REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Rural Village Environmental Health Photographs

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.075

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1966-1968

Extent: 509 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): U.S. Environmental Health Service

Administrative/Biographical History:
The United States Bureau of Indian Affairs in the Department of the Interior provided health
care to federally recognized tribes until 1954, when the Surgeon General, acting through the
Public Health Service, established the Division of Indian Health as part of its Bureau of Medical
Services; in 1968, the Division became the Indian Health Service. The Alaska Native Health
Service was established as a counterpart of the Division of Indian Health and operated under
the jurisdiction of that Division. In June 1998, the Alaska Area Native Health Service signed a
contract transferring statewide services to the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium
(ANTHC). ANTHC’s Division of Environmental Health and Engineering (DEHE) provides
planning, design, construction and operations support of public health infrastructure.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of black-and-white prints and contact sheets (120mm and 35mm)
including 509 images of rural Alaskan villages, houses, and public facilities. The photographs
were taken by Environmental Health Service staff. There are also three memos pertaining to
the original photographs. For more information, see Detailed Description of Collection.


Arrangement: Original order of two binders maintained.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Rural Village Environmental Health Photographs, Anchorage Museum, B2013.075

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by David Beveridge of the ANTHC DEHE in November 2013.

Processing Note
Binders disassembled. Prints that had been taped to backing cards disassembled; photocopies
of original order retained.

RELATED MATERIALS
Martha Quimby Collection, B2001.036

SUBJECTS
United States. Environmental Health Service
United States. Division of Indian Health
United States. Indian Health Service
Environmental health—Alaska
Rural health—Alaska
Public health—Alaska
Dwellings—Alaska
Log cabins—Alaska
Architecture, Domestic—Alaska
Water-supply—Alaska

Port Graham (Alaska)
Copper Center (Alaska)
Hooper Bay (Alaska)
Nunapitchuk (Alaska)
Kaktovik (Alaska)
Minto (Alaska)
Barter Island (Alaska)
King Cove (Alaska)
Sand Point (Alaska)
Chevak (Alaska)
Emmonak (Alaska)
Grayling (Alaska)
Canyon Village (Alaska)
Unalaska (Alaska)
Dutch Harbor (Alaska)
Nenana (Alaska)
Noatak (Alaska)
Savoonga (Alaska)
Barrow (Alaska)
Deering (Alaska)
Goodnews Bay (Alaska)
Chefornak (Alaska)
Scammon Bay (Alaska)
Koliganek (Alaska)
Holy Cross (Alaska)
Chuathbaluk (Alaska)
Klukwan (Alaska)
Chignik (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

