REFERENCE CODE: AkAMH

REPOSITORY NAME:
Anchorage Museum at Rasmuson Center
Bob and Evangeline Atwood Alaska Resource Center
625 C Street
Anchorage, AK 99501
Phone: 907-929-9235
Fax: 907-929-9233
Email: resourcecenter@anchoragemuseum.org

Guide prepared by: Mary Alice Cook, Museum Volunteer

TITLE: James von der Heydt Collection

COLLECTION NUMBER: B2003.022

OVERVIEW OF THE COLLECTION

Dates: 1943-1954

Extent: 374 slides, 0.7 linear feet

Language and Scripts: The collection is in English.

Name of creator(s): James von der Heydt

Administrative/Biographical History:
A native of Montana, James Arnold von der Heydt graduated from Albion College, Michigan in
1942 with a Bachelor’s Degree. In 1951, he graduated from Northwestern University School of
Law in Evanston, Illinois. Von der Heydt served as a Deputy U.S. Marshal for the Territory of
Alaska from 1945-1948. He became a Federal Court Commissioner in the U.S. District Court for
the District of Alaska in 1951. Also in 1951, President Dwight Eisenhower appointed von der
Heydt as U.S. Attorney for the District of Alaska. Von der Heydt was employed in the private
practice of law in Alaska from 1953-1959, and served in the Alaska House of Representatives
from 1957-1959. He was a presiding judge for the Alaska Superior Court from 1959-1966,
before being nominated by President Lyndon B. Johnson as federal judge for the U.S. District
Court, District of Alaska, serving from 1966-1984. He served as chief judge from 1973 to 1984,
when he assumed senior status.

During his early years in Alaska, von der Heydt travelled to many places in the territory and
took hundreds of photographic slides with his Leica camera. He used the slides in a series of
lectures that he presented in various locations outside Alaska.


Scope and Content Description:
The collection consists of 374 35mm color photographic slides of Alaska Natives, Eskimo
hunters, Alaska airports, and the Alcan Highway. The slides were taken in King Island, Nome,
Gambell, Saint Lawrence Island, Teller, Stebbins, Kotzebue, Unalakleet, Cape Prince of Wales,
Juneau, Fairbanks, Chatanika, Northway, and Tok.

Arrangement: Arranged by location.

CONDITIONS GOVERNING ACCESS AND USE

Restrictions on Access: The collection is open for research use.

Physical Access: Original items in good condition.

Technical Access: A slide viewer may be needed to view the materials.

Conditions Governing Reproduction and Use:
The Anchorage Museum is the owner of the materials and makes available reproductions for
research, publication, and other uses. Written permission must be obtained from the
Anchorage Museum before any reproduction use. The Anchorage Museum does not
necessarily hold copyright to all of the materials in the collections. In some cases, permission
for use may require seeking additional authorization from the copyright owners.

Preferred Citation:
James A. von der Heydt Collection, Anchorage Museum, B2003.022

ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION

Acquisition and Appraisal Information:
Donated September 17, 2003 by James A. von der Heydt. Slides 360-374 donated later.

Processing Notes

Separated Materials

Notes

RELATED MATERIALS

SUBJECTS
Von der Heydt, James A., 1919-
Alaska Natives – Slides.
Eskimos – Alaska – Slides.
Airports – Alaska – Slides.

Eskimos – Hunting – Alaska – Slides.
Alaska – Description and travel – Slides.
Canada, Western – Description and travel – slides.
Alaska Highway – Slides.
Ukivok (Alaska) – Slides.
Nome (Alaska) – Slides.
Gambell (Alaska) – Slides.
Saint Lawrence Island (Alaska) – Slides.
Teller (Alaska) – Slides.
Stebbins (Alaska) – Slides.
Kotzebue (Alaska) – Slides.
Unalakleet (Alaska) – Slides.
Prince of Wales, Cape (Alaska) – Slides.
Juneau (Alaska) – Slides.
Fairbanks (Alaska) – Slides.
Northway (Alaska) – Slides.
Tok (Alaska) – Slides.

