REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Nancy Warren Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2014.024

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1935-1953

Extent: 109 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Bill Watkins, Harry Telder, Hewitt’s Photo Shop, C.A. Cornforth, Hylen
Photo Shop, Sawyer, Charles S. Cann

Administrative/Biographical History:
Harry and Clarice Telder moved to Anchorage in 1935 and lived in Anchorage until circa 1953;
Harry was a brakeman on the Alaska Railroad and also worked in commercial fishing. He died
in 2005. Bill Watkins was stationed in the Aleutian Islands during World War II; he met his wife
in Anchorage, and the two were married in the lower 48 after the war.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 109 black-and-white photographs and postcards created or collected
by Harry Telder and Bill Watkins during their stays in Alaska. Personal photographs (.1-.60)
include images from Army installations in the Aleutians, Anchorage, and Fairbanks during
World War II, as well as photographs taken along the Alaska Railroad route from Seward to
Fairbanks. Commercial photographs (.61-.109) are primarily real photo postcards of Alaskan
scenes. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.

Arrangement: Loosely arranged by subject. Personal snapshots filed before commercial
postcards.



CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Nancy Warren Collection, Anchorage Museum, B2014.024


ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Nancy Warren received these materials from her two maternal aunts. Donated by Warren in
July 2014.

Processing Note
24 images discarded for poor quality or duplication of subject matter.


SUBJECTS
Alaska Railroad
United States. Army -- Military life
World War, 1939-1945 -- Campaigns -- Alaska -- Aleutian Islands
Floods—Alaska—Fairbanks
Aleutian Islands (Alaska)
Fort Richardson (Alaska)
Nenana (Alaska)
Fairbanks (Alaska)
Curry (Alaska)


