REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Seaburg-Lindsey Photographs

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2015.009

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1920-1940s

Extent: 19 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): August Seaburg

Administrative/Biographical History:
August “Gus” Seaburg was born in Sweden in 1881 and immigrated to the United States in
1909. He came to Anchorage and began work with the Alaska Railroad. Gus and his wife
Christina Nelson Seaburg had four daughters: Helen; Hazel, born in 1917; Eleanor “Lillian,”
born in 1919; and Beryl, born in 1923. Daughter Lillian died in 1936. Christina died in 1959 and
August died in 1965. Eldest daughter Helen, married Linious McGee, and they had no children.
Helen died in 1975 and Linious died in 1988. Daughter Beryl married Steve Lindsey, and they
had one son, Steve. Beryl died in 1987.

Nellie Edythe Shepard Brown was born in 1891 and died at the age of 86 in 1978. She married
Jack Brown in 1912, and soon after the couple settled in Ship Creek. They were the first to
permanently settle on the future site of Anchorage.

John B. Bagoy was born in Croatia in 1869. He came to Alaska in 1908 and to Anchorage in
1921. He and his wife Marie Vlahusic’ Bagoy opened the first florist shop in Anchorage in
1935. The couple had eight children. John Sr. died in 1940 and Marie died in 1982.


Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 19 black-and-white photographs created or collected by the
Seaburg-Lindsey family in Anchorage during the first half of the 20th century. There are eight
images of the Seaburgs and their home on Fourth Avenue and Eagle Street; one image of
Fourth Avenue; seven images of Nellie and Jack Brown, considered the first settlers on Ship
Creek; two images of the Bagoy greenhouses; and one image from McGee’s mine. For more
information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Arranged by subject

CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Seaburg-Lindsey Photographs, Anchorage Museum, B2015.009

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Steve Lindsey in March 2015.

RELATED MATERIALS
Seaburg-Lindsey Family Collection, B2006.010
Seaburg Family Collection, B2006.019

SUBJECTS
Seaburg, August, 1881-1965
Seaburg family
Brown, Nellie Shepard, 1891-1978
Brown, John Matthew, 1878-1972
Flowers by Bagoy (Anchorage, Alaska)
Anchorage (Alaska)


Detailed Description of the Collection
 1 — Pop. Gus in front of house. Here as model 81 and still running [man wearing suit coat, necktie and hat standing outside house]
 2 — Gus in front of house, year? [man wearing necktie standing outside house, possibly at 409 Eagle St.]
 3 — Helen Seaburg in front of house [woman standing outside house]
 4 — [automobile parked in front of house in winter]
 5 — Hazel 1932 [girl wearing snowshoes standing on large snowbank in front of house]
 6 — 409 house, 1933, one of Seaburg sisters [girl wearing skis standing on large snowbank in front of house]
7 — Hazel, Helen, Daddy, Lugie our dog. They brought water and supplies by dog sled. Lugie is the dog [two young girls in sled basket, man on runners, large dog pulling sled, house in background]
 8 — The old house, 401 Eagle I think [exterior in winter, with picket fence, 409 Eagle]
9 — Looking back to town on Fourth [pedestrians walking down sidewalk in winter, buildings on either side of street Chugach Mountains in distance]
 10 — Nellie’s diner [two automobiles parked outside of Nellie’s Diner. image cropped from larger piece, possibly postcard]
11 — Good luck to Jean Brown from the Brown[s]. Jack Brown [Jack Brown wearing vest and necktie raising a glass of beer, standing outside house]
12 — Jack & Nellie Brown. I think this is their Government Hill house [Nellie sitting on stoop holding cat or puppy, handing something to Jack, in front of house with number 101]
 13 — Nellie Brown & Moose Gooser [Nellie wearing fur coat standing in front of Alaska Railroad locomotive, not the AuRoRa train]
14 — Nellie Brown in front of her diner [Nellie holding large decorated sheet cake, with icing caption “Nellie’s Diner, Nothing Finer”]
 15 — Art Granke & Nellie Brown in Hollywood, Oct. 1929 [Nellie wearing butterfly costume dancing with man in pantsuit on lawn overlooking Los Angeles]
 16 — A Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, Jack & Nellie Brown [Christmas card with photograph of exterior of house, line drawing of automobile with faces of Jack and Nellie superimposed on figures. Manuscript note on back: “Hi Steve and son & Beryl. I thought Steve would get a kick out of this. See if he knows us tho’ the print is small. Certainly wish we were all together. Thankful we are alive. Love to you all, Jack, Nellie & Victor.”]
17 — Mrs. Bagoy & Gaby [Marie and daughter Gabrielle standing outside greenhouse]
 18 — Bagoy greenhouse [young woman standing behind large dahlia, greenhouse in background]
 19 — McGee placer mine [man working monitor nozzle at hydraulic mining operation, possibly Hungry Bear Mine] Guide written: May 12, 2015