of Commerce for the purpose of attracting visitors and/or potential
residents to the Valley. Contains black and white photos of various places in the Valley,
past and present, along with short articles.

Mat-Su Valley/ Wasilla documents-
Contains assorted documents of interest to historians studying the history of the
Valley.
-Students in the Wasilla high school, 1953-54
-Students in the Wasilla high school, 1956-1957
-Poem from “The Hub” 1940 WHS yearbook
-Documents of the Knik Musical, Literary, and Dramatic Association (MLD
Club)
-List of homesteaders near Knik as of 1915
-List of mining outfits in Broad Pass
-Typed copy of material from “Knik Alaska; It’s Resources”, pub. c. 1912
-Assorted minor documents

“The First Thirty Years in the Life of O. G. Herning of Knik and Wasilla”
Contains a rough draft of a book of that title by Louise Potter, covering the life of
O. G. Herning from 1868-98.

C:\Documents and Settings\jdevore\Local Settings\Temporary
Internet Files\OLKFB\B1964 017 Potter1.doc

C:\Documents and Settings\jdevore\Local Settings\Temporary
Internet Files\OLKFB\B1964 017 Potter1.doc
Notes on Herning Diaries-
Contains notes taken by Louise Potter on the Herning Diaries. Includes index-
style notes on Oil, Railroads and the Iditarod Trail as mentioned in the Diaries. Contains
manuscript of booklet “Early History of Wasilla and Knik: Materials from the Herning
Diaries” by Louise Potter

Assorted News Clippings-
Contains assorted news clippings donated by Louise Potter.

Misc. Artifacts/Materials-
Contains miscellaneous items donated by Louise Potter including:
-Duck wing feathers, collected circa 1898
-Pamphlet “Big Lake and the Matanuska Valley “Alaska’s Playground””
-Assorted receipts pertaining to Mr. Herning

“Alaska Highway Idyll” –Original on Onionskin
“Alaska Highway Idyll” –Photocopy
Original and photocopied copies of manuscript by unnamed author, detailing the
author’s journey from Vermont to Wasilla. Provides a detailed human account of the
scenery and people encountered en route to Alaska. Includes geographic index of places
mentioned.

Photographs with “Alaska Highway Idyll”-
Contains labeled photographs to be included in “Alaska Highway Idyll”, as taken
by the author.