Detailed Description of the Collection

B1
Series 1: King Island
 1 — June1947; “Olorana”, King Island Chief at Nome [Chief Aulaġana (John Olarana)]
 2 — July 24, 1947; King Island statue of Christ.
 3 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
 4 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
 5 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
 6 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
 7 — July 23, 1947; King Island oomiak on way to King Island.
 8 — July 23, 1947; King Island Eskimo “Romeo.”
 9 — July 23, 1947; Romeo and dead seal on way to King Island.
 10 — July 23, 1947; King Islanders on way to King Island.
 11 — July 23, 1947; King Island.
 12 — July 23, 1947; King Island.
 13 — July 24, 1947; King Island.
14 — August 1945; on way to King Island, Sledge Island lunch.
 15 — July 23, 1947; King Island.
 16 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
 17 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
 18 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
 19 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
20 — August 1945; Eskimos on oomiak on way to Sledge Island.
21 — August 1945; wreck of ship, Crown City, Sledge Island.
22 — July 24, 1947; King Island village.
23 — July 24, 1947; in oomiak on way back to Nome from King Island.
24 — 1945; the “Crown City” Sledge Island wreck off Nome.
25 — July 14, 1947; en route to King Island by oomiak.
26 — July 14, 1947; en route to King Island from Nome.
27 — July 14, 1947; en route to King Island.
28 — July 14, 1947; landing at Sledge Island en route to King Island.
29 — Leaving Sledge Island en route to King Island.
 30 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 31 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 32 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 33 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 34 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 35 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 36 — July 14, 1947; en route Nome to King Island by oomiak.
 37 — July 14, 1947; “Paul Iuilana.” En route Nome to King Island by oomiak.
 38 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 39 — July 14, 1947; King Island school.
 40 — July 14, 1947; on top of King Island.
 41 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 42 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 43 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 44 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 45 — July 14, 1947; King Island.
 46 — July 14, 1947; King Island Catholic church.
 47 — July 14, 1947; King Island village.
 48 — July 14, 1947; on top of King Island.
 49 — July 14, 1947; King Island village.
 50 — July 14, 1947; King Island village.
 51 — July 14, 1947; ice cave at night.
 52 — About 1955; King Island from the air.
 53 — About 1955; King Island from the air.
 54 — About 1955; King Island from the air.
 55 — About 1955; looking down on King Island village from air. Series 2: Teller, Gambell, Kotzebue, Unalakleet
 56 — February 1948; Gambell, St. Lawrence Island.
 57 — February 1948; Gambell, St. Lawrence Island.
58 — February 1948; Gambell, St. Lawrence Island. [in 2014, Gambell residents identified girl in foreground, far right, as Hannah Tungiyan]
 59 — February 1948; near Gambell, pan and flow ice Bering Sea.
60 — February 1948; Gambell, St. Lawrence Island [at AFN 2015, woman at left identified as Alang]
 61 — February 1948; Gambell, St. Lawrence Island.
62 — February 1948; Gambell, St. Lawrence Island. [passengers waiting next to DC-3 airplane. At AFN 2015, woman in center tentatively identified as Susan Campbell or Pat ?]
 63 — 1946; Gambell, Alaska en route to [blank].
64 — 1946; Gambell, Alaska. [children standing on top of snowbank. At AFN 2015, boy third from right identified as Alex Oozeva]
 65 — 1946; Gambell, Alaska.
 66 — 1946; Gambell, Alaska.
 67 — About 1946; Teller, Alaska Munz [sp?] Air.
 68 — About 1946; Teller, Alaska.
 69 — About 1946; Teller, Alaska.