F1
[From binder “1966 Alaska PHS Village Photos”]
 1 —.15 – Anchorage #1, Port Graham [120mm contact sheets with one image of village shoreline and 14 images of houses]
6 — [man and dog outside house; at AFN 2014, man identified as Pete Moonin, location as top of hill near cannery]
16 —27 – Anchorage #2, Port Graham [120mm contact sheet with 12 images of houses]
16 — [woman standing in doorway of house; at AFN 2014, identified as Barbara Moonin Norman]
27 — [man and woman standing outside house; at AFN 2014, identified as Dick and Stepanita Kamluck at their house on Duncan’s Slough]
 28 —.39 – Anchorage #3, Copper Center [120mm contact sheet with 11 images of houses, one image of walled tent]
38 — [woman standing outside log cabin. At AFN 2017, tentatively identified as Deria George in Chitina]
 40 —.51 – Anchorage #4, Copper Center [120mm contact sheet with 11 images of houses, one image of roofed shelter in open area]
 52 —.63 – Anchorage #5, Copper Center [120mm contact sheet with 11 images of houses, one image of school]
 64 —.73 – Bethel #1, Hooper Bay [120mm contact sheet with images of beach, church, outhouses, dog yard, and village buildings]
 74 —.83 – Bethel #2, Nunapitchuk [120mm contact sheet with images of utilidor, dog yard, garbage cans, and village buildings, including one aerial]
 84 —.94 – Tanana #2, Kaktovik [120mm contact sheet with two aerial images and images of dogs, children, oil barrels, pipe venting, plowed road, and dwelling mostly buried in snow]
87 — [two young girls standing on tundra, house in background; at AFN 2014, children identified as Linda and Lucy Soplu, house as Joe and Lucy Kaleak’s hut close to beach]
88 — [young boy posed with dog outdoors, barrels in background; at AFN 2014, boy tentatively identified as Benny T. Akootchook or Taakpak of Barrow]
 95 —.104 – Bethel #3, Nunapitchuk [120mm contact sheet with images of village buildings, outhouse, garbage dump]
 105 —.115 – Tanana #3, Minto [120mm contact sheet with images of villagers, houses, woman doing laundry, caches, outhouse, dog yard, ice breakup, barrels, and boardwalks]
107 — [man and two women standing outside house; at AFN 2015, identified as (left to right) Terri Titus, Jim Alexander, Percy Charlie]
 116 —.125 – Tanana #4 [120mm contact sheet with images of villagers, houses, playground equipment, beach erosion, barrels in water]
125 — [man and woman standing outside house; at AFN 2014, identified as Belina Starr and son John Starr]
 126 —.137 – Tanana #1 Koyukuk [120mm contact sheet with images of Barter Island-Kaktovik Post Office, Kaktovik Presbyterian Church, man working on sled labeled “Ned Nusunginya, Barter Island,” houses, airstrip, schoolhouse, street scene, and two aerial views of mountains]
 138 —.149 – Anchorage #8, King Cove [120mm contact sheet with images of village buildings, pipeline, boardwalks, post office, King Cove Bible Chapel, utility buildings]
 150 —.161 – Anchorage #7, King Cove [120mm contact sheet with images of village buildings, pipeline emptying at shoreline, elevated pipeline through village, utility poles and buildings, debris pile, boardwalks]
162 —.171 – Anchorage #6, Sand Point [120mm contact sheet with images of village buildings, Aleutian Cold Storage Co., U.S. Customs & Immigration, post office, group with Governor William Egan on boardwalk, laundry hanging outside Quonset huts, crab or cod pots]
162 — [view down boardwalk, houses on either side, one man in foreground, group of people on boardwalk in distance; at AFN 2014, man in foreground tentatively identified as Jimmy Olsen]
 172 —.182 – Bethel #8, Chevak [120mm contact sheet with images of village buildings, pipelines, boardwalks, barrels]
 183 —.193 – Bethel #7, Emmonak [120mm contact sheet with images of villager, village buildings, dog yard, debris, barrels, boardwalks]
 194 —.205 – Bethel #4, Grayling [120mm contact sheet with 6 images of man taking measurements with thermocouple, 2 images of women in kitchen interiors, one of shop or store interior, one of post office, one of “Welcome to Grayling” sign, and one of two men with snowmachine pulling sled]
 206 —.211 – Bethel #5, Grayling [120mm contact sheet with 4 images of houses and one of dog yard]
 212 —.222 – Bethel #6, Emmonak [120mm contact sheet with 11 images of village buildings, roads, and shoreline]
 223 —.234 – Tanana #5, Canyon Village [120mm contact sheet with one image of village, 8 images of houses, one house interior, one image of dog yard, one image of Wien airplane with tail number N4787C]
224 — [man standing outside log cabin in winter; at AFN 2015, identified as Richard Marten]
 235 —.246 – Anchorage #9, Unalaska [120mm contact sheet with 3 images of Governor William Egan and group on boat, 2 images of crab or cod pots, 3 images of shoreline, 2 views of town from water, one image of dry docked boat, one image of Holy Ascension Russian Orthodox Church]
 247 —.254 – Anchorage #10, Dutch Harbor [120mm contact sheet with one image of Governor William Egan walking next to airstrip with airplane and buildings, one image of bridge and elevated pipelines, 6 images possibly of military buildings and infrastructure]
 255 —.266 – Tanana #9, Nenana [120mm contact sheet with 3 images of villagers, 2 images of public health clinic, one image of Golden Valley Electric Association, 2 images of debris, 2 images of houses, one image of shoreline, and one street view]
260 — [man standing with dog outside house; at AFN 2014, identified as Donnie Moses of Tanana]
262 — [four young children standing outside; at AFN 2014, identified as, from left to right, Joyce Frank, Gary Frank, Richard Frank, and Jeff Frank, children of Ellen and Arthur Frank of Minto]
