REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Sara Piasecki, Photo Archivist

TITLE: Scandinavian Club Bar Photographs

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2013.016

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1984

Extent: 1 box; 0.2 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): A.J. Clarke, Anchorage Historic Landmark Preservation Commission;
Kathleen Brady, Architectural Photography

Administrative/Biographical History:
In 1984, the Scandinavian Club Bar was located at 238 W. 4th Avenue, on the northeast corner
of 4th and C Street in Anchorage. The bar had moved to this location sometime after 1964. (At
the time of the 1964 Alaska Earthquake, the bar had been located on the north side of Fourth
Avenue next to a pawn shop and Mac’s Foto on the west and Anchorage Arcade on the east.) In
1960, the business occupying 238 W. 4th had been Evelyn’s Supply Shop, a store operated by
Evelyn Hall. Occupancy prior to 1960 was not known at the time of processing.

Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 54 black-and-white and color photographs taken by A.J. Clarke and
45 black-and-white and color photographs taken by Kathleen Brady, along with 13 of her
original black-and-white negatives. All photographs were taken in June 1984 to document the
architecture of the Scandinavian Club Bar building in Anchorage, Alaska, before its demolition.

Arrangement: Original order maintained.




CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: No special equipment is needed to access the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the Anchorage
Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not necessarily hold
copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission for use may
require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
Scandinavian Club Bar Photographs, Anchorage Museum, B2013.016

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information
Transferred to the archives by Steve Peterson of the Landmarks Commission in October 1984.

Processing Notes
Photographs removed from plastic binder pages.

RELATED MATERIALS
Scandinavian Club, Anchorage, Alaska [technical drawing]. [Anchorage, Alaska] :
Architectural and Restoration Consultants, 1984.

SUBJECTS
Scandinavian Club Bar (Anchorage, Alaska)
Anchorage (Alaska). Historic Landmark Preservation Commission
Anchorage (Alaska)—Buildings, structures, etc.

Detailed Description of the Collection

B1/F1
A.J. Clarke prints

	1 —	.3 – Front entry, exterior, north wall
	4 —	.6 – Side, exterior, west wall
	7 —	.10 – Rear, exterior, south wall
	11 —	Interior, 1st floor, partition, s. wall
	12 —	Interior, 1st floor, northeast wall
	13 —	Interior, 1st floor, northwest wall
	14 —	Interior, 1st floor, south wall
	15 —	South bedroom, interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	16 —	Interior, 1st floor, northeast wall
	17 —	South bedroom, interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	18 —	Apt. door, interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	19 —	Interior, 2nd floor, north wall
	20 —	Living room, interior, 2nd floor, north wall
	21 —	North bedroom, interior, 2nd floor, north wall
	22 —	Bathroom, interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	23 —	Bathroom, interior, 2nd floor, s.w. corner
	24 —	Original door, interior, northeast wall
	25 —	Interior, northeast wall
	26 —	.27 – Interior, east wall B1/F2
	28 —	Original door, interior, northeast wall
	29 —	Main entry, interior, north wall
	30 —	Interior, northwest wall
	31 —	Partition, interior, south wall
	32 —	.34 – Interior, west wall
	35 —	View down bar towards south wall, interior, south wall
	36 —	.37 – Interior, west wall
	38 —	Apartment door, interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	39 —	Rear entry, interior, entry, south wall
	40 —	.41 – Rear entry, interior, entry to apartment
	42 —	.43 – Bedroom (south), interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	44 —	Bedroom door, interior, 2nd floor, east wall
	45 —	Bedroom (south), interior, 2nd floor, north wall
	46 —	Bedroom, north, interior, 2nd floor, closet, south wall
	47 —	Bedroom, north, interior, 2nd floor, east wall
	48 —	Kitchen, interior, 2nd floor, west wall
	49 —	Kitchen, interior, 2nd floor, north wall
	50 —	Kitchen, interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	51 —	Bathroom, tub detail, interior, 2nd floor, east wall
	52 —	Bathroom, interior, 2nd floor, south wall
	53 —	Bathroom, interior, 2nd floor, east wall
	54 —	Bathroom, interior, 2nd floor, west wall B1/F3 Kathleen Brady prints
	55 —	[color, night, exterior of bar, street view looking east]
	56 —	[b&w, day, exterior of bar, street view looking east]
	57 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	58 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, detail of rear showing roof lines and chimney]
	59 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear, with parked automobiles and rear of Denali Bar]
	60 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, street scene showing businesses in block including Denali Bar, Silver Swan[?] pawn]
	61 —	[b&w, interior of living area]
	62 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear, oblique view]
	63 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, oblique view of front including Denali Bar]
	64 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, west side of building]
	65 —	[b&w, interior of bar, area behind bar counter]
	66 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	67 —	[b&w, interior of bar, bar counter]
	68 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, front]
	69 —	[color, exterior of bar, similar to .60]
	70 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	71 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	72 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, oblique view of rear]
	73 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, oblique view of rear]
	74 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, oblique view of front]
	75 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, oblique view of front]
	76 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, detail of rear showing roof line and chimney]
	77 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, detail of rear showing roof line and chimney]
	78 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, front]
	79 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, front]
	80 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, street scene showing businesses in block including Denali Bar, Silver Swan[?] pawn]
	81 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, street scene showing businesses in block including Denali Bar, Silver Swan[?] pawn]
	82 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear, with parked automobiles and rear of Denali Bar]
	83 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear, with parked automobiles and rear of Denali Bar]
	84 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, oblique view of front]
	85 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, oblique view of front]
	86 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	87 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	88 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	89 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, rear]
	90 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, west side of building]
	91 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, west side of building]
	92 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, west side of building]
	93 —	[b&w, exterior of bar, west side of building]
	94 —	[b&w, interior of bar, bar counter]
	95 —	[b&w, interior of bar, area behind bar counter]
	96 —	[b&w, interior of bar, bar counter]
	97 —	[b&w, interior of bar, area behind bar counter]
	98 —	[b&w, interior of living area]
	99 —	[b&w, interior of living area] B1/F4 Kathleen Brady negatives Guide revised: April 25, 2013