 70 — About 1946; Teller, Alaska.
 71 — October 1947; Eskimos near Romandu Point (Stebbins Village).
 72 — October 1947; Eskimo eating blubber, Stebbins Village.
 73 — February 1948; Pan and flow ice Bering Sea.
 74 — February 1948; Gambell, St. Lawrence Island.
 75 — About 1947; Kotzebue; James von der Heydt, Nome Alaska.
 76 — About 1947; Kotzebue, Alaska.
 77 — 1946; Charles Traeger, store, Unalakleet, Alaska.
 78 — Teton Mt. near Unalakleet. Series 3: Prince of Wales, Cape
 79 — 1951; up the Mt., Cape Prince of Wales.
 80 — 1951; near Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 81 — 1951; up Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 82 — 1951; up Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 83 — 1951; high up Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 84 — 1951; high up Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 85 — 1951; Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 86 — 1951; Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 87 — 1951; Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales.
 88 — 1951; near Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 89 — 1951; near Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 90 — 1951; near Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 91 — 1951; Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 92 — 1951; near Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 93 — 1951; Cape Mt., Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 94 — 1951; near Cape Prince of Wales, Alaska.
 95 — 1951; White B [illegible] Camp, Wales Alaska.
 96 — About 1946; Wales village. Series 4: Juneau
 97 — February 1945; Alaska Range near Juneau.
 98 — September 1945; from airport at Juneau.
 99 — February 1945; Juneau Airport Mt. Mendelton.
 100 — November 1946; from air near Juneau.
 101 — February 1945; Naval Air station at Harding [Hardy?].
 102 — February 1945; Juneau airport, Pan American plane.
 103 — February 1945; Juneau, Pan American plane.
 104 — February 1945; from air near Juneau.
 105 — February 1945; scene near Juneau from air.
 106 — February 1945; scene near Juneau from air.
 107 — February 1945, Juneau.
 108 — February 1945; Juneau, Pan American plane. Series 5: Fairbanks
 109 — Fairbanks, James von der Heydt, Nome, Alaska.
 110 — November 1944; first engine in Alaska, Fairbanks.
 111 — Fairbanks, Alaskan Patrol, James von der Heydt, Nome, Alaska.
 112 — November 1944; looking north, Cushman St., Fairbanks.
 113 — November 1944; Fairbanks looking South, end of Alcan.
 114 — November 1944; 2 nd Avenue, Fairbanks.
 115 — March 1945; 2 nd Avenue, Fairbanks.
 116 — March 1945; Fairbanks.
 117 — March 1945; Territorial School, Fairbanks.
 118 — March 1945; home, Fairbanks.
 119 — March 1945; Daily News-Miner Building, Fairbanks.
 120 — March 1945; Lacy St. Theater, Fairbanks.
 121 — March 1945; Fairbanks.
 122 — Near Fairbanks; Yukon Maze, James von der Heydt, Nome, Alaska.
 123 — RR Depot, Fairbanks.
 124 — November 1944; Fairbanks, Chena River.
 125 — November 1944; Fairbanks Hospital and Church.
 126 — March 1945; Federal Building, Fairbanks.
 127 — November 1994; Fairbanks bridge over Chena River.
 128 — May 1945; Fairbanks from the air.
 129 — May 1945; ice pool break-up, Chena River, Fairbanks.
 130 — March 1945; Fairbanks.
 131 — March 1945; Fairbanks.
 132 — March 1945; Fairbanks.
 133 — March 1945; Fairbanks.
 134 — March 1945; Fairbanks.
 135 — May 1945; steward’s office, Ladd Field.
 136 — May 1945; road to Cleary Summit, Fairbanks.
 137 — May 1945; gold dredge near Fairbanks.
 138 — May 1945; dredged Riverbed, Chatanika, Alaska.
 139 — May 1945; gold dredge Chatanika, Alaska.
 140 — May 1945; view from Cleary Summit near Fairbanks.
 141 — May 1945; view from Cleary Summit near Fairbanks.
 142 — May 1945; view from Cleary Summit near Fairbanks.
 143 — May 1945; view from Cleary Summit, Fairbanks.
 144 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 145 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 146 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks
