REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Keltner Inside Passage Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2015.011

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1951

Extent: 2 boxes; 1.5 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Lynn and Rose Keltner, Robert A. Hall, E. Wolf, Sawyers, Wrathall’s,
Johnston, Dedman’s Photo Shop

Administrative/Biographical History:
Lynn Keltner was born in 1892 in Oregon. In 1926, he married Rose, who was born in 1902 in
Colorado. The couple moved to Humboldt, California, where Lynn was a practicing dentist and
Rose taught school. The couple traveled from California up the Inside Passage via automobile,
ship and train in 1951.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 90 color 35mm slides and one scrapbook with yucca covers,
measuring 13” x 9.” The slides include primarily commercial photographs taken by Robert A.
Hall of Moose Pass and E. Wolf of Juneau. The scrapbook contains photographs, postcards,
maps, and ephemera collected by the Keltners during their trip up the Inside Passage in 1951.

Arrangement: Arranged by format. Slides arranged by photographer, when known, and
further by photographer’s number. Original order of scrapbook maintained.



CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in fair to good condition. Some items and pages loose in album.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials. A light box may be
used to view transparencies.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Keltner Inside Passage Collection, Anchorage Museum, B2015.011

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by grandson David Cook in March 2015.

Processing Note
Items laid into scrapbook removed to folder. Several loosened items remounted in album.
Items taped into album will need conservation treatment. Yucca covers wrapped in plastic,
which may need to be removed.

RELATED MATERIALS
Ladic Photographs, B1980.057
Cornelia Lincoln Martin Scrapbook, B1992.024
Nickell Collection, B1995.001
Trip to Alaska, B1997.008
Candy Waugaman Collection, B1998.025
Inside Passage Collection, B2004.021
Allen Rennie Collection, B2005.032
Natalie Brother Photograph Album, B2009.004
Alma T. Nelson Album, B2012.035
Vera Zimmerman Photographs, B2013.077
Walter Deane Slides, B2014.002



SUBJECTS
White Pass & Yukon Route (Firm)
Tourism—Alaska
Totem poles—Alaska
Ships
Inside Passage
Ketchikan (Alaska)
Wrangell (Alaska)
Juneau (Alaska)
Skagway (Alaska)
Petersburg (Alaska)
Whitehorse (Yukon)