Detailed Description of the Collection


Personal photographs
 1 — [soldier sitting next to porthole with view out to unidentified Aleutian Island]
 2 — [soldier standing outdoors near tents, stirring contents of two barrels partially buried in ground, Aleutian Islands]
 3 — [four soldiers striking poses, resting while digging a large pit, possibly for a tent or Quonset hut, Aleutian Islands]
 4 — [group of soldiers digging large pit, Aleutian Islands]
 5 — [bird’s eye view of soldiers hiking along ridge, road below at right, Aleutian Islands]
 6 — [bird’s eye view of road running through valley, narrow bay in distance, Aleutian Islands]
 7 — [two soldiers standing in small creek in winter, tents in background, Aleutian Islands]
 8 — [four soldiers standing in small creek in winter, tents in background, mountain in distance, Aleutian Islands]
 9 — [four soldiers standing in small creek in winter, tents in background, mountain in distance, Aleutian Islands]
 10 — [two soldiers standing in snow in winter, tents in background, mountain in distance, Aleutian Islands]
 11 — [three soldiers standing in snow in winter, tents in background, mountain in distance, Aleutian Islands]
 12 — [soldier standing at entrance to tent in winter, path dug through snow piled around tent, more tents in background, Aleutian Islands]
 13 — [four soldiers standing at entrance to tent in winter, second tent at right, mountains in distance, Aleutian Islands]
 14 — [group of officers in uniform posed next to military Jeep on base, probably Fort Richardson]
 15 — Between Seward & Anchorage [distant view of two men standing near crevasse in winter]
 16 — This is some dories waiting for the tide to come in [line of small boats tied together, resting on mud flats, Cook Inlet]
 17 — Mt. McKinley Range [scenic, possibly aerial, of mountains]
 18 — [scenic, possibly Mt. McKinley National Park]
 19 — This is the bridge crossing the Nennea [Nenana] River. Just above the bridge is the official tripod for the break up of the ice on the big ice pool [Nenana River Bridge]
20 — [Nenana winter street view with pedestrians, railroad depot at left, wood pile and sign for “Tavern Café Bar” at right, sign for N.C. Co. in center background]
 21 — [railroad dock at Nenana?]
 22 — [river canyon along Alaska Railroad route, probably Nenana River]
 23 — [distant view of Fairbanks in winter, frozen Chena River in foreground]
 24 — [houses in residential area, probably Fairbanks after a flood, debris piled outside of home in foreground]
 25 — [flooding around houses and log cabins in residential area, probably Fairbanks]
 26 — [street flooding near houses and log cabins in residential area, probably Fairbanks]
 27 — [flooding near military base buildings, possibly Ladd Field]
 28 — [view down row of military base buildings, large pile of dirt in right foreground, possibly Ladd Field]
 29 — [winter view of barracks or military base buildings, tent at left, possibly Ladd Field]
 30 — [soldier rowing boat along flooded road past military base buildings, possibly Ladd Field]
 31 — [large group of soldiers in formation on field, officers reviewing in foreground, Fort Richardson or Ladd Field?]
 32 — [soldiers repairing or removing military truck from ditch along dirt road, felled trees on either side of road]
 33 — [soldier in uniform feeding moose outside of barracks building, another soldier peering out of window]
 34 — [two soldiers in uniform feeding moose standing in road between barracks buildings]
 35 — [soldiers doing calisthenics on board ship]
 36 — [time lapse photography of setting sun, military base buildings and utility wires in foreground]
 37 — [winter bird’s eye view of pedestrian bridge, hotel, and railroad depot at Curry]
 38 — [exterior of Curry Hotel in winter, with skis set into large snowbanks in front of building]
 39 — [winter view of mine complex, possibly Independence Mine]
 40 — [view down road in winter, snowshoes set into snowbank at right, possibly Hatcher Pass area]
 41 — [two snowshoes set into snowbank]
 42 — [two log cabins in wooded area in winter, wagon wheels in foreground]
 43 — [large building in winter, log cabin at left, two posts in foreground, mountains in background, Matanuska Valley or Kenai Peninsula?]
 44 — [view from top of tall, outdoor staircase down to two log cabins in winter]
 45 — [small stone building with chimney in winter, firewood on porch at right, mountains in background]
 46 — [view down road in winter, trees on both sides of road, mountain in distance]
 47 — [winter scenic with mountains and trees]
 48 — [winter scenic with mountains and trees]
 49 — [winter scenic with mountains and low brush]
 50 — [winter scenic with mountains and trees]
 51 — [winter scenic with mountains and fir trees]
 52 — [winter scenic with mountains and trees, shadow of photographer’s or surveyor’s tripod in foreground]
 53 — [view down road in winter, fir trees on both side of road, mountains in distance]
 54 — [glacier terminus, with icebergs in water, mountain in background]
 55 — [glacier terminus with fir trees, boulder in water in foreground, mountains in background]
 56 — [close-up of glacier terminus as seen from water]
 57 — [close-up of glacier with meltwater in foreground]
58 — [Alaska Greyhound bus parked outside depot on Fourth Avenue in Anchorage, front fender missing, Vern’s Market next door with sign for Fresh Crabs, probably 1953]
 59 — [man playing trombone standing amid seated musicians, possibly military band]
 60 — [bird’s eye view of musicians on stage, including reeds, horns, piano, and drums] Commercial photographs
 61 — Hewitt’s 19 [automobile and military marching band passing Anchorage Hotel, Rexall Drugs and Hewitt’s Drug Store, 1941 Fur Rendezvous parade, Fourth Avenue, Anchorage. cf. B1989.016.2056.19]