 147 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 148 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 149 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 150 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 151 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 152 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 153 — May 1945; dog at Fox, Alaska.
 154 — April 8, 1945; Fairbanks.
 155 — May 1945; Cleary Summit, near Fairbanks, J.A.V. Jim von der Heydt. Series 6: Alcan Highway Construction
 156 — May 1944; Alcan near Northway.
 157 — May 1944; view of Alcan at Northway.
 158 — May 1944; Alcan near Northway.
 159 — May 1944; Alcan near Northway.
 160 — May 1944; Tanana River Bridge, 960 ft long, Alcan.
 161 — May 1944; Chiana river from Alcan near Northway.
 162 — May 1944; Alcan near Northway, Alaska.
 163 — May 1944; Alcan from Gardiner Creek Camp, looking NW. B2
 164 — May 1944; gathering storm on Alcan Hwy.
 165 — May 1944; Tanana River bridge, Alcan, 960 feet long.
 166 — May 1944; Alcan near Northway.
 167 — May 1944; view from Highway (Alcan) near Northway.
 168 — May 1944; Alcan near Tok Junction.
 169 — May 1944; Nutystin Mountains from Alcan.
 170 — May 1944; ten PM from Gardiner Creek Camp, Nutyotin Mtns.
 171 — May 1944; view Southwest from Alcan, Northway.
 172 — May 1944; Alcan near Canadian border.
 173 — May 1944; Gardiner Creek Camp, Mess Hall.
 174 — May 1944; Gardiner Creek Camp garage.
 175 — May 1944; Alcan looking NW near Northway.
 176 — May 1944; Bitters Creek Canyon, Alcan.
 177 — May 1944; Chiana River Valley, Northway.
 178 — May 1944; Alcan looking north.
 179 — May 1944; late evening Alcan. Series 7: Nome
 180 — September 1944; Nome, west on Front Street.
 181 — September 1944; Nome, Wallace Hotel, Bering Sea in back.
 182 — September 1944; Nome, Sommers truck, Anvil mtns in back, building airport.
 183 — September 1944; Nome, two trucks loading with asphalt blacktop, building airport.
 184 — September 1944; Nome, 2 Sommers trucks, ready to load with gravel, building airport.
 185 — July 1945; Nome, building airport.
 186 — September 1944; Nome, Jim von der Heydt, Jim and a Sommers truck, old Nome hospital background.
 187 — About 1945; Nome, after the wolf hunt.
 188 — About 1945; Nome, an offshore ice looking to town.
 189 — About 1945; Nome, offshore ice hummocks.
 190 — About 1945; Nome, offshore ice.
 191 — February 1945; Nome, Alaska Federal Building.
 192 — November 1945; Nome, fuel storage team (2).
 193 — About 1945; Nome, Native family.
 194 — April 8 1945; Native mother and child.
 195 — July 1945; Alaska steamship office.
 196 — About 1945; Nome, Nome Nugget office.
 197 — About 1945; Nome, Native school.
 198 — June 1945; Nome river docks.
 199 — Summer 1945; Nome, Front Street.
 200 — About 1946; Nome.
 201 — About 1947; Nome.
 202 — About 1947; Nome, main hangar Marks Air Force Base.
 203 — July 1947; near Nome.
 204 — About 1946; Nome, from the air in winter.
 205 — June 1946; Nome, sea breakup.
206 — 1946; Nome, L to R Wm Angell, Ben Morée, George Bayer.
 207 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 208 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 209 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 210 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 211 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 212 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 213 — July 4, 1945; Nome, ready for blanket toss.
 214 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 215 — July 4, 1945; bag race.
 216 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 217 — July 4 1945; Nome.
 218 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 219 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 220 — About 1946; Nome, from the air in winter.
 221 — June 1945; Nome, Front St.
 222 — About 1947; Nome.
 223 — July 1947; inland from Nome, J. Von der Heydt.