Detailed Description of the Collection

Slides
 1 — #35. Ketchikan waterfront. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [bird’s eye view of docks]
 2 — #97. Alaska totem poles, Wrangell, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [two totem poles, copies of Kadishan totems?]
 3 — 167. Str. “Whitehorse,” Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [paddle steamer Whitehorse at dock]
 4 — 169. Pilothouse of Str. “Whitehorse,” Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [close-up of paddle steamer Whitehorse]
 5 — #170. Paddle wheel of river steamer, Whitehorse, Y.T. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [close-up of paddle steamer Whitehorse]
 6 — #172. “Casca” underway, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [paddle steamer underway]
 7 — #173. Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [bird’s eye view of town]
 8 — #174. Main street, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [street scene with pedestrian, automobiles, sign for Capitol at right]
 9 — 175. Regina Hotel, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [automobiles parked outside hotel]
 10 — 176. Modern store, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [exterior of Novelty Shop, sign at right for Telephone Office]
 11 — 177. 3 story log cabin, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [three-story log building surrounded by scaffolding or porches]
 12 — 178. Modern log home, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [Third Avenue street scene, with log cabin with barn-style roof and picket fence]
 13 — 179. Post office, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [railroad cars on tracks at left]
 14 — 180. A schoolhouse, Whitehorse, Y.T. Canada. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [exterior, with flagpole at left, small sign for “School” on post at right]
 15 — #215. Alaska Juneau Gold Mine, Juneau, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [view of A-J Mine from dock]
 16 — #218. Fishing fleet, Juneau, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [small boat harbor]
 17 — #233. Bear clan totem. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [clan pole next to community house]
 18 — #234. Chief Shakes grave, Wrangell, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [two totems on short wooden fence]
 19 — #236. Totem pole head. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [wolf totem]
 20 — #237. Waterfront scene, Ketchikan, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [net full of cargo being hoisted off ship at dock]
 21 — #271. Waterfront, Ketchikan, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [view along docks to town, Ketchikan Cold Storage in middle ground]
 22 — #272. Waterfront and town, Ketchikan, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [view from water]
 23 — #273. Dock street, Ketchikan, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [view from ship of docks and waterfront buildings, Ryus Drugs at right]
 24 — #274. Mission St., Ketchikan, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [view from ship of docks and waterfront buildings, Hotel Ingersoll at left]
 25 — #275. Northbound, Ketchikan, Alaska. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [view of channel from ship’s bow, rigging and foredeck in foreground, with life ring of Baranof, waterfront at right]
 26 — #290. Sun house and totem poles. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [Kiks’adi pole, or Kohlteen pole, Wrangell]
 27 — #291. Eagle & fish totem poles. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [pole in front topped by eagle with outstretched wings, shorter pole at back]
 28 — #292. Totem poles. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [two poles in small village, both topped by hatted figures, pole at right with sun second from top. Cf. .30]
 29 — #296. Juneau, Alaska, waterfront. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [view from ship]
 30 — #297. Short totem pole. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [same as pole at right in .28]
 31 — #304. Totem, Sitka Nat’l. Monument. Northern Color Film Co., Robert A. Hall, Moose Pass [Saanaheit pole and house posts]
 32 — 83. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [A-J Mine from water]
 33 — 124. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [glacier terminus, Norris Glacier?]
 34 — 163. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [exterior of governor’s mansion]
 35 — 206. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [glacier terminus, Columbia Glacier?]
 36 — 213. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [aerial of Ketchikan]
 37 — 242. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Tired Wolf house post, Saxman Totem Park]
 38 — 257. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Skagway street scene, automobiles parked outside City Cab Stand and Pack Train Inn]
 39 — 258. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Skagway street scene with Golden North Hotel and liquor store]
 40 — 260. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Skagway, sign on Pack Train Inn]
 41 — 266. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [train entering tunnel in mountains, snow on ground, probably White Pass & Yukon Route]
 42 — 276. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Ketchikan street scene, with Hotel Ingersoll at left, automobiles and pedestrians]
 43 — 295. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [view across Gastineau Channel, A-J Mine in distance]
 44 — 315. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [aerial of Wrangell]
 45 — 318. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [scenic of mountain lake, Beaver Lake?]
 46 — 336. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [scenic with creek]
 47 — 379. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [airplanes on ground at Juneau airport, Mendenhall Glacier in background]
 48 — 537. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Canadian Royal Union Flag and American flag, probably border crossing]