 267 —.276 – Tanana #8 [120mm contact sheet with 2 images of house interiors, one of outhouse interior, 3 of village buildings, 2 of caches, 2 of several small outbuildings in yard]
 277 —.294 – Kotzebue #1, Noatak [35mm contact sheet with 9 aerial views, 2 images of Cape Lisburne airport, 1 image of Noatak airport, 6 images of village buildings]
 295 —.301 – Kotzebue #3, Savoonga [120mm contact sheet with 7 images of kitchen interiors]
 302 —.324 – Kotzebue #2, Savoonga [35mm contact sheet with 23 images of houses]
 325 —.345 – Barrow #1 [35mm contact sheet with images of village buildings, garbage and debris, post office, Alaska Native Hospital, sea ice]
 346 —.357 – Kotzebue #4, Deering-Kotzebue [120mm contact sheet with 6 images of village buildings, 3 images of sea ice, one image of a dog at a garbage dump, one image of a man in an office, one image of passengers loading onto a Wien airplane]
 358 —.369 – Kanakanak #1, Goodnews Bay [120mm contact sheet with 4 images of schoolroom interior, 8 images of village buildings]
 370 —.379 – Bethel #14, Chefornak [120mm contact sheet with 5 images of water supply building, 2 images of outhouse, 2 aerial views, and one image of village buildings]
 380 —.391 – Bethel #13, Scammon Bay [120mm contact sheet with 3 images of waterway through town, one image of water supply building, 3 images of outhouses, 5 images of kitchen interiors]
387 — [woman standing inside house doing laundry, 1966 wall calendar at left, box of Tide on table; at AFN 2014, woman tentatively identified as either Liz Kasayulie or Laura Johnson]
392 —.403 – Bethel #16 [120mm contact sheet with 3 images of schoolchildren in school, 2 images of playground, 7 images of village buildings]
394 — [group of children in school or hall. At AFN 2017, girl at left tentatively identified as Sally Hoffman]
 404 — [color photographic enlargement, close-up of child drinking water from glass] F2 [From binder “1967-1968 Village Photos”]
 405 — Gust Tunguing, Koliganek, 1968 [man, woman, and child outside house, dog in foreground, washing machine in yard]
 406 — Charlie Nelson, Koliganek, 1968 [log cabin with washing machine in yard]
 407 — George Nelson, Koliganek, 1968 [man, woman, and child outside house]
 408 — Wassile Snowball, Koliganek, 1968 [log cabin with sod roof, sawhorse in yard]
 409 — Elia Ishnook, Koliganek, 1968 [log cabin]
 410 — Okalena Wassillie, Koliganek, 1968 [three dogs outside log cabin]
 411 — Nicolie Tunguing [man outside log cabin]
 412 — Simeon Ishnook [house amid pine trees]
 413 — Evan McCarr [man holding two buckets standing outside cabin]
 414 — Bobby McCarr [woman and two children outside log cabin]
 415 — Simeon Johnson [young child and dog outside house with Bob Seat Sled propped against wall]
 416 — Sophia Shroader [cabin with barrels in yard]
 417 —.427 – Bethel Service Unit #24, Holy Cross 10/67 [120mm contact sheet with 11 images of houses numbered with small plaques, 102-112]
 428 —.436 – Little Russian Mission [120mm contact sheet with 8 images labeled as:] .428 – Village .429 – Bobby McKindly [man outside house with sign LIRSH8] .430 – Marie Pitka [young boy outside house with sign LIRSH7] .431 – Sam R. Phillip [house, LIRSH6] .432 – Sam Tom [log cabin, LIRSH5 .433 – Phillip Sam [man outside house holding sign LIRSH4] .434 – Nick Phillip [log cabin, LIRSH3] .435 – Paul Helida [house, LIRSH2] .436 – Sam C. Phillip [house, LIRSH1]
 437 — Blunka Petia [house exterior]
 438 — Anton Johnson [man, woman, and dog outside log cabin]
 439 — Blunka Ishnook [two dogs sleeping outside log cabin]
 440 — Pete Petla [log cabin with washing machine and sawhorse in yard]
 441 — Gust Johnson [log cabin with dog and outboard motor in yard]
 442 — John Zelapusa [log cabin with sod roof]
 443 —.454 – Klukwan [120mm contact sheet with 12 images labeled as:] .443 – BIA school privies, boys-girls [outhouse] .444 – Street looking south .445 – Trail along water line to source .446 – Exposed water line .447 – BIA school, source of water on mt. background .448 – Street looking north .449 – Looking north .450 – Looking north .451 – Klukwan Village looking south .452 – School & village .453 – Looking north .454 – Haines Highway
 455 —.464 – Chignik, Apr. 1968 [120mm contact sheet with 10 images labeled as:]
 455 — o=two families in one house ¾ mile away, x=five families in 5 houses 1 mile away
 456 — Spardion Stepanoff [house with label Chignik 402]
 457 — Tom Yates [house, Chignik 401]
 458 — Barnard Skonberg [house, Chignik 316]
 459 — Calvin Skonberg [house, Chignik 315]
 460 — Alice Skonberg [house, Chignik 314]
 461 — Bill Garrison [house, Chignik 313]
 462 — Axel Carlson [house, Chignik 312]
 463 — Myrtle Lamond & Betty Krich [house, Chignik 311]
 464 — Mike Boskoski family (2) & Ralph Skonberg family (3) [house, Chignik 310]
 465 —.476 – Koliganek [120mm contact sheet with 12 images labeled as:] .465 – Spring [log outhouse] .466 – Meat [on rack] .467 – Meat [in tree] .468 – Meat [on rack] .469 – Koliganek looking south .470 – Garbage dump .471 – Cache .472 – Koliganek .473 – Village of Koliganek looking north .474 – Drying fish .475 – Drying fish .476 – Privy [outhouse]
 477 —.486 – Bethel Service Unit #25, Holy Cross, 10/67 [120mm contact sheet with 10 images of houses with plaques Holy Cross 115-118, Holy Cross 119-124]
 487 —.498 – Homes in Koliganek [120mm contact sheet with 12 images of houses, including duplicates of.405-.407, .411-.416]
 499 —.509 – [120mm contact sheet with 8 images of houses and villagers, one image of unidentified post office, one image of garbage dump, one view of village from water]
509 — [child standing in doorway of house; location identified as Antone Johnson’s house, with grandchild in doorway, Koliganek] Guide updated: December 15, 2017