 224 — About 1946; near Nome.
225 — About 1946; Nome, Cape Nome road, Bering Sea and Sledge Island.
 226 — About 1946; Nome, reindeer.
 227 — About 1946; Nome, Natives off for the hunt.
 228 — About 1946; Nome, harbor.
 229 — About 1946; Nome, whale meat.
 230 — About 1946; Nome, winter, dog team on off-shore ice.
231 — About 1946; Nome, from air, Nome jetties in center.
 232 — About 1946; Nome, Coast Guard ship.
 233 — 1946; Nome beach, Bering Sea.
 234 — 1946; Nome, Bering Sea and freighters.
 235 — 1946; Nome.
 236 — About 1946; Nome.
 237 — About 1946; Nome.
 238 — May 1946; Nome.
 239 — 1946; Nome, Russian Airman.
 240 — July 4, 1954; Nome.
 241 — Nome; July 4, 1954.
 242 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 243 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 244 — July 4, 1954; Nome.
 245 — July 4, 1954; Nome, blue jacket-Verna von der Heydt, red jacket-M. Swanbeg.
 246 — July 4, 1954; Nome.
 247 — July 4, 1954; Nome.
 248 — About 1947; Nome, reindeer.
 249 — About 1947; Nome.
250 — About 1947; Nome, from the air.
 251 — July 4, 1954; Nome.
 252 — February 1947; Nome from the air.
 253 — About 1947; near Nome.
 254 — About 1947; near Nome?
 255 — About 1947; near Nome?
 256 — July 1947; Anvil Mtn, Nome, J. von der Heydt.
 257 — July 1947; beach east of Nome.
 258 — 1947; Nome.
 259 — About 1947; part of Nome from the air.
 260 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, digging out whiskey and beer from under Lincoln Hotel.
 261 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, rear end of polar bar and apartment building hanging over nothing.
 262 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, debris behind partially undermined lomen machine shop.
 263 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, note ice on posts of bulkhead.
 264 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, looking east at bank bldg across washed out tennis court bulkhead.
 265 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, looking east down beach at washed out bldgs.
 266 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, remaining 1/3 of Lincoln Hotel, note debris and furnishings.
 267 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, rear end of polar bldg with caved-in remains of end of drug store at left, note bottles of whiskey.
 268 — About 1945; Nome, Native group.
 269 — October 30, 1945; Nome, looking out to sea as storm broke.
 270 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm.
 271 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, US Mercantile Co. bulkhead was at posts at left and as high as dark line.
 272 — September 1945; Nome gold dredge #5.
 273 — August 1945; Nome beach old dock.
 274 — September 1945; Nome Front Street.
 275 — 1945; road east of town at breakup.
 276 — November 1945; Nome.
277 — Summer 1945; Nome, Cape Rodney and Sledge Island.
 278 — Summer 1945; hills behind Nome.
 279 — September 1945; Nome.
280 — Summer 1945, Nome docks.
 281 — 1945; Nome, off shore – large white bldng, Federal Building.
 282 — 1945; Nome, Native ice fishing.
 283 — 1945; Nome, King Islanders under oomiak, [OPR?] Chief Olorana with hand to mouth.
 284 — October 30, 1945; severe Nome storm, bank bldg garage pulled up on street, was completely undermined.
 285 — 1945; Nome, Bering Sea.
 286 — June 1945; Nome, front street NC Co. and Nome grill.
 287 — June 1945; Nome river docks.
 288 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, front view of garage of bank.
 289 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, back of bank land was orig at dark-light line.
 290 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, house nearly washed out, debris went through windows, etc.
 291 — October 30, 1945; looking N from hotel door, wind 50 mph with driving sleet.
 292 — About 1954; Nome, jetty Nome River.
 293 — About 1954; Nome, Pan American plane.
 294 — October 30, 1945; Nome storm, powerhouse and light plant behind Northern Commercial Co., looking west.