 62 — Hewitt’s 3 [military marching band in formation next to building, 1941 Fur Rendezvous parade, Fourth Avenue, Anchorage. cf. B1989.016.2056.3]
 63 — Dog team. c. Cornforth [musher and dog team stopped on winter trail]
 64 — Mountain sheep. c. Cornforth [group of sheep in high meadow]
 65 — Mountain sheep. c. Cornforth [single sheep on ridge]
 66 — Alaska fur seal. c. 39 Cornforth [single seal on rocky beach. Caption partially cropped from image]
 67 — [Photographic postcard] Women’s dormitory, University of Alaska. Hylen Photo [building exterior]
 68 — [Photographic postcard] Fairbanks, Alaska. Hylen Photo [aerial]
 69 — [Photographic postcard] Mountain sheep in McKinley National Park, Alaska. Hylen Photo [group of sheep in high meadow]
 70 — [Photographic postcard] 514. Hydraulic placer mining on the Chititu, Alaska. Sawyers [hose blasting mountainside]
 71 — [Photographic postcard] 552. Birch Lake near Fairbanks, Alaska. Sawyers [pilings from old dock in foreground, view across water to low hills]
 72 — [Photographic postcard] 539. Mt. McKinley from Sable Pass, Alaska [Sawyers?] [addressed to Miss Virginia Evarts, Anchorage, Alaska, “with all my love, Bill,” postmarked at Fairbanks, April 8, 1942]
 73 — [Photographic postcard] 619. Mountain sheep, Mt. McKinley Nat’l. Park, Alaska. Sawyers [single sheep on hillside]
 74 — [Photographic postcard] University of Alaska. Cann Photo [buildings in winter]
 75 — [Photographic postcard] Lacy Corner, Fairbanks, Alaska. Cann’s [exterior of theater]
76 — [Photographic postcard] Chief’s son, Tanana Indians, Alaska. c. Cann [son of Chief Thomas wearing beaded coat with fur trim, removing an arrow from a beaded quiver; at AFN 2014, identified as Daniel Thomas of Wood River]
77 — [Photographic postcard] Eskimo fishing thru ice. Cann [woman in reindeer fur parka with geometric decoration jigging at ice hole, buildings in background; at AFN 2014, location identified as Nome; at AFN 2015, parka style tentatively identified as Wales area, woman tentatively identified as surname Nuglene]
 78 — [Photographic postcard] Alaska fish wheel. Cann’s
 79 — [Photographic postcard] Fish camp on Tanana River, Alaska. Cann [fish wheel in water at right, drying house at left]
80 — [Photographic postcard] Indian village, Alaska. Cann [log cabins and caches in winter, Interior Alaska. At AFN 2016, tentatively identified as Fort Yukon]
 81 — [Photographic postcard] Alaska totems. Cann, Fairbanks [Waasgo Legend Pole and Raven/Shark Pole, Sitka National Historical Park]
 82 — [Photographic postcard] Eskimo ivory cutter [man wearing suspenders and mukluks using chin drill]
 83 — [Photographic postcard] [?] Baleen. Cann [White man smoking pipe standing outdoors in winter, holding two large pieces of baleen]
 84 — [Photographic postcard] Trappers cabin, Alaska. Cann [two men standing outside log cabin with fox furs hanging from eaves]
 85 — [Photographic postcard] Pioneer’s cabin. Cann [dilapidated cabin constructed of various materials]
 86 — [Photographic postcard] Rex Beach’s cabin, Rampart. Cann [exterior with large woodpile at right]
 87 — [Photographic postcard] Robert Service’s cabin, Dawson, Alaska [sic]. Cann’s [exterior of log cabin, antlers on roof, Yukon Territory]
 88 — [Photographic postcard] Polychrome Pass, McKinley Park, Alaska. Cann Photo [scenic, with road through Mt. McKinley National Park at right]
 89 — [Photographic postcard] Savage River Camp, McKinley Park, Alaska. Cann Photo [automobiles near buildings and walled tents]
 90 — [Photographic postcard] Sable Pass, McKinley Park, Alaska. Cann’s [passengers standing near Mt. McKinley Tourist & Transportation Company bus stopped on park road]
 91 — [Photographic postcard] McKinley Park Hotel, Alaska. Cann’s [view of building complex]
 92 — [Photographic postcard] Mt. McKinley, 20,300 ft. Cann Studio, Fairbanks [river valley in foreground]
 93 — Photographic postcard] Circle Hot Springs, Alaska. Cann’s [view of complex from hill, greenhouse in foreground, hotel at right]
 94 — Photographic postcard] F.E. Co. dredge. Cann Photo [hydraulic mining operation, Fairbanks Exploration Co.]
 95 — [Photographic postcard] Hurricane Bridge, Alaska Railroad. Cann Photo #71 [not same as B1964.001.562]
 96 — Photographic postcard] S.S. Yukon. Cann # [riverboat near shore with long barge holding sacks of supplies, passengers on gangplank, one man on barge]
 97 — [Photographic postcard] Midnite sun on the Yukon, taken at 20 min. intervals. Cann [time lapse photography of sunset]
 98 — [Photographic postcard] Midnight sun on the Yukon River at Circle, Alaska. Cann Photo [man in small boat silhouetted in foreground]
 99 — Cann’s [musher with dog team stopped on winter trail through wooded area]
 100 — [Photographic postcard] A husky family. Cann Studio #252 [husky dog and puppies. Same as B1964.001.752]
 101 — [Photographic postcard] Herschel Island husky. c. Cann [dog portrait, vignette]
 102 — [Photographic postcard] Alaskan lynx. Cann, Fairbanks, Alaska [lynx in winter]
 103 — [Photographic postcard] Alaska red foxes. Cann [three foxes in wire enclosure]
 104 — [Photographic postcard] Wolf pups. Cann [four kits]
 105 — [Photographic postcard] Northern lights. Cann’s [horizontal]
 106 — [Photographic postcard] Northern lights, Fairbanks, Alaska. Cann’s [vertical]
 107 — [Photographic postcard. Three men and dog team outside Martin Slisco’s Roadhouse, Wiseman]
 108 — [Photographic postcard. Bus and airplane parked outside the Pan American Airways System hangar at Weeks Field]
 109 — [Photographic postcard] Seals in Bering Sea [group of seals on ice floe] Guide updated: November 6, 2015