 49 — 542. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [buildings and fencing seen from railroad, lake in distance, manuscript note: “snow sheds at summit”]
 50 — 548. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [railroad bridge, Dead Horse Gulch]
 51 — 550. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [pole topped with Three Watchmen and Beaver]
 52 — 588. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [seagulls flying over ship’s wake]
 53 — 645. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [creek with falls in background]
 54 — 667. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [aerial of glacier, Taku Glacier?]
 55 — 669. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Mendenhall Glacier and lake]
 56 — 670. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [river bed]
 57 — 674. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [bird’s eye view of buildings along river, manuscript note: “Taku Lodge from plane”]
 58 — 682. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [steamship at dock, Haines?]
 59 — 685. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Pullen House in trees, Skagway]
 60 — 686. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [view from beach to ship at dock, Skagway]
 61 — 687. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [dock pilings on gravel beach, small boat tied up in foreground, Eagle River near Juneau?]
 62 — 688. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [street scene, looking across railroad tracks to station building, Skagway?]
 63 — 689. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Skagway street scene, with Pack Train Inn at left]
 64 — 692. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [fireweed in field]
 65 — 695. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Canadian dogwood]
 66 — 696. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [church near Bennett Lake, tourists on paths]
 67 — 697. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [railroad station at Bennett Lake]
 68 — 698. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [passengers walking along railroad tracks next to White Pass & Yukon Route train stopped at Bennett Lake]
 69 — 702. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [creek along White Pass & Yukon Route]
 70 — 710. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [twin falls on creek]
 71 — 715. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [field of lupine, glacier in background, Mendenhall?]
 72 — 726. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [two Alaska Native girls posed on sled frame, dog in harness on grass, lake in background, summer. Same as B2014.019.493]
 73 — 733. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [ship coming in to dock, Skagway?]
74 — 735. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Alaska Native women selling crafts along street, Abbott & Costello movie poster in background]
 75 — 782. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [Raven Pole, or Raven Totem, Wrangell]
 76 — 790. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [field of Alaska cotton]
 77 — 805. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [flower garden in front of house]
 78 — 810. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [view of town from water, Petersburg?]
 79 — 812. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [CN steamship S.S. Prince George underway]
 80 — 815. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [scenic view of Inside Passage, ship rigging in foreground, Lynn Canal?]
 81 — 819. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [glacier terminus, Mendenhall Glacier?]
 82 — 822. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [glacier moraine, Mendenhall Glacier?]
 83 — 823. Photo by E. Wolf, Juneau, Alaska [similar to .82]
 84 — [man and woman standing in foreground, lake in background, manuscript note: “Beaver Lake near Bennett”]
 85 — [White Pass & Yukon Route train at station, passengers on platform, Skagway?]
 86 — [Arctic Brotherhood Hall, Skagway]
 87 — [Sam McGee’s cabin, Whitehorse]
 88 — [three Alaska Native children sitting in sled in yard next to building in summer]
 89 — [similar to .88, tourists patting dog at left]
 90 — [paddle steamers at docks on Yukon River, possibly Whitehorse] Album - Map. “Official road map. Northwestern.” Washington, D.C.: American Automobile Association, 1949. - Placemat. Lazio’s Sea Foods, Eureka, California - Pamphlet. “Welcome to Hammond Lumber Company sawmills at Samoa and Eureka, Calif.” - Clipping. “Samoa family will leave Sunday to tour Alaska.” Humboldt Standard, Thursday June 21, 1951, p. 26. - Napkin. “Happy trip.” Signed by eleven women.
 91 — 13-297. Mt. Hood from Portland, Oregon. Sawyers [photographic postcard]
 92 — 14-992. The Vista House, Crown Point, Columbia River Highway. Sawyers [photographic postcard]
 93 — Heathman Hotel. New Heathman Hotel [lithographed postcard]
 94 — Greetings from Portland, Oregon, for you a rose in Portland Grows [18 views in accordion fold format]
 95 — Multnomah Falls, queen of all American cataracts, second highest falls in U.S. [18 views in accordion fold format] - Pamphlet. “Gray Line guide and souvenir, 1950-51.” - Leaflet. “The world’s only memorial to motherhood: Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother, Portland, Oregon.” - Ticket. “Passenger’s identification and coach reservation coupon.” Great Northern Railway Co.
 96 — Canadian National Railway Station, Vancouver, B.C. [photographic postcard] - Map. “Cruise map, British Columbia and Alaska Coast.” Lithographed in Canada.
 97 — S.S. Prince George, Vancouver, B.C. [tinted photographic postcard. same as .114] - Leaflet. “Deck plans, S.S. Prince George.” - Pamphlet. “Alaska passenger list.” Canadian National. - Leaflet. “Aboard Canadian National’s new S.S. ‘Prince George’.” - Menu. “Alaska.” Canadian National (Pacific Coast) Steamships. Tuesday, July 3, 1951 - Menu. “Alaska.” Canadian National (Pacific Coast) Steamships. Wednesday, June 27, 1951 - Menu. “Good morning.” Wednesday June 27, 1951 - Menu. “Luncheon.” Saturday June 30, 1951 - Menu. “Breakfast.” Tuesday July 3, 1951