 295 — October 1945; Nome storm over, beach looking west.
 296 — About 1954; Nome dredge #5.
 297 — About 1954; near Nome.
 298 — About 1954; Nome, dredge bucket line.
 299 — About 1954; Nome, dredge bucket line, dredge #5.
 300 — July 4, 1945; Nome, Alaska pie-eating contest.
 301 — November 1945; Nome, winter mid-day sun.
 302 — November 1945; Nome, mush ice just before freeze-up.
 303 — November 1945; mush ice at Nome beach.
 304 — November 1944; hills North of Nome.
 305 — November 1945; Nome, J. von der Heydt.
 306 — May 1947; small Stinson at Nome airport.
 307 — May 1947; ten miles from Nome, in air.
 308 — November 1947; Nome dog team.
 309 — May 1947; Sawtooth mtns, 60 miles north of Nome.
 310 — Nome; Munz taking off.
 311 — February 1947; Nome from air.
 312 — July 4, 1945; Nome, Elmer Green.
 313 — July 4, 1945; Nome, Eskimos.
 314 — Nome; fourth of July audience, James von der Heydt.
 315 — Nome; Natives, James von der Heydt.
 316 — Nome from the air, summer.
 317 — August 1945; Nome, territorial school.
 318 — July 1945; Nome, Miners’ and Merchants bank.
 319 — September 1944; Federal building, old.
 320 — October 1945; Nome, Jack London’s ship the “Seawolf.”
 321 — Nome.
 322 — November 1947; Nome, Native fisherman, James A. von der Heydt.
 323 — February 1948; Nome, Eskimos on ice, crab fishing.
 324 — Nome, wolves.
 325 — Nome; tangled harness, James von der Heydt.
 326 — Nome; “Mush!” James von der Heydt.
 327 — Nome; King Island ivory carvers, James von der Heydt.
 328 — June 1947; King Island oomiak on beach at Nome.
 329 — June 1947; Nome, oomiak and polar bear skin.
 330 — July 4, 1945; Nome.
 331 — Summer 1947; Nome, Dredge No 5 from air.
 332 — September 1944; Nome, $1,000,000 dredge USSR&M Co.
 333 — September 1944; Nome, Dredge No 4.
 334 — Beach at Nome looking west.
 335 — September 1945; beach at Nome.
 336 — November 1945; Nome, Bon Marche store.
 337 — February 1948; Nome, snow drifts 25 feet high.
 338 — February 1948; Nome, 25 feet snow drifts.
 339 — Summer 1947; freighter in roadstead at Nome. B3
 340 — August 1945; Nome.
 341 — December 1946; Nome, mid-day sun mid-winter.
 342 — [no caption, close up of something in snow, indistinguishable] – missing Nov. 2011
 343 — July 4, 1945; Nome, Eskimos.
 344 — July 4, 1945; Nome, Eskimos.
 345 — Nome, blanket tossing.
 346 — Nome, blanket tossing.
 347 — August 1947; Nome, Siberian Eskimos.
 348 — August 1947; Nome, Siberian Eskimo repairing net.
 349 — July 1947; Nome, Siberian Eskimo.
 350 — April 1948; reindeer at Nome.
 351 — April 1948; reindeer at Nome.
 352 — August 1947; near Nome, Sawtooth mts over Salmon Lake.
 353 — August 1947; Nome, Salmon Lake fish drying rack.
 354 — Nome; umiak, James von der Heydt.
 355 — January 1947; Mt Osborne 5200 ft high, North of Nome.
 356 — Nome, Alaska; “The crowd goes by” James von der Heydt.
 357 — Nome from the air, summer.
 358 — September 1944; Nome, Bon Marche store.
 359 — September 1944; Nome, “Glue Pot,” famous gambling joint. Series 8: Addenda
 360 — Jim von der Heydt on sea ice off Nome, Winter 1945
 361 — Nome, J. von der Heydt about 1946
 362 — Nome, J. von der Heydt, July 1947
 363 — Nome, Jim von der Heydt, July 1947
 364 — Deputy U.S. Marshal Jim von der Heydt, Kay Peterson, Steward for Wien Airlines, in air, Fairbanks to Barrow, April 1952
 365 — Verna von der Heydt, Nome, about 1954
 366 — Verna von der Heydt, Nome, about 1954
 367 — Verna von der Heydt (on ground) Emma Stuby Cameron, plucking a goose, Cameron cabin on Nome River, Nome, about 1954
 368 — Jim and Verna von der Heydt, Nome about 1954, Cameron cabin, Nome River
 369 — Verna von der Heydt, “new” pickup, Nome, about 1955
 370 — Verna von der Heydt aboard dredge #5, Nome, about 1955
 371 — Von der Heydt home, Nome, about 1955
 372 — Verna von der Heydt on beach near Cape Nome, Nome, about 1955
 373 — Verna von der Heydt on beach near Cape Nome, Nome, about 1955
 374 — Jim von der Heydt on beach near Cape Nome, Nome, about 1955 Guide updated: November 5, 2015