REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Dinah Burk Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.063

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: circa 1915-1994

Extent: 22 items

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): Thomas Albert

Administrative/Biographical History:
Dinah Marie Albert was born to Thomas Noah Albert and Dinah Evan Albert in April 1954. A
commercial trapper and fisherman, Thomas Albert died in 1989 at the age of 72.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of three copy negatives, 19 printed photographs (color and black-and-
white, original and copies, one postcard), and ephemera pertaining to the family of Dinah Burk,
including her son Brice Richard Montgomery, her father Thomas Noah Albert, her mother
Dinah Albert, her aunt Lillian Preston, her grandmother Abbie Thomas Silas, and her great-
grandfathers, Chief Thomas of Nenana and Chief Evan of Cos Jacket.

Arrangement: Arranged by format and chronologically into three series: 1. Negatives. 2. Prints.
3. Ephemera.


CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.


Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Dinah Burk Collection, Anchorage Museum, B2013.063

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Donated by Dinah Burk in September 2013. Addendum received March 2014.

Processing Note
All items removed from frames.


SUBJECTS
Burk, Dinah Marie Albert
Albert, Thomas Noah, 1916-1989
Albert, Dinah, 1916-1984
Preston, Lillian Nancy Evan, 1924-1998
Silas, Abbie Thomas, 1898-1993
Thomas, Chief (Nenana Athapascan)
Evan, Chief (Coschaket Athapascan Indian)
Montgomery, Brice Richard, 1979-2012
Nenana (Alaska)
Tanana River (Alaska)

Detailed Description of the Collection

Series 1: Negatives

	1 —	[Chiefs of Nenana area, left to right: Chief Alexander of Tolovana, Chief William of Tanana, Chief Thomas of Nenana, Paul Williams of Tanana, Chief Evan of Cos Jacket, Chief Charlie of Minto, Chief Alexander William of Tanana, July 1915. Copy neg]
	2 —	[news clipping, Seattle Times, February 14, 1971, photo caption “Indian and white delegates posed for this official photograph during the Fairbanks parley.” Some names written on clipping. Copy neg]
	3 —	[Chief Thomas, right, with wife in center, son Dan Thomas at left. Copy neg] Series 2: Prints
	1 —	[Chief Evan at Nenana. Digital copy print]
	2 —	[group of Athapascan Indians gathered near Nenana. Copy print]
	3 —	Thomas Albert build this house when he was 12 yr. old, 1929 [cabin at Wood River. Copy neg]
	4 —	[Thomas Albert, center, at fish camp at North Nenana, with two unidentified men, salmon hanging to dry from roof of shelter, 1960s]
	5 —	[Dinah and Thomas Albert at potlatch, 1980s?]
	6 —	Tom, furs, Jan. 27, 1973 [Albert sitting on couch in home holding several animal pelts]
	7 —	[Thomas Albert outside log cabin at Wood River, 1980s?]
	8 —	Dinah Marie, Nenana [Dinah’s confirmation day, standing outside with dogs Tex and Sparky, 1960s]
	9 —	Dinah Marie at Christmas tree, Nenana [Dinah holding doll]
	10 —	Dinah Marie with new sled, Nenana, March 1962 [Dinah inside house next to stove, with sled made by Thomas Albert]
	11 —	Dinah Marie Albert [Dinah with bicycle, Nenana, circa 1962]
	12 —	Dinah Marie Albert, Kathleen Ketzler, Dorothy Lord [Dinah blowing out candles on birthday cake with her cousins watching, Nenana, circa 1962]
	13 —	Dinah Marie, snowgo, Nenana [Dinah on snowmachine, buildings visible in background, spring, Nenana, circa 1967-68]
	14 —	Lillian N. Preston, Jan. 1952, winter [tinted studio portrait, signed “con mi amor verdad, Lillian, Earl Curran”]
	15 —	[Terry Preston, husband of Lillian, military portrait, 1950s?]
	16 —	“Dolly” & Lillian, Candy Factory, Las Vegas, 2-15-94 [Lillian Preston with Dolly Parton impersonator]
	17 —	St. Mark’s Mission Church, Nenana, Alaska. Artvue Post Card Co. Addendum, 2014:
	18 —	Dinah Albert [Dinah riding in basket of sled made by her father, 1960s]
	19 —	Photography by Nelson’s Studio, c. 1991 [color studio portrait of Abbie Thomas Silas] Series 3: Ephemera - Obituary for Abbie Thomas Silas - Photocopy. Photograph of Dasnanecsia (Abbie Thomas Silas) and drawing of caribou - Obituaries for Thomas Noah Albert - Funeral program for Thomas Noah Albert - Funeral program for Dinah Albert - Funeral program for Lillian Preston - Funeral program for Brice Richard Montgomery Guide updated: August 5, 2014