 98 — Prince Rupert, B.C. Photo by Wrathall [photographic postcard. aerial] - Pamphlet. “Prince Line cruise news.” Canadian National, Summer 1951. Stapled inside: “S.S. Prince George cruise news.” June 27, 1951 - Leaflet. “See Ketchikan, personalized tours through Alaska’s first city.” Northern Bus Company
 99 — 1275. Ketchikan, Alaska. Johnston [photographic postcard. Town seen from water]
 100 — 15343. Totem pole of Thlinget Chief Kian, Ketchikan, Alaska [lithographed postcard]
 101 — [lithographed postcard. View of Ketchikan from water.]
 102 — 15344. Chief Johnson’s totem and residence, Ketchikan, Alaska [lithographed postcard] - Pamphlet. “Prince Line cruise news.” Canadian National, Summer 1951. Stapled inside: “S.S. Prince George cruise news.” June 28, 1951
 103 — C116. Alaska Juneau Mine and Juneau, Alaska [lithographed postcard]
 104 — C118. Ice cave, Mendenhall Glacier near Juneau, Alaska [lithographed postcard] - Leaflet. “Mendenhall Glacier tour, Juneau.” Alaska Gray Line - Pamphlet. “Prince Line cruise news.” Canadian National, Summer 1951. Stapled inside: “S.S. Prince George cruise news.” June 29, 1951 - Pamphlet. “Prince Line cruise news.” Canadian National, Summer 1951. Stapled inside: “S.S. Prince George cruise news.” June 30, 1951 - Pamphlet. “A hand book of vacation trips in Alaska and the Yukon on the White Pass and Yukon Route.” No date - Ticket. “Parlor car ticket from Skagway to Whitehorse.” White Pass & Yukon Route - Pamphlet. “Wrangell lore.” Wrangell: Wrangell Girl Scouts Troops 1 and 4, no date. - Leaflet. “Wrangell, Alaska, where welcome awaits you ‘on the last frontier’.” Wrangell: Wrangell Chamber of Commerce, no date.
 105 — Wrangell, Alaska [photographic postcard. Bird’s eye view of town] - Pamphlet. “Prince Line cruise news.” Canadian National, Summer 1951. - Leaflet. “Legend of Flood Totem.” Kirmse’s Curio Shops
 106 — Raven Totem, Wrangell, Alaska [lithographed postcard]
 107 — 21. Raven Totem, Wrangell, Alaska [photographic postcard] - Leaflet. “S.S. Prince George cruise news.” July 3, 1951 - Pamphlet. “Prince Line cruise news.” Canadian National, Day 4-S June 1951, at sea, southbound. Stapled inside: “S.S. Prince George cruise news.” July 4, 1951 - Menu. “Alaska.” Canadian National (Pacific Coast) Steamships. Independence Day Dinner, Wednesday July 4, 1951 - Favor. Paper hat - Favor. Paper horn - Flier. “Ship’s concert.” Independence Day 1951 - Flier. “Song sheet.” Published in co-operation with the Vancouver Lions Club and by kind permission of International Association of Lions Clubs by the Vancouver Daily Province. - Pamphlet. “Prince Line cruise news.” Canadian National, Day 3-S June 1951, at sea, southbound. Stapled inside: “S.S. Prince George cruise news.” July 5, 1951
 108 — Section of town site, Ocean Falls, B.C. [photographic postcard]
 109 — Pacific Mills Ltd. Pulp and Paper Mills, Ocean Falls, B.C. [photographic postcard] - Sample book. Papers from Pacific Mills - Leaflet. “Your tour through the Ocean Falls plant operated by Pacific Mills Limited.” No date - Leaflet. “A few facts about a progressive company and the friendly community of Ocean Falls.” Presented with the compliments of Pacific Mills Limited, no date
 110 — The midnight sun, Alaska [tinted photographic postcard]
 111 — Eskimo debs. Machetanz Productions [photographic postcard. Two Alaska Native girls in fancy fur parkas] - Pamphlet. “Alaska and the Alaska Highway.” Washington, D.C.: published by American Automobile Association, 1951. - Pamphlet. “Alaska, the midnight sun: descriptive notes & helpful suggestions on the journey to Alaska.” Canadian National Steamships, 1951.
 112 — “Off to the Potlatch, Sydney Laurence.” [18 views in accordion fold format] - Map. “Alaska road map and travel guide.” Union Oil Company of California, 1951
 113 — Vancouver, B.C., Canada. Lions Gate Bridge and North Shore Mountains [18 views in accordion fold format] - Clipping. “Totem land.” By H.W. Eggleston [on 2 leaves] Loose items - Map. “Washington, points of interest and touring map.” Chevron; H.M. Gousha, no date - Map. “Washington & Idaho, Richfield travel guide.” H.M. Gousha, no date - Map. “Portland, Richfield street guide.” H.M. Gousha, no date
 114 — S.S. Prince George, Vancouver, B.C. [tinted photographic postcard. same as .97] [Images .115-129 from envelope with stamp of Dedman’s Photo Shop, Skagway]
 115 — D-16. Historic trail of ’98 over the White Pass, Alaska. Dedman [photographic postcard. Rocky trail]
 116 — 24-D. Lake Bennett, B.C. Dedman [photographic postcard. Scenic, with church in foreground]
 117 — D-27. Reflections, Lake Bennett, B.C. Dedman [photographic postcard. Scenic]
 118 — D-36. Dead Horse Gulch on White Pass route, Alaska. Dedman [photographic postcard. Scenic]
 119 — D-48. The Little Log Church of England, Whitehorse, Y.T. Dedman [photographic postcard. Log church]
 120 — D-63. Skagway, Alaska, looking north up the White Pass. Dedman [photographic postcard. Aerial]
 121 — D-121. Lake Bennett, B.C. Dedman [photographic postcard. Scenic with church in foreground]
 122 — D-145. Northern Commercial Co., Whitehorse, Y.T. [photographic postcard. Street scene]
 123 — D-171. Broadway, Skagway, Alaska. Dedman [photographic postcard. Street scene with pedestrians and automobiles, signs for businesses including E.H. Richter Jewelry and Curios, liquor store]
 124 — D-175. Whitehorse from the airport. Dedman [photographic postcard. Bird’s eye view of city]
 125 — D-184. White Pass train at station, Skagway, Alaska. Dedman [photographic postcard. Passengers waiting next to train outside depot, taxi parked at left]
 126 — D-226. Iceberg near Petersburg, Alaska [photographic postcard]
 127 — Sam Magee cabin, Whitehorse [photographic postcard. Exterior of Sam McGee log cabin]
 128 — White Pass train on steel bridge [photographic postcard. Railroad cars crossing trestle bridge]
 129 — White Pass train on way to Whitehorse [photographic postcard. View down railroad tracks along side of rail cars, utility poles at left] Guide written: May 18, 2015